Stats: 3,143,382 members, 7,781,069 topics. Date: Friday, 29 March 2024 at 08:23 AM

Sweet Egun Names - Culture (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / Sweet Egun Names (37434 Views)

Yoruba, Fon And Ewe Cultural Area / The Sweet Meadows Of Contemplation: An Addendudm To The Infaq Al-maysur / A "Super-sweet" Collection Of Hausa Proverbs (2) (3) (4)

Re: Sweet Egun Names by absoluteSuccess: 11:26am On Dec 07, 2017
Dear FL,

So bad I couldnt get back to you. Pls accept my apology.

If I come across any helpful material on this subject I wont hesitate tp forward it to you.

Mifon dagbe.
Re: Sweet Egun Names by jmoes(m): 12:58am On Jan 31, 2018
absoluteSuccess:
Dear FL,

If I come across any helpful material on this subject I wont hesitate tp forward it to you.

Mifon dagbe.
please recommend good fon gospel singers and good musicians for me.
Re: Sweet Egun Names by babyfaceafrica: 4:41pm On Feb 05, 2018
absoluteSuccess:
Dear FL,

Mifon dagbe.
good day..I will like to do.my project topic on fon-gbe,toli-gbe or alade-gbe grammar..I will like you to give any assistance you can since you speak the language well
Re: Sweet Egun Names by babyfaceafrica: 5:22pm On Feb 05, 2018
semasir:
Thanks..... Explicitly clear

please Sir I need your help on egun language
Re: Sweet Egun Names by semasir: 4:45pm On Feb 07, 2018
How please?
babyfaceafrica:
please Sir I need your help on egun language
Re: Sweet Egun Names by babyfaceafrica: 5:04pm On Feb 07, 2018
semasir:
How please?
I will like to work on the language as my masters thesis...I don't know how you can help me..since you speak and can write it well
Re: Sweet Egun Names by absoluteSuccess: 10:10am On Feb 16, 2018
babyfaceafrica:
good day..I will like to do.my project topic on fon-gbe,toli-gbe or alade-gbe grammar..I will like you to give any assistance you can since you speak the language well

Hmm, you have to go to Ado-Odo villages, or better still badagry.

There is a lot to learn first hand. Earlier in 2000, I went to my family at Ado to learn as much as I can about my mother tonge from my ant who is an initiate (learned) in the tori and now a christian. There is a lot to learn if you are ready to mingle with the people and fraternize with them.

To be thorough, you have to do the legwork. That's all I can say.

Meanwhile, I'm not familiar with the Alada alphabets and how to write it, my families were from former Egbado south local government and Yoruba is their curricular language at school.
Re: Sweet Egun Names by babyfaceafrica: 11:22am On Feb 16, 2018
absoluteSuccess:

Hmm, you have to go to Ado-Odo villages, or better still badagry.

There is a lot to learn first hand. Earlier in 2000, I went to my family at Ado to learn as much as I can about my mother tonge from my ant who is an initiate (learned) in the tori and now a christian. There is a lot to learn if you are ready to mingle with the people and fraternize with them.

To be thorough, you have to do the legwork. That's all I can say.

Meanwhile, I'm not familiar with the Alada alphabets and how to write it, my families were from former Egbado south local government and Yoruba is their curricular language at school.
thanks...Writing should not be an issue for me..my main problem is getting someone who speak it well....thanks
Re: Sweet Egun Names by absoluteSuccess: 11:20am On Mar 28, 2018
I remember a joke of some sort.

During the last National ID card provision exercise in the OBJ days as President of the feral republic, some Yoruba youths were posted to Idolehin village for the enumeration exercise.

Mind you, the place is populated by Egun indigin of the environment. One by one they filed their names, but those present had a funny experience between a Yoruba agent and an egun citizen.

Agent: ''whats your name?

Respondent ''Hunfesuku''

Agent: Ofesuku?

Respondent: Nfan HUNFESUKU!

Agent: ''No problem, when you hear ofeofesuku, just know that that's your ID they are referring to.''

We often use this as comic relief among us in the village back then. but when you look critically at the name of that fellow, although not her real name but one that comes once one has been initiated to the clan's cult, it portrays an amalgam of Yoruba and Fon.

Hun~disciple
Fe~ (Yoruba) delights in
Suku~(Yoruba) school.

What this name means is that traditional education delights in scholastic education.

School in egun language is pronounced 'Wayhormeh'
Re: Sweet Egun Names by absoluteSuccess: 11:21am On Mar 28, 2018
babyfaceafrica:
thanks...Writing should not be an issue for me..my main problem is getting someone who speak it well....thanks

Alright, I'll see what I can do about that.
Re: Sweet Egun Names by babyfaceafrica: 12:18am On Mar 29, 2018
absoluteSuccess:

Alright, I'll see what I can do about that.
grateful..hope you in Lagos?
Re: Sweet Egun Names by absoluteSuccess: 10:05am On Apr 17, 2018
babyfaceafrica:
grateful..hope you in Lagos?

Yes.
Re: Sweet Egun Names by babyfaceafrica: 11:45am On Apr 17, 2018
absoluteSuccess:

Yes.
how can we see..maybe you can be my informant..if you are chances
Re: Sweet Egun Names by absoluteSuccess: 10:01am On Apr 21, 2018
babyfaceafrica:
how can we see..maybe you can be my informant..if you are chances

well it is possible but it would be when I'm not too busy as I am now.

Meanwhile I'll be relocating back to Ado next year, at least to contribute my quota to the communal growth and also to learn new aspects of life.

Maybe we'll meet there.

smiley

Re: Sweet Egun Names by babyfaceafrica: 1:58pm On Apr 21, 2018
absoluteSuccess:

well it is possible but it would be when I'm not too busy as I am now.

Meanwhile I'll be relocating back to Ado next year, at least to contribute my quota to the communal growth and also to learn new aspects of life.

Maybe we'll meet there.

smiley
chai!!!....so no free chance at all....wish you well
Re: Sweet Egun Names by absoluteSuccess: 3:36pm On Apr 21, 2018
babyfaceafrica:
chai!!!....so no free chance at all....wish you well

Pls, so sorry I cant help for now.

Hope you understand.
Re: Sweet Egun Names by brainb0xx(m): 12:17am On Jun 01, 2018
Re: Sweet Egun Names by brainb0xx(m): 12:56am On Jun 01, 2018
LordGabby1:
Please is there a way I can learn the language?
I'm a big fan and I follow egun/Benin rep music alot.

people has some of the nicest sounding vocabularies and thought invoking names. Music wise, Egun songs and dirges are of the highest quality African spiritual.

I have listen to such in rendition, and to the kinestethics of the 'hunsie's' dancesteps, the dance of mortals initiated to the deities of our ancestor's Votun.

Most Egun bear names with deep meaning, can't collate all but some.

Seveo: Creator is passionate with word.

Sejro: Creator's desire.

Sewanu: Creator be thanked.

Sesinu: Creator's own thing.

Vyhutu: For the sake of a child.

Johnde: One good thing.

Hosu: Several tidings.

Mausi: God's belonging.

Sonayon: Tomorrow will be well.

Totai: Father at market.

Dethin: Prayer is real.

Senami: God's gift to me.

Mehgonu: Individual personal issue.

Mendo: Whom do I have?

Who do I have to add some more to the list?

I have a friend who’s Egun tribe.. She has a native name that starts with letter “S”.. I’ve asked her to tell me several times.. but she won’t.. she only gave me a clue and said I should figure out the rest.. well she thinks I can’t but I wanna prove her wrong... She said the meaning to the name is “Whatever belongs home will surely come home”... Please what name starts with letter “S” that carries this meaning.. thank you!!!
Re: Sweet Egun Names by absoluteSuccess: 11:33am On Jul 14, 2018
brainb0xx:

I have a friend who’s Egun tribe.. She has a native name that starts with letter “S”.. I’ve asked her to tell me several times.. but she won’t.. she only gave me a clue and said I should figure out the rest.. well she thinks I can’t but I wanna prove her wrong... She said the meaning to the name is “Whatever belongs home will surely come home”... Please what name starts with letter “S” that carries this meaning.. thank you!!!

There are different dialects in egun, fyi.

but in my dialect (tori) I will roughly put it this way,

Sin-sinu-ma-den-sin, or sinmeh-nu-ma-den-sinmeh, meaning "home-things-stay-close-to-the-home".

So, the abbreviation to this would be "Sinsinu", if I'm right.
Re: Sweet Egun Names by Berty1: 7:35pm On Oct 04, 2018
absolutesuccess, can you please educate me? I am a Ghanaian.But these egun names have same spellings as some ewe names.
I really want to know if the ewe language and egun language are same.
Re: Sweet Egun Names by babyfaceafrica: 9:04pm On Oct 04, 2018
Berty1:
absolutesuccess, can you please educate me? I am a Ghanaian.But these egun names have same spellings as some ewe names.
they have related language families.... you need to read aboh 2010 thesis on GBE languages.. fongbe,ewegbe,toligbe are very related
.they are not the same though..just same family

Ewe ( Èʋe or Èʋegbe [èβeɡ͡be] )[5] is a Niger–Congo language spoken in southeastern Ghana by approximately 6–7 million people as either the first or second language. [6] Ewe is part of a cluster of related languages commonly called
Gbe ; the other major Gbe language is Fon of Benin.

source :Wikipedia

Re: Sweet Egun Names by absoluteSuccess: 2:35pm On Oct 07, 2018
Berty1:

They are of the same origin, many of the words are shared even in Yoruba language that is different from this cluster to some extent.
Re: Sweet Egun Names by NamelessOGBENI(m): 9:50am On Mar 11, 2020
semasir:
I'll appreciate if you guys can also join www.badagryforum.com and let's share and promote Badagry together
Baba, I know it's a bit off-colour but this link ain't working any longer.
Re: Sweet Egun Names by semasir: 11:18pm On Mar 12, 2020
The platform has been offline for about 2 years now. I'll see on reviving it back. Thank you
NamelessOGBENI:

Baba, I know it's a bit off-colour but this link ain't working any longer.

Re: Sweet Egun Names by NamelessOGBENI(m): 11:21pm On Mar 12, 2020
semasir:
The platform has been offline for about 2 years now. I'll see on reviving it back. Thank you
Noted.
Re: Sweet Egun Names by semasir: 11:26pm On Mar 12, 2020
Thanks for following up. You need any information via the platform?
NamelessOGBENI:

Noted.
Re: Sweet Egun Names by NamelessOGBENI(m): 11:50pm On Mar 12, 2020
semasir:
Thanks for following up. You need any information via the platform?
I've been away from home for like ages I felt brushing up on my knowledge will not be a bad idea.
Re: Sweet Egun Names by absoluteSuccess: 10:11am On Mar 24, 2020
semasir:

Ajimevi,

Ezon zan, owe awe mai pede.

Jale bomi bo kan yinko yoyo devo tho ehe ji, nitho supo do fie.

Enayon nawe.

Sinmenu le?
Re: Sweet Egun Names by semasir: 5:18pm On Mar 24, 2020
absoluteSuccess:

Ajimevi,

Ezon zan, owe awe mai pede.

Jale bomi bo kan yinko yoyo devo tho ehe ji, nitho supo do fie.

Enayon nawe.

Sinmenu le?

Re: Sweet Egun Names by absoluteSuccess: 5:54pm On Mar 24, 2020
semasir:

A mao flin yinko depepe?

Sho.

smiley

Ayogbe to ndeh na zon thoweh.
Re: Sweet Egun Names by Mideani: 8:17pm On Dec 29, 2020
Please can you tell me the meaning of “Dehumo”.
Re: Sweet Egun Names by absoluteSuccess: 11:01pm On Dec 29, 2020
Mideani:
Please can you tell me the meaning of “Dehumo”.

I'm interpreting dhe hu mo, meaning

"tougher than road"

But if you are Yoruba, chances are that you missed the intricacies of the language through pronunciation.

Dhenhumo, farther than the road can lead.

"I Haven’t Adopted The Title Of An Emir" - Oluwo Of Iwo Oba Abdul-Rasheed Akanbi / Masquerade Seriously Beats An Okada Rider (video) / 10 Ways To Say ‘hello’ To A Nigerian

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 46