Stats: 3,152,759 members, 7,817,092 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 05:03 AM

A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name - Culture (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name (7892 Views)

Poll: Which of these name should he choose for her?

Chiamaka: 20% (12 votes)
Oluchi: 24% (14 votes)
Ifeoma: 25% (15 votes)
Chinwe: 17% (10 votes)
Nkechi: 12% (7 votes)
This poll has ended

Photos Of An Igbo Village Built In Virginia, USA / Igbo Name For Fruits / Igbo Kwenu ! Kwenu Kwezo Nu ! Join Us If You Proud To Be An Igbo Guy/lady (2) (3) (4)

Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by BlackMamba(m): 3:35am On Dec 20, 2007
A hybrid wont be bad. ADAEDO - Edo daughter.
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by DisGuy: 7:50am On Dec 22, 2007
Nnneka cool triple n
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by oziomatv(m): 12:55pm On Dec 23, 2007
as a full cultured igboman
the best name for her since she's from another tribe is OBIAGERI meaning who ever comes in shall ever eat.
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by RichyBlacK(m): 2:36pm On Dec 24, 2007
Obiageli is a good name. Thanx!
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by kalmebad(f): 2:35pm On Feb 19, 2008
almondjoy and ifyalways, u gals no fit kill me with laugh,my belle wan burst and my cheeks wan tear. i beg, i say is enuf ooo. And who said MBA4 pple kwns the meaning of the "otu ocha" better,pls give us a break, we kwn no Jack abt that.
i holla out at u gals and i cant stop laughing on nairaland,its fun
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by udezue(m): 3:23am On Oct 12, 2008
Ratamma is a good one. Very rare.

Its means "to lure beauty".
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by slimfine(f): 11:03pm On Dec 26, 2008
Ratamma ke!! i guess in short will be "Rata, Rata" grin

I love

Chikwado=God prepares

chimereijem=God prepares my way

or better yet,

Adabekee!!! like me tongue
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by chisimdi(f): 11:08pm On Dec 26, 2008
chimamanda:My God will nt fall or fail
chikamso:Na God i d follow
Or berra still Chisimdi:My God says i must b alive.
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by IGWEUSA(m): 8:32am On Dec 28, 2008
since she do no longer like the name her parents gave her, then change her name to EWU !

********alwaz be proud of what u re************
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by Akuije: 1:39am On Jan 07, 2009
you guys are very funny!!!! grin grin grin grin
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by osisi3(f): 1:44am On Jan 07, 2009
how about agbonma
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by ChinenyeN(m): 2:56am On Jan 07, 2009
Obiageri -- I like that.
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by nariato(m): 9:03am On Jan 08, 2009
You could go with Chigozirim. It means "God has blessed me."

From your list, I like Oluchi the most.
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by Afam4eva(m): 6:56pm On Jan 10, 2009
I suggest OGECHI
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by MissyB1(m): 8:26pm On Jan 10, 2009
I suggest NKEM.
I hear it means=My own. smiley
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by slimfine(f): 8:26pm On Jun 13, 2009
kanene= make we dey look grin
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by AloyEmeka9: 9:32pm On Jun 13, 2009
I met an igbo girl in Korea last year and she told me her hame is Oma-something. That name was strange to me. Any of you heard such name before?. It's Oma(something like that).
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by ifyalways(f): 1:20pm On Jun 14, 2009
Aloy.Emeka:

I met an igbo girl in Korea last year and she told me her hame is Oma-something. That name was strange to me. Any of you heard such name before?. It's Oma(something like that).
Omaliko cheesy
@Topic,i hope the igbo dude don marry the girl oooo.Its 2 yrs now.
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by Euchena: 3:37am On Jul 30, 2009
None if the Igbo names listed . The most beautiful name I love is Chinyere
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by mamagee6(f): 5:15pm On Aug 10, 2009
Amarachi
Chibuike.
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by grafikdon: 11:02pm On Aug 14, 2009
Ogbenyeanu  grin

Ok seriously. . .

Some of the most Beautiful Igbo names for women:

Zikora  (Show the people)
Ola  (Precious)
Zina/Zinachidi  (Show that God is alive)
Chinasa/Chinaza  (God answers prayers. . .)
Ijeoma  (Good Journey)
Chika  (Allaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahu Akbar!!!!  grin grin grin) God is Great
Chioma  (Good fortune/luck)
Chetanna/Lotanna (Remember the father/God)
Chisom (My God is with me)
Gosife (Show the light)
Adaora (Daughter of the people)
Ifeatu (Exemplary/Model/Point of reference) *Unisex*
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by grafikdon: 11:10pm On Aug 14, 2009
Aloy.Emeka:

I met an igbo girl in Korea last year and she told me her name is Oma-something. That name was strange to me. Any of you heard such name before?. It's Oma(something like that).

Omavuru
Omanonya
Omalicha
Oma
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by Nobody: 11:24pm On Aug 14, 2009
What's with Igbo names and Chi?

Does chi mean God or almighty or something significant?

Chineke
Chineye
Ogechi
Chi-chi
Chiogo
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by grafikdon: 11:37pm On Aug 14, 2009
FL Gators:

What's with Igbo names and Chi?

Does chi mean God or almighty or something significant?

Chineke
Chineye
Ogechi
Chi-chi
Chiogo

You got that right. Based on the usage, it can also stand for "Guardian spirit". God, Almighty, Creator, Guardian spirit = Chi
On the other hand, it could be used in the following context; God=Chi, Almighty=Chuwku/Chiukwu, Creator=Chineke, Guardian Spirit =Chi. They are all the same thing, except "Guardian Spirit" which is far below God/Almighty/Creator in the Ethereal Hierarchy.
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by Nobody: 11:40pm On Aug 14, 2009
Ok okiez, cuz in yoruba language the "Oluwa" prefix and suffiz stands for God/Lord/Almighty
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by ifyalways(f): 1:55pm On Aug 15, 2009
grafikdon:

Omavuru
[bOmanonya[/b]
Omalicha
Oma
Grafik,which onya ka o mara,buko? rofl
That Oma name is simply Omaliko
@OP and wife,as una dey enjoy honeymoon,which name did u guys finally choose?OBIAGELI  cheesy wink
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by AndreUweh(m): 1:33am On Dec 18, 2009
I am sure she would have gotten an Igbo name by now. If not, I here by suggest the following:
Nwaorienma--born on a good orie day
Ochanaeke--one who shines on eke day
Nwanyiafor-girl born on afor day
Adankwo--a daughter born on nkwo day.
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by MrCrackles(m): 1:34am On Dec 18, 2009
Poster

Uwadiegwu

Opanka

Atinga
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by AndreUweh(m): 3:50pm On Dec 18, 2009
Orikaeze
Oparaeze
Adaeze
Nwaeze
Obieze
Okpueze
Okwaeze.
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by ReachRich(m): 9:40am On Jan 02, 2010
BREAKING NEWS
The Bini babe has broken up with her Igbo fiance & is now engaged to an Hausa guy.The Bini babe now wants an Hausa name for herself.The naming ceremony will be coming up soon.Nairalanders pls suggest some sweet & romantic Hausa names for the babe.
Re: A Friend Of Mine Wants An Igbo Name by 8words(m): 12:10pm On Jan 02, 2010
tell that your bini friend to go and sit down

Yorubas May Have Possible Partial Berber (north African Blood) / Outrageous Brideprice! / Africans Are Delusional About Aa's

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 19