Stats: 3,158,590 members, 7,837,227 topics. Date: Wednesday, 22 May 2024 at 07:27 PM

Ridiculous Names - Nairaland / General (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Ridiculous Names (5903 Views)

7 Most Ridiculous Names Of People (laugh Or Gag?) / Ridiculous Things That Happen In Toilet/bathroom. / Why Are Nigerians So Annoying On Facebook? This Is Getting Ridiculous. (2) (3) (4)

Re: Ridiculous Names by Usiola(m): 5:19pm On Mar 04, 2008
yemivictor:

Everyone!

OKORIBIDO!!! grin grin grin

And i swear that this is a real name that've heard before!

sure u have
How about Igiodagboshe, ikushika, animashaun, Aja yi(this dog)
I wonder grin grin grin grin
Re: Ridiculous Names by debson(m): 5:38pm On Mar 04, 2008
Orakpotobor, Karebo, Paramoweibowei shocked
Re: Ridiculous Names by PERVERT9: 7:51pm On Mar 04, 2008
yar adua
Re: Ridiculous Names by Zandra1(f): 8:00pm On Mar 04, 2008
"Orakpotobor, Karebo, Paramoweibowei"

The last name may be shortened to 'Para' cause am not sure anyone can say that name all the time. One can easily bite their tongue while saying it u know cheesy.
Re: Ridiculous Names by yemivictor: 12:00pm On Apr 14, 2008
Kpofure!

Okon!!

Okonta!!!
Re: Ridiculous Names by Kajiang02(m): 1:29pm On Apr 17, 2008
Eghwurudjakpor, ogenemekekewe, akporobaro,
u go fear fear, names dey ooooo,
Re: Ridiculous Names by titilaelae(f): 4:47pm On Apr 23, 2008
]OKORIBIDO!!![/b] grin grin grin

And i swear that this is a real name that've heard before![/color]
[quote][/quote]

Sure u didn't hear it well. The right spelling is OKURIBIDO (from OKURIBIDURO), another  Ijebu name like Okusanya or Okubadejo etc.   (And mind you, the 'oku' does not mean 'dead person'). grin 

The fact that some of you don't like the sound of some names simply does not mean the names on their own are ridiculous. Imagine all those traditional names with beautiful and prophetic meanings that some people have tagged 'ridiculous'. Somebody should tell me what's ridiculous in Olaide or Chibuizor, to mention a few. What is ridiculous in Mary and Abraham? Faith, Hope and Peace? Ehn, na wah o. shocked cry embarassed sad

To me, the kind of names that are ridiculous are: Bush, Stone, Fire Wood and other inanimate objects that people are named after.

Also, some names like Luku, Jemila, Shukura, Mulika, Mufu, Ayinla, Isila, Layi,  just because of the way they sound.

And some modern Christian names like Destiny, Jesus is Coming (my colleague's child's name) , ImoleJesuTan-yo-yo-yo (a church member's child's name) shocked shocked . I am serious o!
Re: Ridiculous Names by yemivictor: 9:49am On Apr 24, 2008
LMAO!!! grin grin grin

You'll have to be kidding me babe!!

Jesus is coming & Imole Jesu tan yo-yo-yo!!! shocked shocked shocked

Wonderment shall never end! lipsrsealed
Re: Ridiculous Names by wendymanda: 9:53am On Apr 24, 2008
Aqunita. LaShaunda is pretty popular
Re: Ridiculous Names by titilaelae(f): 4:44pm On Apr 24, 2008
yemivictor:

LMAO!!! grin grin grin

You'll have to be kidding me babe!!

Jesus is coming & Imole Jesu tan yo-yo-yo!!! shocked shocked shocked

Wonderment shall never end! lipsrsealed

Am serious. We jokingly call the former 'Is Coming' grin (though the parents call her by another name) and we call the latter 'Yoyo' while the parents call her ''Imole" .
Such names are more than ridiculous, walai!! embarassed
Re: Ridiculous Names by JUNIT1(m): 6:39am On Apr 25, 2008
igbelowowa
Re: Ridiculous Names by sunej(m): 10:27am On Apr 25, 2008
grin Atutupoyoyo (Titilayo)
Re: Ridiculous Names by yemmydavid(m): 12:55am On Apr 26, 2008
wel for those pickin on names on nairaland,i would like u to knw that most of them are nicknames and shldnt be categorised under real names

come to think of it, we have some very funny names around us

i knw wen some kids grow up, they wil chage their names and get angry wit their parents foe giving them such names

na wa ooooooo
Re: Ridiculous Names by Tonim(f): 6:08pm On Apr 26, 2008
atupa
Re: Ridiculous Names by yemivictor: 4:42pm On Apr 28, 2008
Bomboy! grin
Re: Ridiculous Names by enque(f): 12:26pm On May 02, 2008
crescentia, quddus (mostly pronounced kundus by lagosians), taofik, athanasius, sylvanus, okoro, haruna,
can't really remenba, cos av got a list of sooooooo many
Re: Ridiculous Names by yemivictor: 12:46pm On May 02, 2008
Agbabiaka! grin
Re: Ridiculous Names by bebure(m): 5:00pm On Jul 08, 2008
This is no joke. I saw it on the rivers state governments website. Someones name is Childlike Erotic Catechism. To make it worse the brotha has a title so its Rt Hon Childlike Erotic Catechism. The parents didnt think the surname was bad enuff, thay had to go the extra mile.
Re: Ridiculous Names by Gabry(f): 1:42pm On Jul 09, 2008
Talulah (Demi Moore's daughter), Blanket (Michael jackson's son), Romeo (David & Victoria Beckham's son), Jerome (URGH!), Apple (Gwyneth Palthrow's daughter), Dick (another name for Penis), Virginia (Sounds like Vagina or Virgin), Barbara (Afraid people might call her BRA), Thais (In Malaysian language, it almost means Shit), Mary (too common) and etc etc etc etc.
Re: Ridiculous Names by awesomet1(m): 11:18am On Nov 08, 2011
Obakpororo
Re: Ridiculous Names by lepasharon(f): 9:35pm On Apr 11, 2012
How could anyone forget this name-

DODONDAWA! grin
Re: Ridiculous Names by dabrake(m): 1:09am On Apr 12, 2012
Ojishi ejo, emetaiheuka, ojimiekpechuwa, anyaoku, ishiopa(all igbo)
esuene, atebefot, ataino, ata akpa, nquaeyen, inuaitang, nkanga, ifot, nsibehe, ntiedo, akaiso, mbat, udombat, nse ebot, nkereuwem, ekpo, udoekpo, akpanekpo, essien, mbre, atang, udoeyop, eyop, ekandem, ndom, . . .(all efik). Make I remember more.
Re: Ridiculous Names by debson(m): 3:11pm On Apr 29, 2015
Orimenrunmu
Isokoko
Ajanlekoko

Www.2go .com 2go Signup,download, 2go Login / Seun We Don't Want This Font And Colour For Nairaland / Banning On Nairaland: Possible Modification.

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 19