Stats: 3,152,944 members, 7,817,771 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 07:14 PM

Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool - Sports (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool (65618 Views)

EPL: Ronaldo Refuses To Shake Hands Of Any Chelsea Players Or Match Officials . / Divock Origi Signs A New Long-term Contract With Liverpool / CEDB Suspend Neymar For 3 UEFA Competition Matches For Insulting Match Officials (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by peluskiy: 1:33pm On Nov 13, 2019
TheGoodJoe:

You are just evading the truth. The above article clearly highlights the corrupt decision and lies made by the EPL officials.

The VAR officials knew it was a penalty and clearly denied City it. This is why I like VAR, now we know the agenda is clear.
U are just saying nonsense, if u actually watch the match u would see the ball clearly touch b silva hand before Trent.
Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by TheGoodJoe(m): 1:33pm On Nov 13, 2019
SmartyPants:

the argument about whether Trent meant it or not is not relevant. At the beginning of this season, new rules were announced that stated intention would no longer be taken into account.

https://www.premierleague.com/news/1263332

That is the excuse given by Michael Oliver. Which turned out to be a lie.
Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by Nobody: 1:33pm On Nov 13, 2019
izzou:

VAR rules in EPL and UEFA are different

And I ask you again, where was Arnold's hand supposed to be? Just tell me where he should have kept it, and I'll agree it's a penalty
this is not about var rules. Hand ball rules, offside rules, goal kick rules and drop kick rules are set and were changed by FIFA before the beginning of this season . It was clear that Arnold hands left his body and made his body bigger

Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by izzou(m): 1:33pm On Nov 13, 2019
descartes400:

As for me, I saw 3 penalty cases in that match. 2 were hand balls while the other was the pushing of sterling within the 18 yard box near the corner line

I think the referee was to lenient with the cards on Liverpool though

Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by izzou(m): 1:34pm On Nov 13, 2019
niaralandtopuser:
this is not about var rules. Hand ball rules, offside rules, goal kick rules and drop kick rules are set and were changed by FIFA before the beginning of this season . It was clear that Arnold hands left his body and made his body bigger

Okay, I have heard
Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by thatigboman: 1:34pm On Nov 13, 2019
TheGoodJoe:

You are still deviating.

Michael Oliver and the VAR man lied Trent Alexander did not commit a deliberate offence. What do you say about that. That is the point of the thread.

If you feel Bernardo Silva committed a foul or not is not in question. The question is, why did they both lie to something so blatant.
I can imagine the kind of pains u are through. Accept defeat. Liverpool trashed man city

Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by SmartyPants(m): 1:34pm On Nov 13, 2019
izzou:

I'm not sure you watched the match

Arnold was involved in both

I watched portions of the match. I think the article in the OP is referring to one of the incidents....that's the one I saw and I am talking about

Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by Shezkid: 1:35pm On Nov 13, 2019
izzou:

And his hand is in its natural position Abi?

I'm done arguing sir. You win

Mane played the ball intentionally to his hands as e saw him stretched out his hand pointing at his player since you came up with that useless idea.......

Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by TheGoodJoe(m): 1:35pm On Nov 13, 2019
descartes400:

As for me, I saw 3 penalty cases in that match. 2 were hand balls while the other was the pushing of sterling within the 18 yard box near the corner line

Thank you.

That Mane push on Sterling was a pure penalty.
Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by Minemrys: 1:36pm On Nov 13, 2019
TheGoodJoe:

What are you typing?

Did anyone say the ball did not hit Bernardo Silva? Even the interview in the article did not talk about it because the ball deflected off Bernardo Silva to his hand which does not count as handball, like the Rojo's case against Nigeria.

That was not why it was ruled out if you bothered to read the article. It was ruled out because they claimed Trent did not intend to use his hand, which they are lying.
my questi0n is, had silva's hand n0t deflected the ball, would it have gotten to Trent Alexander's hand?

Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by kilisi(m): 1:36pm On Nov 13, 2019
TheGoodJoe:

Trent Arnold's handball led to the goal but the officials let it stand.

To put it another way, Bernardo's handball led to Trent handling the ball. The referee played the advantage and Man city players made the school boy error of not playing to the whistle as they stood still expecting the referee to blow instead of attacking the loose ball and that's what led to the goal.

Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by SmartyPants(m): 1:37pm On Nov 13, 2019
kilisi:

Going by your logic, it is not a penalty then since the ball hits Bernardo's hand before hitting Trent's arm.

A foul should have been awarded at the point it hit Silva's arm then. If it wasn't and the ref allowed play to go on, then those must be considered as separate incidents. So we can agree that possibly the ref got the handball calls wrong but then the Arnold one was reviewed by VAR and still denied which can't understand.

Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by TheGoodJoe(m): 1:39pm On Nov 13, 2019
kilisi:

To put it another way, Bernardo's handball led to Trent handling the ball. The referee played the advantage and Man city players made the school boy error of not playing to the whistle as they stood still expecting the referee to blow instead of attacking the loose ball and that's what led to the goal.

Which you know is the height of the joke. If the ref is blowing advantage, it should not be to the next player committing another handball. That means he either goes back or calls a penalty.

Either way, the officials said it was because Arnold did not commit a deliberate act which is a lie.
Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by izzou(m): 1:39pm On Nov 13, 2019
SmartyPants:

I watched portions of the match. I think the article in the OP is referring to one of the incidents....that's the one I saw and I am talking about

Lets reason as neutrals

For the first one, the ball hit a City's player hand first, and then a Liverpool's player hand, all in the box. If you were a referee, what foul would you call?

For the second one, Sterling was close to a defender, and deliberately played it on his hand. I quite agree that it could pass as a penalty, but then, if it was given, we would see 5 similar cases in one match. I feel the referee used his discretion and ignored it

So may I hear your views on both?
Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by TheGoodJoe(m): 1:40pm On Nov 13, 2019
Minemrys:

my questi0n is, had silva's hand n0t deflected the ball, would it have gotten to Trent Alexander's hand?

Then stop the ball.

Instead the officials said Arnold's act was not deliberate when it was.
Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by Nobody: 1:40pm On Nov 13, 2019
izzou:

Okay, I have heard
as a Chelsea fan, I supported Liverpool to win but the ref and VAR officials were shit. You have to be consistent with decision making like it is done in other league and according to the rules. It could happen to anybody. It happened to us against Watford. Even though we won, I was angry with the ref

Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by izzou(m): 1:40pm On Nov 13, 2019
Shezkid:

Mane played the ball intentionally to his hands as e saw him stretched out his hand pointing at his player since you came up with that useless idea.......

And where was his hand?

Where was Trent's hand, and where was Sissoko's hand?

Judge without emotions for once. Please undecided

Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by TheGoodJoe(m): 1:41pm On Nov 13, 2019
Kwarufshion.
Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by izzou(m): 1:41pm On Nov 13, 2019
niaralandtopuser:
as a Chelsea fan, I supported Liverpool to win but the ref and VAR officials were shit. You have to be consistent with decision making like it is done in other league and according to the rules. It could happen to anybody. It happened to us against Watford. Even though we won, I was angry with the ref

The only mistake I see on Oliver was that he should have called a foul against Silva.

The second one to me was okay.
Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by Minemrys: 1:43pm On Nov 13, 2019
TheGoodJoe:

The point is the match officials lied.
tor, go and sack them na. Mtchew. The game's over. Liverpool won. I d0n't remember u posting s0mething like this when VAR went against Liverpool at old trafford. The system aint perfect. It has never been.
Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by lexy2014: 1:44pm On Nov 13, 2019
D decision not to award a penalty wasn't a VAR decision. It was d referees decision. D incident took place in front of d decision who was in a vantage position. Also d ball had hit d hand of Bernardo Silva b4 it came to Trent
Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by Jokerman(m): 1:45pm On Nov 13, 2019
This guy must be a Messi fan

That's how their GOAT complained of VAR at the COPA, the same COPA another small country won grin
Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by lexy2014: 1:46pm On Nov 13, 2019
TheGoodJoe:

Then stop the ball.

Instead the officials said Arnold's act was not deliberate when it was.

How was Trent's action deliberate?
Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by Minemrys: 1:47pm On Nov 13, 2019
TheGoodJoe:

You are still deviating.

Michael Oliver and the VAR man lied Trent Alexander did not commit a deliberate offence. What do you say about that. That is the point of the thread.

If you feel Bernardo Silva committed a foul or not is not in question. The question is, why did they both lie to something so blatant.
the questi0n still is, would trent have handled it if the ball hadn't bounced off of silva? Answer it nah.
Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by TheGoodJoe(m): 1:47pm On Nov 13, 2019
lexy2014:

How was Trent's action deliberate?

Look at the pictures of the article and you will see Trent moved his hand to the ball.
Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by Minjim: 1:48pm On Nov 13, 2019
izzou:

When Firminho's goal was cancelled against Aston Villa because his armpit(abi armpit hair) was offside, who's agenda was clear then?

I'm not here to argue back and forth with you. Oliver was solely in charge of making the decision, and even if he gave the penalty, we all would live with it

But my point is if he had given that penalty, then we would be seeing about 5 similar cases on every match. Sterling purposely played it on his hand, and there was no other possible place to keep his hands.

Like your article said, his hands had to be somewhere

I think you mixed the opinion of the article with that of the VAR guy

Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by TheGoodJoe(m): 1:48pm On Nov 13, 2019
Minemrys:

the questi0n still is, would trent have handled it if the ball hadn't bounced off of silva? Answer it nah.

Trent handled the ball deliberately and the officials lied about it.
Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by descartes400: 1:49pm On Nov 13, 2019
izzou:

Lets reason as neutrals

For the first one, the ball hit a City's player hand first, and then a Liverpool's player hand, all in the box. If you were a referee, what foul would you call?

For the second one, Sterling was close to a defender, and deliberately played it on his hand. I quite agree that it could pass as a penalty, but then, if it was given, we would see 5 similar cases in one match[b]. I feel the referee used his discretion and ignored it

So may I hear your views on both? [/b]

@ the italized
Should a referee use his or her discretion in penalising infractions in a match or follow the letters of the law as prescribed by the governing body?
Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by okuwehcris: 1:49pm On Nov 13, 2019
Kenmatt:
I don't even need to read it down, all I know is that VAR doesn't work in EPL.

Football they say is play to the whistle and not depending on the referee to give a penalty to enable them score a goal.

Manchester city has been trashing their opponents, they saw their match in football and started depending on penalties.

They should have scored and see if the referee will cancel the goal....
Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by lexy2014: 1:50pm On Nov 13, 2019
TheGoodJoe:

Look at the pictures of the article and you will see Trent moved his hand to the ball.

Is by looking at a still picture that u decided that Trent's action was deliberate?
Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by Minemrys: 1:50pm On Nov 13, 2019
TheGoodJoe:

Trent handled the ball deliberately and the officials lied about it.
oga go and cancel the match na.
Re: Proof Match Officials Were Against Manchester City In Game With Liverpool by TheGoodJoe(m): 1:52pm On Nov 13, 2019
lexy2014:

Is by looking at a still picture that u decided that Trent's action was deliberate?

There are twi pictures that are sequential, showing a line of action.

Finito.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply)

Mikel Obi’s Luxurious Lifestyle – N850m Mansion, Cars / Fan Quits Chelsea, Burns Jersey After Mourinho Sacked...Returns To Arsenal (pic) / Stephen Appiah Flaunts His Massive Mansion (Photos)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 44