Stats: 3,149,795 members, 7,806,202 topics. Date: Tuesday, 23 April 2024 at 12:59 PM

Ubuntu Linux - Computers (150) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Computers / Ubuntu Linux (463079 Views)

Using Fedora Or Ubuntu Linux / Using Mtn Modem On Ubuntu Linux / Using Ubuntu Linux As Internet Gateway (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (147) (148) (149) (150) (151) (152) (153) ... (175) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Ubuntu Linux by blackweaver(m): 4:34pm On Aug 29, 2017
Romeo386:
Thanks for the prompt response. If I have like 2gb of data tethering from my phone, will it be enough to install the KDE? The synaptic package manager, is for pc abi? Should I format my flash before I burn the ISO to it? What is the size of the partition I should use? And finally, should I create the partition before before installing it or during the installation? I don't want to make mistakes Bro, am a novice. Thanks a lot. God bless you.

sorry i've been out of contact for a while. Have you been able to install mint?
While 2gb should be able to install kde and all its packages, you might not have much data left on your phone.
You don't need format your flash per se, if the flash needs to be formatted, the boot disk maker will format it for you.
30gb space should be more than enough for you, i've installed linux on a 10gb partition without much issues
Re: Ubuntu Linux by Romeo386: 12:15am On Aug 30, 2017
blackweaver:

sorry i've been out of contact for a while. Have you been able to install mint?
While 2gb should be able to install kde and all its packages, you might not have much data left on your phone.
You don't need format your flash per se, if the flash needs to be formatted, the boot disk maker will format it for you.
30gb space should be more than enough for you, i've installed linux on a 10gb partition without much issues
No oo, I didn't install it, I am waiting for your response. I downloaded mate and even write/burn to the flash. I hope the installation process is the same with that of xface ( I don't want to lose my data ooo) And please what should I do after the installation? Please check out this video. Thanks. https://m.youtube.com/watch?list=PLSmXPSsgkZLsiemyy_Rzcqf_0iED8ZfHS&v=xbQu4QRud6g
Re: Ubuntu Linux by blackweaver(m): 1:25pm On Aug 30, 2017
Romeo386:
No oo, I didn't install it, I am waiting for your response. I downloaded mate and even write/burn to the flash. I hope the installation process is the same with that of xface ( I don't want to lose my data ooo) And please what should I do after the installation? Please check out this video. Thanks. https://m.youtube.com/watch?list=PLSmXPSsgkZLsiemyy_Rzcqf_0iED8ZfHS&v=xbQu4QRud6g

Oh you have mate? don't worry about xfce. Don't worry after installation you're good to go. I'm guessing you're using a live boot at the moment. That's fine until you're sure you want to install on your harddrive
Re: Ubuntu Linux by Romeo386: 7:01pm On Aug 30, 2017
blackweaver:

Oh you have mate? don't worry about xfce. Don't worry after installation you're good to go. I'm guessing you're using a live boot at the moment. That's fine until you're sure you want to install on your harddrive
Live boot? I don't understand oo... Yes i have mate.I downloaded it and burn/write it to USB flash. I just don't want to make any mistake that will make me lose my files in my HDD. I am sure I want to install on my HDD. Please respond immediately, my body dey hot, lol.Tanx.
Re: Ubuntu Linux by Romeo386: 1:14am On Aug 31, 2017
I installed this this Linux mint mate and now it has erased my system, I lost all files. Windows is not there anymore, and can only boot to the Linux mint mate directly cry cry cry cry cry cry cry cry cry Now I have to reinstall windows again cry cry cry cry cry cry cry My files chaiiiiiiii
Re: Ubuntu Linux by Romeo386: 3:16am On Aug 31, 2017
blackweaver:

Bro, I followed the instructions in that video that I sent to you and now I can't access windows. My system always boot directly to Linux mint. Does that mean that it erased my windows partition? I am finished oo embarassed
Re: Ubuntu Linux by Romeo386: 3:20am On Aug 31, 2017
I used the tutorial in this vedio https://m.youtube.com/watch?list=PLSmXPSsgkZLsiemyy_Rzcqf_0iED8ZfHS&v=xbQu4QRud6g
Someone should help mea ln[8
Re: Ubuntu Linux by blackweaver(m): 10:10am On Aug 31, 2017
Romeo386:
Bro, I followed the instructions in that video that I sent to you and now I can't access windows. My system always boot directly to Linux mint. Does that mean that it erased my windows partition? I am finished oo embarassed

I really hope not. I actually don't like following instructions in videos, i prefer reading them, so coming back to a point is pretty straightforward.
Wow, i'm just looking at the video and that is not a method I would use to install linux mint.
I hope you chose the install mind alongside windows option because if you use the erase disk option, you WILL lose your data.
Re: Ubuntu Linux by Gargoylesmiles(m): 9:06am On Sep 01, 2017
Romeo386:
I used the tutorial in this vedio https://m.youtube.com/watch?list=PLSmXPSsgkZLsiemyy_Rzcqf_0iED8ZfHS&v=xbQu4QRud6g

Can you remember at any point in the installation where you to got to partitioning. What did you do there?
Manual guide or install on entire harddrive? Something like this...

Re: Ubuntu Linux by brightk(m): 7:42am On Sep 02, 2017
Romeo386:
I installed this this Linux mint mate and now it has erased my system, I lost all files. Windows is not there anymore, and can only boot to the Linux mint mate directly cry cry cry cry cry cry cry cry cry Now I have to reinstall windows again cry cry cry cry cry cry cry My files chaiiiiiiii
hahahaha welcome to the Linux world.. My best advice 2 everyone is 2 experiment in virtual PCs or get another free PC to try stuffs on. Maybe u choose d erase disk option
Re: Ubuntu Linux by celestialAgent(m): 9:27am On Sep 09, 2017
Romeo386:
Scan your hard disc with a recovery software to get your files back.

Note: you have to scan it as an external drive not while in the system. After you have recovered your files, make a partion and run your window on dual boot if you must use Linux and windows or better still run a guest window.
Re: Ubuntu Linux by blackweaver(m): 9:16pm On Sep 10, 2017
Romeo386:

on your bootable flash, see if you can install testdisk or photorec. You will probably need an external harddrive to recover to
Re: Ubuntu Linux by Deicide: 3:41am On Sep 22, 2017
Please how can i use my internet modem on my ubuntu?
Re: Ubuntu Linux by blackweaver(m): 5:31pm On Sep 22, 2017
Deicide:
Please how can i use my internet modem on my ubuntu?

what kind of modem? What's the model?
Re: Ubuntu Linux by Deicide: 8:26pm On Sep 22, 2017
blackweaver:

what kind of modem? What's the model?
HSDPA D800 its a usb modem
Re: Ubuntu Linux by blackweaver(m): 3:19pm On Sep 24, 2017
Deicide:

HSDPA D800 its a usb modem

I don't know if this link will work out for you;
http://rnavagamuwa.com/open-source/setup-usb-modem-on-ubuntu/
Re: Ubuntu Linux by Justiceotuya(m): 8:03am On Oct 03, 2017
Ok.. I learned the hard way. So I am using Ubuntu 17.04 zesty and will like to upgrade to 17.10 without loosing any file. How do I do it?

Secondly what are the advantages of using other Linux distribution.
Re: Ubuntu Linux by Justiceotuya(m): 8:06am On Oct 03, 2017
Romeo386:
I installed this this Linux mint mate and now it has erased my system, I lost all files. Windows is not there anymore, and can only boot to the Linux mint mate directly cry cry cry cry cry cry cry cry cry Now I have to reinstall windows again cry cry cry cry cry cry cry My files chaiiiikiiii

How do you know you lost all your files, did you not create a new partition when installing, if you did not then bye bye to your files but if you did maybe your windows boot files are missing. Can you screenshot your harddisk folders for us?
Re: Ubuntu Linux by blackweaver(m): 11:31pm On Oct 03, 2017
Justiceotuya:
Ok.. I learned the hard way. So I am using Ubuntu 17.04 zesty and will like to upgrade to 17.10 without loosing any file. How do I do it?

Secondly what are the advantages of using other Linux distribution.

I don't think the official release of 17.10 is out yet, it should come out later this month. The update manager should prompt you about the update when it's available

The decision to use another distro is based on preference. Debian -based distros like Debian, Ubuntu, Linux mint etc are similar and to a large extent binary compatible, same thing for redhat based distros like redhat, Fedora, centos etc. Each distro has its philosophy and you might have to try out a few to discover which one you like best.

You can check distrowatch.com for more information

Re: Ubuntu Linux by vickzdvipe(m): 7:57am On Nov 13, 2017
Hello all! I'm thinking of installing linux (ubuntu) but I have an issue bothering me. The thing is we all know after installing a fresh windows os, we normally run the Driverspack software in other to install necessary drivers such as display adapter etc. I want to know if it's the same with linux or I will get all the drivers automatically installed with the Os at the point of installation.

Re: Ubuntu Linux by 4llerbuntu(m): 1:45pm On Nov 13, 2017
vickzdvipe:
Hello all! I'm thinking of installing linux (ubuntu) but I have an issue bothering me. The thing is we all know after installing a fresh windows os, we normally run the Driverspack software in other to install necessary drivers such as display adapter etc. I want to know if it's the same with linux or I will get all the drivers automatically installed with the Os at the point of installation.

lol.

You won't need to install drivers for 99.9% of hardware.

You'll MAYBE (if you really want, not that you need it) install drivers for a high end Video Card or a Printer

and those have automated tools for driver installation.

other than those, the only other thing i can think of is maybe an obscure USB Modem or mifi

Re: Ubuntu Linux by Opistorincos(m): 11:43am On Nov 30, 2017
Hey guys, I want to join the Ubuntu community, I use a laptop with 4gb ram, core i3 and 1tb of space, which one will be suitable for daily surfing
Re: Ubuntu Linux by blackweaver(m): 12:28pm On Nov 30, 2017
Opistorincos:
Hey guys, I want to join the Ubuntu community, I use a laptop with 4gb ram, core i3 and 1tb of space, which one will be suitable for daily surfing

Which what? I don't understand. Your laptop is more than capable of running any ubuntu variant, it all boils down to preference

Re: Ubuntu Linux by Opistorincos(m): 12:41pm On Nov 30, 2017
blackweaver:

Which what? I don't understand. Your laptop is more than capable of running any ubuntu variant, it all boils down to preference

what i want is a recommendation, I am new to this, my only requirement is for it to be suitable for heaving browsing
Re: Ubuntu Linux by blackweaver(m): 2:08pm On Nov 30, 2017
Opistorincos:

what i want is a recommendation, I am new to this, my only requirement is for it to be suitable for heaving browsing

Recommendation of what? You already said you want to try out Ubuntu. Before we can make any recommendations, you have to give us more details, else I would say just try Ubuntu out, it really doesn't matter. Conversely you can try linux mint, they are essentially the same with some differences. The main difference you would notice is that they have different default window managers
Re: Ubuntu Linux by Opistorincos(m): 2:11pm On Nov 30, 2017
blackweaver:

Recommendation of what? You already said you want to try out Ubuntu. Before we can make any recommendations, you have to give us more details, else I would say just try Ubuntu out, it really doesn't matter. Conversely you can try linux mint, they are essentially the same with some differences. The main difference you would notice is that they have different default window managers

Hehe, my head don dey spin, I've downloaded Ubuntu gnome and I'm already creating a bootable disk with it, will buzz you when I install
Re: Ubuntu Linux by Opistorincos(m): 2:58pm On Nov 30, 2017
Blackweaver I got these plenty errors while trying to install Ubuntu, kindly help

Re: Ubuntu Linux by blackweaver(m): 5:29pm On Nov 30, 2017
Opistorincos:
Blackweaver I got these plenty errors while trying to install Ubuntu, kindly help

What are you booting from? flash or cd/dvd?

(1) (2) (3) ... (147) (148) (149) (150) (151) (152) (153) ... (175) (Reply)

Inverter Users : Lets Have Your Experience / How To Hack Any Wifi Network Password Using Cmd / Huawei USB Modem Unlocker - Download Here!

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 43