Stats: 3,330,072 members, 8,443,675 topics. Date: Sunday, 12 July 2026 at 09:44 AM

Yoruboid's Posts

Nairaland ForumYoruboid's ProfileYoruboid's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 43 pages)

PoliticsRe: Tinubu Forces Buhari To Take Witness Stand In Paris Court by yoruboid(op): 10:50pm On Jan 18, 2025
No President has been more serious about fighting corruption than President Bola Tinubu

Under two years, the number and caliber of people that have been docked and recoveries made is unprecedented.

There’s no way the Agulu fraud could have mustered the courage to do half of this, that’s if his brain can conceive these legendary reforms in the first place

This explains why the AGF visited Buhari and why Buhari is presently in France
PoliticsTinubu Forces Buhari To Take Witness Stand In Paris Court by yoruboid(op): 10:43pm On Jan 18, 2025
Muhammadu Buhari was hauled into court on Saturday for breaching terms of a power generation and distribution contract awarded to Sunrise Power and Transmission Company of Nigeria.

Former Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari has been dragged before a court in Paris, where he took the witness stand in an arbitration proceeding over a federal power contract dispute.

Peoples Gazette learnt that Mr Buhari was hauled before the court on Saturday for breaching the terms of a power generation and distribution contract awarded to Sunrise Power and Transmission Company of Nigeria by former President Olusegun Obasanjo in 2003.

The $6 billion project has dragged on for over 20 years, and its main anchor, Leno Adesanya, has been a target of anti-graft investigations, including claims that he bribed a former minister at the time to secure the contract

The Gazette was told that Mr Buhari was grilled for hours on Saturday and would continue his testimony on Sunday before the International Chamber of Commerce Court of Arbitration in Paris in case number 26260/SPN/AB/CPB.

A top administration official told The Gazette that Mr Buhari was reluctant to give testimony on the matter. Still, Attorney-General Lateef Fagbemi visited him at his residence in Daura last week to compel his appearance.

“The AGF made it clear to the president that he must be in Paris,” the official said under anonymity to discuss the situation.

President Bola Tinubu approved the decision to haul his predecessor before the foreign arbitration panel, the source added. It’s rare for a Nigerian president to appear in a court case over actions he took while in office, as former executive aides are usually saddled with answering for all powers exercised on behalf of the president during their tenures. In 2017, former President Goodluck Jonathan shunned a Nigerian court subpoena to appear in a criminal trial in Abuja.

Mr Fagbemi and two presidential spokespersons did not immediately respond to a request for comments about the administration’s decision. A spokesman for Mr Buhari could not be reached on Saturday evening.

Mr Buhari’s government was accused of withholding about $200 million in payments previously approved for the project, which was to be launched in conjunction with a Chinese consortium.

Court filings showed former Attorney-General Abubakar Malami communicated the decision to truncate the agreement to Mr Adesanya and Mambilla Power on April 22, 2020.

However, when Mr Adesanya protested the action against his company, Nigerian authorities sought to arrest him and charge him with bribery and economic sabotage. He denied the allegations and proceeded to arbitration.

Mr Adesanya was also forced to defend himself against EFCC’s decision to declare him wanted in Nigerian courts. He was charged alongside Olu Agunloye, a former power minister under Mr Obasanjo.

Mr Adesanya said he sought to ensure sustainable power in Nigeria when he proposed constructing the Mambilla Hydroelectric Power Project through Sunrise Ltd as the special purpose vehicle to drive the project.

https://gazettengr.com/exclusive-bola-tinubu-forces-ex-president-buhari-to-take-witness-stand-in-paris-court-over-6-billion-mambilla-power-contract-fraud/
PoliticsRe: Appeal Court re-Affirms Julius Abure as National Chairman of Labour Party by yoruboid: 3:56pm On Jan 17, 2025
So under what platform will the Agulu fraud contest?

Let’s wait till his mad man advises him on what next
PoliticsRe: How can one person forge certificate and also forge my support? - Aisha Yesufu by yoruboid:
She’s an attention seeking mentally unstable slowpoke
PoliticsRe: Travelstart Changes Nigerian Cities Languages After Facing Pressure On X by yoruboid: 11:50am On Jan 15, 2025
Lagos is Yorubaland. If you don’t like it, go and hug a transformer

Lagos will continue to welcome everyone (Nigerian or not) that is interested in its progress and will provide the platform for them to thrive

The announcements on our trains and buses are done in English and Yoruba

Our streets and neighborhoods are Yoruba names and Lagos will continue to thrive no matter how much hate you have for it
NYSCRe: NYSC Members Among 35 Passengers Kidnapped by Fulani Herdsmen in Enugu by yoruboid: 11:33am On Jan 15, 2025
Insecurity in the SE is alarming and under reported

There are more of these atrocities than we get to hear

If you’re close to anyone that travelled to the East last December, you will hear tales of woes but they keep hiding it
PoliticsRe: Obi Should Wait Until 2039??? by yoruboid: 2:18pm On Jan 14, 2025
That too early

Presidency will return to the South in 2039 but it won’t be Obi as Nigeria would be too advanced for him to handle

If he can learn the ropes a bit, he can wait till 2055
AgricultureRe: Food: Lagos LG Secures 50- Acre Farmland In Ogun by yoruboid: 3:50pm On Jan 13, 2025
I know at least 6 LG/LCDA chairmen in Lagos doing what most other governors aren’t even capable of

From high rise residential buildings, to roads, drainages, schools and recreational facilities
PoliticsRe: 2027: Ohanaeze Ndigbo Worldwide Endorses Tinubu For Second Term by yoruboid(op): 11:46am On Jan 13, 2025
I keep laughing at those from that side of town still very sure the Agulu fraud will win in 2027
Politics2027: Ohanaeze Ndigbo Worldwide Endorses Tinubu For Second Term by yoruboid(op): 11:40am On Jan 13, 2025
Ahead of the 2027 general election, Ohanaeze Ndigbo Worldwide has endorsed President Bola Tinubu for a second term in office.

Ohanaeze stated this in a statement signed by its Deputy President General, Mazi Okechukwu Isiguzoro, on Sunday, where they appealed to the President to use his executive powers to facilitate the release of Nnamdi Kanu this 2025.

According to Isiguzoro, the release of the IPOB leader, Nnamdi Kanu, shall serve not merely as an act of mercy, but as a vital catalyst for restoring peace and resolving the current insecurity challenges plaguing the Southeast.

Isiguzoro maintained that the South-East deserves a path toward stability, noting that peace cannot be achieved in the shadow of violence and discord.

The apex Igbo socio-cultural organisation also advocated for the acceleration of ongoing rehabilitation and reconstruction projects of dilapidated federal roads throughout Southeastern Nigeria, under Senator David Umahi as Works Minister, insisting that Southeastern infrastructure remains the backbone of economic progress and social cohesion. He added that it’s non-negotiable that these projects are completed before the end of 2026.

The statement reads, “The Apex Igbo Sociocultural Organisation, Ohanaeze Ndigbo, firmly frames this critical discourse around the sanctity of Nigeria’s unwritten gentleman’s agreement concerning the rotational presidency between the North and South. This covenant, which stands as a pillar of our democracy, must not only be acknowledged but must be steadfastly upheld to promote equity and fairness amidst our diverse tapestry.

“With the conclusion of an eight-year Northern presidency under Former President Muhammadu Buhari, from 2015 to 2023, we firmly assert that it is now time for the Southern region to claim its rightful place at the helm of leadership from 2023 to 2031. This principle of fairness compels us to support President Bola Ahmed Tinubu’s bid for a second term in the upcoming 2027 elections.

“In our assessment of the current political milieu, the glaring weakness, disarray, and lack of coherence among opposition political elites expose a perilous landscape for governance. Individuals such as Atiku Abubakar, Rabiu Kwankwaso, Nasir El-Rufai, Peter Obi, and Sim Fubara may mean well, but the reality is that their capacity to mount a serious challenge against the APC is dubious at best. It would be a reckless endeavor to engage in political maneuvers that align with figures who offer no substantive plan for progress.

“Ohanaeze Ndigbo cautions that any attempt to co-opt our organization as a vehicle for misguided political machinations must be met with resolute resistance. The political ambition of the few should not be allowed to hijack the collective aspirations of the Ibo people. We cannot afford to gamble again on opportunistic alliances that have historically undermined our unity. Our people still bear the scars of the ill-fated endorsement of Atiku Abubakar and Peter Obi in 2019, a move that has reverberated painfully through our communities and the fabric of our regional integrity.

“In this crucial juncture, we pivot towards constructive action. We urge President Tinubu to utilize his executive powers to facilitate the release of Nnamdi Kanu by 2025. This pivotal step will serve not merely as an act of mercy, but as a vital catalyst for restoring peace and resolving the current insecurity challenges plaguing the Southeast. Our region deserves a path toward stability, and this cannot happen in the shadow of violence and discord.

“Moreover, we strongly advocate for the acceleration of ongoing rehabilitation and reconstruction projects of dilapidated federal roads throughout Southeastern Nigeria, under the stewardship of Senator Dave Umahi. Our infrastructure is the backbone of economic progress and social cohesion; thus, it is non-negotiable that these projects are completed before the end of 2026.

“The foundational need for accurate representation in the upcoming 2025 Census must also be addressed, particularly the incorporation of ethnic and religious demographics that reflect the true population of the Igbo people across Nigeria, especially in the northern region. It is our belief that such representation will further empower our voice in national conversations.

“Additionally, the creation of new states within Igbo land—Anioma State in the South-South and Aba State in the Southeast—will enhance our governance, representation, and socio-political relevance.

“We also highlight the urgency of revitalizing the Eastern Economic corridors, which require strategic reinvestment. Initiatives such as the dredging and reopening of Calabar Seaport, the revival of Enugu Coal Mine, and the establishment of the Akwete Blue River Deep Seaport in Ukwa East, Abia State are paramount. Furthermore, upgrading the railway framework from Port Harcourt to Maiduguri and enhancing connectivity within our towns, including Onitsha, Owerri, Okigwe, Abakaliki, and Awka, will solidify our region’s economic potential.

“Ohanaeze Ndigbo’s endorsement of President Tinubu for a second term in 2027 is decisive and reflects our commitment to a trajectory of peace, stability, and infrastructural development for the Southeast. We call upon our members and all Igbo people to align with this vision, setting aside parochial interests in favour of a united front that champions genuine progress for our region.

“Our focus is clear: we seek harmony, resilience, and a brighter future for the Igbo people, woven together by the threads of infrastructural enhancement and an unwavering commitment to security and wellbeing. Let it be known, our allegiance is to the progress of the Southeast and the integrity of our identity.
https://tribuneonlineng.com/2027-ohanaeze-endorses-tinubu-for-second-term/amp/

PoliticsRe: Lagos-Calabar Road Project Missing In 2025 Budget by yoruboid:
Most of the funding will come from the contractor and the FG already made a N1tn payment so what do you want

The road is the best constructed road and the fastest project in Africa today. Go and verify

THEDEEPSIGHT:
Was that N1Trillion payment ever appropriated by the NASS?
No… it actually came out of Tinubu’s pocket

Who spends N1tn without NASS approval?
PoliticsRe: 5 Governors May Dump Parties Ahead Of 2027 by yoruboid: 8:47am On Jan 13, 2025
I’m yet to see anyone that voted against the Agulu fraud in 2023 that is now in support of him

Meanwhile, there are millions of Nigerians who supported him in 2023 but can now clearly see that he is nothing but an empty vessel with no credentials

I need someone to show me one single post applauding his leadership when he was governor

He is losing support by the day while PBAT is getting more and more support

Even when the empty head posts on X, more than half of the comments are insults and abuses which never was the case before the 2023 elections

In 2027, I’m certain he won’t get half of the votes he got in 2023
PoliticsRe: Response To Obaigbena’s Smear Campaign By Femi Otedola. by yoruboid: 3:48am On Jan 13, 2025
Otedola always plays clean and he’s a very straightforward person. Despite being open and friends with Elumelu, the latter tried to outwit him but God has always been on his side

Nduka has always been known for things like these and this will be his last
PoliticsRe: Peter Obi Makes U-turn Over Comments On National Grid, Commends TCN by yoruboid: 9:10pm On Jan 12, 2025
Tegwolo

The biggest political clown ever
PoliticsRe: "Reports Of A Grid Collapse Is false" - Transmission Company Of Nigeria by yoruboid: 8:41pm On Jan 11, 2025
They were quick to run around with a news of a grid collapse and they stuck to the narrative despite several people insisting they had electricity
PoliticsRe: See Yoruba Appointees In Tinubu’s Government by yoruboid: 6:47pm On Jan 11, 2025
Did PBAT appoint all of them?

People need to use their brains

Most of them were in office before May 2023

I can also come up with a list of Fulanis in government and it will be longer than this
EntertainmentRe: Nightclubs In Lagos Raked In N4.32bn During Detty December – MO Africa by yoruboid: 3:48pm On Jan 11, 2025
Lagos made more money when the rodents that keep wishing evil will befall the state left

The more they want Lagos to fail, the more Yorubaland keeps progressing
TravelRe: Lagos-Calabar Coastal Highway: Construction Reaches Lagos-Ogun Boundary (Video) by yoruboid: 12:44am On Jan 11, 2025
This is a very fast project

I checked it out over the holidays and I’m certain would be completed within the timeframe of 8yrs or even less

God bless President Tinubu

God bless Yorubaland

God bless the Niger Delta

We know this development is paining some people and that pain will be permanent because the project will be completed and will not be abandoned for one single day
CrimeForeigners Three Times As Likely To Be Arrested For Sex Offences In Britain by yoruboid(op): 12:07am On Jan 11, 2025
Crime league table puts Albanians as nationality most likely to be arrested, followed by Afghans, Iraqis, Algerians, Moroccans and Somalians

Foreign nationals are more than three times as likely to be arrested for sexual offences as British citizens, according to the first analysis revealing the scale of crime by migrants.

Police made more than 9,000 arrests of foreign nationals for sexual offences in the first 10 months of last year in 41 of the 43 forces in England and Wales.

This represented a quarter (26.1 per cent) of the total estimated 35,000 sexual offence arrests, according to the first analysis of its kind by the Centre for Migration Control of data from police forces, the Home Office and the Office for National Statistics (ONS).

Foreigners were 3.5 times as likely to be arrested for sex offences as British suspects, based on a rate of nearly 165 arrests per 100,000 of the migrant population against 48 per 100,000 for Britons.

For all crimes, foreign nationals were arrested at twice the rate of British natives, accounting for 131,000 of the arrests from January to October 2024.

While foreigners make up nine per cent of the population, they accounted for 16.1 per cent of the total number of arrests according to the figures, released under freedom of information (FOI) laws.

The crime league table places Albanians as the nationality most likely to be arrested, followed by Afghans, Iraqis, Algerians and Somalians. There were 48 nationalities with a higher arrest rate per 1,000 of their populations than British suspects.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2025/01/05/foreign-national-crime-league-table-sexual-offence-migrants/

PoliticsRe: Sen. Ningi Queries Tinubu’s Economic Team On Proceeds From Fuel Subsidy Removal by yoruboid: 12:24pm On Jan 10, 2025
I don’t understand what people mean by subsidy savings

A 2025 Appropriation Budget has been prepared and there’s no provision whatsoever for subsidy

The budget has gone up and what could have gone into subsidy went into capital expenditure
PoliticsRe: Sanwo-Olu Signs Lagos 2025 ₦‎3.37 Trillion Budget Into Law by yoruboid: 3:35pm On Jan 09, 2025
Bede2u:
3.3 trillion yet lagos looks like every other state in Nigeria.
A small landmass and huge financial muscle should translate to good infrastructure
Lagos should look at least as good as Abuja or even better, yet the average street in mainland looks like this photo of ikorodu
Show me a place that looks like Eko Atlantic, Banana Island, Ikeja GRA or VI and Ikoyi in your state

Show me the Free Trade Zone in your state

Show me the industrial areas in your state

Show me the airports in your state

Show me the metro rail in your state

Show me the water transportation system in your state
PoliticsRe: Miyetti Allah Apologises Over Aguta Killings by yoruboid: 12:50pm On Jan 09, 2025
Have they ever apologized before?

Their president has been in detention longer than he has been free since May 2023

The hand writing on the wall is clear

Jagaban is firmly in control and even with no military background, he is solving our insecurity crisis
PoliticsRe: Nigeria Finally Meets OPEC Quota, Lokpobiri Credits Tinubu for Increased Oil Out by yoruboid: 8:54am On Jan 09, 2025
Slowly but surely

2025 will be the turn around year for Nigeria

We won’t be removing subsidy again and the Naira has been stable for almost eight months

Now it’s up to those who want to make things happen to do so
PoliticsRe: Obi Is A Stark Illiterate by yoruboid(op): 7:30pm On Jan 08, 2025
Jaylord12:
Smile......
assumption is the lowest form knowledge
Jaylord12:
U shut open ur mouth to call ppl names.......go get a life......Somebody asked u to tell the world ur achievement since u called someone who has dinned with bigwigs in the nation stark illiterate but u couldn't
And what is this? Confusion?
PoliticsRe: Lagos Calabar Coastal Highway by yoruboid: 7:27pm On Jan 08, 2025
Zaheertyler:
Hope seller
That means it will be ready 2085 then
You don’t have data so you can’t check videos on YouTube

Sorry
PoliticsRe: Lagos Calabar Coastal Highway by yoruboid: 7:20pm On Jan 08, 2025
Zaheertyler:
E be like say na 2090 e go ready 😂😂😂😂
Una no go use our common wealth do better thing

A new Nigeria is POssible 🤍
Phase 1 will be completed by May

Phases 2 and 3 are ongoing

Phases 4,5,6 will commence this year

The project is moving very fast and you can check videos on YouTube if the village you’re typing from is several kilometers from Lagos
PoliticsRe: Tinubu decentralizes NCAT, splits campuses into 6 Geopolitical Zones by yoruboid: 7:17pm On Jan 08, 2025
Jagaban still remains Nigeria’s best president ever

He understands the issues and he is taking the right steps

I just wished the governors were half as responsible and visionary
EducationRe: Japa, Agbero, Eba, 17 Other Nigerian Words Added To Oxford Dictionary by yoruboid: 5:04pm On Jan 08, 2025
Yoruba to the world

There are more words coming
EducationRe: Christ-Mitots School Ikorodu Teacher Slaps 3-Year-Old Boy, Gets Arrested by yoruboid(op): 5:03pm On Jan 08, 2025
budaatum:
If you missed the slapping....
It was very crazy and she has to face the music
PoliticsRe: Obi Is A Stark Illiterate by yoruboid(op): 4:55pm On Jan 08, 2025
Jaylord12:
U shut open ur mouth to call ppl names.......go get a life......Somebody asked u to tell the world ur achievement since u called someone who has dinned with bigwigs in the nation stark illiterate but u couldn't
Address the issue I raised and stop talking about my achievements which you cannot match

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 43 pages)