Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,153,878 members, 7,821,056 topics. Date: Wednesday, 08 May 2024 at 07:35 AM

Help My Engine Oil Pump Light - Car Talk - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Car Talk / Help My Engine Oil Pump Light (3341 Views)

Gasket And Oil Pump / My Engine Capacity!! What Does It Mean? / My Engine Rings Are Failing: Is It Better To Work On It Or Change The Engine? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply) (Go Down)

Help My Engine Oil Pump Light by llade(m): 8:01pm On Aug 21, 2012
Although I av not serviced my car in a while in approximately 3 months with a distance of about 4000 miles on my odometer I noticed dis afternoon dat d oil pump light was blinking. I immediately serviced d car today but d oil pump light has refused to go away. Am at a loss about wat dis cud mean. Its a toyota camry 99 model v6.
Re: Help My Engine Oil Pump Light by wewe1(m): 8:39pm On Aug 21, 2012
I am not an expert but similar case happened to my car around May this year and before I could say Jack Robinson the engine packed up. I had to buy another engine.
First let your mechanic check the oil pump if it is still functioning properly.
He should also check if it has not affected the engine.
PLEASE DONT DRIVE IT AROUND UNTILL YOU HAVE FIXED IT OR ELSE......... PREPARE TO BUY ANOTHER ENGINE.
Re: Help My Engine Oil Pump Light by Nobody: 9:05pm On Aug 21, 2012
llade: Although I av not serviced my car in a while in approximately 3 months with a distance of about 4000 miles on my odometer I noticed dis afternoon dat d oil pump light was blinking. I immediately serviced d car today but d oil pump light has refused to go away. Am at a loss about wat dis cud mean. Its a toyota camry 99 model v6.

You car has lost oil pressure.

The oil pressure warning is not an oil level indicator, it indicates oil pressure.

Possible causes:

001) Faulty oil pressure.
002) Worn main bearings.
003) Blocked oil pick-up.
004) Incorrect oil grade.