Stats: 3,161,358 members, 7,846,544 topics. Date: Friday, 31 May 2024 at 05:54 PM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (9978) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (11839129 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (9975) (9976) (9977) (9978) (9979) (9980) (9981) ... (16239) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by AIG07: 4:19pm On Nov 13, 2020
Can we one day have a team under Rohr without a makeshift player?

Akpo on the right? OK ooo...

Just as a poster here once said. Rohr will still be experimenting in Qatar.

All the best to team. But going forward, this man is lacking in ideas.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by CornOak(m): 4:21pm On Nov 13, 2020
Go Super Eagles... The land is GREEN.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 4:22pm On Nov 13, 2020
barackodam:
Lineups.....

I raised eyebrows on seeing Musa starting. But on seeing the other wings options on the substitute bench I tend to reason with Rohr a little grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Karlovich: 4:23pm On Nov 13, 2020
Musa and Akpoguma shouldn't be starting this game
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Smellymouth: 4:24pm On Nov 13, 2020
No natural RB in this line up.

Why start Akpoguma (a centre-back) in the RB position ahead of Ebuehi and Aina (RBs)

Aren't these two guys better than Akpoguma?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by maidaboi(m): 4:24pm On Nov 13, 2020
So NTAi will not air the match
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Edopesin: 4:25pm On Nov 13, 2020
Icon4s:

I raised eyebrows on Musa starting. But on seeing the other wings options on the substitute bench I tend to reason with Rohr a little grin

Iheanacho on the wings wouldn't have raised eyebrows as Musa starting. We are playing Sierra Leone not Argentina, if you cannot trust Dennis or Ejuke to be at least decent against these guys why call them in the first place

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 4:25pm On Nov 13, 2020
olu98:

havent they already destroyed the senior level? especially the new world cup qualifiers format. imagine winning your wcq group, then still face a group winner from another group. I dont like this format at all.

I like the current format.. It is tough,but good..
It means teams will have to work extra hard to qualify..

it was the same format used for the 2014 world cup...Nigeria and Algeria later made it to the round of 16..

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 4:25pm On Nov 13, 2020
maidaboi:
So NTAi will not air the match

Better.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by maidaboi(m): 4:26pm On Nov 13, 2020
Smellymouth:

Why start Akpoguma (a centre-back) in the RB position ahead of Ebuehi and Aina (RBs)

or Rohr promise him he always start if he commit
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Edopesin: 4:28pm On Nov 13, 2020
Danielnino00:

I like the current format.. It is tough,but good..
It means teams will have to work extra hard to qualify..

it was the same format used for the 2014 world cup...Nigeria and Algeria later made it to the round of 16..

This format ehn, one accidental loss in one leg and the pressure is all on you especially if lose at home na make your opponent go pack bus away
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by maidaboi(m): 4:28pm On Nov 13, 2020
Which beinsport on mobdro will air the match?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 4:29pm On Nov 13, 2020
Edopesin:

Iheanacho on the wings wouldn't have raised eyebrows as Musa starting. We are playing Sierra Leone not Argentina, if you cannot trust Dennis or Ejuke to be at least decent against these guys why call them in the first place

Iheanacho will definitely play a role in this game, either as an SS or a CF. Denis and Ejuke will also play their substitute roles. You cannot say there was not need inviting them if they cannot start.

The only odd starter I see in that line up is Kelvin Akpoguma at RB.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 4:29pm On Nov 13, 2020
olu98:

lol. just like france over 90% of their players are immigrants or children of immigrants not that american football gangan is talented.

IMO, USA is going the way of Nigeria more than France.. They are scouting foreign born/groomed players abroad as opposed to what France are doing by grooming those children of immigrants in their own country..
Football isn't a major sport in America...they don't pay that much attention to it.. If they decide to continue with their current format of scouting abroad, it may not help them much in the long run..Charity begins at home...

their women team are so good because they put a lot of attention to it... American football,ice hockey and baseball don't have that much participation by women,hence paving way for sports like basketball and football...
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 4:30pm On Nov 13, 2020
CornOak:
Yes, Musa shouldn't have being on the starting list. But something tells me he would score a goal or have a beautiful assist at least.

In a nutshell, he's likely to put on a great performance. lipsrsealed

Weda he score hatrick or not he should not be there
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 4:31pm On Nov 13, 2020
mostob:
make e no be say I dey complain but how does it make sense when you invited Aina and Ebuehi, two decent RBs only to play Akpo instead? What is wrong with Rohr sef?

Rohr na mumu coach na...

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Smellymouth: 4:32pm On Nov 13, 2020
maidaboi:

There is Ebuehi,shehu and awaziem who are natural RB while akpoguma who is a CB is starting..

Is there something we don’t know or is Yobo giving Rohr colorado to drink?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 4:32pm On Nov 13, 2020
barackodam:
Lineups.....

Lol I know say akpoguma go start

When everybody Dey do their line up dem Dey put awaziem aina and co

Well good luck to the boys
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Edopesin: 4:33pm On Nov 13, 2020
Icon4s:

Iheanacho will definitely play a role in this game, either as an SS or a CF. Denis and Ejuke will also play their substitute roles. You cannot say there was not need inviting them if they cannot start.

The only odd starter I see in that line up is Kelvin Akpoguma at RB.

Well I no know wetin you been dey reason with rohr sha but the wing players on the bench should be starting over an out of form Musa. Though I don't expect less of Musa in the game
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 4:33pm On Nov 13, 2020
smartsmith0907:
so yesternight during training we tried out 4-2-4 before changing to 4-3-3
here maduka was in goal,kelvin started off as the RB and nacho playing as an SS with osihmen then musa/ejuke and chuks on the wings
so here the double pivot were ajayi and etebo
so the second half there was a switch ....aina coming on for kelvin and aribo coming off for ajayi in a 4-3-3 formation

so it was like

etebo aribo

iwobi

.so we still contemplating on who is starting between ajayi and etebo in the DMF role.
That midfield trio you stated is still the best for us if there is no Ndidi. Ajayi can't play midfield
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 4:33pm On Nov 13, 2020
Smellymouth:

Well he has played as a RWB for his club several times this season but I still prefer aina or ebuehi thou
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by mosdii(m): 4:34pm On Nov 13, 2020
barackodam:
Lineups.....

Good line up but the RB is not an outright one especially when we have Two very talented RB's at the bench.

Well let's see how it goes in this first half.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by CornOak(m): 4:35pm On Nov 13, 2020
maidaboi:
Which beinsport on mobdro will air the match?

beIN HD 7
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 4:35pm On Nov 13, 2020
Edopesin:

This format ehn, one accidental loss in one leg and the pressure is all on you especially if lose at home na make your opponent go pack bus away

That's why I like it.. grin .. U need to work extra hard...
we were lucky to get Ethiopia last time...
If we finish top of our group and meet a ultra defensive team like Uganda in the next round, it won't be funny grin ..imagine them beating us 1-0 in Kamapala grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 4:35pm On Nov 13, 2020
Edopesin:

Well I no know wetin you been dey reason with rohr sha but the wing players on the bench should be starting over an out of form Musa. Though I don't expect less of Musa in the game

Well..., his performance in camp earned him a starting place.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 4:35pm On Nov 13, 2020
maidaboi:

Before nko

Person wey get Germany for mind and later change to naija na to Dey start am nah grin

Even if aina or ebuehi start for that rb no go suprise say that guy go collect Ekong shirt grin

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 4:36pm On Nov 13, 2020
Danielnino00:

That's why I like it.. grin .. U need to work extra hard...
we were lucky to get Ethiopia last time...
If we finish top of our group and meet a ultra defensive team like Uganda in the next round, it won't be funny grin ..imagine them beating us 1-0 in Kamapala grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 4:36pm On Nov 13, 2020
Smellymouth:

There is Ebuehi,shehu and awaziem who are natural RB while akpoguma who is a CB is starting..

Awaziem is not a natural RB ,someone should correct me if I am wrong

If awaziem as a CB can play RB at afcon then why can’t akpoguma? I prefer aina or ebuehi thou

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by iamdynamite(m): 4:37pm On Nov 13, 2020
I am begging to dislike rohr, how can you have 2 natural right backs and you decide to start a makeshift rightback..does it even make sense..no coach in the world will do that I swear....

What manner of players selection is this, I can't fathom how a coach will be this dumb.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 4:37pm On Nov 13, 2020
Smellymouth:

Shehu and Awaziem are not natural RBs
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Smellymouth: 4:39pm On Nov 13, 2020
andrewbaba44:

Well he has played as a RWB for his club several times this season but I still prefer aina or ebuehi thou

There is no justification for Akpo starting ahead of Aina or Ebuehi..

His preference of players is something else.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Smellymouth: 4:39pm On Nov 13, 2020
Icon4s:

Shehu and Awaziem are not natural RBs

My bad. To an extent they are.

(1) (2) (3) ... (9975) (9976) (9977) (9978) (9979) (9980) (9981) ... (16239) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: Subzerooo, elunico and 5 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 40