Stats: 3,143,236 members, 7,780,449 topics. Date: Thursday, 28 March 2024 at 02:40 PM

Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault (38158 Views)

Oshiomhole Tackles Senator Elisha Abbo Over Muslim-Muslim Ticket / Police Detain Senator Abbo Over Alleged Assault / Buhari Has Ended Obasanjo’s May 29 Hypocrisy, Says Falana On June 12 Democracy D (2) (3) (4)

Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by doris00: 10:42am On Jul 10, 2019
Human rights lawyer, Mr. Femi Falana has said that the Senate ad hoc committee was wrong to have questioned embattled lawmaker, Senator Elisha Abbo, on Tuesday.

Falana said although the Senate had a right to discipline its members, Abbo could not be questioned because the matter was already in court and questioning him now would amount to subjudice.

He noted that Abbo had already been arraigned before a magistrate court, pleaded not guilty and granted bail.

The senior advocate noted that the Senate rules clearly state that when a matter is before a court of law, the Senate cannot discuss such a matter.

The activist said, “We all watched the video showing the senator allegedly assaulting a lady but we all demanded justice and the police have already arraigned him. The matter is now before a court and Senator Abbo is a defendant.

“It is, therefore, wrong for the Senate to sit and investigate a matter publicly while the matter is ongoing in court. That is subjudice. The Senate rules are clear that when a matter is in court, the Senate does not dabble into it.”

Abbo, who represents Adamawa-North senatorial district, was caught on video assaulting a shop attendant in a intimacy gadget shop.

The video sparked outrage across the country with different rights groups demanding his prosecution.

The Senate President subsequently set up an ad hoc committee headed by Senator Sam Egwu of Ebonyi State while Lagos Central lawmaker, Senator Tinubu; Senator Stella Oduah of Anambra-North, Mathew Urhoghide, Dauda Aliu Jika, Sani Musa, and Danladi Sankara are members.

The committee was asked to submit its report within two weeks.

Before the committee could sit on Tuesday, however, the police had already arraigned Abbo the previous day.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/punchng.com/why-remi-tinubu-other-senators-have-no-right-to-question-abbo-over-adult-toy-shop-assault-falana/amp/

17 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by Nobody: 10:48am On Jul 10, 2019
I totally concur. The senators hovering over him are after career boast which equals more political votes.

114 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by femolacqua(m): 10:49am On Jul 10, 2019
This is Nigeria, anything can happen.

Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by Tamasaba: 10:49am On Jul 10, 2019
It just doesn't make sense. In as much as physical assault is a criminal offence, he is still an accused. So as a smart individual, who knows the matter is in court already, it's best he says nothing without his counsel giving him the nod coz he might say what would further indict him.

12 Likes 1 Share

Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by oz4real83(m): 10:57am On Jul 10, 2019
What did u expect from lawless legislators? A senate committee led by corrupt ex-governor, questioning another lawless and unrepentant legislator over a matter that is already before the court is a comedy I don't understand.

101 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by Oshin56(m): 1:08pm On Jul 10, 2019
They will not listen to you baba, but forward it to falz then go hear am.

14 Likes 1 Share

Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by Iyajelili(f): 1:10pm On Jul 10, 2019
Let's listen to the learned one

Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by landforeast(m): 1:11pm On Jul 10, 2019
Of course since the Case is already in Court, they have no right to question him, pending the outcome of the judgement. The Lawmakers should have known this.

Meanwhile

If I tell you that with 540,000 you can buy a Plot of Land in Ibeju-Lekki, will you believe it. But that is the truth.

Plots of Land are offered for sale at Cedarwood Vista Estate Phase 3

PRICE
270,000 For Half Plot (300 Sqm)
405,000 For Half and Quarter Plot
And 570,000 for full Plot.

TITLE: Registered Survey and Deed of Assignment(The Land is not under any form of Government Acquisition)

NEIGBOURHOOD
Dangote Refinery
Lekki Deep Sea Port(First Deep Seaport in Nigeria)
Free Trade Zone
New Lagos International Airport
La Champagne Tropicana Beach Resort
Eleko Beach Resort
Pan Atlantic University
Lagos Smart City

NOTE: Outright Payment can last for three months and there is also provision for 6 and 12 months instalment Payment.

Do you know that Land in this axis appreciates faster than any other place in Lagos.

Do you know that Ibeju-Lekki is the new Lagos.

Do you know that once Dangote Refinery takes off full operation by December that it will be difficult getting a land on this axis at this Amount.

Do you know that many people are massively investing in Ibeju-Lekki that is why the first and second phase of this Estate lasted in the market for three weeks.

Do you know that you will be doing your children a lot of good if you invest in their name. Just imagine what the value of the land will be by the time they grow up.

Do you know that lots of business opportunities will spring up in Ibeju-Lekki. You can set up your business in this axis and make more money than you currently make.

Do you know that just like Lekki Phase 1 and 2, Ibeju-Lekki will become centre of not just local attraction but of international attraction.

Do you know that many Africans will prefer to come and live in Ibeju-Lekki than to go to Dubai in the nearest future.

We are taking Clients for Inspection from our Office in Ajah so if you are interested check my signature below and call my No to book for Inspection.

If you want to contact me personally for either videos, photos or any enquiry please call or chat the Number in my signature below.

13 Likes 1 Share

Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by ForeThinker: 1:11pm On Jul 10, 2019
Gbam
Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by nwakibie3(m): 1:12pm On Jul 10, 2019
mama lagos grin grin
Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by ghost3040: 1:12pm On Jul 10, 2019
Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by paroh137(m): 1:12pm On Jul 10, 2019
My own problem is Tinubu telling the man "Do you want us to protect you or you want to be on your own?"
Protrect him for and from what please?

94 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by MrAnele(m): 1:13pm On Jul 10, 2019
Emeritus

I build websites and I am based in Abuja, see my signature (09011639568) no advance payment
Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by kendo60(m): 1:13pm On Jul 10, 2019
Lawless nation, where the law makers are above the law. Ndi Ara

Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by AntiWailer: 1:13pm On Jul 10, 2019
Matter is before a court of law.
Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by sojayy(m): 1:14pm On Jul 10, 2019
This abbo's saga is clearly a "case of what goes around comes around".......n some political bullies are taking turns to bite him hard.

Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by deafeyez: 1:14pm On Jul 10, 2019
I love the way Abbo acted, he acted like a man.

32 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by apcmustwin(f): 1:14pm On Jul 10, 2019
nONSENSE
Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by ghost3040: 1:15pm On Jul 10, 2019
Messi should tender an honest apology to CONMEBOL and its officials over his uncouth and unfounded utterances to salvage the little dignity left of him.

That's my honest opinion on this issue.

Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by oobinna: 1:15pm On Jul 10, 2019
landforeast:
Of course since the Case is already in Court, they have no right to question him, pending the outcome of the judgement. The Lawmakers should have known this.

Are they really law makers or "breakers?"

Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by DonKalidon(m): 1:15pm On Jul 10, 2019
Man wey sabi
Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by LibertyRep: 1:16pm On Jul 10, 2019
They just wan take the guy shine.

Please remind me what haopened to the Senator alleged to have led thugs into invading the Senate and making away with the mace? That was an assault that happened right under their nose and they couldn't resolve it or punish the alleged offender.

Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by dfrost: 1:16pm On Jul 10, 2019
ghost3040:
Messi should tender an honest apology to CONMEBOL and its officials over his uncouth and unfounded utterances to salvage the little dignity left of him.

That's my honest opinion on this issue.

grin shocked kwale weed oOo

Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by millhouse: 1:17pm On Jul 10, 2019
Cioccolata:
I totally concur. The senators hovering over him are after career boast which equals more political votes.
lol sharp Senator .. he knows with his colleagues justice will be served .. but with d courts justice could be delayed , if possible denied !

Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by NwaJozi: 1:18pm On Jul 10, 2019
Na true but
Re: Falana On Elisha Abbo: Senators Have No Right To Question Abbo Over Assault by jaxxy(m): 1:19pm On Jul 10, 2019
The slapping senator shud be punished period. It must be Smtn that will deter him from repeating such act for a 2nd or 3rd time.

Keke Napep Ambulances Launched In Ebonyi State As Nigerians React. Photos / Buhari’s Cabinet: Ambode, Bindow, Abubakar To Get Ministerial Appointments / NLC Gives Six Conditions To Call Off Strike

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 34