Stats: 3,325,763 members, 8,423,629 topics. Date: Wednesday, 10 June 2026 at 03:18 AM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup - Sports (7056) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumEntertainmentSports"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup (17088027 Views)

1 2 3 ... 7053 7054 7055 7056 7057 7058 7059 ... 19289 Reply (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by drDoom3(m): 2:00pm On Sep 10, 2019
OwnGoal Nigeria

Super Eagles Training – Aribo Tops All Newly Invited Players In Terms Of Performance, Maja, Okoye In Focus
September 10, 20190728

The Super Eagles of Nigeria will later today take on Ukraine in an international friendly game, Owngoalnigeria.com takes a look at how the new players have performed in the two training session the team had ahead of today’s game.

Newly invited goalkeeper Maduka Okoye showed he has what it takes to be a good goalkeeper in the future and it’s looking like he will play some part in today’s game.

Josh Maja of Bordeaux impressed with his pace and ability to finish wisely during the drills with strikers. His link up play is also a lot better than most forward in the team and he has struck a very good understanding with Paul Onuachu. Still not sure of getting game time today.

Club Brugge Dennis Bonaventure was the closest to Samuel Chukwueze and Samuel Kalu in terms of dribbles completed in training. However he was guilty of not releasing the ball early and also his final balls were hit and miss during the session. A very lively player though.

However the best of them all was Rangers of Scotland midfielder Joe Aribo, he was a beast in duel and also very commanding in possession. Used his body to good effect with his abilities to use both legs correctly also giving him an edge. Sure to start today’s game.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Prectega(m): 2:01pm On Sep 10, 2019
komekn:
Considering the players invited it's a friendly so I would expect a least 6/7 substitutions.

We already know what Uzoho can do and this is an area of great concern the goal keepers, so l would prefer to see Maduka, and let's see his quality after all its a friendly.

Winning is not that important but trying out players to see what options we have.

This is a European football team and so the issues of limited physicality do not come into play for Osimhen as claimed by Rohr. So it will good to see what he brings.

We need a more inventive midfield unfortunately Ebere is not there to be tested. Nonetheless, l look to see Aribo play the DM role but with more attacking prowess and drive.

We know what to expect from Iwobi, Chukwueze. Etebo and Kalu so it's simply more of the same.

Not sure where to watch the match anybody know❓
Winning is not important?...but if we loose .. Na u go first paint here with "sack rohr" undecided
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Prectega(m): 2:03pm On Sep 10, 2019
drDoom3:
OwnGoal Nigeria

Super Eagles Training – Aribo Tops All Newly Invited Players In Terms Of Performance, Maja, Okoye In Focus
September 10, 20190728

The Super Eagles of Nigeria will later today take on Ukraine in an international friendly game, Owngoalnigeria.com takes a look at how the new players have performed in the two training session the team had ahead of today’s game.

Newly invited goalkeeper Maduka Okoye showed he has what it takes to be a good goalkeeper in the future and it’s looking like he will play some part in today’s game.

Josh Maja of Bordeaux impressed with his pace and ability to finish wisely during the drills with strikers. His link up play is also a lot better than most forward in the team and he has struck a very good understanding with Paul Onuachu. Still not sure of getting game time today.

Club Brugge Dennis Bonaventure was the closest to Samuel Chukwueze and Samuel Kalu in terms of dribbles completed in training. However he was guilty of not releasing the ball early and also his final balls were hit and miss during the session. A very lively player though.

However the best of them all was Rangers of Scotland midfielder Joe Aribo, he was a beast in duel and also very commanding in possession. Used his body to good effect with his abilities to use both legs correctly also giving him an edge. Sure to start today’s game.
Joe aribo plays like inform pogba
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m):
komekn:
Considering the players invited it's a friendly so I would expect a least 6/7 substitutions.

We already know what Uzoho can do and this is an area of great concern the goal keepers, so l would prefer to see Maduka, and let's see his quality after all its a friendly.

Winning is not that important but trying out players to see what options we have.

This is a European football team and so the issues of limited physicality do not come into play for Osimhen as claimed by Rohr. So it will good to see what he brings.

We need a more inventive midfield unfortunately Ebere is not there to be tested. Nonetheless, l look to see Aribo play the DM role but with more attacking prowess and drive.

We know what to expect from Iwobi, Chukwueze. Etebo and Kalu so it's simply more of the same.

you want aribo to be deployed as a DM with drive and attacking prowess as a DM? Aribo is a cm/b2b midfielder, a position where his physicality, pace, agility, passing and goal scoring prowess comes to light. Playing him deeper will limit him when we don't hv currently a better cm
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 2:04pm On Sep 10, 2019
Not really, he is more of a low budget Yaya and ex spurs midfielder Moussa dembele. Ejaria is who has the same playing style as pogba
Prectega:
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by gamaliel9: 2:10pm On Sep 10, 2019
That Olisa Ndah was class act....he plays like that Ivory Coast defender at Club Brugge Deli or something like that name...very good with both feet especially left foot
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by zoboizee: 2:20pm On Sep 10, 2019
gamaliel9:
That Olisa Ndah was class act....he plays like that Ivory Coast defender at Club Brugge Deli or something like that name...very good with both feet especially left foot
Yeah. He's decent. Was dropped by Siasia prior to the last Olympics. Was playing in Malta before returning to Nigeria.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Nobody: 2:24pm On Sep 10, 2019
zoboizee:
Yeah. He's decent. Was dropped by Siasia prior to the last Olympics. Was playing in Malta before returning to Nigeria.
Ha!! He was available for the last Olympics??
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by elyte89: 2:29pm On Sep 10, 2019
Prectega:
Hype don start grin grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by zoboizee: 2:29pm On Sep 10, 2019
Can a big fish hide in a small pond?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by jihday(m): 2:32pm On Sep 10, 2019
tbaba1234:
Ha!! He was available for the last Olympics??
Me sef shock o
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by signz: 2:42pm On Sep 10, 2019
gamaliel9:
Do you know if he's related to Ndubuisi Ndah?

Ndubuisi played for Rangers in the 90s and also played in the Maltese league.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 2:45pm On Sep 10, 2019
And some pple will be praying for him to flop against ukraine grin
elyte89:
Hype don start grin grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Earthquake1: 2:49pm On Sep 10, 2019
komekn:

You don't start a rookie like Maduka against a football savvy side like Ukraine

It may be a friendly but our pride is at stake
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Nobody: 2:59pm On Sep 10, 2019
Super Eagles Training – How Okoye, Uzoho And Ezenwa Performed During Shooting Drills

The goalkeepers of the Super Eagles of Nigeria were all involved in a shooting drill against outfield players of the team ‎ahead of today’s friendly game against Ukraine, Owngoalnigeria.com takes a look at how the shot stoppers performed during the session.

Ikechukwu Ezenwa looked a bit rusty but used his experience to sort his feets out most times before making saves from efforts that requires him to dive at full length. His grip was also very solid despite the fact that the Nigeria Professional Football League where he plays is yet to get underway.

The newly installed first come Francis Uzoho didn’t disappoint at all. He was not just agile but also very composed and his height meant he dealt with high balls with the confidence ‎many didn’t expect to see. No doubt he will start in goal later today.

Maduka Okoye has to be the surprise of the session with his cat like reflex drawing applause from his teammates. Very good with the ball at his feet but above that his ability to know when to punch or hold on to the ball caught the eyes. Surely one who will in no distant time challenge for the first choice spot of the team.

https://owngoalnigeria.com/2019/09/10/super-eagles-training-how-okoye-uzoho-and-ezenwa-performed-during-shooting-drills/
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by andrew444(m): 3:00pm On Sep 10, 2019
Prectega:
Winning is not important?...but if we loose .. Na u go first paint here with "sack rohr" undecided
Komekn doesn't do that sha ,but they are many of them already praying we should loose so they will start their childishness again about rohr

Make we dey see
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by jargooflife912(m): 3:02pm On Sep 10, 2019
U-23 line up?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by andrew444(m): 3:03pm On Sep 10, 2019
Earthquake1:
You don't start a rookie like Maduka against a football savvy side like Ukraine

It may be a friendly but our pride is at stake
I know he won't start but forget rookie matter ,what can be worst than akpeyi?

Should I remind you than an inexperienced uzoho started at the World Cup

What pride is at stake here ,if we win we win if we loose we loose ,nothing at Stake here
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by jargooflife912(m): 3:08pm On Sep 10, 2019
U23 line up

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Nobody: 3:09pm On Sep 10, 2019
jargooflife912:
U23 line up
Imama is a disaster.. God save us.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 3:16pm On Sep 10, 2019
cheesy una never see anything
tbaba1234:
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 3:17pm On Sep 10, 2019
They Don soak thier rosary for water dey fast since last week cheesy cheesy
andrew444:
Komekn doesn't do that sha ,but they are many of them already praying we should loose so they will start their childishness again about rohr

Make we dey see
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by M7even(m): 3:30pm On Sep 10, 2019
Are they gonna show the Nigeria vs Sudan match on tv
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 3:30pm On Sep 10, 2019
tbaba1234:
Prophet of doom
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Nobody: 3:32pm On Sep 10, 2019
BascoVanVeli:
Prophet of doom
The lineup is the harbinger of doom not me.. I hope they go through.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Earthquake1: 3:35pm On Sep 10, 2019
andrew444:
I know he won't start but forget rookie matter ,what can be worst than akpeyi?

Should I remind you than an inexperienced uzoho started at the World Cup

What pride is at stake here ,if we win we win if we loose we loose ,nothing at Stake here
If we lose like 6-0 to Ukraine imagine what it would do to SE image

Uzoho's own is that we had no option, Maduka should learn the ropes
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Earthquake1: 3:37pm On Sep 10, 2019
BascoVanVeli:
Prophet of doom
Tbaba 's predictions are always spot on
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Earthquake1: 3:38pm On Sep 10, 2019
Odey is not even in the lineup
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by jargooflife912(m): 3:38pm On Sep 10, 2019
M7even:
Are they gonna show the Nigeria vs Sudan match on tv
the match will be live on AIT
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Nobody: 3:44pm On Sep 10, 2019
Super eagles starting lineup according to OwngoalNigeria.

1. Francis Uzoho
2. Ola Aina
3. Jamilu Collins
4. Joe Aribo
5. Semi Ajayi
6. William Troost-Ekong
7. Samuel Chukwueze
8. Oghenekaro Etebo
9. Victor Osimhen
10. Alex Iwobi
11. Samuel Kalu
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 3:49pm On Sep 10, 2019
tbaba1234:

1. Francis Uzoho
2. Ola Aina
3. Jamilu Collins
4. Joe Aribo
5. Semi Ajayi
6. William Troost-Ekong
7. Samuel Chukwueze
8. Oghenekaro Etebo
9. Victor Osimhen
10. Alex Iwobi
11. Samuel Kalu
If true, looks an offensive line up and a possibility of an interesting match.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by CoIdplay: 3:54pm On Sep 10, 2019
tbaba1234:

1. Francis Uzoho
2. Ola Aina
3. Jamilu Collins
4. Joe Aribo
5. Semi Ajayi
6. William Troost-Ekong
7. Samuel Chukwueze
8. Oghenekaro Etebo
9. Victor Osimhen
10. Alex Iwobi
11. Samuel Kalu
Please is Iheanacho still with the team?
1 2 3 ... 7053 7054 7055 7056 7057 7058 7059 ... 19289 Reply

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 StolenSuper Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures)AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws)234

Viewing this topic: EElopa and 5 guest(s)