Stats: 3,153,201 members, 7,818,670 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 09:30 PM

90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali (13805 Views)

Why I Dumped My Fiancé For 65-yr-old Customs Boss, Hameed Ali — Zainab Abdullahi / Hameed Ali Marries Zainab Abdullahi As New Wife (Photos) / Customs Officer Promotes Self To CG, Asks Hameed Ali To Hand Over (2) (3) (4)

Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by Nobody: 7:50am On Oct 04, 2019
Good
Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by OlujobaSamuel: 7:51am On Oct 04, 2019
You mean with the increase in custom revenue, we still have about 90% of our vehicles having unpaid duty?
I guess the figure must be about 98% before your arrival then?

Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by mactoni91(m): 7:52am On Oct 04, 2019
[quote author=Jezabeld555 post=82822374][/quote]
I have a good developed e-commerce store but bad seo...
Can you help out?

1 Like 3 Shares

Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by joinnow: 7:55am On Oct 04, 2019
So the customs office at the borders are either sleeping or are highly corrupt.
I know they fall into the seconded.

This is how to pull all corrupt custom officers from borders and replace

Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by naijadrivablog: 7:57am On Oct 04, 2019
ursullalinda:
It means the borders are too porous, so custom needs to be scrapped and another agency established because custom has failed in their duties

We only have borders in the south.

BTW, this comment from Customs is an indictment on them.
Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by mercyviv(f): 8:01am On Oct 04, 2019
90% you say?! In saner climes you would have lost your job for making that disclosure. What is the job of customs and what have you guys been doing?!! I just don't understand...
Meanwhile...
Are you a teacher?
Get FREE access to the best compilation of school lesson notes/plans, curriculum and exams. Visit my signature for details...

Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by Fogman(m): 8:04am On Oct 04, 2019
This is a license for customs on the road to take there extortion to another level.

Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by Mrgenuine900: 8:05am On Oct 04, 2019
See prove below!

Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by jonnyjustcome22: 8:06am On Oct 04, 2019
Let cars produce in Nigeria be reachable and affordable for Nigerian instead of all this custom gragra approach. Nobody will smuggles if the cars affordable.
Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by jaxxy(m): 8:07am On Oct 04, 2019
I’m beginning to think this customs boss exaggerates a lot or isn’t in touch with the facts.

Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by Sirvolga(m): 8:07am On Oct 04, 2019
You mean just as Buhari smuggled you into the system?

Very greedy Oldman lipsrsealed

Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by Nobody: 8:07am On Oct 04, 2019
By going to the dealers directly the burden of proper papers is being transferred back to the dealers. A lot of people pay full price for cars with dodgy papers and get into trouble. We have read stories on this very forum. The unlamented inspired did same to some people who engaged him. Of course, the kids who are years away from buying their own cars are the Loudest wailers. Anything that can be done to make buying cars locally rather than importing them is welcomed.

No one wants to be on a journey outside their state only to find their car has incomplete papers.

The man is closing another hole within the system.

His appointment by Buhari, on reflection is not an accident. The biggest problem with most institutions in Nigeria is inbred corruption. Sack the oga and the one coming after him will simply continue where his predecessor left off.
Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by Nwaohafia1: 8:09am On Oct 04, 2019
Ify05:
The Comptroller-General of the Nigeria Customs Service (NCS), Col. Hameed Ali (rtd), on Thursday said 90 per cent of cars in the country were smuggled into the country by unscrupulous elements.

Ali, who said this while addressing newsmen in Abuja, alleged that many vehicles on display for sale in auto shops across the country were also smuggled.

He explained that the recent raids of the various car dealers’ spots in some parts of the country were to ascertain whether the vehicles were brought in genuinely or not.

According to him, the country needs revenue for development, hence, it became necessary to collect duties on those smuggled vehicles.

“We want to use this opportunity to ensure that cars within our borders are fully customised, which means duties are paid on them”, NAN quoted him as saying.

”We are looking for revenue from everywhere and we have these people who brought in vehicles and failed to pay duties.

“What we are doing now, we are just enforcing the law, which allows us to collect revenue on behalf of Nigeria and also ensure those vehicles you and I will go and buy have genuine papers that are roadworthy.

“If you meet our officers on the road and they ask for the papers, if they discover you have not paid your duties, they will seize the vehicles.

“We are doing all these to save car buyers from running into trouble,” he explained.

The customs boss said the organisation would continue to mount road block from time to time to stop vehicles to ensure duties were paid on cars.

“The law allows us to stop you and ask for the car papers, if your papers are intact, we thank you and bless you, if it is otherwise, we will ask you to pay the duties

“If we find out you are not a smuggler, you are just an innocent buyer, we will value the car and ask you to pay the required duties on the car and you will be freed,” he said.

Read more here https://thickmatch.com/90-percent-cars-nigeria-smuggled-customs-boss-ali/

What about people like me who doesn't drive with custom papers in the vehicle?
Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by ArewaWarrior: 8:09am On Oct 04, 2019
It's not rocket science, the duty on cars is too high, lower it to a more reasonable rate and it is certain Cotonou and Lome will become ghost towns.

Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by Yoighaman(m): 8:12am On Oct 04, 2019
The money they are always looking for at all cost, what are they using it for?
Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by VeeVeeMyLuv(m): 8:14am On Oct 04, 2019
ursullalinda:
It means the borders are too porous, so custom needs to be scrapped and another agency established because custom has failed in their duties
No! it means customs are not effective, efficient and competitive. Only to extort money and bribe they know.
Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by Empredboy(m): 8:15am On Oct 04, 2019
But since 2017 December the custom had ban the importation of cars through the land border. So where is this coming from? He said government needs money yet you closed the border and lied that the agency realised 9.2Billion a day with border closure. So those who used to import through the land border moved their goods to the sea port within month?
Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by govomotors: 8:16am On Oct 04, 2019
Joshmodest:
If we have the customs service in Nigeria , and 90% of cars in Nigeria were smuggled , then it's high time we do away with the dormant force !!

If the are not dormant as you said, how could they harrass cars brought in through Lagos port which was valued by custom, duty paid, cleared by agent and allow to leave the port only for highway custom to threaten fire that duty was not fully paid.

Custom should make public, the duty for most cars for everyone to know. Base on that, I can walk into any bank to pay me duty with issues.

Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by Kingofdemonss: 8:16am On Oct 04, 2019
post=82822347:
This is so true.
We need to sanitize our border efficiently.
Apart from cars, many bad vices are smuggled through the border on a daily basis.

Some of the cars at this car dealers shop are stolen cars.

This is how it is suppose to be done.
We will get there in out nation.
Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by Kingofdemonss: 8:16am On Oct 04, 2019
post=82822383:

Yes we do....Inno!
Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by Switruth: 8:21am On Oct 04, 2019
post=82822347:
This is so true.
We need to sanitize our border efficiently.
Apart from cars, many bad vices are smuggled through the border on a daily basis.

Some of the cars at this car dealers shop are stolen cars.

This is how it is suppose to be done.
We will get there in out nation.
. Rotten meat still get sense small. Where did the cars pass through in the first place. There will be no smuggling if the customs have been doing their job. If you’re familiar with Nigerian roads you’ll find out that all roads in the south are manned by customs but in the north you hardly see one custom checkpoint. Do your findings and stop bleeding from your anus.

Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by govomotors: 8:25am On Oct 04, 2019
Joshmodest:
If we have the customs service in Nigeria , and 90% of cars in Nigeria were smuggled , then it's high time we do away with the dormant force !!

If the are not dormant as you said, how could they harrass cars brought in through Lagos port which was valued by custom, duty paid, cleared by agent and allow to leave the port only for highway custom to threaten fire that duty was not fully paid.

Custom should make public, the duty for most cars for everyone to know. Base on that, I can walk into any bank to pay me duty without issues.
Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by madenigga(m): 8:25am On Oct 04, 2019
Custom duties in Nigeria is too expensive.

Nigeria does not have different sources of revenue so they stress the little avenues they have
Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by dannywest: 8:30am On Oct 04, 2019
Meaning the customs at the border is doing a horrible job. Abi they pass the border? They don't vanish into the country?
Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by sacx: 8:36am On Oct 04, 2019
If 90% of cars are smuggled, the man should resign because he already declared himself a failure as Customs boss.
Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by Nobody: 8:36am On Oct 04, 2019
Joshmodest:

Gbam

Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by vineyardfarms: 8:40am On Oct 04, 2019
MR COMPTROLER, THANK YOU FOR THE GOOD WORK. HOWEVER, LOOK INWARD AMONG SOME THE CUSTOMS OFFICERS, WHO ARE VULTURER, LINCH, THIEVES, ABARTERS WHO LET IN THESE SMUNGLE VEHICLES AND GOODS. DO WELL TO FLUSH THEM OUT, THEY ARE CANCERWORMS AND LOCUS. BE HONEST WITH THE REPORTED FIGURES OF IGR, UNLIKE EFCC WITH AN IMAGINARY RECOVERED TRILLIONS.
Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by Jabioro: 8:42am On Oct 04, 2019
Ali..I am ashamed of you,for the agency under watch nose..that means your boys are not working or they collect the money directly to their various pocket
Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by Opinedecandid(m): 8:47am On Oct 04, 2019
Joshmodest:

Customs and all other sister security agencies that they "collabo" with to look the other way while crime and criminals have a field day.

Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by jospepper(m): 8:51am On Oct 04, 2019
DXNNigeria:
DXN Global Nigeria Ltd is looking for distributors in the 36 states of Nigeria, plus the FCT. If you are interested, send me a pm
what are we distributing for you?
Re: 90 Percent Of Cars In Nigeria Are Smuggled – Customs Boss, Hameed Ali by ibechris(m): 9:07am On Oct 04, 2019
Then we have criminals as custom officers...u have guns,have clout and everything yet na complain every time.

Nigerian Economy Remains Strong - Okonjo-Iweala (Video & Transcript) / INEC Website Back Online Few Hours After Hack / PDP Aspirants Opposed To PH Venue Are Enemies Of Rivers Sta & Niger Delta - Wike

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 42