Stats: 3,152,442 members, 7,816,006 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 11:22 PM

Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 - Travel (60) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 (2188764 Views)

Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) / Living In The USA - Life Of An Immigrant Part 1 / Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (57) (58) (59) (60) (61) (62) (63) ... (713) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Newmum0615: 3:32pm On Feb 15, 2019
He is less than 5 and we didn't use a car seat. They insisted we use the seat belt for him though. So far, only one Uber guy refused carrying us without a car seat. The rest have always just asked that we use the seat belt. We have gotten him a car seat sha.
jholarharde:

Congratulations sis. I have being waiting for your gist. it was a very informative read. I wonder if your kid is less than five, and if the taxi you used from the airport provided a car seat for him/her

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Newmum0615: 3:34pm On Feb 15, 2019
iaatmguy:
no apologies, the "constitution" of this thread allows lonnnnng post grin grin
welcome home, if i were to be landing in ontario, would have love to know you, anyway, i send lots of love to you and your family. God be with you
The new set of Canadians are taking over this thread, whether oga like am or not grin grin. raphrulz or any volunteer, lets start marking LANDING GIST.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Newmum0615: 3:35pm On Feb 15, 2019
Apologies dear. I have been cut off from phone and internet for a while. I only just got reconnected yesterday. If it is isn't too late, I can still reply you.
flgd:
Nice read. All the best. Now I understand why you never reply my mail. Take good care ma.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Zeewirld: 3:36pm On Feb 15, 2019
tfNewmum0615:
[b]Part 2:

. Hello Super mum! I became emotional after reading your post.Nigeria just lost a super person to Canada. You're impactful on Nairaland and your pieces of advice most especially in NOC issues was more than soothing balms to plenty.. While,I hope to meet you some day in Canada, but in the meantime, I have to complete my own.From my heart,I bless you and your family and I decree concerning you;Canada will favor you. You will enjoy Dominion.

30 Likes

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Pegzzyg(f): 3:40pm On Feb 15, 2019
I have been looking out for your gist. Thanks Nemum0615. It has ended in Praise indeed!
Newmum0615:
Part 2:

Our life in Canada thus began. In the first one week, we did quite a lot. Opened bank accounts, got phone lines, spoke with employment advisors, visited my registered midwife and other things here and there. We even attended service at the church my midwife invited us to. The pastor and everyone we met were so accommodating. They prayed for us and welcomed us to Canada.
The second week saw us begin our house search. This part of my landing gist will require its own section because it is really a story for another day. Suffice it to say that it is a story worth telling. It ended well though but the story behind it nkor? As I said, story for another day. Anyway, we had the house thing finally sorted out, so we went ahead and registered my son in the Catholic school nearby, registered for our health cards and did some other things that depended on us getting a permanent address. Job search is underway for my hubby. I am putting a hold on that one for now. I will work the work sometime later. We are just past our third week here and while we get lonely sometimes, we are adjusting nicely. The cold is crazy, but you will be fine. Just dress appropriately and don’t stay outside for extended periods of time. I am surprised at the way my son enjoys the cold even when it seems that it would freeze our blood when we are outside.

Ehen, I didn’t tell you how our cargo business went. The crazy people kept sending our bags in batches. Out of the eight cartons sent from Lagos, five came in three days after our arrival, two came in a day after that and then the eighth one was sent an extra three days after that. In all, it took more than a week for our goods to come in before my husband was able to go and pick them up. The excuse was that the issue was with the freight carrier, KLM and not the agent at NAHCO, nor the cargo agents here in Canada. When the last carton got to Canada, the Canada border guys withheld it to do some thorough search as they told us. Maybe it was the carton containing our OTC medication. I may never know. Na them sabi sha. We got everything we cargoed. Some broken things here and there, but nothing I can’t live with. My husband rented a U-Haul truck, drove out himself from Milton to the cargo office at the airport and picked up the luggage with the help of his friend from Mississauga. He was given one-month free storage at the U-Haul office in Milton and so he kept the goods there till we found a place of our own.
You see ehn, I have plenty gist, but if I continue, Oga number 13 might comman find me in my house and beat me. I will continue some other time. Lemme stop here for now.

I have some tips for those of you who haven’t landed. I am sure you may have read or heard of it before, but make I still remind una.

1. Canada is expensive. Carry enough money with you. You will understand why later.
2. Research and research more. There is just too much information to work with. You may miss out on great benefits if you don’t know
3. Interact with people. It’s important, no matter the country or race. I have read here how you need to avoid your fellow Nigerians. While it may work for some, assess your own peculiar situation and do what it is right for you. I have been blessed by a lot of Nigerians since I got here, and it is not just about the jollof rice and groceries I spoke of earlier. So many useful information we have used here have been given to us by Nigerians. Do you and don’t let anyone’s stereotyping of any race or tribe make you miss out on useful advice. Take what is important and leave the rest for ‘LAWMA’.
4. Shine your eyes well. Ask questions before you take a major step. If you believe in prayer, pray
5. Kijiji is not a bad place to search for a house. We got our place from Kijiji after all the turnioniown that we went through with agents and landlords here. I was skeptical of the site at first, but in the end, na wetin save us
6. Dream big but be realistic in your expectations.
7. Never take another person’s story as your own. What worked for someone else may not necessarily work for you and what didn’t work for someone might just work out for you. Each person’s path is different.
8. There is always somewhere you can get “that thing” cheaper. Ask questions.
9. You may make mistakes at first when you get here. Most people did. Just learn from it and let it form part of your Canadian story. I will tell mine one day.
10. Most Canadians I have met are nice and polite. Very chatty if you’d ask me. It’s just them being them. Nothing to be wary about. I can’t remember how many times I have been asked if I am having a boy or girl, how far along I am, when I am due. I just dey smile dey answer. Something wey I no fit try for Nigeria. Lol. The conversations usually start with the weather, so be prepared to gist if you like.
11. A lot of things you need may just depend on you having a credit card and good credit history. Be prepared to start building your credit history immediately you land
12. Don’t try to cut corners here. Do whatever you need to do the right way. Leave that your Naija sharpness at MMIA.

God has been faithful to us. He was with us in Nigeria. He is here also.

…And so here is my landing gist. Apologies for the length of my post and for the delay. Too many things have been going on with me in this Canada. Don’t also forget that I am an “arugbo’. We tend to be slow sometimes. I took lots of pics to add to my post, but my phone is damaged and I have lost most things. None backed up.

Catch ya guys later.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by flgd: 3:47pm On Feb 15, 2019
Not too late sis. Would be expecting your response. Merci....
Newmum0615:
Apologies dear. I have been cut off from phone and internet for a while. I only just got reconnected yesterday. If it is isn't too late, I can still reply you.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by flavorlyiced: 3:49pm On Feb 15, 2019
Newmum0615:
Part 2:

Catch ya guys later.

Congrats, you're such a great person with a lovely personality. I pray Canada will favour you and yours. Thanks for your timely response to my pm even when others ignored. You're such a nice person. God bless you

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Newmum0615: 3:50pm On Feb 15, 2019
kiss kiss kiss
princesschuks:
@newmum0615 I love you (no homo)

Your Landing gist sweet my belle

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Newmum0615: 3:51pm On Feb 15, 2019
Amen! Thanks dearie.
Zeewirld:

. Hello Super mum! I became emotional after reading your post.Nigeria just lost a super person to Canada. You're impactful on Nairaland and your pieces of advice most especially in NOC issues was more than soothing balms to plenty.. While,I hope to meet you some day in Canada, but in the meantime, I have to complete my own.From my heart,I bless you and your family and I decree concerning you;Canada will favor you. You will enjoy Dominion.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Zeewirld: 3:56pm On Feb 15, 2019
amdman:

Is there anything specific you would like to know?

ACAMS is fairly easy to scale through... just a bit pricey. You should be able to choose a convenient location to write the exam once you register. Exam preparation materials are available online and you will get all you need when you register
.@Amdman...I have registered for ACAMS and will be writing by October.I hope this is acceptable by employers in Canada?
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by tintedniggz(m): 4:06pm On Feb 15, 2019
Barryston:
I've been doing research on how to be a licenced football coach in Canada and I'm so happy that it's pretty straightforward compared to the one in Nigeria (this is why countries that have plans will always be better) I will be pursuing my coaching career in Canada...so watch out if you see a Nigerian coach in future coaching the likes of Vancouver Whitecaps cheesy cheesy grin

And if you like to be a Licence coach...you can Google it too...infact I've been receiving emails from football federations lately and I'm told to contact the province I would like to reside.
I can play for your team grin

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Desdes: 4:29pm On Feb 15, 2019
Will d one issued by my regular doctor fly pls cos I don't stay in Lagos...and d midwife u also spoke about...did u book d appointment before leaving Nigeria...
nice and very informative landing gist
Newmum0615:
Charles Hammond Clinic in VI if you are in Lagos. It's on Adetokunbo Ademola Street, just beside Sovereign Trust Insurance building after Tantalizers. You may miss it if you don't use these landmarks. Go with your original Nigerian Passport, N10k and last scan report from your doctor.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Kmgb1: 4:37pm On Feb 15, 2019
Newmum0615 trust you to rep wella,wishing you all the beat ahead!, so Milton is about 30mins from pearson,interesting!!! cant wait to hear your house hunting gist.Thank you for every!
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Hephgirl: 4:37pm On Feb 15, 2019
amdman:
TESTIMONY TIME

Finding Accommodation
Now because of my new job at RBC, I need to move to Mississauga. Guess what? A Canadian friend connected me to a couple in Brampton that have a furnished 1-bedroom basement apartment for rent and we agreed on a month to month rent of $625 CAD! For a 1-bed apartment within GTA! Amazing!

There are so many other things to be thankful for in this new place called HOME, and it can only get better.

TIP: Doing as much research as possible before landing is important to hit the ground running.
congratulations on ur job dear.
basement during winter is crazy. A full house can be frustrating if u r d occupant in d basement.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Hephgirl: 4:38pm On Feb 15, 2019
Congratulations my darling.
Wish u all d best.
Newmum0615:
Amen! Thanks dearie.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Hephgirl: 4:39pm On Feb 15, 2019
A big Amen
Zeewirld:

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Newmum0615: 5:03pm On Feb 15, 2019
They won't accept the one issued by your doctor cos I asked and they said no. Send a mail to Lossm@ethiopianairlines.com and ask them for any other clinic they use outside Lagos. I can't imagine that it is only the one in Lagos that they accept.
Whichever one you use, don't get the letter too early. It expires after 48 hours to your flight date.

Desdes:
Will d one issued by my regular doctor fly pls cos I don't stay in Lagos...and d midwife u also spoke about...did u book d appointment before leaving Nigeria...
nice and very informative landing gist

10 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Newmum0615: 5:03pm On Feb 15, 2019
kiss kiss kiss
Hephgirl:
Congratulations my darling.
Wish u all d best.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Desdes: 5:12pm On Feb 15, 2019
Thanks so much...this is really helpful....will do just that....pls if I need further clarification regarding this I will PM u...safe delivery dear...
Newmum0615:
They won't accept the one issued by your doctor cos I asked and they said no. Send a mail to Lossm@ethiopianairlines.com and ask them for any other clinic they use outside Lagos. I can't imagine that it is only the one in Lagos that they accept.
Whichever one you use, don't get the letter too early. It expires after 48 hours to your flight date.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Jennypharb1: 5:37pm On Feb 15, 2019
Zeewirld:
.@Amdman...I have registered for ACAMS and will be writing by October.I hope this is acceptable by employers in Canada?

Hello, can I pm you if you don't mind. I'm looking at registering and sitting for the exams as well.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by efueh: 5:56pm On Feb 15, 2019
@Newmum0615, so glad to read your landing gist, and it’s so good to know that you and your family are settling down well in your new home. Kudos!
May God’s increasing presence continually lead your path all the days of your life. Just as you’d blessed others with your selfless service, so shall men, angels and the host of heaven bless and back you & your family up; amen.
Congrats!

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by olioxx(m): 6:06pm On Feb 15, 2019
As I dey yarn greet people "congratulations", me sef must jet out of Naija to either Canada, Switzerland, Australia or Norway. I know no country is perfect, but these countries are more perfecter than Naija olohun, to get a visa is more importanter than a PVC.
Because oyinbo say what - flying out of Naija is d surest way to have a good life.
Thaink You.

20 Likes

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Sthill5: 6:09pm On Feb 15, 2019
Newmum0615:
Charles Hammond Clinic in VI if you are in Lagos. It's on Adetokunbo Ademola Street, just beside Sovereign Trust Insurance building after Tantalizers. You may miss it if you don't use these landmarks. Go with your original Nigerian Passport, N10k and last scan report from your doctor.

Thank you

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Jumdah20: 6:48pm On Feb 15, 2019
This is such an interesting story, super rich. God bless you your new home. Thanks for the tips too, you are an Omo daadaa grin, you no disappoint grin

quote author=Newmum0615 post=75742387]Part 2:

Our life in Canada thus began. In the first one week, we
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Jumdah20: 7:01pm On Feb 15, 2019
See all the prayers for new mum, in fact I have to change and become more impactful fa, even Angels will be guarding somebody up and down grin , thanks for being an inspiration

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Randomsue: 7:05pm On Feb 15, 2019
[b][/b]
oluphilip2008:
LANDING GIST!!!! Long Post Alert!!!!

Thank you for sharing your experience. May the land favour you and yours.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Randomsue: 7:12pm On Feb 15, 2019
Newmum0615:
Part 2:

Our life in Canada thus began.
Catch ya guys later.

Congratulations on your safe trip and thank you for sharing in such a detailed manner.

Congrats on LO too, here's praying you have a beautiful birth experience and many more beautiful celebrations.

We are gearing up here

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by MummyJaygirls: 7:23pm On Feb 15, 2019
1 bedroom, fully furnished flat share (strictly female) for rent at $625 monthly. Water, heat, Internet and Parking included. Just carry your bag and move in. Location-- Valleyview Road NW. Edmonton. Near West Edmonton Mall and Downtown. PM if interested

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by rainazoe: 8:06pm On Feb 15, 2019
You are most welcome

Iyamefa:

Just saw your response to the other lady. This is helpful,thank you
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by rainazoe: 8:10pm On Feb 15, 2019
Do I file taxes if I have spent less than a year in CA?
Philippians4v9:
Hello Everyone,

Please watch the video and learn about where you can get your taxes done for free in Canada

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kohfsB2fqxg

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by czaratwork: 8:58pm On Feb 15, 2019
Please can we end bullying boss13? This is cyberbullying and it's not right. He made a suggestion which didn't fly, Do we still have to overflog it? For all you know he may have a useful post for us but at this rate, he would not post it. Please let's end it. Thanks.

40 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Estac: 9:13pm On Feb 15, 2019
Newmum0615:
MY LANDING STORY…a long one.

Lovely place we got. I just enter kitchen arrange Indomie noodles with dry fish make man pikin chop hold

Thanks @Newmum0615. As usual expectations surpassed. God bless and prosper you and your loved ones indeed.
Biko, did you déclaré your indomie as per "chicken product" or chicken-affiliated something sha. This matter has been giving me sleepless night undecided

(1) (2) (3) ... (57) (58) (59) (60) (61) (62) (63) ... (713) (Reply)

Canada Visit/tourist Visa Discussion. / Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program Connect Here

Viewing this topic: Bibitayo2

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 56