Stats: 3,152,423 members, 7,815,957 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 10:09 PM

My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF - Webmasters - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Webmasters / My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF (5363 Views)

Did You Make Nairaland Frontpage In 2012? / Nairaland Frontpage Suggestion / How Can I Embed Google Ads In My Smf Forum (2) (3) (4)

My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by DualCore1: 10:57am On Aug 13, 2012
First things first, I am not an SMF enthusiast so I dunno jack about their terminologies and procedures.

Problem: Several people have been posting request for a module that will give them something like the Nairaland frontpage on their own forums.

Solution: I spent some 2 hours coding a "mod" that does that. This is a very quick solution to this problem so don't expect anything wow.

See screenshots below:
I will want to install this for anyone who wants it on his/her forum. All I ask for in return is that you don't cry or shout sey dual core don scam you if I scatter ya forum during installation (remember I told you I dunno jack about SMF, I'm just providing a solution to a problem). ...ok ok I wont break your forum... just pulling your legs/hair.

Admin Area

Homepage

Sorry I cannot pack this up into an SMF mod/addon cuz I dunno how to and won't learn. SMF is not my kinda thing.

Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by ifihearam: 11:08am On Aug 13, 2012
?

Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by aare07(m): 11:12am On Aug 13, 2012
more details on this thread

Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by DICKtator: 11:13am On Aug 13, 2012
*scratches head*
Rocket science @ its best!!!!
Ermm,.....I'll rather stick to "pun" and flipping burgers!!!

Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by ziccoit: 11:14am On Aug 13, 2012
And So?
Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by donlet(m): 11:19am On Aug 13, 2012
go on

Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by Soocool1(m): 11:22am On Aug 13, 2012
if i talk now, murder-rators go hide my post! Weda i tell una say na by force to play hide and seek!
Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by Afam4eva(m): 11:23am On Aug 13, 2012
I think such a mod already exists. I came across one sometime back.
Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by emmykk(m): 11:25am On Aug 13, 2012
Senseless did not communicate at all-just tell us u ka do a thing like that and leave ur cöntact
Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by sizzlers(m): 11:27am On Aug 13, 2012
am outta here
Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by DualCore1: 11:28am On Aug 13, 2012
emmykk: Senseless did not communicate at all-just tell us u ka do a thing like that and leave ur cöntact
Sorry I don't speak English too well, I speak PHP and please don't contact me...cant help you.

Please I don't create threads with a general appeal, I create threads that will most likely be understood by only webmasters... this thread should not be on the frontpage. I don't want bankers and office clerks making comments, on this.

The webmasters who would need it would naturally make their way to the Webmasters section to gerrit. wink

Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by Afam4eva(m): 11:30am On Aug 13, 2012
emmykk: Senseless did not communicate at all-just tell us u ka do a thing like that and leave ur cöntact
This is the webmaster section. We speak a different language on here.

sizzlers: am outta here
You don't have to leave a post for that. Just move along. Thanks.
Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by DualCore1: 11:32am On Aug 13, 2012
afam4eva: I think such a mod already exists. I came across one sometime back.
Do you have any pointers as per search keywords you used when you saw it? I did a hasty search with keywords like "frontpage mod", "featured topics mod" etc but could not pull up any mod.

Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by Slyr0x: 2:30pm On Aug 13, 2012
Nice one Dual Core. . wink
Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by yamakuza: 4:32pm On Aug 13, 2012
Hot Forum Links Mod.

Nice Job, as usual.
Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by mckelv: 11:34am On Sep 01, 2012
how much will be selling this mod I'm just interested will like to have a copy of it for my yet to be build smf site please how much will it go for?
thanks our "only nairaland guru"
Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by DualCore1: 12:26pm On Sep 01, 2012
Its not for sale, its opensource.

Let me know when you have your forum and I will install it.
Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by miracle4(m): 2:28am On Sep 04, 2012
How do I get it
Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by emmykk(m): 1:57am On Sep 05, 2012
Dual Core: Its not for sale, its opensource.

Let me know when you have your forum and I will install it.
greetings at last i need ur help.i want d nairaland front page feature mod installation u talk about at www.gethotinfo.com. 08067704237 i live in port harcourt sha
Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by phpNET(m): 3:17am On Sep 06, 2012
Thanks dual, once again you've proven yourself. this is a nice work and for the critics?

Well, i guess 2baba and M.I's "Nobody talks about you" gives them the best answer, anybody wey do vex make him go kiss high tension...

Good work bro!

the problem is that some people don't really understand what it means to visit the right FORUM page, thats why we see people who wrongly criticize goood works without minding the efforts put in place for it.

What are okada mechanics doing in WEBMASTER'S section of this great forum?

Bigups to you dual core...
Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by DualCore1: 6:03am On Sep 06, 2012
^^
Lol at okada mechanics. Thanks.

miracle4: How do I get it
emmykk: greetings at last i need ur help.i want d nairaland front page feature mod installation u talk about at www.gethotinfo.com. 08067704237 i live in port harcourt sha
I will need FTP and database access to your account in other to install this. You can mail me the details sawyerrken@gmail.com
Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by economia: 4:38pm On Sep 09, 2012
@ op I need it on www.econometrick.com and advice me on my registration method as well as other things.
Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by JambExpert(m): 6:45pm On Oct 02, 2012
how can i install the mod?
Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by oloyedejamiu: 5:26am On Oct 13, 2012
@dual core,

Pls I need this mod on my site.
Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by Afam4eva(m): 5:48pm On Nov 07, 2012
@Dual Core
Please is the MOD ready yet? I want to use it for my forum(www.)...if you know of any similar thread pls let me know.

Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by Mboi: 6:48pm On Nov 07, 2012
@Dual Core

Please leave you contact, I have set up a forum like this using SMF but I got to a stage I got confused but I've been able to get what I want just little configuration of the smf to suit my taste is what is giving me problem.

I want to contact you bro....
my email is donmarchity@yahoo.com if you'll mail me.
Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by DualCore1: 11:26pm On Nov 07, 2012
Mboi, I have no experience with forums... I only develop solutions from scratch. sawyerrken[at]gmail.com

Afam, I think I still have the files... I'll look for it.
Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by Afam4eva(m): 9:37am On Nov 08, 2012
Dual Core:
Afam, I think I still have the files... I'll look for it.
Thanks...i'll be expecting it.
Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by Nobody: 11:44am On Nov 08, 2012
Dual Core:

I will need FTP and database access to your account in other to install this. You can mail me the details sawyerrken@gmail.com

I installed a Mod using filezilla and still didn't find it on my Admin. What could be the reason for this?
Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by Afam4eva(m): 9:45am On Nov 09, 2012
I still dey wait oo
Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by DualCore1: 11:08am On Nov 09, 2012
Brand_new:
I installed a Mod using filezilla and still didn't find it on my Admin. What could be the reason for this?
No idea bro, SMF isn't really my kinda toy.

afam4eva: I still dey wait oo
I have seen the files. I will upload it later today. I just need to find some time to arrange a documentation for it. The present note I wrote down for installation are just so crude that it makes me wonder what frame of mind I was in when writing it.
Re: My Nairaland Frontpage "Mod" For SMF by Everest9(m): 12:22am On Apr 02, 2013
if you have any problem about your smf just contact me i can help you, am not an expert but i have been using it for wrong and can even create and beautify the mobile version for you, though the mod for nairaland frontpage is already out but only compatible with old smf version but can be re-coded

Nigerian Targeted Website Or Global? Please Help. / Nigerians Became The Top Internet Users In Africa / What Is The Best Alternative Ad Fir Google Adsense