Stats: 3,156,240 members, 7,829,436 topics. Date: Thursday, 16 May 2024 at 06:53 AM

NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... - Education (1240) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... (1144517 Views)

Obafemi Awolowo University,ile-ife Cut-off Marks For 2013/2014 Session / Futa Admission For 2013/2014 Session / Obafemi Awolowo University (oau), 2013/2014 Session (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (1237) (1238) (1239) (1240) (1241) (1242) (1243) ... (1885) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by odizeey(m): 1:23pm On Oct 14, 2013
Affrey:
aaaah odizeey take it easy na,i dunno dis one
its easy na
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by Affrey(f): 1:25pm On Oct 14, 2013
odizeey: its easy na
is it that song that terry the rapman remixed?
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by odizeey(m): 1:27pm On Oct 14, 2013
Affrey:
is it that song that terry the rapman remixed?
no
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by Affrey(f): 1:30pm On Oct 14, 2013
odizeey: no
hmmm the only badman i can remember is the one iyanya sang
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by odizeey(m): 1:33pm On Oct 14, 2013
Affrey:
hmmm the only badman i can remember is the one iyanya sang
iyanya no dey rap na.
C d lyrics
o lord come see badman wana put d devil over n inside me i empty
badman wana put d devil over me
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by tinahrex(m): 1:34pm On Oct 14, 2013
Sir-Tunechi:

na wetin i bin wan ask u nw self
U ehn.....abeg me 2 dy ppl wey no 2 rizin Fiziks lyk dah ooo(Chem iz my luv)....na u n Xplicit go lead way 4 us........
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by mhizzbernie(f): 1:40pm On Oct 14, 2013
A story!!! A man starts avin problem at his wrkplace his boss has alwaiz bn warnin im dat if he continues lyk ds he l gt im sackd n he happen 2 av bn workn der 4 ova 35yrs unfortunately he made a mistake again aware of his mistake he tld is colleague in a sad tone'pal!this is the beginning of the 'end of my career'.my career as ended n i myt nt gt a job lyk ds again.this shud help
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by Affrey(f): 1:40pm On Oct 14, 2013
odizeey: iyanya no dey rap na.
C d lyrics
o lord come see badman wana put d devil over n inside me i empty
badman wana put d devil over me
nah i dunno the song,ive not heard of it before
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by Nobody: 1:41pm On Oct 14, 2013
I-am-Winner:
paddies!!!!!!!..
I hail oh.. hope you are all having a great day??..
over here at home is boring..

Damn you ASUU!!!!
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by odizeey(m): 1:41pm On Oct 14, 2013
Affrey na ice prince abeg,bfr ur head tear wit thinking
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by eddiegate(m): 1:42pm On Oct 14, 2013
Dis set must be special lyk ourz..wen we were admittd we had to stay @ home bcuz of strike nd dat set broke many records in uniben....I trust u guyz sha..don't 4get am alwayz available if u nid ma assistance.to get all ur materials for 100level nd tutorialz,just indicate nd I will gve u ma contact..welcum to Uniben,d home of jackophites
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by Didi5(m): 1:43pm On Oct 14, 2013
Affrey:
aaaah odizeey take it easy na,i dunno dis one
Who sang the song ''Stay'' featuring Mikkey Ekko
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by Affrey(f): 1:44pm On Oct 14, 2013
mhizz_bernie: A story!!! A man starts avin problem at his wrkplace his boss has alwaiz bn warnin im dat if he continues lyk ds he l gt im sackd n he happen 2 av bn workn der 4 ova 35yrs unfortunately he made a mistake again aware of his mistake he tld is colleague in a sad tone'pal!this is the beginning of the 'end of my career'.my career as ended n i myt nt gt a job lyk ds again.this shud help
i knew i knew the guy must have been sacked but miss bernie all the one we have been saying since,non is correct ehn euphemism,oxymoron,antithesis
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by odizeey(m): 1:44pm On Oct 14, 2013
eddiegate: Dis set must be special lyk ourz..wen we were admittd we had to stay @ home bcuz of strike nd dat set broke many records in uniben....I trust u guyz sha..don't 4get am alwayz available if u nid ma assistance.to get all ur materials for 100level nd tutorialz,just indicate nd I will gve u ma contact..welcum to Uniben,d home of jackophites
thnk boss.

But ur name no go enta hall of fame
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by Affrey(f): 1:46pm On Oct 14, 2013
odizeey: Affrey na ice prince abeg,bfr ur head tear wit thinking
hahahahaha u knw it.now my turn to ask,is u ready
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by odizeey(m): 1:46pm On Oct 14, 2013
Didi 5: Its Dj Humility ft Sugaboys
u nor like dj proud ft salt boys. Na iceprince e
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by odizeey(m): 1:46pm On Oct 14, 2013
Affrey:
hahahahaha u knw it.now my turn to ask,is u ready
everly
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by RileyFreeman(m): 1:46pm On Oct 14, 2013
aieo: Thank God ƒøя my admission, now i gotta know my first year expenses breakdown, from acceptance fee down τ̅☺ text books, I'll will appreciate a rough estimate from the house, thanks y'all, this thread has really helped me smiley

To begin with, what course were you admitted to study?
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by Kenexcel(m): 1:46pm On Oct 14, 2013
Riley_Freeman: lol...I don come here this morning dey come witness comedy..Very funny. I for no like involve myself o, make people no con begin hate me more, but I have to..afterall, we are here to learn.

Someone said the answer is Euphemism.

Now what is Euphemism?

E.g The popular example... "The man kicked the bucket" .

In other words... The man died.

Another popular example.. " The girl has been deflowered..

In other words.. "The girl has been disvirgined"

Now what's the sentence of discord ..lol
This is the beginning of the end of my career.

Now..look at that definition of Euphemism n look at the statement itself.

Yea, as at first glance..one may think it's euphemism.

But is the speaker intending to express his predicament in a more pleasant way ?.

No! He is saying the situation exactly as it is.. 'This is it!' 'this is the end for me'

if he wanted to Euphemize the statement(i.e make it look pleasant) .. He would have said something entirely different.

Or would you tell me.. "end of career" sounds pleasant to you.

Now over to Oxymoron.

For the red coloured words.. "contradictory"...in other words ; "Opposite"

e.g good/evil, tall/short, etc

N.B; the words must not necessarily be opposite to eachother. But should atleast "seem" opposite.

E.g necessary/evil.. Nice/fool

And for the blue coloured words.. "placed side by side"

Now, that's the major aspect of oxymoron people neglect.

The words MUST be placed side by side/combined.

E.g evil good, nice fool, falsely true etc

Using them in a sentence, we have something like..

1. The gun is a necessary evil.
2. Mr. Eze is a nice fool.

Oh! I forgot to mention what "self-contradictory" .means

In a lame man's words.. It's like saying, "Jonathan dey try o..but he no dey do anything"
(This is a paradox by the way)

what has he succeeded in doing? Contradicted himself!

N if you scrutinize that "This is the beginning of the end"..

The contradictory words isn't really combined/placed side by side.

In conclusion, an oxymoron is purely based on Self-contradictory words combined/joined together.

And now, Paradox.

lol...dont mind the definition, I don't cram much. grin

e.g The popular example, "The boy is the father of the man".

At first glance, you may think that's absurb. But if you examine it closely, you would see the truth therein. "the boy is the one taking care of the man"

Do I also need to state the self contradiction therein? It's obvious

Another popular example from the Bible.

Jesus said.. "Anyone who saves his life will lose it, but anyone who loses his life for my sake will find it"

it may seem absurd right? But examine it n if you still don't get it..lemme know.

And the statement in question.

This is the beginning of the end of my career.

Hmmm.. I bet the answer is now clear to you?

If it isn't..look at the definition again, atleast it's self explanatory.

And ehmmm, someone said it's Anthithesis.. Which is somehow correct, but I'd still say..not entirely correct..lol, another figure of speech just used.

I really can't remember or give a coherent definition of Anthithesis at the moment, but I'd give an example which you may use in getting the meaning.

" United we stand....divided we fall"

In anthithesis, Yes! Contradiction exists but the difference is.. One set of words is placed against another.

Which exists in the aforementioned example.

Just reason around it.

The truth is, these figure of speech that makes use of contradictions (Oxymoron, Paradox, Anthithesis ) could pose one or two problem most times.

With that said, A single statement may have up to 10 figure of speech.. It must not necessary be one. Tho' you need to find the most suitable one before picking your answer.

And if I come across a question like that.

What figure of speech is used in the statement below.

"This is the beginning of the end of my career"

A. Euphemism
B. Oxymoron
C. Paradox
D. Anthithesis

without thinking twice, I'd pick C. Because, it is the most suitable answer.

I hope I have not offended anyone? embarassed
abeg joor make una clap for me oooooo..i get am...lit too sweet..na i be put in 4..bt dem come go give me economics and statistics
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by aieo(m): 1:47pm On Oct 14, 2013
aieo: Thank God ƒøя my admission, now i gotta know my first year expenses breakdown, from acceptance fee down τ̅☺ text books, I'll will appreciate a rough estimate from the house, thanks y'all, this thread has really helped me smiley
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by mickeyIso(m): 1:47pm On Oct 14, 2013
odizeey: u nor like dj proud ft salt boys. Na iceprince e
lolzzZ

Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by Didi5(m): 1:48pm On Oct 14, 2013
odizeey: u nor like dj proud ft salt boys. Na iceprince e
hahahahahahah
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by odizeey(m): 1:48pm On Oct 14, 2013
mickeyIso: lolzzZ
no lols pls
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by mickeyIso(m): 1:50pm On Oct 14, 2013
odizeey: no lols pls
hahahaha ...didi angry

Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by Kenexcel(m): 1:50pm On Oct 14, 2013
[quote author=mhizz_bernie]A story!!! A man starts avin problem at his wrkplace his boss has alwaiz bn warnin im dat if he continues lyk ds he l gt im sackd n he happen 2 av bn workn der 4 ova 35yrs unfortunately he made a mistake again aware of his mistake he tld is colleague in a sad tone'pal!this is the beginning of the 'end of my career'.my career as ended n i myt nt gt a job lyk ds again.this shud help[/quote/

d ans has already been given...it is paradox.......
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by odizeey(m): 1:51pm On Oct 14, 2013
mickeyIso: hahahaha ...didi angry
das beta
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by Affrey(f): 1:52pm On Oct 14, 2013
odizeey: everly
which female artiste sang olorin mi
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by odizeey(m): 1:55pm On Oct 14, 2013
Affrey:
which female artiste sang olorin mi
na olurun mi, u con go mk me search google cos of misspeling. Ask anoda one na tiwa save
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by mhizzbernie(f): 1:55pm On Oct 14, 2013
Didi 5: Who sang the song ''Stay'' featuring Mikkey Ekko
rihanna
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by RileyFreeman(m): 1:57pm On Oct 14, 2013
mickeyIso: which doznt change my answer.

Mickey, and this is because you are looking at the literary meaning of the statement and NOT the figurative meaning.

This is how you see it.. Let's liken the career to a movie. An action movie at that. E.g Commando.

Remember after his daughter was kidnapped n all that, n it got to a scene where he got to the entrance of the village/city. He did things like putting his weapon in place, filling several kinds of ammunition into his pockets, painted his face n looked set for war.

You watching the movie would term that particular scene as 'the beginning of the end' of the movie.. Because, it's what it is.

Isn't that what we called "last fight" back then? Lol..it sure is.

Now that, my friend is how you see the beginning of the end.. You see the literary meaning which shouldn't be so.

Remember before Lord Jesus was killed, he went down on His knees.. N prayed to God, " if Thou willeth, let this cup pass from me."

Does the "cup" mean the cup we drink from? no! But just a metaphor for His suffering & death.

You shouldn't always look at the literary meanings of words..bro, if you do that, You kill literature.

And I hope my analogy wasn't hard to understand?
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by Kenexcel(m): 1:57pm On Oct 14, 2013
Affrey: Aissssh miss bernie whts the answer nw,is it paradox,antithesis or oxymoron.well sha its alright
if she says anoda tin oda dan paradox i will personally stone her to death....sowi na slip of lips oo
Re: NEWLY ADMITTED UNIBEN STUDENTS 2013/2014 SESSION... by mickeyIso(m): 1:57pm On Oct 14, 2013
[quote author=Ken excel][/quote] prolepsis

(1) (2) (3) ... (1237) (1238) (1239) (1240) (1241) (1242) (1243) ... (1885) (Reply)

How To Achieve High Scores On The GRE / The medical students and aspirants thread / Unilorin Utme 2015/2016 Aspirants

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 45