Stats: 3,151,193 members, 7,811,506 topics. Date: Sunday, 28 April 2024 at 01:17 PM

Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant - Travel (35) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant (549324 Views)

Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 / Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant / Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (32) (33) (34) (35) (36) (37) (38) ... (131) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by gcey2k(m): 2:03pm On Mar 01, 2018
catchdwind4rmkd:
Hi,

I'd rather you ask your questions here unless they directly affect your privacy.

Most comments, posts and questions here are personal as well but others have benefited from the responses to those supposed personal questions. There have been many testimonies from people who haven't had any previous post on the thread but managed to get their visas by merely reading posts, comments and responses to questions asked by others.

Again, feel free to contact me directly only if it affects your privacy, else post your questions on the right thread, noting this thread is mainly for Life in Oz. The snag with asking questions in private is that you may receive wrong answers with no second or counter opinion from others which may have dire consequences.

Thanks for your prompt and apt response Bro.

I will post it here then later today.

Again, thanks.

Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by manga5: 3:51pm On Mar 01, 2018
catchdwind4rmkd:
Hi,

I'd rather you ask your questions here unless they directly affect your privacy.

Most comments, posts and questions here are personal as well but others have benefited from the responses to those supposed personal questions. There have been many testimonies from people who haven't had any previous post on the thread but managed to get their visas by merely reading posts, comments and responses to questions asked by others.

Again, feel free to contact me directly only if it affects your privacy, else post your questions on the right thread, noting this thread is mainly for Life in Oz. The snag with asking questions in private is that you may receive wrong answers with no second or counter opinion from others which may have dire consequences.

You are right o, all I did was to read people's post and it helped land my visa.

Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by Phil22: 7:30pm On Mar 01, 2018
@Omoolooriredade
Please which visa did you migrate with to be able to apply for job? I have BS in information technology.an IT supports specialist. Thinking of migrating to Australia. Your advice will be needed as to which part of Australia my service will be more needed. Thanks
Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by gcey2k(m): 8:36pm On Mar 01, 2018
Greetings to everyone here.

I will now post my testimony/query here.

I applied for the temporary skilled visa 476 back in December. This is after several months of job search in Naija after my MSc in the UK. This visa as many may know is an 18 month Work Visa.

On the 1st of February, I got a junior lecturing job in a newly opened federal institution. As expected, I have accepted this offer.

On the last day of February, I got the VISA grant, bringing so much joy, and again reasons to think on what path one would thread.

@ catchdwind4rmkd, I am particularly interested in you as it appears you have traveled with same Visa.

The major dilemma is if it will be sensible to leave a certain job here in Nigeria for this wonderful adventure. And considering that I have a limited grant period for the now.

What are the odds of getting PR if I choose to travel, given I don't have the required 3 years international experience and will require an exceptional English language test results? Are there easier ways one can go about this when one is on ground?

I am not so bothered about landing my first job in Aussie for the now, my major interest is in the future.

I understand life is a risk and I believe the benefits of moving to Australia are enormous. I am an adventurer and also a realist looking to make the best analysis before I decide on what to do.

Oga bellong and other bosses, please chip in some words to help a brother. Sorry for the long post.

I have other questions but will wait to get your views on this.

Thank you.

Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by bellong: 12:52am On Mar 02, 2018
Phil22:
[/color]

Haba, how can you be this wicked? Double quote despite the OP wrote that nobody should quote the epistle..

Only to write " which visa did you migrate with"..

Fear God oo

19 Likes

Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by bellong: 12:53am On Mar 02, 2018
@gcey2k

What is your occupation?
Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by gcey2k(m): 6:30am On Mar 02, 2018
bellong:
@gcey2k

What is your occupation?

I just got a job as a junior lecturer in a federal institution.

I am a mechanical engineer.

Thanks boss
Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by bellong: 7:59am On Mar 02, 2018
gcey2k:

I just got a job as a junior lecturer in a federal institution.

I am a mechanical engineer.

Thanks boss

Eng : 20 points

Qualification: 15 points

This is your potential points... 65. But as a mechanical engineer, you need at least 70 or more.

If you come on 476 and you are able to get a job as a mechanical engineer, after one year you can get 5 points for professional year in Australia and if it is a regional area, additional 5 points making 75 points.

It is doable. And if you don't get something in mechanical, you can join the queue and hope mechanical will drop to 65points.

Whichever way, I believe you should take the 476 and start the PR process immediately you land.

Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by catchdwind4rmkd(m): 10:26am On Mar 02, 2018
Migration isn't an easy decision to make. Even those that got permanent residency still find it hard to resign their jobs and move overseas. You need to be realistic and not sentimental in your judgement; what sort of career do you aspire for? Are you better off a lecturer? Do you have passion in lecturing or it's something you accepted just to meet up with bills?

A year ago, I would have confidently advised you to go with migration but as Bellong has already pointed out, based on current trend, you'd need 70 points as a Mechanical Engineer to process your PR. And from the point breakdown he has given, the maximum you can get atm is 65 points, making it a tough decision for you to leave your job with such uncertainty.

If you choose to make the move, then I'll advise you to secure the 20 points for English and at least apply for your EA assessment or ensure all your career episodes are ready before leaving Nigeria. The reason for this is so that you can enter your EOI asap and be in the pool so you might get ITA before the 18 months elapse. Another reason is the fact that many find it hard to write their career episodes or practice to ace the English due to working tirelessly to meet up with bills and save up. They end up procrastinating until their visa is almost up before realising the immediate goal should have been PR (securing their stay) than work/money. Remember the 18 months does not start counting until you enter Australia. So, it's worth making the best use of every minute in the 18 months by applying early.

I'm yet to hear any news of anyone on 476 or
Post study visa who got Employer sponsorship, but I believe this is still a viable option if you have what it takes. You may be lucky to find an employer that's willing to sponsor your visa.

As already mentioned, if you can get a Mechanical engineer job asap, after 1yr in the role, you'd gain 5 points. This is something you can sell to employers if you already secured other points. Most employers are cautious not to employ someone, invest time and effort in training, and eventually lose them due to visa issues. So, they'd rather someone with PR than TR. However, if you've already entered your EOI, you can enlighten them on how the job offer can make it certain you get your PR by giving you additional 5 points. Just to mention, there are many opportunities and vacancies for mechanical engineers and graduates in Australia only that it's difficult to get one as a temporary resident. There are few companies that sponsor, but it's very competitive e.g. Woodside and BHP Billiton...

This isn't an option I like to present, but it's worth mentioning. If you have a wife that has a skilled occupation, you can get extra 5 Partner points. So, if you're single but have a girlfriend you're already considering but hoping on things to get better, and she's got a degree on the skilled list, then it's worth taking your vows and claiming the extra point.

Finally, people migrate for many reasons. Obviously, yours is mainly for the economic or career benefit. You may wanna consider other benefits of living overseas, in a country like Australia. I don't need to tell you the many benefits. I believe it's best for you to decide what's important to you most. But yeah, I completely understand your delima, only that the lecturing job didn't present a great reason not to migrate IMO.

Best Wishes.

gcey2k:

The major dilemma is if it will be sensible to leave a certain job here in Nigeria for this wonderful adventure.

What are the odds of getting PR if I choose to travel, given I don't have the required 3 years international experience and will require an exceptional English language test results? Are there easier ways one can go about this when one is on ground?

I understand life is a risk and I believe the benefits of moving to Australia are enormous. I am an adventurer and also a realist looking to make the best analysis before I decide on what to do.

Thank you.

14 Likes

Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by Noreal: 10:31am On Mar 02, 2018
Vinsmuft:

I have already mentioned one of them in my post here https://www.nairaland.com/4107449/living-australia-life-australian-immigrant/14#62291314
It's quite expensive though.. about 800 AUD. But one can make a deposit of about $200 while the balance is gradually deducted from your paycheck. Their website is https://www.oncall.com.au/ndis-folder/ndisjobready

There's another one at http://www.yooralla.com.au. Was told that you don't pay for this particular training and it's also for 4 days as well. Don't know much about this though.

The downside with doing a short course is that it's not recognised across board. You can only work with the agency that trained you.

Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by gcey2k(m): 6:30pm On Mar 02, 2018
@ oga bellong and catchdwind4rmkd

Thank you very much for your kind analysis and sound advice. You have given me other perspectives that I have not yet considered.

I have up till October for my initial departure deadline, so I will try to put a lot of things in place.

Just to ask too, are there any particular skills that employers are seeking at the moment, which when acquired can give one a strong chance to secure engineering jobs?

Also someone told me I may have to use an Aussie address in my CV and job applications to stand a better chance. Is this advisable given one isn't yet in the country?

Once again, I appreciate the time and effort you have put in to advice your brother.

God bless you richly.

Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by IamphilVitalis: 8:50pm On Mar 02, 2018
Do you put your home country address in your cv when applying for admission or?
someone please clear me
Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by catchdwind4rmkd(m): 12:43am On Mar 03, 2018
Enter Before: October
You have enough time to think things through then. However, if you dont have enough experience in your field, then you should know that graduate roles in Australia usually have the criteria that "You must have completed your degree within the last 2yrs". So, the earlier you start applying, the better. More importantly, most graduate positions in Australia are advertised from February to June (already on) for a January start. So, arriving after this date will have you wait for 2019 recruitment rounds; though you'd still find few vacancies advertised periodically. You can apply for Woodside and BHP Billiton from Nigeria. I did so and got interviewed on an online video conferencing platform. Unfortunately, I didn't get the offer. A friend did same from UK and even got the offer but was placed on a waiting list which I guess must have been due to him not being physically in Australia and his temporary residency status. You guessed right, he didn't get the job coz no one turns down such offer...

Specific Skills:
Beside the generic interpersonal and communication skills as well as your ability to sell yourself via CV, Cover Letter and acing interviews using STAR/CAR techniques, For Mechanical Engineering graduates, they usually highlight that having CAD, CAM, DRAFTING, etc skills is advantageous. The best way to know this is to do a personal research on seek.com.au Search for Mechanical Engineer jobs filtering based on your eligibility and have a look at the requirements for the ideal candidate.

Choice of Address:
As implied above, for the big employers, this isn't necessary. However, if you want to explore opportunities within local or indigenous companies, then they usually require you to be in Australia and most times in a specific state and on few occasions you're even expected to be within a particular neighborhood or suburb or region or council to apply. In such circumstances, if you feel you have nothing to lose trying, then you can use someone's address in Australia.

The drawback here is that you also need an Australian phone number to go with as they're likely to contact you via phone at some stage in the recruitment process. Also, since they expect you to be within close proximity to them, they usually give you short notice (3 days) for invitation to face to face, group or panel interviews. A friend applied to Kraft Heinz from Nigeria and was successful through to the group interview stage but had only 3 days notice so couldn't make it coz he's yet to resign his job (he was even on the rig at the time). In fact, I've heard of a case when someone called by 10am advising of an interview scheduled for 3pm same day. Sometimes they call you and ask if you can come to the office for a quick chat. They do this coz the job ad states you must have access to vehicle and live within.

So far, I believe I've answered most of your personal questions and may not be prompt to respond further. But I'm sure you'd get the best responses from everyone here.

Wish you all the best through it all.

gcey2k:

I have up till October for my initial departure deadline, so I will try to put a lot of things in place.

Just to ask too, are there any particular skills that employers are seeking at the moment, which when acquired can give one a strong chance to secure engineering jobs?

Also someone told me I may have to use an Aussie address in my CV and job applications to stand a better chance. Is this advisable given one isn't yet in the country?

Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by ebere272: 4:32am On Mar 03, 2018
Hello everyone,arrived Melbourne 2 weeks now on a student visa.i have done cpr,first aid,children check,national police Check,emergency care.Am yet to get job pls any useful information now would be much appreciated.thanks
Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by gcey2k(m): 7:58am On Mar 03, 2018
catchdwind4rmkd:
[b]Enter Before: October .

I cannot thank you enough Sir. In all I say God bless you richly.

I have gotten a lot from this and will surely work on it.

Thanks again.

Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by manga5: 11:44am On Mar 03, 2018
Please house, I need help in opening an Aussie account from Nigeria. I tried the commonwealth bank and they requested for an Aussie address. How do I go about this or which bank is prefarable?
Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by Vinsmuft(m): 6:16pm On Mar 03, 2018
manga5:
Please house, I need help in opening an Aussie account from Nigeria. I tried the commonwealth bank and they requested for an Aussie address. How do I go about this or which bank is prefarable?

Make sure you select the Migrant account option.
Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by majiouk2002: 6:30am On Mar 04, 2018
manga5:

You probably used the wrong link. follow this one.

https://www.commbank.com.au/personal/can/moving-to-australia/planning-your-move-to-australia.html

Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by majiouk2002: 6:32am On Mar 04, 2018
IamphilVitalis:
Do you put your home country address in your cv when applying for admission or?
someone please clear me

Whichever address you use doesn't matter. You may even use an international address if you have your PR and you are yet to make the move.
Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by manga5: 6:39am On Mar 04, 2018
majiouk2002:

You probably used the wrong link. follow this one.

https://www.commbank.com.au/personal/can/moving-to-australia/planning-your-move-to-australia.html

I used the link, and Nigeria was not on their list of countries.
Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by majiouk2002: 9:32am On Mar 04, 2018
manga5:

I used the link, and Nigeria was not on their list of countries.

you may open with other banks (nab and anz)

https://www.nab.com.au/personal/banking/migrant-banking

http://movingtoaustralia.anz.com/global/en/

Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by Omooloriredade: 11:10am On Mar 04, 2018
Phil22:
@Omoolooriredade
Please which visa did you migrate with to be able to apply for job? I have BS in information technology.an IT supports specialist. Thinking of migrating to Australia. Your advice will be needed as to which part of Australia my service will be more needed. Thanks

189 Visa.

I'm still a JJC here o. Only just familiarised myself with buses and trains that ply my route sef after paying unnecessary 'tuition' fees for hopping unto the wrong buses. So I can't say precisely where your services will be needed. Sydney and Melbourne should be a good guess though.

Since you are yet to start the migration process, I'd suggest you refer to this thread for further guidance.

https://www.nairaland.com/3053069/general-guide-australian-permanent-resident/0
Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by Omooloriredade: 11:13am On Mar 04, 2018
bellong:

Haba, how can you be this wicked? Double quote despite the OP wrote that nobody should quote the epistle..

Only to write " which visa did you migrate with"..

Fear God oo

cheesy cheesy cheesy grin grin grin grin

Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by duduade: 12:01pm On Mar 04, 2018
Please who is planning on migrating under the working visa.. These whole processes...

Need someone so we can help encourage ourselves as we go through this phase... I am a Female with a PhD Degree...

Please indicate
Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by Abimbolah552: 1:18pm On Mar 04, 2018
I wanted visit Kenya with my family, would I need to collect visa before living Nigeria Pls I need quickly responding.
Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by manga5: 9:09pm On Mar 04, 2018
Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by tyosho: 10:46pm On Mar 04, 2018
ebere272:
Hello everyone,arrived Melbourne 2 weeks now on a student visa.i have done cpr,first aid,children check,national police Check,emergency care.Am yet to get job pls any useful information now would be much appreciated.thanks

What part of melbourne are you at.if you’re in the east,I believe some recruitment agencies have been listed on the first pages of this thread
Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by tobey2ng(m): 10:56pm On Mar 04, 2018
Abimbolah552:
I wanted visit Kenya with my family, would I need to collect visa before living Nigeria Pls I need quickly responding.
You will get it at port of entry
Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by oluwaatosin: 9:49am On Mar 05, 2018
Good morning everyone here,

Trying to get informed about Australian visa, Got a agent and he said the visa would be granted at the point of entry and i can also extend my stay when am in there, that kept me doubt. How true and easy is this?

Thanks for your response
Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by onatisi(m): 9:51am On Mar 05, 2018
oluwaatosin:

Trying to get informed about Australian visa, Got a agent and he said the visa would be granted at the point of entry and i can also extend my stay when am in there, that kept me doubt. How true and easy is this?

Thanks for your response
Australia visa at point of entry for Nigerians !!!!
I will advice you to go and put ur money back in the bank if you haven't paid the agent

Re: Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant by manga5: 1:27pm On Mar 05, 2018
oluwaatosin:

Thanks for your response

Na God we take beg you. Na lie o. I hope you have not spent any money? That agent is a scam, please run for your life.

6 Likes 2 Shares

(1) (2) (3) ... (32) (33) (34) (35) (36) (37) (38) ... (131) (Reply)

Nigerians In Oslo, Norway / General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 5 / Travelling To Canada Part 4

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 66