Stats: 3,161,995 members, 7,849,003 topics. Date: Monday, 03 June 2024 at 01:18 PM

Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant - Travel (365) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant (2006321 Views)

Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 / Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant / Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (362) (363) (364) (365) (366) (367) (368) ... (505) (Go Down)

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by kylexy61(m): 1:14pm On Aug 31, 2018
I landed in Toronto (as a student) about 4 days ago. Such a beautiful city.

30 Likes

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by salford1: 2:11pm On Aug 31, 2018
Estac:

Thanks, but what does this mean for immigrants in/to Alberta?
Job loss or scarcity of jobs especially for those in the Engineering/Technical fields. Less funds from government to support safety net programs ( effects might not be immediately obvious ).

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by vcole: 3:43pm On Aug 31, 2018
Zeiya:

Wow, I am hoping to settle in Calgary, still waiting for my PPR. Hope you don't have any regrets living in the city?
None.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by czaratwork: 5:01pm On Aug 31, 2018
https://events.ismg.io/event/fraud-breach-prevention-toronto-2018/

This summit comes up on 11th and 12th September 2018.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Nobody: 6:41pm On Aug 31, 2018
hotD:

...TD gave $1000 credit limit,scotia bank gave $2000

Nice! Scotia Bank gave me $3000 credit limit. cheesy

10 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Nobody: 6:46pm On Aug 31, 2018

21 Likes

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Nobody: 9:54pm On Aug 31, 2018

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by jimikata(m): 10:03pm On Aug 31, 2018
Am motivated ever than before..

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Nobody: 10:04pm On Aug 31, 2018

27 Likes 1 Share

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by joo2018: 10:16pm On Aug 31, 2018
Elections are coming!
She must be under real pressure for a NDP government to pull out of a climate change plan.
salford1:
So Alberta has been let down again, and Notley threw a fit.

"In a dramatic announcement Thursday evening, Premier Rachel Notley said she is pulling Alberta out of the national climate-change plan to protest a federal court ruling that quashed expansion of the Trans Mountain pipeline".

Big mess.

Alberta really needs to diversify its economy.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by efueh: 10:50pm On Aug 31, 2018
GlitteringStar:
1. Tomatoes: $6.88 per box

2. Rice

Thanks for the photos so far in wetting our appetite for the landing gist.
We are staying tuned on your channel.

I love the fresh tomatoes! Lol.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Nogen: 4:01am On Sep 01, 2018
Been miles away. Congrats to those who have landed in Cannyland and may the land favour us all.
I have been very busy with studies and homefront, my parents have gone back to Naija since July and hubby came in for his vacation. At the point of entry, his passport was stamped PR. He quickly informed them he is on a visit not a permenant resident. Funny experience.

You guys outside Quebec really pay so much on rent. I couldn't believe my eyes as I saw some comments on renting a 3 bedroom appartment between $1300 to $1700. While I pay for the same 3 bedroom here for $795 per month.

Success to us all in our endeavours.

30 Likes 1 Share

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by TheCongo2: 5:19am On Sep 01, 2018
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by babypipsy: 6:12am On Sep 01, 2018
GlitteringStar:
1. Tomatoes: $6.88 per box

2. Rice

Where did you get tomato at $6.88? I guess we need to restock.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by TFLASHOGEE(m): 8:17am On Sep 01, 2018
glittering star thanks for the PIC more abeg

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by cheromel: 8:46am On Sep 01, 2018
GlitteringStar:
Ottawa, Ontario kiss

Thanks, GlitteringStar the photos made me feel good about my decision to settle in Ontario. Just look at the sky, so beautiful. Can't wait cheesy cheesy

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Expectantbee: 9:09am On Sep 01, 2018
GlitteringStar:
Ottawa, Ontario kiss

Beautiful pictures and thanks for sharing..Ottawa is also my city of choice though I’m still waiting for my ppr. Pls can I contact you personally when the time comes or when the need arises?... thanks in advance
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Nobody: 12:58pm On Sep 01, 2018
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Nobody: 12:59pm On Sep 01, 2018
babypipsy:

Where did you get tomato at $6.88? I guess we need to restock.

Food Basics.

7 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Nobody: 1:00pm On Sep 01, 2018

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Nobody: 1:04pm On Sep 01, 2018
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Java47: 1:55pm On Sep 01, 2018
You guys should really research job opportunities before deciding on where to land.
Housing in Ontario is skyrocketing too.
Single applicants have more flexibility to move around than those with kids.
Winter is coming lol.

That being said Toronto is also lovely haha. grin

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by studyexec: 1:56pm On Sep 01, 2018
Hello all. Arrived Calgary last weekend and settling in well!
Will find time to give landing gist soon.

Landed seniors, please I need your thoughts and information on buying a car. My budget is CAD 4 - 5k for all expenses to be incurred.

1. Someone recommended buying from Regal Auctions, who conduct auctions every Saturday and Wednesdays. Are there any experiences using them? pros and cons? I have also checked out kijiji. Will be glad for thoughts on this.

2. Please can you provide a breakdown of all expenses to be incurred when purchasing a car? E.g. sales tax, registrations, and car parts (e.g. winter tires - how much and when it should be done)

Thanks in advance.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 3:18pm On Sep 01, 2018
Java47:
You guys should really research job opportunities before deciding on where to land.
Housing in Ontario is skyrocketing too.
Single applicants have more flexibility to move around than those with kids.
Winter is coming lol.

That being said Toronto is also lovely haha. grin

Housing is only skyrocketing in Ontario, in the Toronto area.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by maternal: 3:24pm On Sep 01, 2018
studyexec:
Hello all. Arrived Calgary last weekend and settling in well!
Will find time to give landing gist soon.

Landed seniors, please I need your thoughts and information on buying a car. My budget is CAD 4 - 5k for all expenses to be incurred.

1. Someone recommended buying from Regal Auctions, who conduct auctions every Saturday and Wednesdays. Are there any experiences using them? pros and cons? I have also checked out kijiji. Will be glad for thoughts on this.

2. Please can you provide a breakdown of all expenses to be incurred when purchasing a car? E.g. sales tax, registrations, and car parts (e.g. winter tires - how much and when it should be done)

Thanks in advance.

With a budget for 4-5k, it doesn't matter where you go. Just hope it'll last you a couple years. Just get a trusted mechanic to look over the car.

1. Sale taxes is based on percentage and each province is different.

2. Registration/sticker like $140 give or take.

3. Winter tires and other parts depends if its new or old.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by salford1: 4:21pm On Sep 01, 2018
joo2018:
Elections are coming!
She must be under real pressure for a NDP government to pull out of a climate change plan.
I do not blame her.
The job losses have already begun.

https://www.pipelinenews.ca/8-000-jobs-disappeared-this-morning-and-one-of-them-was-mine-1.23419145
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Saintp(m): 4:39pm On Sep 01, 2018
salford1:

I do not blame her.

https://www.pipelinenews.ca/8-000-jobs-disappeared-this-morning-and-one-of-them-was-mine-1.23419145

What is this project expected to achieve? who is actually kicking against it? liberals or conservatives? Could you please explain the issues around this project, thanks
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ninichinny: 5:22pm On Sep 01, 2018
We plan to reside in Calgary when we get ppr.
With this development, make person begin check another province oo
salford1:

I do not blame her.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Expectantbee: 5:35pm On Sep 01, 2018
GlitteringStar:

Yes, you can.

Thank you!

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Newbeecey: 5:36pm On Sep 01, 2018
Could you please provide further information about what you were told that made you feel comfortable you weren't been scammed? Modified: Read subsequent posts for clarification.
AZeD1:
My work place as do most places pay salaries every two weeks (not bi monthly) so my first week was a pay

So I was spared the "embarrassment" of confronting the MD. A member of this group wasn't so lucky. He saw his pay check and went to HR.

Moral of the story, know if your wages are bi weekly or bi monthly before you "go an vex for oga at the top".

PS: For those in Ottawa, we need to pick a weekend that would be comfortable for everyone to meet in person and hang out.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by overcomer296: 6:49pm On Sep 01, 2018
Hereforthistoo:
Thanks for this response. Was actually thinking the credit system would work in the same way criminal and other global checks are conducted - checking with other national partners to foresee any risk.

Generally speaking, I’ll be surprised if there’s no existing program in place to bridge this gap.

Thanks again.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by S4cannyland(f): 8:03pm On Sep 01, 2018
Hi all,

Been following from the sidelines. Thanks to all that has been contributing to the thread. I plan to write my experience too soon.

So PPR has fallen on us and we plan to land November.
I need all the help I can get as per coping with weather, foodstuff to carry etc. We'll be landing with our kids and I'm trying to make the move as seamless as possible for them

(1) (2) (3) ... (362) (363) (364) (365) (366) (367) (368) ... (505)

Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 / Canada Visit/tourist Visa Discussion. / Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program Connect Here

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 35