Stats: 3,165,239 members, 7,860,534 topics. Date: Friday, 14 June 2024 at 12:14 PM

Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 - Travel (304) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 (1349334 Views)

Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 3 / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 / General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (301) (302) (303) (304) (305) (306) (307) ... (646) (Go Down)

Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by holubukola(f): 6:57am On Aug 23, 2018
liana001:

Good morning and happy holidays to everyone. High five @Holubukola. It's nice to see someone with a similar plan to mine. Hope to graduate with a very good grade and get a sponsored PhD/PR in Canada, Germany,Australia or even UK.

High five.....Canny all the way jare
Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by Iamcurious: 7:13am On Aug 23, 2018
Not to derail the thread, but I would want to share an experience. To begin with, I think generalisations are not a good thing. People make it seem that going to the UK is like going to branch of hellfire. In 2014, I went to the UK for my master's because I got a fully funded offer down to flight ticket. The only money I spent was 30,000 Naira which was for the tb test. I was paid a monthly stipend for the 12 months. I knew why I was there and I finished with a distinction. And saved some money too.
I returned to Nigeria and got a job. I had my savings to tide me till I found a job. So it's not always gloomy. Have a plan and a fall back plan for anything one is doing.

Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by Iamcurious: 7:19am On Aug 23, 2018
The UK masters degree is well recognised so am surprised that a poster mentioned the need for someone to redo a master's programme for Canada or Germany. Is it for the purpose of funding? Sounds weird to me.
I have applied for and interviewed for positions in Germany, Italy, Canada, USA, Indonesia, UK, and even Australia and my qualifications was always considered good enough for a PhD program. But my goal has always been funding which gives me a chance to dedicate my attention to research.
I got a funded position in Indonesia, Which I forwent because of the crisis there.
I lost out on funding for a university in Canada because the professor lost funding.
I got 2 fully funded positions in Italy on the basis of my degrees and submitted proposals.
I am hopefully leaving Italy for UK to continue my research. Yes, I got a funded position in the UK(a studentship). And recently, I got a last minute funded position to Ireland which I am rejecting.
In summary, don't sell yourself short. There's nothing you can achieve if you put your mind to it. Know why you are doing what you are doing.

6 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by LaaJiblik: 8:44am On Aug 23, 2018
AdaCynomot:
Hello
Please do they accept fixed deposits as proof of finances??

Is the Fixed deposited money AVAILABLE FOR YOUR USE while in the UK?
Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by Bingos: 8:45am On Aug 23, 2018
Scottiemi:
Good evening people, thanks for your help so far, I just got a mail today the 19th working day that a telephone interview will be conducted tommorow, am getting kinda scared and worried pls what should I know or do

What is the update of the telephone interview?
Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by mimilyrics: 9:58am On Aug 23, 2018
No. Fixed deposits aren't allowed.
The money has to be something readily available for your use. It has to be money that you can withdraw immediately for your school and travel needs.
AdaCynomot:
Hello
Please do they accept fixed deposits as proof of finances??
Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by Nobody: 10:09am On Aug 23, 2018
please what scholarship/funding did you go with?
Iamcurious:
Not to derail the thread, but I would want to share an experience. To begin with, I think generalisations are not a good thing. People make it seem that going to the UK is like going to branch of hellfire. In 2014, I went to the UK for my master's because I got a fully funded offer down to flight ticket. The only money I spent was 30,000 Naira which was for the tb test. I was paid a monthly stipend for the 12 months. I knew why I was there and I finished with a distinction. And saved some money too.
I returned to Nigeria and got a job. I had my savings to tide me till I found a job. So it's not always gloomy. Have a plan and a fall back plan for anything one is doing.
Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by Nobody: 10:24am On Aug 23, 2018
Thank You oh....I wonder

Iamcurious:
The UK masters degree is well recognised so am surprised that a poster mentioned the need for someone to redo a master's programme for Canada or Germany. Is it for the purpose of funding? Sounds weird to me.
I have applied for and interviewed for positions in Germany, Italy, Canada, USA, Indonesia, UK, and even Australia and my qualifications was always considered good enough for a PhD program. But my goal has always been funding which gives me a chance to dedicate my attention to research.
I got a funded position in Indonesia, Which I forwent because of the crisis there.
I lost out on funding for a university in Canada because the professor lost funding.
I got 2 fully funded positions in Italy on the basis of my degrees and submitted proposals.
I am hopefully leaving Italy for UK to continue my research. Yes, I got a funded position in the UK(a studentship). And recently, I got a last minute funded position to Ireland which I am rejecting.
In summary, don't sell yourself short. There's nothing you can achieve if you put your mind to it. Know why you are doing what you are doing.
Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by LaaJiblik: 12:11pm On Aug 23, 2018
SingleLady01:
I am just stranded for now. Biko! Please help me out with any international company that can stand as a guarantor just for visa processing. My cousin is the real sponsor

Let your REAL sponsor send the REAL money into your REAL bank account.
Then use the REAL money to pay the REAL school fees etc.
Then let the remaining REAL money sit in your REAL account for 28 REAL days.
Then apply for REAL T4 visa.

Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by yerilistik: 12:51pm On Aug 23, 2018
LaaJiblik:

Let your REAL sponsor send the REAL money into your REAL bank account.
Then use the REAL money to pay the REAL school fees etc.
Then let the remaining REAL money sit in your REAL account for 28 REAL days.
Then apply for REAL T4 visa.

Someone had earlier said that your sponsor can pay your tuition fees directly from his account and then send your upkeep fees to your account where it must sit for 28 days. So I don't think the whole money must be sent to your account unless sponsor wishes to do so but I know some sponsors will prefer to pay straight the tuition fees in order to reduce the total amount needed to sit in your account.
Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by mimilyrics: 1:11pm On Aug 23, 2018
You're still kinda saying the same thing with @laajiblik
Even after paying the tuition, the sponsor needs to send the maintenance money to his/her account.

yerilistik:

Someone had earlier said that your sponsor can pay your tuition fees directly from his account and then send your upkeep fees to your account where it must sit for 28 days. So I don't think the whole money must be sent to your account unless sponsor wishes to do so but I know some sponsors will prefer to pay straight the tuition fees in order to reduce the total amount needed to sit in your account.
Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by yerilistik: 1:22pm On Aug 23, 2018
mimilyrics:
You're still kinda saying the same thing with @laajiblik
Even after paying the tuition, the sponsor needs to send the maintenance money to his/her account.

Totally agree...
I was thinking laajiblik meant to say the WHOLE MONEY must be sent to his account by the sponsor and from his account he can start paying the fees and allow the rest to sit 28 days

Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by Scottiemi(f): 3:35pm On Aug 23, 2018
Thanks for checking up, had the interview answered some questions and then the network became bad and the interviewer had to cut, I immediately sent a mail apologizing for the bad network and all but for now nothing.
Bingos:

What is the update of the telephone interview?
Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by Firebomb: 5:32pm On Aug 23, 2018
I just want to take this moment to thank contributors on this thread for all the helpful information you share. I started my application sometime towards the end of July, submitted my application on 27th of July and went for my biometrics/interview on 30th of July. Application was transfered to Sheffield the same day. I received Sheffield's confirmation two days after.

Yesterday, being the 22nd of August, I received the email for decision and collection. I went there today, retrieved my passport and found my visa in it. I will be flying into London (LSE) any day from 10th of September. If anyone is gonna be within London, I'll be glad to connect.

Thank you once again for all your help. Special appreciation to Justwise for all the guide.

Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by Nobody: 6:04pm On Aug 23, 2018
thanks for this I remember you said you won a scholarship, which scholarship body is this?
Firebomb:
I just want to take this moment to thank contributors on this thread for all the helpful information you share. I started my application sometime towards the end of July, submitted my application on 27th of July and went for my biometrics/interview on 30th of July. Application was transfered to Sheffield the same day. I received Sheffield's confirmation two days after.

Yesterday, being the 22nd of August, I received the email for decision and collection. I went there today, retrieved my passport and found my visa in it. I will be flying into London (LSE) any day from 10th of September. If anyone is gonna be within London, I'll be glad to connect.

Thank you once again for all your help. Special appreciation to Justwise for all the guide.
Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by Firebomb: 6:35pm On Aug 23, 2018
I won a full-ride scholarship directly from the school.
PCGamer:
thanks for this I remember you said you won a scholarship, which scholarship body is this?
Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by solarinde(m): 6:43pm On Aug 23, 2018
Good evening house, please I want to ask what happen if the money in the statement presented is not up to 28days. Please this is very urgent, anyone with any idea?
Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by justwise(m): 7:36pm On Aug 23, 2018
Firebomb:

Congratulation!
Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by NonieHoney: 7:44pm On Aug 23, 2018
[/quote[quote author=Renee25 post=69524454]Hello everyone...Please has anyone applied for a tier 4 visa under any of the new schools qualifying for the pilot scheme? If so, did you need to submit or show evidence of financial capability. My school, University of Sheffield qualifies, and they instructed that 'I may not submit financial evidence'. Please someon should let me know if I can go ahead for the interview without submitting this.

Secondly, I've been denied a visa to the US once but I was eventually granted the visa. In the part that asks of denial of any visa should my answer be 'Yes'. And if it is, what will be my reason for denial? US embassy didnt give me any reason at the time. Please kindly help me with these questions. Thanks

Hi Renee, I'm also going to the University of Sheffield this September and I will be studying for an Msc in Information Systems Management I'm going to pick up my visa tomorrow. Can we PM? Is there anyone else going to Sheffield?

Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by LaaJiblik: 7:45pm On Aug 23, 2018
solarinde:
Good evening house, please I want to ask what happen if the money in the statement presented is not up to 28days. Please this is very urgent, anyone with any idea?

What did the guidelines say again?
Did you read the guidelines?
Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by Bingos: 7:55pm On Aug 23, 2018
Scottiemi:
Thanks for checking up, had the interview answered some questions and then the network became bad and the interviewer had to cut, I immediately sent a mail apologizing for the bad network and all but for now nothing.

What are the questions asked?
Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by Renee25: 8:26pm On Aug 23, 2018
I really don't know how the PM thing works. You could put me through. Do you have any questions in particular?

[quote author=NonieHoney post=70546802][/quote]
Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by Joyeeeee: 11:35pm On Aug 23, 2018
Hello mimilyrics and other gurus in the house.

I paid for my IHS fee few hours ago and I'm yet to receive a payment confirmation and my IHS reference number in my email. Now I'm scared to pay the visa fee. Anyone experiencing this issue or have an idea if what I should do?
Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by Kuwaitboy: 7:28am On Aug 24, 2018
Hello everyone. I applied for a tier 4 visa for PhD on 6th. TLS confirmed that it has been transferred to ukvi on the same date. However, I only received a message from Sheffield on 17th August about 11 days later. Is that not unusual?. I am still waiting for my visa until today and the processing time was supposed to be 15 days for 91 percent. I also previously studied in the UK. Can anyone give me some explanations based on experience. The last time I applied for a visa for studies, I did not even receive any correspondence from Sheffield and got the visa in five days.
Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by solarinde(m): 8:12am On Aug 24, 2018
LaaJiblik:

What did the guidelines say again?
Did you read the guidelines?
The guideline says 28 days, I'm asking what will happen if 28day condition is not met. Maybe like 14days. Do anyone have similar issues?
Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by justwise(m): 8:22am On Aug 24, 2018
solarinde:

The guideline says 28 days, I'm asking what will happen if 28day condition is not met. Maybe like 14days. Do anyone have similar issues?

Your visa will be refused
Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by justwise(m): 8:23am On Aug 24, 2018
Joyeeeee:
Hello mimilyrics and other gurus in the house.

I paid for my IHS fee few hours ago and I'm yet to receive a payment confirmation and my IHS reference number in my email. Now I'm scared to pay the visa fee. Anyone experiencing this issue or have an idea if what I should do?

Contact the embassy if the payment is not reflecting on your profile or not email confirmation yet
Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by Kuwaitboy: 8:28am On Aug 24, 2018
@Justwise, should I be worried?.
Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by justwise(m): 8:38am On Aug 24, 2018
Kuwaitboy:
Hello everyone. I applied for a tier 4 visa for PhD on 6th. TLS confirmed that it has been transferred to ukvi on the same date. However, I only received a message from Sheffield on 17th August about 11 days later. Is that not unusual?. I am still waiting for my visa until today and the processing time was supposed to be 15 days for 91 percent. I also previously studied in the UK. Can anyone give me some explanations based on experience. The last time I applied for a visa for studies, I did not even receive any correspondence from Sheffield and got the visa in five days.

That is normal.
Re: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 3 by Kuwaitboy: 8:51am On Aug 24, 2018
I

(1) (2) (3) ... (301) (302) (303) (304) (305) (306) (307) ... (646)

Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 5 / Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 9 / General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 58