Stats: 3,151,339 members, 7,811,985 topics. Date: Monday, 29 April 2024 at 04:39 AM

Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken - Food - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Food / Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken (18729 Views)

Foods That Make Your Buttocks Bigger Naturally / I Made Fried Chicken For The First Time Today / Has Anyone Eaten This Black Chicken From Indonesia? (see Photo) (2) (3) (4)

Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by olempe(m): 9:04am On Sep 18, 2013
Did you know there was such a thing as black chicken? And I don’t mean as in dark feathers, but black skin, bones and even internal organs. There are actually several black chicken breeds in the world, especially in Asia, but the most popular of all has to be the Chinese Silkie.

Silkies are beautiful birds, covered in fluffy plumage, which is said to feel like silk, but underneath all that fluff they are far less attractive. Their skin is a dark-bluish color, the flesh is dark beige and the bones and some internal organs are pitch black. Although in the Western world silkie chickens are sold mainly for ornamental purposes, in countries like China they are considered a super food and are appreciated for their deep, gammy flavor. Called “wu gu ji” or “black-boned chicken”, the silkie has been prized for its medicinal value ever since the seventh or eighth century. Chinese women consume it after they have given birth to get a boost of energy, but it’s also said to have a positive effect on the yin, blood, lungs and stomach. Silkie meat is rarely roasted. To take full advantage of its curative properties, the Chinese mainly use it to make an amber-colored broth laced with ginseng , dried wolfberries and jujubes.

According to a genetic study published in 2011, the unique trait of silkie chickens, known as fibromelanosis, is caused by an unusual genetic mutation characterized as “a complex rearrangement that leads to increased expression of Endothelin 3, a gene which is known for promoting the growth of pigment cells”. The massive expansion of pigment cells not only makes the skin and bones black, but also causes dark internal organs. Another interesting thing about silkies is their high content of carnosine, a naturally occurring peptide which is sold as a dietary supplement. People take it to increase muscle mass, ward of the effects of aging and alleviate diseases like diabetes or autism. Studies have shown the black chicken is one of the richest sources of carnosine.

If you’re wondering how black chicken meat tastes, most people say it’s no different than traditional chicken, but some say it’s a little sweeter. So, would you embrace the dark side and feast on the dark flesh of a silkie?

[img]http://1.bp..com/-m7crTs40too/UjlcJNGdoDI/AAAAAAAACbI/MWuLdfMFr5Y/s400/1.jpg[/img]

[img]http://1.bp..com/-OVFqF_xQPSk/Ujlbrsy_7wI/AAAAAAAACbA/DM2w5qpDq4g/s320/black-chicken-550x362.jpg[/img]

[img]http://2.bp..com/-aQ0vuoswYB8/UjlcJe8-lcI/AAAAAAAACbM/5Hl4Q4epAZ8/s400/2.jpg[/img]

[img]http://4.bp..com/-4H6BNqta4t0/UjlcK8c4hQI/AAAAAAAACbg/n-cfcdc49Dk/s400/3.jpg[/img]

[img]http://3.bp..com/-j4f9jlm1-QI/UjlcKRJFHjI/AAAAAAAACbY/c0caD4ujc1M/s400/4.jpg[/img]

SOURCE: http://myoddnews..com/2013/09/the-dark-side-of-cooking-see-naturally.html
Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by olempe(m): 9:06am On Sep 18, 2013
I dunno why the images are not uploading, will keep on trying...
Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by Nobody: 12:44am On Sep 19, 2013
I've tried it, alone ( nobody in my house liked the look) It actually tastes just like any other chicken but leaner ( less fat), just make sure you floss and swoosh your mouth afterwards. Not pretty grin

It was frozen ( bought from Chinese store) , I just sectioned it to 4 , boiled and broil and ate it like that. Can't stand the look for so long in my pot.

Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by RoyalRoy(m): 7:17am On Sep 19, 2013
jidegirl12: I've tried it, alone ( nobody in my house liked the look) It actually tastes just like any other chicken but leaner ( less fat), just make sure you floss and swoosh your mouth afterwards. Not pretty grin

It was frozen ( bought from Chinese store) , I just sectioned it to 4 , boiled and broil and ate it like that. Can't stand the look for so long in my pot.

Arghhhhh
Doesn't sound appealing at all.

Sounds fetish to me!

Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by Nobody: 12:29pm On Sep 19, 2013
Royal Roy:

Arghhhhh
Doesn't sound appealing at all.

Sounds fetish to me!

Sort of. Its mainly Chinese delicacy, those guys eat bile. sad shocked ( sold in their stores)

Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by Merkki(f): 10:29pm On Sep 19, 2013
I rebuke you black creature of the chicken kingdom!!!!

48 Likes

Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by Nobody: 10:29pm On Sep 19, 2013
I no dey chop

Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by donfemzy: 10:30pm On Sep 19, 2013
What is this now ehn? Am gonna have nightmare again this night...y did I click this topic sef

Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by johnwizey: 10:30pm On Sep 19, 2013
Mennn, ℓ̊ dont tink i can chop dis

Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by Excelboi(m): 10:31pm On Sep 19, 2013
Dos tinz look disgusting. *God forgive me*

Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by braine(m): 10:31pm On Sep 19, 2013
Hmmm• Yummy wink
Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by UIA04(f): 10:32pm On Sep 19, 2013
ewww lipsrsealed

Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by Nobody: 10:32pm On Sep 19, 2013
Mere look at it from a distance i will purge for 3 days cheesy cheesy cheesy

Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by nonesense: 10:32pm On Sep 19, 2013
Just passing
----oooO----
----(----)----
-----\--(--
------\_)-
-----------Oooo ---
-----------(--- -)---
------------)-- /----
------------(_/ - BY

Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by striker9(m): 10:33pm On Sep 19, 2013
Skin dudu

Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by bigt2(m): 10:33pm On Sep 19, 2013
End Time Birds!!! grin

26 Likes 1 Share

Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by presiade(m): 10:33pm On Sep 19, 2013
Hmmm, FP things
Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by NFSBob(m): 10:35pm On Sep 19, 2013
If I come to ur crib to dine with u and u offer me this black chicken, my first assumption is that you wanna poison me

Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by Mubby4luv(m): 10:35pm On Sep 19, 2013
Thr is no way am goin yo eat this shit.
Except iv Gej will leave aso rock then Yes.

Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by Caracta(f): 10:35pm On Sep 19, 2013
This is wrong...this is so wrong! I won't even touch it sad sad

Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by Nobody: 10:35pm On Sep 19, 2013
Awon eyan je weyrey.. I can never and would never eat it
Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by homesteady(m): 10:35pm On Sep 19, 2013
Chei!
Chinko chicken!
I'm sure the chicken is bitter

Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by Nobody: 10:36pm On Sep 19, 2013
Merkki: I rebuke you black creature of the chicken kingdom!!!!
You are a racist, you know? grin grin grin

Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by Evyivy(f): 10:38pm On Sep 19, 2013
I like, I like
Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by Clemzy16(m): 10:38pm On Sep 19, 2013
Another chinko made. The chicken looks arrrgh!

That`s a no, no from me|
Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by usygreen: 10:39pm On Sep 19, 2013
Thou shall not eat wat thou don't taste from thy mama pot... Black chicken ko.... Black pomo ni... Mtchewww
Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by slimdiggi: 10:42pm On Sep 19, 2013
What won't come out China again?! We have the "lion" dog, now black chicken? Won't want to know what their snakes look like

Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by HoLEEsinner: 10:46pm On Sep 19, 2013
Despite NL aint fun like before, I love NLanders, people with diabetes should embrace black chicken ooo! I'll ask Emeka to find out hafa d chicken maybe we fit do business with am.
Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by teniola55(m): 10:47pm On Sep 19, 2013
If you were offered £20 million pounds to eat it,am sure none of you would think twice

Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by redsun(m): 10:48pm On Sep 19, 2013
Why is this kind of chicken not bred in africa?It look just as exotic and natural as anything black.

Re: Chinese Silkie - Naturally Black Chicken by sholay2011(m): 10:48pm On Sep 19, 2013
Eye abami shocked shocked

How Do You Make Sour Sop Fruit Ripe? / Despite Importation Ban, Foreign Rice Floods Nigerian Markets / For Quality & Affordable PET Bottle Preform Plastics Of Different Sizes & Colour

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 21