Stats: 3,152,925 members, 7,817,710 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 05:43 PM

Share Your First Time Computer Experience - Computers - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Computers / Share Your First Time Computer Experience (8923 Views)

Apple’s Mac OS Targeted By ‘ransomware’ For First Time / MTN Made Mistake For The First Time / When Was The First Time You Used The Internet? (2) (3) (4)

Share Your First Time Computer Experience by oweniwe(m): 8:17am On Dec 13, 2013
I'll set the ball rolling. .

Back then in 2003/4 or so when i was in SS2, African Church Grammar School, Abeokuta, the Government Teacher gave us an assignment to browse about. . "legitimacy". . , print out the web page and submit to him.

I followed some class mates to a nearby cyber cafe and was amazed at how they were operating the "computer set". I was so ashamed as i watched them browsing. . My mates are computer literate while i stood there looking dumbly at them. .

So. . I started saving my taxi fare. . I would trek a long distance way from Olomore to Saint Peters' or Lafenwa and then take taxi from there to school. . That way, i was able to save N20 for about 2 weeks until i hav N200. I didn't bother to ask folks at home for "cyber cafe money" coz i knew the kind of reply i would get.

When the N200 was complete, i went to a cyber cafe bought a 30 minutes ticket (cyber cafe was expensive in those days). . Na there my problem start o. . I didn't know how to "enter" the ticket so i called they cafe attendant. She came over, gave me one crazy look, "pressed some keys on d computer" and walked away. .

I sighed and began to fiddle with the mouse. It wasn't long before i started to draw the attention of other cafe users. . I started hearing unpleasant remarks. . "see as this boy dey waste time. . See as e dey look like mumu . . . "

The cafe attendant became irked and walked up to me. . She was very rude this time. . "what are you doing?" . . "i want to open yahoo" . . "then open yahoo" . . "how will i open yahoo?". . She just hissed loudly, entered yahoo url into the address bar. .

When yahoo page loaded, i continued to fiddle with the mouse. . Na so i hear one loud voice behind me. . "you this boy, if you don't know how to use computer, why you come waste your money?"

I just ignored him and continued fiddling with the mouse while praying for my ticket to run out quickly. I was lucky when a church member came in. . I called him over. . He gave me my first tips on how to browse. . My ticket expired. . . As i left the cafe, i could hear loud laughter everywhere until i got into the streets. .

I wasn't deterred sha. . I continued trekking to school. . Save some taxi fare. . Try out a new cyber cafe. . Ask ether users for tips. . .

Today. . About 10 years later. . People hail me as a "Computer Professor" . . But when i look back . . How the "journey" started. . . It wasn't easy. . I just laugh it off

* modified *

You folks whose Parents and relations introduced you to computer by taking you to office & buying computer for the home. . Are VERY VERY lucky.

Some parents eh . . If you mention computer to them, they'll size you up and down and tell you to "get out of my sight" !

My elder bro had to quarrel with Dad before bought us laptops while in uni . . Its not as if Dad doesn't have the money. . He does . . But with old school mentality. . If you mention "computer", he'll just wave you off.

And its very sad that many Nigerian parents are still like that.

20 Likes

Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by Adedayolayo(f): 8:34am On Dec 13, 2013
I was tutored by my husband. I only had problem with the mouse,

Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by oweniwe(m): 8:59am On Dec 13, 2013
^^ The mouse? Except you were being tutored on graphics design. . It shouldn't be an issue.

I went for a micro- finance bank interview recently. . Out of about 80 people present, only 10 - 15 can actually use computer. . . We were given the option of using a laptop or desktop for ICT test. . If you see as Graduates were running away from the laptop. . . It was an eye sore

Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by oweniwe(m): 5:45pm On Dec 13, 2013
People who are not computer literate ignorantly think that learning to use computer is hard . . But is almost same thing as using smart phone.

I blame the education system sha. . Its always computer notes, out dated abacus/mainframe textbooks. . And rarely, demosurations in front of a dead computer. . .

Except you have a computer at home to practice with, . . Its hard

Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by Nobody: 9:45am On Dec 14, 2013
good morning all

Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by Nobody: 9:46am On Dec 14, 2013
Learning typing and started typing a full paper project and all of a sudden everything disappeared embarassed

After 3 hrs works and typing with one finger

Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by Tolzeal(m): 9:48am On Dec 14, 2013
I get to know about computer when I was still in primary school !! then ! Our teacher used to bring it to class for teaching and playing games undecided
Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by Okonkwosamuel(m): 9:49am On Dec 14, 2013
i first learn how to use computer when i go to cafe from skool after skool hour. that tim 1 hour na 300 naira,

Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by codedflowz(m): 9:49am On Dec 14, 2013
Like the saying "Its in you"

I didn't have much trouble in learning how to use a computer..

Back then,I started operating a computer system in my mum's office, during the holidays..I would spend alotta time in her office..I learnt most of the things I know now there.

God bless my Mom smiley

Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by slimthugchimee(m): 9:49am On Dec 14, 2013
I learned when i was in primary school i always watched my father press his i sometimes he left and i took the mouse and moved around anf pressed it
Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by slimthugchimee(m): 9:50am On Dec 14, 2013
I learned when i was in primary school i always watched my father press his i sometimes he left and i took the mouse and moved around anf pressed it now i type very fast with keyboard and use mouse very well i am in ss3 and a computer proff i think i need an award
Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by Revolva(m): 9:51am On Dec 14, 2013
my fistime using the computer was in 2001....and the internet....bit..the internet was an eye opening for me back then.omo i can finz many thing ..and shocking Bleep..sites...my head skatter..na so i go save my poket money go buy 1hour for cafe ...watching Bleep..lol....and fromthere some folkz..introduced me how to make money online...illegaly....by 2002..na so...i try my luck ..take hammer small tin....oyinbo wey make cmputer boiz use am chop them shege..

Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by nekaa(f): 9:55am On Dec 14, 2013
I started really young so I didn't even have issues cos as at then my age was just right for my mistakes, I was in charge of the IT lab in sec school so I learnt even more uses of the PC. I remembered going for a post ume that was IT based, I heard somone asking "where is clean?" Now at the place where am on SIWES placement, they just recruited some new agents and their knowledge of the computer amazes me, I have to teach them EVERY thing.

Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by Nobody: 9:55am On Dec 14, 2013
I can still remember the good old days when I was learning how to send yahoomail. And chatting on yahoomessenger . Then was cool until Nigerian youths turned it to something else. Now even oyinbo dey wish if they can shut us down from the internet so that they can have breathing space on the internet. Thanks to yahoo+ guys.

Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by Snoggy(m): 9:58am On Dec 14, 2013
LMAO! I remember when my teacher asked us to type our names. grin .... My own na just 6 letters oh. I used almost 2 minutes. grin It was difficult locating the letters on the keyboard. embarassed

I was embarrassed.

Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by purpinkx(m): 9:58am On Dec 14, 2013
Revolva: my fistime using the computer was in 2001....and the internet....bit..the internet was an eye opening for me back then.omo i can finz many thing ..and shocking Bleep..sites...my head skatter..na so i go save my poket money go buy 1hour for cafe ...watching Bleep..lol....and fromthere some folkz..introduced me how to make money online...illegaly....by 2002..na so...i try my luck ..take hammer small tin....oyinbo wey make cmputer boiz use am chop them shege..
would like to learn the end part grin
Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by yemi2plus(m): 9:59am On Dec 14, 2013
That should be around 2004/5. I have always love computers; how they work and everything about them.
An usher in my church then, Uncle Patrick owned a computer centre, he was also a computer teacher in a private school. I registered for six months programme on computer appreciation but came out as a computer guru. I was stopped by him when he caught me designing for a customer. I later wrote and passed the NIIT exam in Benin, and spent bout three months with them.
Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by ultraGM: 10:02am On Dec 14, 2013
Booked for Story
Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by Sagytarius(m): 10:04am On Dec 14, 2013
. . , print out the web page and stocmit submit to him.
Thank me later.

Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by Clemzy16(m): 10:04am On Dec 14, 2013
I learned how to operate a computer spontaneously..
Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by superior1: 10:05am On Dec 14, 2013
6 months Desk Top Publishing course
Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by romzyxy(m): 10:05am On Dec 14, 2013
My first experience was when facebook came in2 nigeria,......,............................................................................D̶̲̥̅̊ rest is known 2 u
Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by Nobody: 10:06am On Dec 14, 2013
seriously mine was worse,thought i could speak to a computer to open a page. I was big time mumu then.even now,am still not a computer guru sef,just know the basic things.
Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by destino24(m): 10:07am On Dec 14, 2013
I started operating a computer when i was about 7. Started attending a computer tutorial officially which lasted for 3 months at 12 (after junior WAEC)
Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by nigerianescorts: 10:10am On Dec 14, 2013
It was horrible
Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by Nobody: 10:11am On Dec 14, 2013
Don't really know much thoughi just bought a pc for myself 3month ago from jumia still trying to learn sha
Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by blesszzy(m): 10:11am On Dec 14, 2013
my own first time na to press @ do me angry... i wasted 1hr plus trying to do it and if i see any body coming i will pretend as if am pressing my phone but today things has changed.. smiley

Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by gr3yb4ck(m): 10:12am On Dec 14, 2013
Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by usmanktg2(m): 10:13am On Dec 14, 2013
can't recall my first tym as I was born in eat
Re: Share Your First Time Computer Experience by easyz(m): 10:13am On Dec 14, 2013
I learned how to use computer when I was in JSS1

though I wasn't interested then. But when I got to

SS1 in FSTC Shiroro I became one of the best

students
in computer studies.

Then I was feeling like CHAMPIRON. Lol

Connecting Your Laptop With Its Internal Sim Slot. No Need For Modem / How To Create A Wi-fi Hotspot Without A Software On Your Computer / Buying A Laptop On Ebay