Stats: 3,152,626 members, 7,816,575 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 01:23 PM

Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali (31262 Views)

Customs: Hameed Ali Generates N799bn In 5 Months / Hameed Ali Marries Zainab Abdullahi As New Wife (Photos) / Customs Officer Promotes Self To CG, Asks Hameed Ali To Hand Over (2) (3) (4)

Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by Busy002: 8:48pm On Sep 26, 2019
The closure of Nigeria’s borders by Federal Government was undertaken to strengthen the nation’s security and protect its economic interests, the Comptroller-General of Nigeria Customs Service (NCS), retired Col. Hameed Ali, has said.

Speaking during a meeting with border stakeholders, comprising freight forwarders and security agencies on Thursday at Seme, Ali said that the closure was not intended to hurt anyone but to protect the nations interests.

“Our interest is to make sure that our country is secure, the well-being of our people is ensured and our economy is secure.

“The step we have taken is in the interest of Nigeria, the step is not to hurt anybody but to protect our own interests as a nation,” he said.

News9naija reports that Ali was accompanied at the meeting by Nigeria’s Ambassador to Benin Republic, Kayode Oguntuase, Comptroller General Immigration, Mohammed Babandede and Brig. Gen. E.A Ndagi, Coordinator of Joint Border Security Exercise, among others.

The NCS boss said that lots of things had gone wrong regarding compliance with transit of goods, adding that the border closure was to ensure that things were streamlined so that all stakeholders could be back to doing the right things.

“The idea is to ensure that the protocol that is involved in transit of goods and trade facilitation is adhered to so that we will all live and complement each other.

“The operation is undertaken to ensure that we get things back in perspective; we know the right thing, it is well written, we are all aware of it, we used to practise it, so we must go back to that.

Ali said that the freight forwarders were critical stakeholders at the borders and urged them to ensure compliance with the rules regarding transit of goods.

“We cannot do business without you but compliance is lacking between you and our officers. Most of the things we do, we don’t comply with rules and that’s why we end up with weapons, Tramadol that killed our children.

“We end up with ammunition that bandits use to kill our people; we don’t manufacture ammunition in this country, if we do it is only from one source and that source is well protected and documented.

“But today, we have seen many of this ammunition in Nigeria, where are they coming from.

“They have compromised with some of us and some of you and I say to our officers; that weapons, that bullets you facilitate in transiting into Nigeria, you don’t know who will take it.

“The bandits, the armed robbers had no choice, your mother, my children, your sisters might be shot by that weapon,” the customs boss said.

He called for support and cooperation of the stakeholders to ensure the nation is protected.

“We need your support, we need your cooperation and understanding, our national interest is over and above any issue,” he said.

NEWS9NAIJA reports that the joint-border security exercise, code-named ‘Ex-Swift Response’, which was ordered by the Federal Government, commenced on Aug. to secure Nigeria’s land and maritime borders.

https://guardian.ng/news/why-fg-closed-nigerias-borders-cg-customs/amp

19 Likes

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by ehirosplusbiz(m): 8:50pm On Sep 26, 2019
FG KNOW BETTER REASON THAN US

19 Likes 1 Share

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by passyhansome(m): 9:20pm On Sep 26, 2019
Nigeria practices a government I call CLOWNTOCRACY, we are been ruled by clowns the problem with this country is we don't tackle problem from the root, we always bank to empheral solution that has little or no effect.

35 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by dontbothermuch: 9:20pm On Sep 26, 2019
smiley

Trump's idea of building a gigantic wall.

These neighbors, before you know they have crumbled your economy with fake, cheap & substandard stuff. Using advantages of bribery & corruption from our border officials.

For insecurity, these insurgents don't even reason border checkpoints.
There are porous route all over the map.

12 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by ORIJIN201(m): 9:21pm On Sep 26, 2019
I'm not a fan of this govt, but I agree with this move 100%.
Nigerians and their love for foreign products is on another level. Even when the alternative is available, we go for the foreign product believing they are better. I have a friend with that shallow mentality, and many Nigerians are like that.
On the side of security, this is also a 'spot-on' move.

67 Likes 7 Shares

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by Innoxxacs: 9:21pm On Sep 26, 2019
Confused people everywhere

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by Nobody: 9:22pm On Sep 26, 2019
ehirosplusbiz:
FG KNOW BETTER REASON THAN US

They don't know jack

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by thewatcher2020: 9:22pm On Sep 26, 2019
Anyone can be a Dangote ... just get the government to stop others or frustrate them from doing the same business as you.

If you’re still not wealthy enough or other billionaires are closing the wealth gap on you, run to the government to block the borders. Simple.

American billionaires, I respect.
Nigerian billionaires, I don’t. Not even 1 billionaire is out to “create” solutions for problems. What we’ve got in Nigeria are merchants, not businessmen.

30 Likes 1 Share

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by frank202012: 9:22pm On Sep 26, 2019
I have nothing to say

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by raid45: 9:23pm On Sep 26, 2019
nonsense excuse

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by dontbothermuch: 9:24pm On Sep 26, 2019
smiley

We will build a wall
Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by martyns303(m): 9:24pm On Sep 26, 2019
A kilo of turkey is now N1700.

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by cockcrowatdawn(m): 9:24pm On Sep 26, 2019
He should have provided this information earlier.
Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by Abeyjide: 9:28pm On Sep 26, 2019
martyns303:

local farmers will be encouraged. Create more job for those having interest in farming.

19 Likes

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by zhike: 9:29pm On Sep 26, 2019
When South Africa deal with illegal immigrates in South Africa Nigeria govt complain.
Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by crazygod(m): 9:29pm On Sep 26, 2019
ORIJIN201:
Nigerians and their love for foreign products is on another level. Even when the alternative is available, we go for the foreign product believing they are better. I have a friend with that shallow mentality, and many Nigerians are like that.
But the problem now is the alternative is not available. Even where its available, its way more expensive that imported products. Until the necessary infrastructures are put in place, this border closure is just a simple case of increasing suffering

13 Likes 1 Share

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by godwinstringed1(m): 9:30pm On Sep 26, 2019
martyns303:

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by Nobody: 9:30pm On Sep 26, 2019
Abeyjide:

local farmers will be encouraged. Create more job for those having interest in farming.
sharap!!
Every time job job job...
Them swear for una undecided

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by Samfloxin(m): 9:31pm On Sep 26, 2019
Please, Nigerian government,educate us more on this border closure and what Nigeria is going to gain from it. Samfloxin asks....
Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by Ekakamba: 9:32pm On Sep 26, 2019
passyhansome:
Nigeria practices a government I call CLOWNTOCRACY, we are been ruled by clowns the problem with this country is we don't tackle problem from the root, we always bank to empheral solution that has little or no effect.
Clowntocracy grin cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by Nobody: 9:32pm On Sep 26, 2019
crazygod:

But the problem now is the alternative is not available. Even where its available, its way more expensive that imported products. Until the necessary infrastructures are put in place, this border closure is just a simple case of increasing suffering
and smuggling!
Lots of custom officers are going to die by smuggler bullets now.
Watch and see.
Commodity smugglers are very rich and deadly too,unlike car smugglers.
Let's see how it pans out.

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by zicoraads: 9:34pm On Sep 26, 2019
Logobenz:
sharap!!
Every time job job job...
Them swear for una undecided
Bros... Wetin? cheesy grin

This your comment come funny me. Hope you are good man.

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by Abeyjide: 9:34pm On Sep 26, 2019
Logobenz:
sharap!! Every time job job job... Them swear for una undecided
eya! sorry

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by ORIJIN201(m): 9:35pm On Sep 26, 2019
crazygod:

we Nigerians are known to sabotage efforts for personal gains. Na weytin fit us be this. Do you know that those gala/soda sellers destroy the roads by midnight so as to cause traffic so they will be able to hawk their wares the next morning? That is what will happen when they keep the borders open. Sabotage the alternatives and keep the importation business as usual. We as a people are a reflection of our society. Shame!

15 Likes 1 Share

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by adenigga(m): 9:35pm On Sep 26, 2019
ORIJIN201:

May God bless you! You're on point. More wisdom!!!

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by dominique(f): 9:36pm On Sep 26, 2019
They should consider the populace and do something about this border closure, prices of food stuff are soaring by the day

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by iretemide(f): 9:37pm On Sep 26, 2019
With the security reason alone , I am satisfied to a degree. But concerning Rice and other commodities, I'm not satisfied, how on Earth will a bag of Rice rise to 25k.

I need someone within Ibadan who can be supplying 2, 000 Create of eggs weekly at cheapest price, I don't mind small size.

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by lyriclekidd(m): 9:40pm On Sep 26, 2019
Bullshit
Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by Kay25(m): 9:41pm On Sep 26, 2019
The Niger border u no close where terrorist called herdsmen are passing through we know u did for the sake of that u r rich brothers rice industry

Re: Why FG Closed Nigeria’s Borders — CG Customs, Hameed Ali by Vado(m): 9:42pm On Sep 26, 2019
Even though we are in a one chance government. They are right on this one.

Wada’s Return In Jeopardy As Jonathan, Ali, Idris Withdraw Support / Yahaya Bello: I Will Defeat Atiku Before 2pm / Wonderful Picture Of President Buhari

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 32