Stats: 3,159,441 members, 7,839,902 topics. Date: Saturday, 25 May 2024 at 11:39 AM

General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction - Properties (1401) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Properties / General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction (4453535 Views)

Discuss Anything Property And Lets Make Money In The Process / Residential Building Construction Mistakes In Nigeria You Need To Avoid / General Topic Thread - The Roforofo Thread Of Construction Activities (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (1398) (1399) (1400) (1401) (1402) (1403) (1404) ... (3681) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 9:28pm On May 28, 2020
Jeff68:
You have really answered my questions, with paragraphs 2& 3!! That gives me a good place to begin. Thanks!!

I'm glad you find it helpful.

quote author=QSFemi post=90065165]

What's the length and breadth of the building if you assumed it to be rectangular in shape?
Knowing the dimensions of the building will help in verifying the quantities for the measured area.

Secondly, ask Tiles sellers to send you cost/m2 of different types of tiles in order to know the current market price of tiles.

On Labour, cost of laying tiles per square metres is usually between #250 to #500 per square metres depending on the skills of the tiler, experience and your negotiation skill.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Donoppy(m): 9:52pm On May 28, 2020
saydfact:

NO1. 10k - 15k because its just blinding and shd be done in hours (does not include Iron bender work)
NO2. OK
NO3, 25K
NO4. We're talking of about 2500 blocks (l believe less) here if the design is massive; so 150k - 200k
NO5. 20k
NO6. 50K
NO7. FREE - shd be part of NO6 or done as goodwill, well 10k (2 days work)
NO8. LOL grin grin grin grin grin grin grin
NO9. If what you're using is mesh wire - 5k is OK, but if you're using 8mm rods then 15K
NO10. I don't even know how to price this, cos 150k should do the job.... (minus amount used to rent machine paid seperately)

This prices are generated using 2 bedroom flats x 2 -

TOTAL is about 550k

LOL...
That no. 8 seems so funny to you �
Thank you very much sir
I really appreciate your contribution. �
It will go a long way

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Donoppy(m): 9:54pm On May 28, 2020
segzy14:

Haba now, if 875k is for Labour only, how much will the whole foundation consume? What’s is the length and breadth of your building?
This is just too much, shine your eyes.You can get a professional to do a detailed Labour and material schedule .

I thought as much ...
Thanks for your opinion sir
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Rexology: 10:35pm On May 28, 2020
I am considering Aluminium Parapet, please is there any reason(s) why I should not do it?
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by mufutau55(m): 11:45pm On May 28, 2020
gbadexy:

The screeding fixes cracks and smoothen the wall surface in a way that regular cement and sand plaster can never achieve.
The major difference between the sand/cement plaster and the screeding is the smooth calcium carbonate powder aggregate in the pop emulsion used mix the cement.
With regular plaster, the sand aggregate is rough compared to calcium carbonate powder and it's noticeable from the grainy pores on the surface on cement plaster. With screeding, either with gypsum or portland cement, the surface is smoother because all the materials are powder smooth.
However after the wall is screeded, it would still need to be sandpapered uniformly smooth before painting. The level of smoothness of the screeding would determine how much to sandpaper. Some screeding are so smooth that only slight smooth sandpaper is necessary.
Your cement screeding was smooth sir. The painter only had to fill some cracks on the cement screeding.
Cement screeding have the tendency to crack unlike pop and basecoat putty.

Sorry I had to quote the whole message. This is one of the reason I have always respected you as a professional at what you do. Very good explanations you have provided above. So, I am assumptions was also right just missing some vital information. Thank you for the good lessons. Now I know better and added more knowledge to my old brain. Thank you Sir.

Hajji M.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by mufutau55(m): 11:50pm On May 28, 2020
Jeff68:
I am so excited! I got the attention of the great Hajji M!!! God bless you greatly, I have been following you for a while now. Your responses and encouragement is uncanny! Even how you settle disputes! I am a pastor, so I appreciate men like you for your wisdom, you make our job easier. Please continue to do what you do.

You are right sir, that is what I am planning to do, God willing and based on the availability of funds.Thanks again sir.

Thank you very much Sir. God will surely provide the fund.

Hajji M.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Emmycool85: 5:23am On May 29, 2020
Can you forward me some pictures as well? excellencexx@yahoo.com
stanleyalpacino:

Hello Sir,

From the picture you uploaded I can see the stone brick tiles. I will upload some pictures of the stone brick tiles used in wall cladding here tomorrow.

NB: I can supply this to you. Granite and marble Inclusive.
You can contact me to quote you the best prices.

Cc mufutau55
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Emmycool85: 5:27am On May 29, 2020
Sir, Can you help me with some pictures as well? I am considering using this and I am also at this stage
valencia2012:

Affirmative!
My neighbours and many others here in Germany used it and it's so amazing. Imagine the rains doing the cleaning and washing of the exterior walls with every downpour for over 3 decades.
I'll get some clear pictures and dates of the jobs done when I pass by.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Muyi002(m): 6:43am On May 29, 2020
May God Bless all the good good professionals on this thread who has provided information for free to novice and the experienced.

Hajj M, Engr. Segzy14, Dr. Saydfact, Alhaji Money121 Imran and all I may not have mentioned.

You guys are amazing. Continue the good job and I pray God will bless you plentifully. Ameen

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by gbadexy(m): 6:49am On May 29, 2020
mufutau55:

Sorry I had to quote the whole message. This is one of the reason I have always respected you as a professional at what you do. Very good explanations you have provided above. So, I am assumptions was also right just missing some vital information. Thank you for the good lessons. Now I know better and added more knowledge to my old brain. Thank you Sir.

Hajji M.
My able chairman it's a pleasure sir.
May we continue to have you around for many decades to come.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by money121(m): 7:03am On May 29, 2020
Muyi002:
May God Bless all the good good professionals on this thread who has provided information for free to novice and the experienced.

Hajj M, Engr. Segzy14, Dr. Saydfact, Alhaji Money121 Imran and all I may not have mentioned.

You guys are amazing. Continue the good job and I pray God will bless you plentifully. Ameen
Uwl brother mi
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by MrOkenwa(m): 7:55am On May 29, 2020
May the Lord continue to bless you all for sharing your rich knowledge on this thread.
Please, I am considering the option of buying a flat from a private firm that is selling off units in a nice neighborhood. Its completed already and I can afford to make outright purchase.
I want to know your opinion on this. Pros, cons and what to look out for in the agreement.
Somebody suggested that I should start my own building but that may be a long thing.
Please help a brother.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by damola311: 8:29am On May 29, 2020
Good morning to the boss and bosses..... Quick question before I ask the main one.

After roofing, what stage is the next in house building?
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Nosa111(m): 8:53am On May 29, 2020
Hello house
I am taking my men to mould some blocks, hope this raining that is falling is not a barrier ?
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Biztech05(m): 9:35am On May 29, 2020
To you muslims and muslimot!
Happy weekend to all Nairalanders .

Today is another Blessed Friday JUMAH. Almighty Allah knows what ur soul needs even when U cannot find words to express them. Let us put our undivided trust in Allah and he will never let Us down. May Almighty Allah Subuhana Watahala answer your prayers, wipe your tears, and accept all your deeds as an act of Ibadah and take you to the position you desired in Life. Jumat Mubaraq! Assalam Alaikum Waramatullai Wabarakatuh.

Biztech consult whises!

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by rotecch77(m): 10:01am On May 29, 2020
Nosa111:
Hello house
I am taking my men to mould some blocks, hope this raining that is falling is not a barrier ?

This is my advice to you, if you are in needs of small qualities like 100-500 you can do that within shortest period of time now, just do that FAST NOW.
But if you need more than this pls go and buy.
(June- August rain is loading)
My simple and short advice
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Rexology: 10:21am On May 29, 2020
Greetings to all the building Professionals here. I am considering Aluminium Parapet, please is there any disadvantage(s) ? is it durable?

With the Aluminium Parapet, how much should be able to roof a 3 bedroom flat with 5 gutters.

Please Note:
1. I am using 8ft roofing sheet.
2. There is no work way.
3. The building size is 60sqm
Can anyone here give me estimate for the roofing?
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Fonyeri(m): 10:23am On May 29, 2020
Are you thinking of how to go about painting your space or the kind of design that will make it look exotic,Contact us today to transform the space for you.
We are professionals in painting of residential,offices and commercial building.
We also do wall skimming"screeding"and decorative plaster finishes such as:-
Venetian plaster widely known as Stucco
Swahili design
Istinto design
Travertino design
Crackle design
Metallic velvet
Dragon effect
Crocodile effect
Bagging design etc
Lets transform your spaces today.
We bring walls to live.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by dannie007(m): 10:37am On May 29, 2020
Are you in need of a very good professional Furniture or wood expert for your New or Old homes look no further we gat you covered anywhere in Nigeria.

Oxatto Multi Services. You can contact us on Whatsapp 09090040008 or Call 08066377733.

Walldrop.
Kitchen Cabinet.
Television Stand.
Beds
Sitting Chairs. Etc

Contact us for any Wood Work and be sure of Rest of mind..

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by rotecch77(m): 10:46am On May 29, 2020
segzy14:

Haba now, if 875k is for Labour only, how much will the whole foundation consume? What’s is the length and breadth of your building?
This is just too much, shine your eyes.You can get a professional to do a detailed Labour and material schedule .

This is serious o.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by rotecch77(m): 10:52am On May 29, 2020
Donoppy:
Hello everyone , I am embarking on a project which is a stormy building, a 2unit of 2 bedroom flat up and 2unit of 2 bedroom flat down
And below is the picture of the quotation I got from the builder for just labour charges to the German floor level.
Please I need your advice on how I can negotiate this.

As you are getting advise here from professionals you can also at the same time patronize us here too.

If you are in eastern,western and northern part you will get NL member to handle this for you at reasonable price below what you get.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by damola311: 11:00am On May 29, 2020
damola311:
Good morning to the boss and bosses..... Quick question before I ask the main one.

After roofing, what stage is the next in house building?

Anyone please cool cool cool
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Nobody: 11:13am On May 29, 2020
Muyi002:

Amen
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by saydfact(m): 11:20am On May 29, 2020
Muyi002:

Thanks Boss.... Amen
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by dayveed1(m): 1:45pm On May 29, 2020

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by luvablesam(m): 3:47pm On May 29, 2020
dayveed1:
I came across this Forum and I read many things that has motivated me to go and continue work on my site.
I abandoned it then (2018) because the location was still under developed
It's a 3 bedroom bungalow already at window level.
So now that I want to start working there. Dem omo onile don come pour sand in my Garri. embarassed embarassed
I'm too young to deal with this people and what they're asking for is way too much.

I think what you should do is to ask them to let you see their Oga, if they agree to your suggestion, just go with a few street-wise people, sugar coat things a little, offer him an amount you got. He will collect it!

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by uncleteeh(m): 4:18pm On May 29, 2020
Involving a Professional makes the job done easier and finer.
OAK GROUP is at your service for your Architectural Drawings and Building Constructional Works.
Just bring to us your survey plan and brief. We will get you debriefed and bring to you a functional design.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by monakii: 4:19pm On May 29, 2020
saydfact:

I know you follow me here (on NL)- I dont take that for granted.... send me a whatsapp message, I'll fix whatever is left in the amazing design you already have, you have a complete design and free consultation up to when your design is up by God's grace, plus if its in Lagos (I'm not promising because of my schedule) I could pay it a visit...

Goodluck

First, thank you very much for taking time to study and understand my sketch. It's never easy to put that together same is expected for the person vetting it especially from a poorly taken shot.
Above all, I appreciate your gesture; Indeed and greatly so. Following you hereon is an added advantage for me as I wait on your submissions on issues most time having consider you a luminary in this profession.
I pray you reach your height and continue to soar. Thank you very much. i will chat you up as I consider it an opportunity that I can't refuse.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by monakii: 4:20pm On May 29, 2020
uncleteeh:

Yeah, Your drafting skill is a great one.
Just that there are some rudiments to follow in design. Some examples are cross ventilation of the bedrooms, clear separation btwn the public area and the semi private part and the private parts of the building.
You will need an architect for better and clearer interpretation of this dream of yours.
You can consult us @ OAK Group.

Thank you very much.
Compliment well received.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by monakii: 4:33pm On May 29, 2020
Charisdesigns:

Firstly I must commend you for the sketch and your drafting skill, that's a good one there

Now here are my thoughts
1) The position of the v.wc is not too great, because it has taken some Chunk out of the squareness of the living room, therefore effecting the schematic (flow) of the living room.

2)The second bedroom, it will be great if you leave it @ ensuite, since you have already made provision for vwc

3) The pantry: I am of the opinion that it will be ok if you swap it position with the exit/corridor, if the corridor is at the back end, it will give you the opportunity to have 90-270 ° view of the building with just been at the corridor and looking out, because the way it is set up currently, you will have to step out of the house, then walk your way to the backyard to see or know what's happening there.

4) For the roof, please consider Dutch Gable for it, since the design is a straight one without much set backs and shootings...

Attach is an example of how you can affix your vwc, for better flow and great furniture arrangements for your house

Thank you very much. I feel humbled and honored to have you dissect my sketch especially from a hurriedly and poorly taken shot

As you have pointed out above, some of the issues have been dealt with amongst my wife, kids (passively) and i.
We are looking to eliminate visitors toilet completely and we have already interchanged pantry to exit/corridor.

I will take another holistic and possibly final look into the sketch by applying contributions of all before I bring it forward again.

Thank you once again. May you reach your height and continue to live dreams. Cheers
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by MrOkenwa(m): 4:40pm On May 29, 2020
MrOkenwa:
May the Lord continue to bless you all for sharing your rich knowledge on this thread.
Please, I am considering the option of buying a flat from a private firm that is selling off units in a nice neighborhood. Its completed already and I can afford to make outright purchase.
I want to know your opinion on this. Pros, cons and what to look out for in the agreement.
Somebody suggested that I should start my own building but that may be a long thing.
Please help a brother.
I need urgent advice from realtors and anybody with helpful information.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by money121(m): 5:10pm On May 29, 2020
Job Done!!
Another Successful Roofing Project Completed
Site Location: Casso Lagos State
Roof Design : Milano Design
Colour:Black
327sqm

To get the Cost that Roofed this Building Call/WhatsApp 08085310359

(1) (2) (3) ... (1398) (1399) (1400) (1401) (1402) (1403) (1404) ... (3681) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: BrickDevo, ishadfurnitures and 4 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 58