Stats: 3,154,050 members, 7,821,616 topics. Date: Wednesday, 08 May 2024 at 03:44 PM

Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 - Travel (165) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 (2194946 Views)

Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) / Living In The USA - Life Of An Immigrant Part 1 / Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (162) (163) (164) (165) (166) (167) (168) ... (713) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Kaycee54321(m): 6:27pm On Jun 24, 2019
Winterpeg:

Hi,
like I said earlier, there are different things you can do. Now it depends on your interest, what you already have, what experience you have and what you are willing to commit to or do.

Sincerely, I'm committed to do whatever it is that'll guarantee a good income. I'm purely talking from the income aspect. Regarding experience, I just finished NYSC few months ago. I just want to know which jobs can be rewarding especially for a migrant because it's my impression that a migrant is a migrant there and we have to work from scratch (which I'm ready to do).

My major dilemma is if I should further with a career in Zoology or if I should switch to something else, say, marketing for instance. It's just about job security for a fresh migrant, and I believe people like you who are already there will be in the best position to help me out. Thank you.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by lennyk: 6:39pm On Jun 24, 2019
Hi Guys,

Please I really need a response to below.
lennyk:
Hi all,

I really love all the good stories I’m reading here, very encouraging!

Please I have an urgent question, I’m moving to Calgary in August and will be schooling at Bow Valley College, downtown SE.

Please which is the best area to rent apartment close to my school, in terms safety, cost and traffic for my family and I
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Debzyworld: 7:02pm On Jun 24, 2019
I'll take you up on this by 1st week of August. I hope this offer would still be available then..thank you very much.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by TheAfrikan: 7:03pm On Jun 24, 2019
Oluwaseunbd:
Good day all...please any WhatsApp group for people living in nova Scotia pls....I would like to join
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Winterpeg: 7:27pm On Jun 24, 2019
Kaycee54321:

Sincerely, I'm committed to do whatever it is that'll guarantee a good income. I'm purely talking from the income aspect. Regarding, experience, I just finished NYSC few months ago. I just want to know which jobs can be rewarding especially for a migrant because it's my impression that a migrant is a migrant there and we have to work from scratch (which I'm ready to do).

My major dilemma is if I should further with a career in Zoology or if I should switch to something else, say, marketing for instance. It's just about job security for a fresh migrant, and I believe people like you who are already there will be in the best position to help me out. Thank you.
Hi,
I think I understand the question better now. Nursing pays well but you will have to go to school and pass some exams, medical laboratory technologist also pays well but u will need to go back to school, Medicine pays the most in the sciences I think but u will have to fulfill some residency requirements and go back to school and a whole lot of other things. I hear people earn a lot from skilled labor too but I don't know too much about it but I have read here that you will have to take some courses and get apprentiship, coding, programming language and related also earn attractive salaries I heard but I really do not have much knowledge about it. Accountants and related professions with CPA are also earning well. That's all I can seem to remember now.
Zoology is broad and it might not be wise to do an MSc in zoology except you are willing to do a Phd and then try getting a research or teaching position in a University. Well, that's my opinion because of something's I have seen.

4 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Kaycee54321(m): 7:30pm On Jun 24, 2019
Winterpeg:

Hi,
I think I understand the question better now. Nursing pays well but you will have to go to school and pass some exams, medical laboratory technologist also pays well but u will need to go back to school, Medicine pays the most in the sciences I think but u will have to fulfill some residency requirements and go back to school and a whole lot of other things. I hear people earn a lot from skilled labor too but I don't know too much about it but I have read here that you will have to take some courses and get apprentiship, coding, programming language and related also earn attractive salaries I heard but I really do not have much knowledge about it. Accountants and related professions with CPA are also earning well. That's all I can seem to remember now.

OK, Thank you so much for taking time to help. I really do appreciate.

Thanks for the modification: Last part really answered my question. I'm grateful beyond bounds.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by wengerly(m): 12:00am On Jun 25, 2019
Claire18:
cheesy me!!! Mid July! Will buzz you when close!

No wahala. God keep us till then.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by wengerly(m): 12:07am On Jun 25, 2019
TITILOLA88:
Hi, God bless you for being a such an angel!

I'm just an ordinary human...
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by laminaria(m): 12:26am On Jun 25, 2019
kike100:
Ed what!!!! Naaaaaa..

Like we joke amongst already landed, if you want the hustle/hit the ground running kinda, na Toronto/GTA if you are the easy/jenkele type, other province however if you are team ballerz/kashogi, its Vancouver baby! grin cheesy wink

Edmonton na villagy kinda, Edmonton lovers, don't come for me oo in the spirit of #prideweek

You might be right given that a lot of people have a family or relative connection on ground hence gta/toronto their first choice and of course the law of demand n supply cos of population too play a big part. But big cities too get their own wahala sha like traffic, and everything is too competitive.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by GBSS: 12:36am On Jun 25, 2019
GBSS:
Good day fellas. Please for someone with background in health Policy and public health with experience in research and project management in health and education, which of the provinces would you strongly suggest, Alberta- Calgary or Ontario-Ottawa. I would appreciate if the answers are given with reasons as my family is about to decide on which province to choose.
Hello all, I would appreciate if someone can give some advice here. Many thanks
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by 19CannyMum: 1:45am On Jun 25, 2019
So guys, something just occurred to me yesterday while I was out and I had a good laugh. I bought a cup for my son that guaranteed 'refills for life'. Meaning whenever I take that cup to that particular place, I can fill the cup with any soft drink of my choice (from those they have available). Note that most fast food places offer free soda refills once you've bought something so long as what you bought came with a cup.

Imagine if any outfit tried to do free refills in Nigeria? Or that refill for life in particular... How e go be? Me I go just get cup for motor permanently, everyday after school run na to go fetch free soda grin grin grin

40 Likes 1 Share

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Hotstepper(f): 1:55am On Jun 25, 2019
[
which cup is that? wonderland cup?

<quote author=19CannyMum post=79643195]So guys, something just occurred to me yesterday while I was out and I had a good laugh. I bought a cup for my son that guaranteed 'refills for life'. Meaning whenever I take that cup to that particular place, I can fill the cup with any soft drink of my choice (from those they have available). Note that most fast food places offer free soda refills once you've bought something so long as what you bought came with a cup.

Imagine if any outfit tried to do free refills in Nigeria? Or that refill for life in particular... How e go be? Me I go just get cup for motor permanently, everyday after school run na to go fetch free soda grin grin grin[/quote]
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Lummie01: 2:42am On Jun 25, 2019
Sent a PM
Misi16:

Nope wont mind being added
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Lummie01: 2:50am On Jun 25, 2019
To aid your decision. Decide on the role you want to work as when u land and go to indeed.ca and see the availability in both cities. Look on Glassdoor.ca as well for reviews and salaries. It’s not about the course u studied but the exact role u are working as.
GBSS:

Hello all, I would appreciate if someone can give some advice here. Many thanks

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by smslive2: 3:18am On Jun 25, 2019
You can PM me any question you have...
Tominiola:
Has anyone on here moved from the United Kingdom to Canada?

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Milllz: 3:22am On Jun 25, 2019
Apparently, this is what they look out for in the Ontario G license drive test.

To say you need to practice cannot be overemphasized. I think it’s easier for a novice to pass than for an experienced Nigerian driver. A novice just has to learn the rules, a professional Nigerian driver has to forget everything they know and act like a novice cheesy cheesy

26 Likes 19 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by smslive2: 3:34am On Jun 25, 2019
Random from Edmonton

28 Likes

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by smslive2: 3:53am On Jun 25, 2019
The WhatsApp group is full but the Telegramis still open
Misi16:

Nope wont mind being added
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by smslive2: 3:54am On Jun 25, 2019
Lookatyu
kike100:
Ed what!!!! Naaaaaa..

Like we joke amongst already landed, if you want the hustle/hit the ground running kinda, na Toronto/GTA if you are the easy/jenkele type, other province however if you are team ballerz/kashogi, its Vancouver baby! grin cheesy wink

Edmonton na villagy kinda, Edmonton lovers, don't come for me oo in the spirit of #prideweek

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Ifeoma77(f): 4:16am On Jun 25, 2019
Landing Gist
I practically worked till the last day so my packing was stressful and inefficient. All my bags were overweight and I had an extra bag even after shedding as much as I possibly could.
I was feeling like a gangster so I told my family to finish the goodbyes at home and then my dad dropped me off at the airport and took off for work...

Chai!!!
I suffered!!!
I had never ever used up my weight allowance when traveling and never ever worried about overweight bags before.
I didn't take into consideration that I will be lifting them at every stop - for agric checks, for all the multiple scanners, for the weighing, reweighing, repacking and hauling around.
Who send me message?
I paid for extra bag and extra luggage and lost my Ziploc of Cameroon pepper because, in the whole repacking frenzy, it somehow ended up in my hand luggage and was seized.
By the time the last bag slid away all checked in, I had sweated out four buckets, cried another two, was in dire need of a nap and at least four tablets of ibuprofen.

Lesson: if you're a single traveller or your boo doesn't have six packs, pleeeeaaaaase cargo your stuff!

After the morning I had, I wasn't looking forward to the rest of the journey at all.
I went with ET and since I've flown with them before, I knew their food well. I packed enough snacks. I even arranged a prepackaged meal of garri/gnuts/sugar/milk in a travel mug grin the plan was to tackle that deliciousness around hour 20 of the flight, but I completely forgot grin

The flight was long and tiring. Food was just there. I slept all through from Abuja to Addis Ababa because of my world renowned stressful check-in. It turned out to be the best decision I ever made. The plane from ABV to ADD was new, big and half full. I had my entire row to myself. The one from ADD to YYZ was small, older and very very full. There were several sick and coughing people, screaming babies and cranky toddlers. It was not a pleasant trip.

I know that for families, the savings from using ET is significant but if you're single, please add that extra 100k or so and get a shorter flight. It's not worth it Abeg.

Landing was smooth. Immigration line was very short and I got stamped in faster than light. No need to even go and sit anywhere to wait for COPR to be prepared, while standing there, the officer just went bam bam bam, welcome to Canada, next!
I got my SIN at the airport, went to pick my plenty bags and sashayed into the maple land.

114 Likes 14 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Ifeoma77(f): 4:42am On Jun 25, 2019
Settling in
My original plan was to spend a couple of weeks in the US with family and then do a road trip into Canada but OVO had other plans.
So instead, my people came to Toronto and I've been enjoying myself since.
With a US driver's license, you can rent a car in Canada, so that's what we did. We've taken long drives to most of the cities in the GTA and beyond. Stopping at random places of interest, eating great food and just decompressing.
I opened checking and savings accounts with TD Bank and got a credit card with 2k limit. Free unlimited banking for six months.
Got a virgin line, 4gigs, LTE with phone at $55/month.

Accommodation
hmmm, so I planned to land in a different city and booked Airbnb there. Then, thanks to friends of friends of friends, I got a place to rent in a different city and had to grab it with both hands because it was a great deal and a better city.

Unfortunately, I couldn't get a refund after cancelling because the Airbnb booking has a strict cancellation policy. So I lost that money.
Lesson: no matter how sure you are of your plans, avoid the Airbnb homes that adopt the strict policy.

I've checked in with ACCES and considering shopping for other settlement services but I'll start all that in July.

So that's basically it my people...I don port o

91 Likes 17 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Ifeoma77(f): 4:47am On Jun 25, 2019
Being on vacation mode in Toronto can't be complete without a trip to Niagara falls, so let me gist you guys about a truly incredible day;
We made the almost two hours drive to the falls and couldn’t have picked a more perfect weather.

40 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Ifeoma77(f): 4:57am On Jun 25, 2019
The boat looked like fun so we decided to get on and get closer cheesy

26 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by smslive2: 4:58am On Jun 25, 2019
Welcome home my darling
Ifeoma77:
Landing Gist
I got my SIN at the airport, went to pick my plenty bags and sashayed into the maple land.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Ifeoma77(f): 5:03am On Jun 25, 2019
Then zip lining
cameras are strictly forbidden. However, if you have a GoPro with wrist/shirt straps, you might be allowed to take them along and get some body shots

30 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Ifeoma77(f): 5:15am On Jun 25, 2019
Then we got on the tower. Amazing views

26 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Ifeoma77(f): 5:17am On Jun 25, 2019
We watched the sunset from the tower

26 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Ifeoma77(f): 5:19am On Jun 25, 2019
Then had dinner at the Rainforest cafe

28 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Ifeoma77(f): 5:21am On Jun 25, 2019
Each table has a patron saint grin
To watch over you and your food grin

26 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Ifeoma77(f): 5:30am On Jun 25, 2019
After dinner, we watched the fireworks and light show

26 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Ifeoma77(f): 5:33am On Jun 25, 2019
Definitely put it on your todo list, It was a good day

30 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Elektra008(f): 5:39am On Jun 25, 2019
Ifeoma77:
Each table has a patron saint grin To watch over you and your food grin
Enjoyment!!! grin joining you soon by God's grace.

(1) (2) (3) ... (162) (163) (164) (165) (166) (167) (168) ... (713) (Reply)

Canada Visit/tourist Visa Discussion. / Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program Connect Here

Viewing this topic: auggie17

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 52