Stats: 3,150,841 members, 7,810,244 topics. Date: Saturday, 27 April 2024 at 01:54 AM

Nigeria Police Force: World's Worst Profession (A Personal Experience) - Crime - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Crime / Nigeria Police Force: World's Worst Profession (A Personal Experience) (704 Views)

Personal Experience With Young Herdsmen Along Kabba-lokoja Road On The 5/10/21 / Moment Mexico Arrest Entire Police Force Of A Town Over Murder(pics) / What You Really Need To Know About Police Force Around The World(Photos) (2) (3) (4)

Nigeria Police Force: World's Worst Profession (A Personal Experience) by pfadom: 5:10am On Apr 10, 2020
Nigeria Police is the worst profession in the world. The brutality and open show of criminality among the rank and file of the Nigeria Police Force (NPF) make some of us both indifferent and unsympathetic whenever they are brutalized by military personnel. It will take miracle to imagine that anything good can come out of NPF

It was in 2005 when I was a PhD student at the University of Ibadan. I was to defend my proposal so I arrived Ibadan a day earlier. Before going home from my University base, I decided to meet a colleague at Oluyole Industrial, off Ring Road in Ibadan for the final briefing from the postgraduate committee in respect of the presentation.

Around 5:45 pm, these people were doing "stop-and-collect-bribe" in the open glare. I was driving my Toyota Camry car which contained my books and desktop computer which had my names engraved on both the CPU & monitor.

I was stopped, I identified myself as a lecturer presented my staff ID, vehicle particulars, all bearing my names. They then demanded for the receipts of my old desktop computer. I said I didn't have it with me and that I came to prepare for my proposal defence scheduled for the following day.

They were still collecting N50 from vehicles, I said if they don't mind I would leave the computer at the station, go home about 35 km away to fetch the receipt. They said since the computer was in the car, the car will be impounded with the computer. I was detained at that spot till 10 pm.

I was later referred to the DPO (Mr ***** is the name on his badge) who was in the official SUV car bearing "to serve and protect with integrity" inscriptions. I explained the situation to him and he said "I should settle the boys with N3,000". I nearly passed out. I offered to leave the car at their station and he said "it should not surprise me if they plant contraband in my car before my arrival". Where was service, protection or integrity is all these. Immediately, I was extremely afraid for my life.

Long story short, accompanied by a police officer, the DPO from his car flagged down an okada to take me to my friend's house to collect N3,000 at gunpoint. The friend had to borrow the money from his neighbour. They collected the money and brought me to the spot and subsequently released me at 11:25pm. I was shivering as the response of the DPO kept echoing on auto-replay as I drove through the 35 km journey to my Akobo home in the dead of the night.

The presentation was successful, though I couldn't rehearse well as I planned, no thanks to the devil's agent. Barely three weeks later, as I was screening new JAMB intakes into my engineering department in my university. I sighted this file with ***** surname (the name on the stupid DPO's badge). The biodata and contact address indicated that the father was a police officer. I KIV the file and the prospective student later came as he had to be cleared before being given the matriculation number.

I found that the student did not have Biology, but I could use my discretion to consider Agricultural Science instead, if I so wished. I asked him to call his father, whom he confirmed was a police officer. I was shocked that despite his busy schedule he could create time for his kid as he showed up the following morning.

The boy knocked the door and both were asked to come in. Lo and behold, upon sighting each other I was shocked when the man screamed that he was in a wrong office. The man left immediately and the boy, running after him, kept saying who among us (son, father and myself) should know the right or wrong office. I eventually had pity on the boy considering his innocence. I later narrated the reason for the father's discomfort to the student after about a year into the programme.

This singular event forced me out of the country. I later abandoned the doctoral study at UI to start afresh at Univesity of California San Diego (UCSD). I competed my PhD in Engineering in 2010, returned home for 5 years and now back overseas as a faculty.

As a Christian, my only prayer is that Jesus don't visit me as a policeman as I might not treat him well. Remember the parable of Jesus - when I was hungry you fed me, thirsty you gave me a drink, naked you clothed me, in prison you visited me. I might not pass these tests should God test me with a Nigerian police.

I made a decision never to have anything to do with any police including those within the family and friends or anyone related to any police officer. Majority of them are bunch of criminals.

The greatness of present Nigeria is a function of the quality of men and women in the Nigeria Police Force.

Re: Nigeria Police Force: World's Worst Profession (A Personal Experience) by kalufelix(m): 6:04am On Apr 10, 2020
Cursed institution, cursed families...worse than armed robbers... I fear them more than cultists
Re: Nigeria Police Force: World's Worst Profession (A Personal Experience) by blesskewe(f): 6:27am On Apr 10, 2020
E say their blood
Re: Nigeria Police Force: World's Worst Profession (A Personal Experience) by chatinent: 6:50am On Apr 10, 2020
You mean those thieves in uniform?
Re: Nigeria Police Force: World's Worst Profession (A Personal Experience) by yanabasee(m): 6:57am On Apr 10, 2020
OP we share the same view about the police system.....

I've had friends who tried joining the force and I told them openly, it will be the end to our friendship....

The NPF is very terrible and routine.... They're the real criminal. Selling arms to thieves and will reluctantly visit the scene to arrest spectators....

The politicians using them to intimidate the ordinary masses.....
Re: Nigeria Police Force: World's Worst Profession (A Personal Experience) by cassidy1996(m): 7:04am On Apr 10, 2020
life is just a small circle, karma is a.......
Re: Nigeria Police Force: World's Worst Profession (A Personal Experience) by Skyfornia(m): 7:17am On Apr 10, 2020
Omo my own experience was worse...police is evil
Re: Nigeria Police Force: World's Worst Profession (A Personal Experience) by Aidejay(m): 7:37am On Apr 10, 2020
I fortunately haven't had any bad experiences with police officers personally. But I'm building up stimuli with all this stories and news I read about police regularly, the day one vulture cruises into my domicile with their rubbish I promise not to roll over easy.
Re: Nigeria Police Force: World's Worst Profession (A Personal Experience) by seangy4konji: 10:49am On Apr 10, 2020
If I was travelling and it was late and a police van should somersault in front of me and all of them are gasping for breathe,I would gladly look around and see that no car is coming, take one of their rifles,execute them,collectball the money in their pocket, spat on their dead bodies and use their money to drink gold berg that night with pepper soup....

Re: Nigeria Police Force: World's Worst Profession (A Personal Experience) by Moneywirer: 11:09am On Apr 10, 2020
Exactly one of the reasons I wish to be a police officer, I want to effect some change in the force. I want to stand out, I want to change the public's opinion about the police force.

If you're a top police officer on this forum, and you're reading this... I could use your help in getting into the NPF.
(Computer Engineering graduate)
Re: Nigeria Police Force: World's Worst Profession (A Personal Experience) by Moneywirer: 11:23am On Apr 10, 2020
seangy4konji:
If I was travelling and it was late and a police van should somersault in front of me and all of them are gasping for breathe,I would gladly look around and see that no car is coming, take one of their rifles,execute them,collectball the money in their pocket, spat on their dead bodies and use their money to drink gold berg that night with pepper soup....

Please you don't have to be this vengeful, I strongly believe that there are still good ones among them though they may be few
Re: Nigeria Police Force: World's Worst Profession (A Personal Experience) by Nobody: 3:03pm On Apr 10, 2020
Aidejay:
I fortunately haven't had any bad experiences with police officers personally. But I'm building up stimuli with all this stories and news I read about police regularly, the day one vulture cruises into my domicile with their rubbish I promise not to roll over easy.

Not with an armed personnel and most times use wisdom to get evidenve if possible and not gra gra.

K Low Killer Regains Freedom / Nigerian Man Arrested In The UK After Firing Shots From Balcony. VIDEO / 50 Storey Residential Tower In Dubai By Fire