Stats: 3,148,626 members, 7,801,808 topics. Date: Thursday, 18 April 2024 at 11:50 PM

10 Nights in Dubai - Travel (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / 10 Nights in Dubai (77198 Views)

Three Nights In Paris! / Where Could These Be In Lagos at Nights? / Two Men Pay To Spend Two Nights In Prison Just To Have The Experience (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (13) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by Sapphire86(f): 6:03pm On May 18, 2018
shynerd:
Thanks so much for this beautiful rendition. May God be with you on your journey back to Nigeria.

Amennnn.. and thank you

Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by nowpresence(f): 8:56pm On May 18, 2018
thank you dear, I enjoyed every bit of it.
Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by almaj: 1:01am On May 19, 2018
Sapphire86:

As all activities on this trip are gradually winding down, I can say it’s being wonderful. I really can’t wait to come back or even be a permanent resident here. Dubai has been amazing. God bless Dubai, the UAE and even Nigeria. God bless us all! smiley cool cool cool kiss

Thanks a lot for this account. Please don't forget to share your experiences at Dubai airport on your outward trip and the MMIA on arrival.
Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by Lookandlaugh: 2:22am On May 19, 2018
I'm giving you an uncountable accolades,
You did a fantastic job,your writing skills were superb,thank you once again.
I think you should consider going into the tour business.

As all activities on this trip are gradually winding down, I can say it’s being wonderful. I really can’t wait to come back or even be a permanent resident here. Dubai has been amazing. God bless Dubai, the UAE and even Nigeria. God bless us all! smiley cool cool cool kiss[/quote]

Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by Sapphire86(f): 4:20am On May 19, 2018
almaj:

Thanks a lot for this account. Please don't forget to share your experiences at Dubai airport on your outward trip and the MMIA on arrival.

I intend to... grin grin
Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by Sapphire86(f): 6:11am On May 19, 2018
[quote author=Lookandlaugh post=67682254]I'm giving you an uncountable accolades,
You did a fantastic job,your writing skills were superb,thank you once again.
I think you should consider going into the tour business.

Awwwww kiss kiss kiss kiss

Thnx a bunsh. I work for a Travel agency
Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by Akorkor(f): 8:13am On May 19, 2018
Nice write up dear@ sapphire86. I enjoyed every bit of it. I am looking forward to ABU dhabi. Haven’t been there before. And I would surely visit Dubai again and again. Don’t give bribe to those yeye custom Officer at MMA when you arrive
Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by giga02(m): 9:08am On May 19, 2018
I enjoyed your writeup only that you making me dream of going there but you didn't give any sort of hope in terms of average cost that can take someone to enjoy him/herself in 10days or less. Thanks wink
Hope u can systematically tell us an average cost.

Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by olumig(m): 11:13am On May 19, 2018
Thanks for taking me on a virtual trip to Dubai, twas a lovely experience

Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by NifemiKolade(m): 11:21am On May 19, 2018
Well articulated write up... And safe trip down to Obodo Nigeria.... I'm still waiting for your own personal pictures though... Lol

Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by hayboss: 1:02pm On May 19, 2018
Couldn't believe I read through your post smiling sheepishly as I remember my stay in Dubai a few years ago. From my hotel on Al-rigga to touring malls and constant visit every night to the Al Ghurair Centre, having to choose where to dine every night among the wide varieties of fast foods.
Whew! I over shopped and luckily I scaled through my extra 29kg baggage allowance. And it's true, dirham will hardly follow you back to Naija...toll free goods too...chai

Naija will get there someday...

Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by chicoMX(m): 4:14pm On May 19, 2018
And the pictures did get better with time, you made feel like I was in Dubai already cool
Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by Sapphire86(f): 8:42pm On May 19, 2018

It’s Saturday morning and I do my last-minute packing – Emirates flight to Lagos at 10:15am is calling. The first time I came here, I was in a hurry to leave because of the alarming rate at which I was swiping my card but this time feels different. I was sad to leave; it feels like home to me. I didn’t want to go back to face the chaos in Nigeria. I love the ease of Dubai – they are grinding here but the standard of living is great. I said my prayers with care – ‘oh Lord, let no officer in Nigeria tamper with my bags; oh Lord, let no immigration officer disturb me’. I had 21 Dirhams left which I had saved up in case of any emergency at the airport and grudgingly reserved $50 to change at the airport in Nigeria.
I got to the airport around a few minutes to eight and check-in was easy breezy (you know these folks here know what they are doing and are timely and efficient at their jobs). As I was making my way to passport control, I was beckoned by a lady who happened to be a Nigerian and was travelling back to Nigeria as well. She had 2 and the half bags as hand luggage! Nigerians, just because they are doing sales does not mean we should abuse our baggage allowance na. Of course, she was turned back because her hand luggage had passed hand level. She asked me to help her check in one of her bags as mine and in my mind I was like ‘akoba, adaba, Olorun ma ja ri’ (may we not be implicated oo). She tried to unpack the little she could to show me that there was nothing hidden but that didn’t pacify me. For one, passing off someone’s bag as mine AT THE AIRPORT is very risky; what if something happens? Secondly, it is an integrity issue; I can’t say something is mine when it ain’t. So, what I did was tell her to follow me and HOLD HER BAGS HERSELF but when we got to where to weigh it, I asked the officer if my hand luggage was ‘transferrable’ to her and he said ‘NO; what if something happens’ and I turned to her and said ‘sorry’, carried myself and left. I can’t not carry someone else’s load on my head and drag my own on the floor na.

I went to stamp out at immigration and a cutie stamped me out. He kept looking at me and my passport maybe my pic in the passport was much baby-ish but I choose to interpret it as Mc Galaxy’s song ‘na who born this fine girl’ (lol) grin grin grin. Finally, it’s time to locate my gate C39 and I had to take a big ass lift to the next floor (oh, when will MMIA look like this?’ and then I was at duty free shortly. Dubai Duty Free is NOT for the faint hearted (I learnt that in my previous trip) so this time I said to myself (Mobola, don’t be unfortunate; just keep moving). But as I was about to enter my gate I saw this store ‘with love from Dubai’ (I think) and something possessed me to enter it. Remember, I said I had only 21 AED and $50 left; I knew that a demonic spirit would have to be in play for me to spend that $50 because I needed instant cash on arrival and ATM wouldn’t cut it for me because I left my card at home. But I was curious to see what I could buy for 20 AED; I saw my favorite chocolate selling for 97 AED and I wasn’t even bothered because I had taken care of that at the supermarket. Lo and behold, shortly I found a beautiful bracelet for 20 AED and I said ‘mission completed; Dirhams finished’. I made my purchase and proceed to my boarding gate.

Flight EK 783 was boarding at 9: 15am and I said ‘chai, na Nigeria I dey go like this?’ but we made our way through the walkway and suddenly we were put in a bus to take us to where the plane was. I was surprised; what happened to the walk-way tunnel? It wasn’t until we endured a 5 minute plus bus ride to another remote location at the airport close to the road that I came to the conclusion that Nigeria was not respected. These nations see the ridiculousness that goes on in Nigeria but they won’t say don’t come to their country, after all we are coming to boost their economy but they won’t give Nigeria any 5-star treatment. How do you put Nigeria at the remote part of the airport but put Air Algeria at the tunnel walkway? Isn’t that an insult? I am in no way looking down at any country, but fact is fact; do we not boost their economy (even at the detriment of ours)? Our leaders and some Nigerians in the diaspora are not representing the image of this country well and all these world leaders see it even though they enable foolishness by giving the president of Nigeria audience and useless hand shake (yeah, I said it; it’s the truth and I am shaking the table vigorously).

28 Likes 2 Shares

Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by Sapphire86(f): 8:43pm On May 19, 2018

Finally, we are all board and the journey commence; the cabin crew ladies were on point – YOUNG, FINE and EAGER TO PLEASE with their red lipsticks (I’m not bi or a lesbian but if something looks good, say it and move on). Food was flowing, drinks were flowing and when I could not take it again (because someone was watching in front of me), I tuned to CNN to watch Prince Harry and Meghan Markle tie the knot. It was beautiful; her dress STUNNING, and her tiara according to a gossip site was worth $100m. Prince Harry was crying oooo (dear future husband, if you cannot cry on our wedding day, I‘ll need a refund ooo).

At 14:58, we landed in Lagos and all I saw were duplexes with red roof (dear God, am I back to this again? Pick my call na) and upon final stop at the airport, the view I was greeted with just made my shake my head. Chai, WHAT IS THIS?
After baggage claim, now it was time for immigration. Can these people ever change? What orientation do they give them upon recruitment? They were stopping people by the size of their bags and guess what? They stopped me! He asked ‘when did you leave the country?’ I said ‘last week’. He says ‘is this bag new?’ I said ‘yes (why should I lie?’ and proceeds to make me open for searching. When he sees there was nothing out of the blue, he told me to close it and go!!!
HALLELUYAHHHH I’m free! It’s welcome back y’all.

Thank you for reading; hope it makes the front page.

Justwise
DisGuy
Lalasticlala

26 Likes 2 Shares

Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by Sapphire86(f): 8:47pm On May 19, 2018
giga02:
I enjoyed your writeup only that you making me dream of going there but you didn't give any sort of hope in terms of average cost that can take someone to enjoy him/herself in 10days or less. Thanks wink
Hope u can systematically tell us an average cost.

I depends on your budget.. for some, they like to splurge on hotel, while others don't mind staying any hotel.

Shopping is another thing, the difference between H&M & Gucci shopping or buying at the market vs buying in malls is money.

Do you want to tour as well? Money is involved. The minimum I can advise you to hold is $1k as your spending money but be prudent. As for the hotel, choice is key.

Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by Sapphire86(f): 8:49pm On May 19, 2018
hayboss:

Couldn't believe I read through your post smiling sheepishly as I remember my stay in Dubai a few years ago. From my hotel on Al-rigga to touring malls and constant visit every night to the Al Ghurair Centre, having to choose where to dine every night among the wide varieties of fast foods.
Whew! I over shopped and luckily I scaled through my extra 29kg baggage allowance. And it's true, dirham will hardly follow you back to Naija...toll free goods too...chai

Naija will get there someday...

grin grin grin Al rigga in the building!!! AMEN, i believe we actually would get there one day

Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by Sapphire86(f): 8:50pm On May 19, 2018
@Olumig

@NifemiKolade

@Nowpresence

The pleasure was all mine. Thank you for reading.
Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by Sapphire86(f): 9:01pm On May 19, 2018
chicoMX:
And the pictures did get better with time, you made feel like I was in Dubai already cool

lol... then i did a good job cheesy cheesy. Mission accomplished
Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by samee72(f): 9:41pm On May 19, 2018
My dear I really enjoyed reading your story, I've been to Dubai countless times though most of them are for medical treatments but whenever I hear anything Dubai I get all excited and get this thrill, I've also been to Abu Dhabi and some of the emirates and honestly the highlight of Abu Dhabi to me was the Grand Mosque not even Ferrari world or Yas Island, whenever I'm traveling to Dubai I get so happy and when coming back I get so depressed that I instantly fall sick in the plane back.
Concerning the transformation of Dubai I really agree with you on how fast they are developing the first time I traveled to Dubai was 2007 and Dubai was still coming up then, the metro wasn't even there then, though it was rolled out at the end of 2007, but between 2007 to now I marvel at the level of developments that have taken place, the once desolate lands that are now beautiful sights to behold.
I'm guessing you stayed at Suba Hotel at Al Rigga right? From your description on using iPad to operate things in the room, I might be wrong anyway there could be other hotels there with similar mode of operation.
Welcome back to Nigeria my dear, as for me I'm getting ready for another trip there but that will be after Ramadan, @NONNYG I hope that your offer for Dubai resorts still holds o, though coming again when it's going to be extremely hot.

Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by otokx(m): 8:13am On May 20, 2018
Welcome back

Most Nigerian International travellers returning back always experience a form of depressing spell on arrival, good thing those extortionists (customs and immigrations) did not see you.

Nice narration, you may wish to add jara.

Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by Ugosample(m): 8:44am On May 20, 2018
otokx:
Welcome back

Most Nigerian International travellers returning back always experience a form of depressing spell on arrival, good thing those extortionists (customs and immigrations) did not see you.

I can relate lol

Coming back to this jaga jaga country ALWAYS give me goose bumps.
Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by Sapphire86(f): 9:22am On May 20, 2018
samee72:
My dear I really enjoyed reading your story, I've been to Dubai countless times though most of them are for medical treatments but whenever I hear anything Dubai I get all excited and get this thrill, I've also been to Abu Dhabi and some of the emirates and honestly the highlight of Abu Dhabi to me was the Grand Mosque not even Ferrari world or Yas Island, whenever I'm traveling to Dubai I get so happy and when coming back I get so depressed that I instantly fall sick in the plane back.
Concerning the transformation of Dubai I really agree with you on how fast they are developing the first time I traveled to Dubai was 2007 and Dubai was still coming up then, the metro wasn't even there then, though it was rolled out at the end of 2007, but between 2007 to now I marvel at the level of developments that have taken place, the once desolate lands that are now beautiful sights to behold.
I'm guessing you stayed at Suba Hotel at Al Rigga right? From your description on using iPad to operate things in the room, I might be wrong anyway there could be other hotels there with similar mode of operation.
Welcome back to Nigeria my dear, as for me I'm getting ready for another trip there but that will be after Ramadan, @NONNYG I hope that your offer for Dubai resorts still holds o, though coming again when it's going to be extremely hot.

Yes, Suba oooo but I will never stay there again. Wasn't worth the hype abeg
Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by Sapphire86(f): 9:23am On May 20, 2018
otokx:
Welcome back

Which jara again ooooo?
Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by cutieme(m): 10:10am On May 20, 2018
Sapphire86:

Finally, we are all board and the journey commence; the cabin crew ladies were on point – YOUNG, FINE and EAGER TO PLEASE with their red lipsticks (I’m not bi or a lesbian but if something looks good, say it and move on). Food was flowing, drinks were flowing and when I could not take it again (because someone was watching in front of me), I tuned to CNN to watch Prince Harry and Meghan Markle tie the knot. It was beautiful; her dress STUNNING, and her tiara according to a gossip site was worth $100m. Prince Harry was crying oooo (dear future husband, if you cannot cry on our wedding day, I‘ll need a refund ooo).

At 14:58, we landed in Lagos and all I saw were duplexes with red roof (dear God, am I back to this again? Pick my call na) and upon final stop at the airport, the view I was greeted with just made my shake my head. Chai, WHAT IS THIS?
After baggage claim, now it was time for immigration. Can these people ever change? What orientation do they give them upon recruitment? They were stopping people by the size of their bags and guess what? They stopped me! He asked ‘when did you leave the country?’ I said ‘last week’. He says ‘is this bag new?’ I said ‘yes (why should I lie?’ and proceeds to make me open for searching. When he sees there was nothing out of the blue, he told me to close it and go!!!
HALLELUYAHHHH I’m free! It’s welcome back y’all.

Thank you for reading; hope it makes the front page.
I can cry like a river don't worry ,just let me know when u are ready for me to do that.
Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by NONNYG: 10:53am On May 20, 2018
This time I reserve my commentsgrin
Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by NONNYG: 10:58am On May 20, 2018
samee72:
Welcome back to Nigeria my dear, as for me I'm getting ready for another trip there but that will be after Ramadan, NONNYG I hope that your offer for Dubai resorts still holds o, though coming again when it's going to be extremely hot.
Awww unfortunately I no longer work there but once you show, let me know. I will see what I can do, cos enjoyment no dey finish for Dubai, how’s is your health now, hope your ok
Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by samee72(f): 11:28am On May 20, 2018
NONNYG:
Awww unfortunately I no longer work there but once you show, let me know. I will see what I can do, cos enjoyment no dey finish for Dubai, how’s is your health now, hope your ok

Thanks, will definately holla at you when I arrive, as for my health hmmm, all I have to say is God is in control
Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by samee72(f): 11:32am On May 20, 2018
Sapphire86:

Yes, Suba oooo but I will never stay there again. Wasn't worth the hype abeg

Oh really? Suba used to be great, anyway I make a habit of not staying in a hotel twice, I'm always sampling especially when I hear good things about the hotel and normally I stay in two different hotels during my trips, the first one near the hospital where I go for treatment and a different one after treatment in a different area.
Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by Sapphire86(f): 12:10pm On May 20, 2018
cutieme:
I can cry like a river don't worry ,just let me know when u are ready for me to do that.

grin grin grin hope my clear cut diamond ring is ready then?
Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by Sapphire86(f): 12:14pm On May 20, 2018
samee72:

Oh really? Suba used to be great, anyway I make a habit of not staying in a hotel twice, I'm always sampling especially when I hear good things about the hotel and normally I stay in two different hotels during my trips, the first one near the hospital where I go for treatment and a different one after treatment in a different area.

To me, it wasn't just worth the hype... over sold but under delivered. There was nothing out of the blues other than iPad controlled room.

I pray whatever it is that makes you frequent the hospital will vanish suddenly oooo.

31 Likes 2 Shares

Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by cutieme(m): 1:11pm On May 20, 2018
That wouldn't be a problem@ sapphire 86
Re: 10 Nights in Dubai by cutieme(m): 1:11pm On May 20, 2018
That wouldn't be a problem at all@ sapphire 86

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (13) (Reply)

Man Who Climbed Azman Aircraft At Lagos Airport Is From Niger Republic - FAAN / Inside Canada Ice Hotel With 15 Suites, Bar And Wedding Chapel(Pics) / Peace Mass Transit In Accident At Okogbo Town. No Survivors (graphic Photos)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 60