Stats: 3,148,642 members, 7,801,870 topics. Date: Friday, 19 April 2024 at 02:56 AM

Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? - Career - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Career / Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? (35649 Views)

10 African Countries With The Highest Minimum Wage / See Average Monthly Net Salary Of Some Countries / Know The Difference Between Gross And Net Salary Before The Job Offer. (2) (3) (4)

Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by Samakus(m): 11:36am On Oct 19, 2019
It's no longer news that the organized Labour and Federal Government reached an agreement on consequential adjustment for the implementation of the new minimum wage for staff on levels 7 to 17.

The niggling question is..
If level 7 staff will see 23.3% increment on their salaries due to the new minimum wage as agreed by both parties on Wednesday, will it be calculated with their basic or the total take home for the month (basic plus allowances)?

This need to be cleared to know if this much debated new minimum wage is anything to write home about or not.

can we get opinions on this?

Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by enet1(m): 3:37pm On Oct 19, 2019
Most times,salary increase is always calculated on basic salary which will reflect on some other allowances housing,13th month,pension employer and employee remission etc.I am speaking from my personal experience

26 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by SultanOfAbia: 3:41pm On Oct 19, 2019
No amount of School will prepare you for this..

Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by pawesome(m): 3:42pm On Oct 19, 2019
I still dont understand this minimum wage thing fully

it is actually causing more harm than good
Now banks are going to be charging for transaction done using ussd code...the whole thing is tirey....

Another thing that i wanna ask now is that the percentage increase,are we using 30k to calculate the percentage increase or we using the mothly salary to calculate the increase

Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by Nobody: 3:42pm On Oct 19, 2019
The money wey government go take style commots again....tax will be increased and there will be inflation....dem tell me where is the increasing....

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by maxiuc(m): 3:42pm On Oct 19, 2019
:Date
Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by maxiuc(m): 3:43pm On Oct 19, 2019
SultanOfAbia:
Fde
continue

Mr space
Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by daomi(m): 3:43pm On Oct 19, 2019
Basic

Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by Experience285(m): 3:43pm On Oct 19, 2019
I strongly believe it will be calculated based on basic. Chris ngige beards won't allow it to be calculated based on net oo

14 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by gentlegiantseun: 3:44pm On Oct 19, 2019
I need the answer slf

Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by Demogorgon(m): 3:44pm On Oct 19, 2019
pawesome:
You're not alone

Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by RevengeNimi(m): 3:44pm On Oct 19, 2019
Watin cozan me self...?

Me wey I dey look for woman wey I go wilsonise dis night.

Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by thepresence: 3:44pm On Oct 19, 2019
Meanwhile,
Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by rottennaija(m): 3:44pm On Oct 19, 2019
The new minimum wage is basically useless.

Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by Dsourcee(m): 3:45pm On Oct 19, 2019
MINIMIN WAGE:

GL7:23.2%; 30,000× 23.2÷100=N6,900

GL8:20%; 30,000× 20%÷100=N6,000

GL9:19%; 30,000× 19%÷100=N5,700

GL10-14:26%; 30,000× 16%÷100=N4,800

GL 15-17:14%; .30,000× 14%÷100=N4,200

Add it to what ever you earn, that's your new Salary.
#MinimumWage
#Labour

21 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by wajja: 3:45pm On Oct 19, 2019
Please does this increment applies to those working in Banks, Dangote company, Lafarge Holcim, as well as other prominent private organisations? If not, then the NLC is just for government workers and it is bad for fairness and justice.

Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by Nobody: 3:45pm On Oct 19, 2019
grin.... IN NEW MINIMUM WAGE WE TRUST grin grin grin

Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by lexxybb: 3:45pm On Oct 19, 2019
It is based on the gross pay. If you look at the percentage increase between 18k to 30k, it is 66.6 percent. So level 1 to 6 will be calculated based on the 66%. Other levels will be based on the percentage agreed upon.

14 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by pawesome(m): 3:45pm On Oct 19, 2019
Gforce2015:
The money wey government go take style commots again....tax will be increased and there will be inflation....dem tell me where is the increasing....
banks said they are gonna be charging wenever u use ussd code

Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by OyiboOyibo(m): 3:46pm On Oct 19, 2019
It is calculated on basic salary....23% of your basic will added to your salary

Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by Ekakamba: 3:46pm On Oct 19, 2019
NLC President, Ngegi and Keyamo go soon reply you. grin tongue
Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by Lewisalexander(m): 3:46pm On Oct 19, 2019
I'm very curious about this, still haven't gotten a comprehensive explanation.
Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by pawesome(m): 3:46pm On Oct 19, 2019
lexxybb:
It is based on the gross pay. If you look at the percentage increase between 18k to 30k, it is 66.6 percent. So level 1 to 6 will be calculated based on the 66%. Other levels will be based on the percentage agreed upon.
so if you earning 35k at level 7,its gonna be 23.3 percent of the 35k?

Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by helinues: 3:47pm On Oct 19, 2019
@ op, use that formular

Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by gift01: 3:47pm On Oct 19, 2019
with new vat and taxes coming soon all the increments na audio money

Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by pawesome(m): 3:47pm On Oct 19, 2019
Dsourcee:
MINIMIN WAGE:

#MinimumWage
#Labour
ok....i now understand

Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by Iseoluwani: 3:47pm On Oct 19, 2019
pawesome:

it is actually causing more harm than good
Now banks are going to be charging for transaction done using ussd code...the whole thing is tirey....

Another thing that i wanna ask now is that the percentage increase,are we using 30k to calculate the percentage increase or we using the mothly salary to calculate the increase

Yeaterday i calculated it using the basic salary but from your point i think it should be 30k. i.e 23% of 30k + basic salary.

humble opinion

Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by Madibah(m): 3:48pm On Oct 19, 2019
Kwa Kwa run kwakwa
Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by Idaytesj29(m): 3:48pm On Oct 19, 2019
Dsourcee:
MINIMIN WAGE:

#MinimumWage
#Labour

Are you sure?

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by PureGoldh(m): 3:49pm On Oct 19, 2019
This country matter just tire person.

We are just suffering and smiling in dx country ...we will surely survive against all odds

Meanwhile... My people if yOu need Pure Original HOney... Call or whatsapp 0 8 1 0166 67 71
Re: Minimum Wage: Is The New Agreed Percentages For Basic PayOr Net Salary? by Iseoluwani: 3:49pm On Oct 19, 2019
reasonable and augmentative thread like this, you wont see yoot coming here to iron it but when u see thread of BBnaija and useless others... they will rush

11 Likes 4 Shares

Widow Turned Bus Conductor Relies On Weed To Deal With Lagos ‘agberos’ / Young Man Flies First Flight As Airline Pilot With His Parents On Board. Photos / Staff Of Baker Hughes Protest In Port-Harcourt