Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,162,771 members, 7,851,629 topics. Date: Thursday, 06 June 2024 at 01:55 AM

Hon. Faruk Alawan Must Resign - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Hon. Faruk Alawan Must Resign (511 Views)

Assets Declaration: Saraki Must Resign – TUC Insists / Oil In Bayelsa Belong To Jigawa We Will Spill Our Blood " Hon Faruk Aliyu" / Picture Of Faruk Lawan Searching For The $620,000 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply)

Hon. Faruk Alawan Must Resign by danielarem(m): 10:10am On Aug 13, 2012
As humans we are all formed in our youth. In 1976/77, I worked as a court clerk in the court of Justice Ọlájọńpọ̀ Akíǹkúgbé who was then the first president of the newly created Federal Court of Appeal in Ibadan. Justice Akíǹkúgbé’s other brothers Justices in the Ibadan temple of justice were Justices Akanbi and Uche Omoh.

As a court clerk, I had good and positive memories of all the Justices I was fortunate to work for at this court together with other young Nigerian kids who had just finished high school.

Unknown to these honourable Justices, and especially Justice Akíǹkúgbé, there is an anecdote about them. The anecdote is that they cultivated and maintained a deliberate intellectual distance from the public that allowed them to interpret the law and dispense justice with equity, fairness, fearlessness and truth. They hardly socialized. They seemed to correctly believe that the career of the process of law making and its interpretation is a covenant of truth, fairness and objectivity with the Nigerian people. Through their acts, they seemed to believe that the making and interpretation of law proceed from a deliberate objectivity and a disinterested state of mind, hence their tendency to cultivate a disinterested mind in their avoidance of the public.