Stats: 3,154,426 members, 7,822,970 topics. Date: Thursday, 09 May 2024 at 08:38 PM

A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER - Fashion (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Fashion / A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER (148175 Views)

Looking For Styles To Sew Check In Here / DIY (do It Yourself) & Sew Along / That's Sew Naija! - Fashion Designers,tailors,accessory/jewelry Makers, Join In! (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (34) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by proudlyigbo: 8:13pm On May 15, 2013
Am in ooh! Just love it
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by izoe: 8:26pm On May 15, 2013
Loving this thread so following
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by onnari(f): 8:42pm On May 15, 2013
@jslimz &leoness- no worries. The posts, myself, as well other participants wl guide u thru.
@wizb- a yard wl do. Size doesn't really matter for the quantity of net. Ensure to get d medium thick I.e don't get a soft net e.g d type used for bridal veils, n don't get tooooo thick.
@fpeter - pls read thru t knw what u'l nid t get
@profkomolafe- sadly it is a female thing I.e a dress is going to be made smiley@jslimz &leoness- no worries. The posts, myself, as well other participants wl guide u thru.
@wizb- a yard wl do. Size doesn't really matter for the quantity of net. Ensure to get d medium thick I.e don't get a soft net e.g d type used for bridal veils, n don't get tooooo thick.
@fpeter - pls read thru t knw what u'l nid t get
@profkomolafe- sadly it is a female thing I.e a dress is going to be made :-)
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by nikkyshyne(f): 10:59pm On May 15, 2013
Onnari, is the tulle compulsory?

Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by onnari(f): 5:19am On May 16, 2013
@nikkishyne- well, it helps to give d@ 'Sika' look. As d dresses r always styled with tulle petticoats. It's optional tho.
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by sweetchicks(f): 9:05am On May 16, 2013
Onnari is the best.. Been following your blog for a while now.. Sad I dint stumble upon this until now.. cry nehoo..will try to join in I just might be a bit behind schedule. This should be fun! Xoxo
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by sk8erBoy: 9:25am On May 16, 2013
Ladies,

We've just launched a Nigerian e-boutique with a wide range of female dressess, skirts, shoes and bags. We retail for major brands (e.g Mango, H&M, Gap, Closet, Dorothy Perkins, Papaya and Miss Selfridges) in the UK.
Hop on to www.deboochecollections.com
Find us on twitter @DeBooche_COLs
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by Kashamannie: 9:26am On May 16, 2013
Am so intrested cnt wait I go wit d orenge douh am a starter
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by pgidex(f): 10:19am On May 16, 2013
wow! I like it.
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by Nobody: 10:49am On May 16, 2013
Realtym: I dey 4low 4low o. Can't wait! Been on some self-tutoring for some wks nw.

Self tutoring? Pls how did u do it? Can we talk more privately. Add me as ur friend. Thanks
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by girlsupersonic(f): 11:56am On May 16, 2013
Wow! So sad I'm just seeing this. I learnt to sew myself with a little help for finishing techniques. This is so cool, I'm thinking of doing this project for my sis except she doesn't like armless gowns. Maybe a jacket won't hurt wink
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by flowers4me(f): 1:27pm On May 16, 2013
@ Onari, nice move sis. am in, too. thanks a bunch!
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by temithayor: 2:01pm On May 16, 2013
Hw do beginners with no experience but little idea fits is
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by EFOSAVAL(f): 2:56pm On May 16, 2013
temithayor: Hw do beginners with no experience but little idea fits is

Thats a good question dear,it might be a bit hard for a fresher in sewing to paticipate in this for now.but i will advice you get some books on sewing to help you through or better enroll at a fashion school so you do the practicals with an instructor wink
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by phunmie01: 3:16pm On May 16, 2013
this is gorgeous. am so much interested. kudos
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by shilees(f): 6:12pm On May 16, 2013
Am interested.are we going to work with pattern
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by shilees(f): 6:22pm On May 16, 2013
For beginners I can take u thru the basics if u dnt mind.
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by Loskee(f): 7:43pm On May 16, 2013
shilees: For beginners I can take u thru the basics if u dnt mind.

That's a wonderful gesture dear, ⌣»̶·̵̭̌·̵̭̌✽̤̈̊Ŧђɑ̤̥̈̊п̥̥̲̣̣̣kƨ̣̣̣̇̇̇̇✽̤̈̊·̵̭̌·̵̭̌«̶⌣. Thumbsup!
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by Nobody: 6:55am On May 17, 2013
Can you guys start already?
Una dey waste time oo.

You ladies better have something for guys after this one. If not na 419 be that.
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by onnari(f): 8:00am On May 17, 2013
@shilees bless u!
@omo ibo- saturday is lready here na! Lol!
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by nikkyshyne(f): 8:34am On May 17, 2013
OMO IBO: Can you guys start already?
Una dey waste time oo.

You ladies better have something for guys after this one. If not na 419 be that.
See as e dey totori you. cheesy
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by onnari(f): 8:37am On May 18, 2013
Hello all! Hope you had a great night? (For those of you awake already :-) Today, we begin our sew along with taking our body measurements so watch this space cos as you know, the Sew Along is a blog thing so after I post up there, I'll post here as well instead of referring you there.
Please get you sewing tools ready and your work space prepared as we begin marking and cutting tomorrow.
There's a new post about sewing without patterns here: http://www.thatssewnaija..co.uk/2013/05/thats-sew-patternless.html
Catch you later!

PS- I encourage you to post pics of ur fabrics, work-in-process and also share your experiences and 'wahala' as you progress. Thanks.
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by ciaspybot: 9:29am On May 18, 2013
EFOSA VAL:

Thats a good question dear,it might be a bit hard for a fresher in sewing to paticipate in this for now.but i will advice you get some books on sewing to help you through or better enroll at a fashion school so you do the practicals with an instructor wink
WHERE COULD ONE GET BOOK ON SEWING AND FASHION DESIGN PLS REPLY THANK A MILLION IN ADVANCE
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by EFOSAVAL(f): 2:55pm On May 18, 2013
cia_spybot:
WHERE COULD ONE GET BOOK ON SEWING AND FASHION DESIGN PLS REPLY THANK A MILLION IN ADVANCE

I usually recomend this book from Alison Smith to my students............you can get it online or from a book guy that supplies my school,his name is victor and this is his number 08023077325. He sells the book at 5k and he delivers on call.there are other books you can get on sewing ,but so far i think this perticular book seems to help with the basic more. Cia spybot hope this is helpful.

Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by EFOSAVAL(f): 3:07pm On May 18, 2013
Oya let the posting beging....................i shall open the flour with this pics showing my work area.........lets go there. grin
Thanks once again to onnari for coming up with this idea.fabulous thing dear wink

1 Share

Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by onnari(f): 5:15pm On May 18, 2013
Hello everyone! Today our Sew – Along commences and I am so

happy! I worked a few hours today, got back and rushed to begin

posting!

So we begin by taking our body measurements.

Asides the basic measurements we come across and are more

familiar with (as in the image above), there are a few more we

would require in making garments, so in that regard, I’ll type out a

list of what you’ll need to get measured and how.

The Basic Blocks in garment making include the bodice (torso),

skirt(below the torso), Sleeves(arms) and trousers, but for the

SSWD see – along, we would only require the bodice and skirt

because it is a sleeveless dress, and no trousers involved obviously!

So here’s what you’ll need to get measured: ( Stand erect and have

someone assist you, and try to take this seriously as the success of

your dress depends on this J

Shoulder (measure the length of your shoulder from one end of your collar bone to the next)

Armhole (measure around your armpit)

Bust (measure your breasts at the fullest/highest point)

Apex (measure the length of your shoulder to your nipple)

Empire (measure the length of your shoulder down to your under bust, as well as the circumference)

Natural waistline (measure the circumference of your waistline. This is the narrowest part of your torso and is normally about an inch or two inches above your belly button)

Bodice (measure the length of your shoulder down to your belly button, as well as the circumference)

Hips (measure at the fullest part of your hips) - we wouldn't be working with this though.

PS. Take your measurements as you would like the dress to sit on you i.e. do not add any allowances.

see you on the next post.

@ efosaval - i love your enthusiasm thanks lots!

Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by emcemayo: 5:22pm On May 18, 2013
cia_spybot:
fashion arts and academy has one for beginner u can google the school up its in surulere behind shoprite.they have a website you google it and get details
smiley
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by emcemayo: 5:23pm On May 18, 2013
onnari u too much grin
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by EFOSAVAL(f): 5:32pm On May 18, 2013
Classified add for interested persons............. grin i hope una no mind o grin

[size=16pt]*********Promo from Valisimo Fashions*******we did it before,we are doing it again[/size]
Call us on 08096577157 or add us on bb-25EB1A4C
www.valisimofashions.com
www.valisimofashions..com

Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by Favourhascome(f): 6:52pm On May 18, 2013
;DHey guys aw far with d sewing...would av lovd to join but av busy tru out today buh will surely draft my pattern dis nite
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by ciaspybot: 8:05pm On May 18, 2013
EFOSA VAL:

I usually recomend this book from Alison Smith to my students............you can get it online or from a book guy that supplies my school,his name is victor and this is his number 08023077325. He sells the book at 5k and he delivers on call.there are other books you can get on sewing ,but so far i think this perticular book seems to help with the basic more. Cia spybot hope this is helpful.
BIG THANKS TO YOU! WILL GET THE BOOK SOON
Re: A “SEW ALONG” THREAD For Sewing Enthusiasts/Tailors/Fashion Designers:DECEMBER by EFOSAVAL(f): 11:05am On May 19, 2013
Lol...........no post yet, cheesy oya naaaaaaa..........

Any way your pattern should look like this when you finish cutting. This is just a rough sketch please. grin

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (34) (Reply)

Lingerie! A Must Have! / Sonam Kapoor Style Diva / Black Women Rocking Their Natural Hair

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 36