Stats: 3,150,443 members, 7,808,588 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 01:50 PM

Farm Surveying; Advantages And Disadvantages - Agriculture - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Agriculture / Farm Surveying; Advantages And Disadvantages (4852 Views)

Why Is A Quantity Surveying Needed In The A Construction Project?? / A Nairalander Kills A Cobra While Surveying His Farm (Photos) / Surveying (2) (3) (4)

Farm Surveying; Advantages And Disadvantages by farmerwealth(m): 6:03pm On Dec 17, 2017
What is farm surveying? This is the measurement of the size of a farmland. It involves mapping out of production areas, and road paths on the farm. It's crucial in farm establishment. It can be done either with the use of a GPS or tape rule.

The genesis of some failure in crop farming is the ignorant of farmland size by the farm owner. For instance a labour hired to weed a maize farm of one acre charge for the price of 1.5acre due to the lack of knowledge of the farm owner.

Advantages of farm surveying
1. It gives the size of the farmland
2. It separates production areas from non-production areas
3. It helps in forecasting expected yield
4. It helps to plan budget
5. It also helps construction of irrigation

Disadvantages
1. It involves another spending
2. It needs expertise

As we're in dry season, for those that want to start farming next wet season this is the best time to start clearing and surveying of farmland.

No Farmer! No Nation!!

You can contact FETWAB for farm land survey, establishment, management and training on; whatsapp: 08059371220; call: 08108776718.

Re: Farm Surveying; Advantages And Disadvantages by Gadgetmobil(m): 7:02pm On Dec 17, 2017
If you are to Survey a 100 acre farmland, who's the cost?
Pls don't tell me to mail or call any number, kindly state it here.
Re: Farm Surveying; Advantages And Disadvantages by farmerwealth(m): 11:13pm On Dec 17, 2017
Gadgetmobil:
If you are to Survey a 100 acre farmland, who's the cost?
Pls don't tell me to mail or call any number, kindly state it here.
#30,000 per acre, with you responsible for logistics (transportation, feeding, accomodation etc)
Re: Farm Surveying; Advantages And Disadvantages by muhamm3d: 11:24pm On Dec 17, 2017
[quote author=farmerwealth post=63378032]
#30,000 per acre, with you responsible for logistics (transportation, feeding, accomodation etc)[/quote

All of you are thieves!!! May God forgive yall. Awon ole jatijati
Re: Farm Surveying; Advantages And Disadvantages by farmerwealth(m): 10:00am On Dec 18, 2017
Can you please explain the reason for your harsh comment? because i don't understand.ote author=muhamm3d post=63378229][/quote]
Re: Farm Surveying; Advantages And Disadvantages by muhamm3d: 1:02pm On Dec 18, 2017
farmerwealth:
Can you please explain the reason for your harsh comment? because i don't understand.ote author=muhamm3d post=63378229]

It is insanely expensive!!
Re: Farm Surveying; Advantages And Disadvantages by farmerwealth(m): 1:22pm On Dec 18, 2017
Can you please be a bit civil with your use of words hun, its not a do or die affair bro. If you're pleased we get going, otherwise you let go. So please once again be mindful of use of words. Thanks
anely expensive!! [/quote]
Re: Farm Surveying; Advantages And Disadvantages by Rchesther: 3:05pm On Dec 18, 2017
What is actual measurement of an acre of farm land?
Re: Farm Surveying; Advantages And Disadvantages by farmerwealth(m): 4:53pm On Dec 18, 2017
An acre is approximately 4,046 square metres or 43,560sqft if the land is measured at 60 by 120ft, making you have 6plots in an acre. But it'll be 4,033sqm if it's measured at 50 by 100ft, making it 8.7plots in an acre.
[quotauthor=Rchesther post=63394653]What is actual measurement of an acre of farm land? [/quote]
Re: Farm Surveying; Advantages And Disadvantages by Delgi(m): 4:04am On Dec 19, 2017
farmerwealth:
Can you please be a bit civil with your use of words hun, its not a do or die affair bro. If you're pleased we get going, otherwise you let go. So please once again be mindful of use of words. Thanks
anely expensive!!
Be a bit civil? @muhamm3d may be harsh but he's right. How do you expect an investor that bought 100 acre farmland in oshun state (for example) @60k/acre to pay you 30k/acre to survey the same land and feed and transport you on top. Do you guys think at all before making these ridiculous quotations? No be only 30k/acre, you for charge 50k/acre.
Re: Farm Surveying; Advantages And Disadvantages by farmerwealth(m): 10:12am On Dec 19, 2017
As stated earlier its not a do or die affair bro. And until we start to appreciate some things in this country, we may not get farming right as a business. Stating that price doesn't mean something can be done. Thanks for your critics, really appreciate.
ote author=Delgi post=63410183]
Be a bit civil? @muhamm3d may be harsh but he's right. How do you expect an investor that bought 100 acre farmland in oshun state (for example) @60k/acre to pay you 30k/acre to survey the same land and feed and transport you on top. Do you guys think at all before making these ridiculous quotations? No be only 30k/acre, you for charge 50k/acre.[/quote]
Re: Farm Surveying; Advantages And Disadvantages by Delgi(m): 1:16pm On Dec 19, 2017
farmerwealth:
As stated earlier its not a do or die affair bro. And until we start to appreciate some things in this country, we may not get farming right as a business. Stating that price doesn't mean something can be done. Thanks for your critics, really appreciate.
ote author=Delgi post=63410183]
Be a bit civil? @muhamm3d may be harsh but he's right. How do you expect an investor that bought 100 acre farmland in oshun state (for example) @60k/acre to pay you 30k/acre to survey the same land and feed and transport you on top. Do you guys think at all before making these ridiculous quotations? No be only 30k/acre, you for charge 50k/acre.
Don't get me wrong buddy, I'm not belittling your profession in any way. The point/fact is only a real estate developer will/can afford your services at that price, not an agricultural investor that probably leased @2-5k/acre. No one will knock your quotation if posted in Real estate section, but in Agriculture section? I seriously doubt you'll get any taker at that rate. Do have a nice day.

Commercial Vegetable Fruit Food Dehydrator Oven / Fishery Or Poultry; Which Is More Lucrative? / Pickup Load Of Cassava

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 33