Stats: 3,153,078 members, 7,818,230 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 10:46 AM

'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' (33560 Views)

Abuja People Refused To Vote In Local Government Election In FCT (photo) / Mallam El-rufai's Son Enrolled In Local Kaduna School / Border Closure: Benin, Niger Economies Under Pressure (2) (3) (4)

Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by goldfish27(m): 8:12pm On Oct 12, 2019
who do you this thing
nigeria can never be grate with these crop of leaders and followers

post=83082151:
Slow and steady we will get to a New and better Nigeria.

Nigeria will be great again in our lifetime.

We remain positive.

God bless Nigeria.
Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by Nobody: 8:12pm On Oct 12, 2019
if you like thailand rice.......just click like

Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by cornoil(m): 8:13pm On Oct 12, 2019
Regulate price of rice in this age?

madenigga:
Nigeria is already self sufficient its just that people are naturally greedy. Since they closed the border they assumed a monopoly and increased there prices then blame the border closure for it?

If the Fg can regulate the prices of this things it would help.

Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by protocol(m): 8:13pm On Oct 12, 2019
Gaddafi1:
Necessity as they say is the mother of invention. The recent closure of the broader will make Nigerians go into large scale and mechanized farming to cash in on the high cost of these products.
This will eventually bring the price down and make them available. I support closure of the boarder.
by the time they borrow money and do, govt with their inconsistency in policies will lift the closure. Bros you no no naija nonexistent govt.
Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by docadams: 8:13pm On Oct 12, 2019
Hmmm
Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by kwyllancy: 8:13pm On Oct 12, 2019
Abakaliki rice remains strategic in the face of Nigeria's economic volatility.
Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by Vision2060: 8:14pm On Oct 12, 2019
We'll surely get there
Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by Truthbites: 8:15pm On Oct 12, 2019
I ve been eating stony rice with plenty chaff
Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by shigoslim(m): 8:15pm On Oct 12, 2019
Is Nigeria better off in comparative cost of rice production when compared to Thailand and India?
There are too many misplaced of priorities in our country. Instead of closing border why can the governmen place tax or tariff on rice importation from neighboring countries to generate more revenue or better still allow economic integration with Thailand and India on rice production through exchanging of what we are better off over what this two countries are worse off.
Just like USA and China on soya beans and many others commodities.

Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by Nobody: 8:15pm On Oct 12, 2019
Nigeria is a joke...

Oh God stop the joke title Nigeria and divide the joke into 6 part assignment... In Jesus name
Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by Slimsly100(f): 8:16pm On Oct 12, 2019
19500 u say? As at today in my location, UMzA rice is 21k o
Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by sheggsliveth: 8:18pm On Oct 12, 2019
Ká má puro Rice yẹn ni òkúta... Am pretty sure that Nigerians are delibrately puttung 2 derica of stone... I dey always fear when eating the rice embarassed
Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by boxypane(m): 8:18pm On Oct 12, 2019
I believe this has exposed the fake report of NIRSAL to the FG, on how Nigeria has attained food sustainability.
They can lie for Africa

Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by habeeb500(m): 8:18pm On Oct 12, 2019
I hope they opened the border.tired of eaten stone rice embarassed
Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by jaxxy(m): 8:20pm On Oct 12, 2019
The day we start telling ourselves the truth in this country that’s the day our progress will begin, till then we can keep deceiving ourselves.

Simple transparency in governance we don’t have. We play politics with very serious issues and expect progress? How??

Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by IdisuleOurOwn(m): 8:20pm On Oct 12, 2019
post=83082151:

We remain positive.

God bless Nigeria.

You are not making sense, almost in all your post, you don't make any sense.
You are a sycophant who feeds on crumb drop by politicians. You dont care weather people are dying or what they are passing through.
As far as the crumps keep coming, non of you business.

You are heartless and wicked.
Imagine you saying Kogi people should vote bastard bello after all the sufferings the people are passing through.

Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by Adebowale89(m): 8:22pm On Oct 12, 2019
2023 should just come on time let this man that's seeing himself as life president get the hell out

Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by cooooooks(m): 8:25pm On Oct 12, 2019
The border closure is unsustainable. As one of the more developed countries in the region, with our booming youth population, we can't afford to increase the cost of living under any guise.

Do we know how much rice costs in other countries?? Much less.

Even in Canada. A developed country that does NOT produce rice locally. A country where even the poorest earn more than N400,000 monthly, rice costs less there per kg.

An 8 kg bag of parboiled rice costs $10 which equals N2,700. That is N337/kg. Whereas in Nigeria, a poor country, with incessant starvation and a minimum wage of N18,000 per month, a 50 kg bag of rice is now going for N21,000. That is a whopping N420/kg.

This border closure is bad for the people of Nigeria.

Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by uwabuwa888: 8:26pm On Oct 12, 2019
There is no deficiency in local production.. rather what we have is greedy enterprenuers..
Some will use their last card a buy hopefully to resell in December period..but am laughing..
They forget the presidency just formed an economic advisory committee...watch as some people will lose billion and million in the name of storing rice ..
Before December.. federal government will push in rice it's stored and those the seize from boundary closure and will sell it at lower price. .

Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by Dpharisee: 8:27pm On Oct 12, 2019
Las Las Naija na scam
But we go dey ok
Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by Acidosis(m): 8:29pm On Oct 12, 2019
sonnie10:
If you want to be sure of eating rice this Christmas, you better buy now and store it somewhere. Rice might not even be available in the market anymore by December.

Las las, we go chop spaghetti or semovita.
Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by nwamabo247(m): 8:30pm On Oct 12, 2019
abeg they should open d border.one paint of local rice with stone and charF is N1200 now in my area.....PLEASE dear nairalanders my name is celestine nwankwo 28YRS OLD from awgu L.G.A. enugu stat For almost 12yrs now i have been down with spinal cord injure.no source of income i hav been living on family support especially my ageing mother who has been nursing me at home for all this while. but right now things are very very difficut for me and my mother who is also diabetic expecially feeding and title medications.please i need your help in any way posible no matter how small it will make a diffrence and i am also looking for a goverment or N G O rehabilitation home for the disable. thank and GOD BLESS.see my signature below for more details.
Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by sentra05: 8:31pm On Oct 12, 2019
Gaddafi1:
Necessity as they say is the mother of invention. The recent closure of the broader will make Nigerians go into large scale and mechanized farming to cash in on the high cost of these products.
This will eventually bring the price down and make them available. I support closure of the boarder.

What you are saying is a mere assumption. There is no evidence that points to the fact that the border closure will make Nigerians go into large scale farming. The cost of doing business in Nigeria is high and this is the main issue. We are now in globalization era and this means whatever that is produced in Nigeria should compete in price and quality with imported ones if we are serious.
If we produce rice that competes in quality and price with imported ones, importation will die a natural death and our focus should be on strengthen our capacity to produce competitive rice. This by force approach will just punish the citizens for nothing and will not achieve any sustainable improvement. Mark my words, they will open the border again at some point after wasting our time

Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by bkool7(m): 8:31pm On Oct 12, 2019
Gaddafi1:

But for the main time?

Even a paint of garri is now #400 against #350
Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by Nigeriadondie: 8:33pm On Oct 12, 2019
post=83082151:

We remain positive.

God bless Nigeria.

We pray that prayer is for only you and your people.
Illiterate that cannot even spell ordinary 'great'!
Disappointment of a wailer!
Wake up and accept reality. Nigeria is far from greatness. It is doomed and you don’t need to delude yourself even in the face of overwhelming evidences that Nigeria is a dead nation
Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by ednut1(m): 8:36pm On Oct 12, 2019
shigoslim:
Is Nigeria better off in comparative cost of rice production when compared to Thailand and India?
There are too many misplaced of priorities in our country. Instead of closing border why can the governmen place tax or tariff on rice importation from neighboring countries to generate more revenue or better still allow economic integration with Thailand and India on rice production through exchanging of what we are better off over what this two countries are worse off.
Just like USA and China on soya beans and many others commodities.
is is smuggled mostly na
Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by ud4u: 8:37pm On Oct 12, 2019
Border closure my foot, all these foreign rice that litters the market are from where, they just ended up making things more difficult for people.

The test of that local rice is nothing to write home about. In fact all the processes involved in the production of the local rice are poor, they need to improve.
Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by kunmiiii: 8:40pm On Oct 12, 2019
He lamented that the allocation of N83 billion to the agriculture sector in the 2020 budget proposal was abysmal and needed to be revisited.
Honesty, when I saw that figure too, wasn't impressed, for a nation that wants to depend on Local consumption, that amount was too low, and that of Education too..the significance of these two ministries are being underrated. Quality education makes better citizens.

Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by meccuno: 8:41pm On Oct 12, 2019
ForeThinker:
We will overcome.....last last na garri sure pass
And when Buhari bans Garri production in Nigeria and opens the border for Garri import nko? grin
Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by Adufeamos: 8:44pm On Oct 12, 2019
Rice now 1k per kongo nawa o. E don do o pls open border if thats d reason or taskforce shud start price control/regulation. This s hardship. The border closure realy evn proved that customs aint doing any work bfo now. Jst close d border&scrap custom Mtchewww
Re: 'Border Closure Exposes Nigeria's Deficiency In Local Rice Production' by stankezzy: 8:47pm On Oct 12, 2019
Buhari government wants farmers to produce rice yet allowed fulani herds men to go and wait for them inside farm to kill them so how is it possible for d production

Obaseki And Shaibu Shake Hands After Reconciliation / Dress Code In Lagos House Of Assembly Worthy Of Emulation / Why I Approved Redesign Of Naira Notes - President Buhari

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 68