Stats: 3,148,866 members, 7,802,782 topics. Date: Friday, 19 April 2024 at 09:27 PM

Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! - Education (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! (56412 Views)

YABATECH Part-time ND&HND Form 2023/2024 / Do U Know That HND Is Equivalent To Advanced Diploma? / Gateway Ict Polytechnic Saapade 2019/2020 Hnd Form And Part-time Form Is Out Cal (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by Nobody: 5:39pm On Dec 17, 2017
predmine20:
The unnecessary dichotomy between these two certificates is baseless.
These is one of the reason why nigeria will never develop or be where it suppose to be.
I think these issue has been overflogged,the op that is ranting up their that HND is nothing compare BSC is suffering from hyperactive personality disorder because he fails to realise that the polytechnics was created for a purpose under the national technical education act.
Nigeria graduates that schooled abroad are the ones that are being employed over the ones that schooled here due to the poor education system at home.
Just know what works well for you and go for it.
yeasir.. just about to comment on something similar. I think most people been talking about this issue from individual concerned. if your course of study is out of STEM(Science Technology Engineering Mathematics) it may be ideal for you to keep emphasizing on the dichotomy. However your self development matters a lot. and for those of us in STEM system, you would agree with me that it's never about your certificate, it's about what you know and can really do in the chosen field. and talking about personal experience with respect to the dichotomy, I would say it's baseless (especially if you are STEM member) cos while I was teaching computer studies with my ND (not even HND) in a particular secondary school , I was earning 35k and I thought I was less paid until I confirmed what one my colleagues who was a bsc holder was collecting (22k) despite teaching 2 subjects(civic and government), I was surprised and same for chemistry/physics teacher who collected far more compare to what non-science teachers are earning. Infact, a friend of mine who is also a ND holder secured an IT placement in MOJ alausa, eventually, his Boss went to another branch of MOJ in Marina and she met them amidst a problem concerning their ICT and the guy that was called to solve the problem (after charging huge fee) couldn't solve the problem, so my friend's boss had to call him to come check the problem out, my friend solve the problem in jiffy, guess what? the former guy is a babcock graduate of computer science with CCNP, compTIAN+ . Wen my friend told me about the problem, I swear to God, is what any newbie in ICT field could solve. my point is, self development and dexterity will take you higher (especially if you are a STEM member) not certificate
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by bjnice(m): 5:54pm On Dec 17, 2017
Prinxxdave:
instead my buying HND form, is there any way to switch to university

yeah, u can obtain a university distance from, if you are working class. for instance UI DLC admission form is out wit centre in Ibadan and Lagos. just a token of 10,500.

you can call me for further information. 07068412223

www. newportal.dlc.ui.edu.ng
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by olasegun90(m): 5:55pm On Dec 17, 2017
To my fello broda n sister. Don't let anybody to depress u on what ever certificate had acquired or you want to pursues. Just follow ur mind and pray for God Favour and Marcy.
SAY NO TO DISCRIMINATION .

Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by Nobody: 5:55pm On Dec 17, 2017
Briggsdnero1:
my brother please stop deceiving yourself and others for certificates are only but papers and can't assure you of good job without connections or God on your side. There are millions of Bsc holders out there searching for jobs with the so called degree. HND is advantageous because the holder are technically trained and are self reliant and always create there own job. HND holders in Engineering field are practically oriented men who don't even depend on there salaries to survive due to frequent maintenance and contract jobs. Certificate is but mere paper HND nor Bsc. Think practical and technical for its not all about the certificate but about the skills cos you can't survive in Nigeria today without skills.... UP HND!!!

Up HND? shockedshocked
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by simplebb: 6:03pm On Dec 17, 2017
maestroferddi:
Why are you sounding off?

Why bank in Nigeria prefer HND to a degree?

Where is discrimination against HND more acute than in banking?

Most HND holders employed by banks end up either as contract staff or as tellers. Their career advancement/prospect hardly compares with their degree counterparts.

No elite bank would take an HND holder in lieu of a degree holder.

Do even consider the treatment the HND boss gets from degree-holding subordinates in the corporate space? Just denigration.

We all know how it feels when hear citations about qualifications/resume...You were keen to follow rendition of that achiever's accomplishments until the exercise hits a trough/anticlimax....HND? You are like, why now...The esteem takes a hit.
Dont walk into an HND trap...You will only have yourself to blame.

You are current. People won't get d fact and just come online to say what comes to their mind. This year alone, Stanbic IBTC, EcoBank, Union Bank, Diamond and recently GT Bank all announced recruitment for entry level cadres, the requirement was Bsc, no HND at all........

Let's stop overflogging a dead issue.
Get the Degree and that's all.

The post is not targeted at HND holders at all nor to belittle their achievements or effort in school, you guys should move on with life the same way we all do, The post is just to admonish upcoming young ones who will be making career and schooling decision. That's all.
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by Nobody: 6:42pm On Dec 17, 2017
I have said it times without numbers and i won't repeat my self again if you re a BSC holder and you don't know how to communicate effectively or write a simle formal letter you better tear off your certificate and go enrol in a poly because that is where they will teach you both the theory and practical aspect of what you need to excel in life.
Stop wasting ur time in uni and go get a poly education,you won't regret it that i can assure you.

Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by UTEWUOJO: 7:37pm On Dec 17, 2017
LADIES AND GENTLEMEN, ALL THESE TESTIMONIES ARE ALL TRUE, I WAS STRONGLY ADVISED ALSO BY MY UNCLE IN AN ECOBANK WHO IS SUFFERING FROM THE SAME DISCRIMINATION TO AVOID STORIES THAT TOUCH IN THE FUTURE, AFTER MY ND, I WROTE JAMB AGAIN, AND TO THE GLORY OF GOD, I AM NOW IN 200LEVEL IN THE UNIVERSITY. PLEASE BROTHERS AND SISTERS, LET'S PAY NOW AND PLAY LATER, AND NOT THE OTHER WAY ROUND. GOD BLESS US ALL.
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by harisclub: 8:17pm On Dec 17, 2017
Dot buy dat HND form as advised. That is all I have to say.
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by ibkonekt(m): 8:41pm On Dec 17, 2017
pls...dont buy that hnd form
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by vision2050: 8:42pm On Dec 17, 2017
Briggsdnero1:
my brother please stop deceiving yourself and others for certificates are only but papers and can't assure you of good job without connections or God on your side. There are millions of Bsc holders out there searching for jobs with the so called degree. HND is advantageous because the holder are technically trained and are self reliant and always create there own job. HND holders in Engineering field are practically oriented men who don't even depend on there salaries to survive due to frequent maintenance and contract jobs. Certificate is but mere paper HND nor Bsc. Think practical and technical for its not all about the certificate but about the skills cos you can't survive in Nigeria today without skills.... UP HND!!!
keep deceiving yourself until it, hit you hard. I'm in your shoe once upon a time, but when discrimination and insult want to disfigure me, nobody tell me to go university. As it stand In civil service HND graduate can't go beyond level 14, they can't be a head or director of any department, they can't be a permanent secretary or the head of service. All these aforementioned are favourable to Degree holder. Not too late for you, keep your HND and go for your degree.

Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by Nobody: 9:22pm On Dec 17, 2017
kerr9:
instead of going back for my HND.I wrote jamb again and currently in my 200l.I think I made the right decision
You did dear, you sure did.
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by Iduatei(m): 9:57pm On Dec 17, 2017
so I had to let go of my ND to porsue for a BSC. Buh I swear poli are d best. uni na shakara full ham.
and na just name
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by Iduatei(m): 9:57pm On Dec 17, 2017
so I had to let go of my ND to porsue for a BSC. Buh I swear poli are d best. uni na shakara full ham.
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by Stellamariss(f): 9:58pm On Dec 17, 2017
U guys comments have already scared me... Seriously. Am in federal polytechnic oko studying library and Information Science. With all this comments I don't know what to do next
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by Stellamariss(f): 10:08pm On Dec 17, 2017
beautyfunke:
come to my area in surulere, thousand of bsc/hnd are jobless, either you are bsc/hnd just continue to pray for grace.. look at fayose governor of ekiti state a hnd holder despite we have many degree holder.. WHEN GOD STEP INTO YOUR LIFE AND UPLIFT U UP.. CERTIFICATE WILL BE NOTHING
thanks for that
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by Boscolo: 10:23pm On Dec 17, 2017
Stellamariss:
U guys comments have already scared me... Seriously. Am in federal polytechnic oko studying library and Information Science. With all this comments I don't know what to do next

Guy, don't worry. If you are running your ND now then go for DE after you've completed it. However, if you are running your HND be proud of it, don't just cram to pass. Study and understand the course so that if an opportunity comes your way you will "KILL IT".
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by EKLE: 10:26pm On Dec 17, 2017
I don't think there is anything to fear if you are studying practical courses in the polytechnic...for example, after graduation from architecture school, your level of success is determined by what you can put on the table, how good your designs are, how much u know about the construction site etc and you won't be judged based on what a mere paper says.
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by Stellamariss(f): 10:45pm On Dec 17, 2017
Boscolo:

Guy, don't worry. If you are running your ND now then go for DE after you've completed it. However, if you are running your HND be proud of it, don't just cram to pass. Study and understand the course so that if an opportunity comes your way you will "KILL IT".
thanks.. But am not a guy
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by Femijohn198: 11:01pm On Dec 17, 2017
Whether having HND certificate or not,getting job in Nigeria is base on connection.those in house of assembly,some did not have even HND,school sat is their highest certificate.some are using forgery certificate to contest.the only solution to end this discrimination,is when the national house of assembly remove the dichotomy and the discrimination will end forever..
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by Marcelo290(m): 11:11pm On Dec 17, 2017
Fongido:

What about the federal university and state university discrimination?
Lol that sef na another yawa. You can't deny the fact that most first generation federal universities have more standards than their state counterparts. I visited a state Uni and was shocked at the rate of unseriuosness, people that had exams the next day went for parties, after all they can sort or cheat willingly in the exam hall...

But in all, I think the personal ability of a person is more relevant before asking of the school they attended cos we have both serious and unserious students everywhere.

Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by Marcelo290(m): 11:12pm On Dec 17, 2017
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by baminasri(m): 11:43pm On Dec 17, 2017
people3:
I will prefer you do what you like cos I know of a guy who have HND and nw work with GT bank with big pay.... in a country where there is no job...

That's a lie, the highest position you can attain in GTB with an HND cert is an Operations Officer which is lower that an entry level Executive Trainee. To even be an Operations Officer, you must have an upper credit and must work as a contract staff for a minimum of 2 years. The Op is right, HND is NOTHING in Nigeria.

Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by JerryDM1: 5:36am On Dec 18, 2017
Thank you all for this trend!
I want to admit that I have a cousin who has been a victim of this HND issue. But in order for him to get past it, he decided to enrol for PGD and currently doing his MSc.
Although, he has earlier enquired from some universities that he will be eligible for PHD after his MSc.
Now my question,
1)is it advisable to still run BSc or just continue with the MSc since he will be allowed to run PHD?
2)if he then goes to run BSc after his MSc, won't there be issues about the order of his certificates (HND, PGD, MSc, BSc, instead of HND, BSC, MSC)?

Thanks for quality responses!
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by fineyemi(m): 6:48am On Dec 18, 2017
harzheez:
yeasir.. just about to comment on something similar. I think most people been talking about this issue from individual concerned. if your course of study is out of STEM(Science Technology Engineering Mathematics) it may be ideal for you to keep emphasizing on the dichotomy. However your self development matters a lot. and for those of us in STEM system, you would agree with me that it's never about your certificate, it's about what you know and can really do in the chosen field. and talking about personal experience with respect to the dichotomy, I would say it's baseless (especially if you are STEM member) cos while I was teaching computer studies with my ND (not even HND) in a particular secondary school , I was earning 35k and I thought I was less paid until I confirmed what one my colleagues who was a bsc holder was collecting (22k) despite teaching 2 subjects(civic and government), I was surprised and same for chemistry/physics teacher who collected far more compare to what non-science teachers are earning. Infact, a friend of mine who is also a ND holder secured an IT placement in MOJ alausa, eventually, his Boss went to another branch of MOJ in Marina and she met them amidst a problem concerning their ICT and the guy that was called to solve the problem (after charging huge fee) couldn't solve the problem, so my friend's boss had to call him to come check the problem out, my friend solve the problem in jiffy, guess what? the former guy is a babcock graduate of computer science with CCNP, compTIAN+ . Wen my friend told me about the problem, I swear to God, is what any newbie in ICT field could solve. my point is, self development and dexterity will take you higher (especially if you are a STEM member) not certificate
Yes ooo. Its about what you know in STEM.

Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by albacete(m): 8:13am On Dec 18, 2017
JerryDM1:
Thank you all for this trend!
I want to admit that I have a cousin who has been a victim of this HND issue. But in order for him to get past it, he decided to enrol for PGD and currently doing his MSc.
Although, he has earlier enquired from some universities that he will be eligible for PHD after his MSc.
Now my question,
1)is it advisable to still run BSc or just continue with the MSc since he will be allowed to run PHD?
2)if he then goes to run BSc after his MSc, won't there be issues about the order of his certificates (HND, PGD, MSc, BSc, instead of HND, BSC, MSC)?

Thanks for quality responses!
What order? Take out HND and you are good to go with your Bsc and Msc.
Why do PGD when you want to get Bsc? Or was the Bsc an afterthought?
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by HAH: 8:25am On Dec 18, 2017
HND Is diploma
Bsc is Degree

Equivalent does not mean equal, most HND people think they are same with Bsc because they also do NYSC, for those who don't know even OND and NCE use to do NYSC but OND was stopped in 1980 and NCE was stopped from NYSC in 1984.

The two certificates are meant for different purposes, one for workforce the other for researchers and policy makers . know your purposes before joining, and the truth is HND holders get jobs easily than degree holders, but when the degree holder get the job he becomes the HND holders boss in the office
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by Ihebu4chelsea(m): 10:09am On Dec 18, 2017
predmine20:
I have said it times without numbers and i won't repeat my self again if you re a BSC holder and you don't know how to communicate effectively or write a simle formal letter you better tear off your certificate and go enrol in a poly because that is where they will teach you both the theory and practical aspect of what you need to excel in life.
Stop wasting ur time in uni and go get a poly education,you won't regret it that i can assure you.
you have malaria
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by Ihebu4chelsea(m): 10:12am On Dec 18, 2017
Stellamariss:
its simple. Get a jamb form. and switch to a university. sister
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by Bishops10(m): 1:41pm On Dec 18, 2017
Rolex67:
Same reason why I dropped out of polytechnic and wrote jamb again.

Best decision ever.
Same thing I'm doing now... I can never go back to Polytechnic
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by Bishops10(m): 1:45pm On Dec 18, 2017
Stellamariss:
Do direct entry if you're still on OND
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by jokolo282(m): 1:59pm On Dec 18, 2017
all these comments scared me off my Pant. i now reject and dislikes polytechnics now on. So help me God
Re: Stop! Don't Buy That HND Form! by Fongido(m): 4:31pm On Dec 18, 2017
simplebb:

A topic for another day.
This one is another subject entirely.
But it is not that serious like HND and Bsc wahala.
Passing through jamb or direct entry which one is better? hope no discrimination?

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply)

What Could This Little Boy Be Thinking? (photo ) / See An SS1 Classroom In Bauchi [PHOTO] / What Is The Direct Opposite Of "Sorry"

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 64