Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,675,237 members, 6,293,482 topics. Date: Monday, 17 May 2021 at 05:57 PM

Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians - Webmasters - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Webmasters / Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians (19804 Views)

5 Reasons Why Blogging Is Better Than Other Professions / Nairaland Most Visited Site In Nigeria Than Facebook.com - Alexa Ranking / This Is Why Twitter Is Better Than Facebook. (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (Reply) (Go Down)

Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by Nobody: 12:55pm On Apr 27, 2015
1. Privacy

Unlike facebook where you have to use your name, upload your pics (which is archived) and post really interesting stuffs to attract likes, comments and friends, Nairaland isn't like that. Only your username (which can be as fake as the smile of a policeman demanding for bribe) is displayed, plus you get to change your profile pic (which can be fake as well) without the previous ones being archived for public consumption. This sort of privacy has given lots of people the courage to freely express themselves and exhibit behaviours they would never dare to exhibit in real life. Take for instance the case of beryl04 supporting gay rights and Depressedguy confessing that he is gay. Am 100% sure they would never do such in real life. Such privacy has also led some people to exhibit clownish behaviours capable of making people laugh e.g PhockPhockMan tit temitemi1 orijin101 and Airforce1

2. Learning & Information

In terms of learning and getting information on different issues, Nairaland beats facebook hands down. Nairaland has different sections and subsections such as politics, religion, romance, family, jobs, education, business, etc that you can learn and get information from. In fact, it has been statistically and scientifically proven by me that the less time you spend on facebook and the more time you spend on Nairaland, the high the level of your awareness and social intelligience.

3. Features

There are specific features that makes NL also better than FB. Some include absence of delete button and ability to quote the comments of other users. On the absence of delete button, I think its good cos it makes people concious of what they say, knowing fully well they cannot take it back, especially once it has been quoted by someone else. Although there is room to modify your writeup, it is still a good thing that ordinary users do not have the ability to delete posts so as to provide evidence and punish frequent rule breakers babyosisi barcanista and emmyw and temitemi1, and thus maintain decorum in the forum.

4. Historical Records

If not for the issue of hackers and data loss that hit the site, Nairaland would still have had the records of 'every and all' posts dating 5, 6, 7 years back. Facebook on the other hand appears to permanently delete your posts that are 6 to 12 months old. Am patiently waiting for October 2016 so I can remind barcanista of how he wrongly predicted or forecasted in March 2015 that PDP would win Edo state grin

5. Helping Nigerians

I don't know how many people in Nigeria have gotten jobs through facebook but I do know of many that have gotten employment through Nairaland. I also know of one or two persons who got helped with paying hospital bills through Nairaland.

Having used Facebook and Nairaland, I think Nairaland is the place to be for Nigerians. Feel free to add to the list. Like this post if you agree with it and Share if you disagree.



Source: Martins301

269 Likes 24 Shares

Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by Nobody: 12:59pm On Apr 27, 2015
6 Stvpid topics flood romance sections


romancelanders don't dare quote me!



angry angry angry



richard870:
Even Mr Seun Osewa can't say such thing.I love NL but its no match with FB
Enjoy ur FP!
babyfaceafrica:
I disagree.......facebook is way better

7 Likes 1 Share

Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by EMMYLASHTINS(m): 1:00pm On Apr 27, 2015
Kk we don hear so make we no chat 4 FB again abi? undecidedKk we don hear so make we no chat 4 FB again abi?

2 Likes 1 Share

Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by Basildvalour(m): 1:01pm On Apr 27, 2015
Oh no! Nairaland doesn't connect you with long lost friends and the entire world

But I am happy and proud that I am here

37 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by ghost1718(m): 1:03pm On Apr 27, 2015
cool

1 Like

Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by Nobody: 1:05pm On Apr 27, 2015
Ok---both are different platforms..You can not compare apples with oranges.

Nairaland is an online community created by Seun Osewa in March 2005. It is targeted at Nigerians. Nairaland currently has over 1,300,000 registered accounts (March 2015), and is ranked as the 7th most visited site in Nigeria (and the most visited indigenous site) according to Alexa.com.(Wikipedia)


Facebook is an online social networking service headquartered in Menlo Park, California. Its website was launched on February 4, 2004, by Mark Zuckerberg with his college roommates and fellow Harvard University students Eduardo Saverin, Andrew McCollum, Dustin Moskovitz and Chris Hughes.The founders had initially limited the website's membership to Harvard students, but later expanded it to colleges in the Boston area, the Ivy League, and Stanford University. It gradually added support for students at various other universities and later to high-school students. Since 2006, anyone who is at least 13 years old is allowed to become a registered user of the website, though the age requirement may be higher depending on applicable local laws. Its name comes from a colloquialism for the directory given to it by American universities students.(Wikipedia)

15 Likes

Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by Nobody: 1:06pm On Apr 27, 2015
Also acommodating for frustrated, unhappily married, single and searching, attention seeking low lifers

6 Likes 1 Share

Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by dedons: 1:06pm On Apr 27, 2015
-Nairaland makes some responsible people to become stup1d...e.g...


-you can easily chyke babes on facebook but nairaland babes will just be forming like kim k.

8 Likes 1 Share

Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by fatdon2(m): 1:06pm On Apr 27, 2015
Long Live Nairaland

4 Likes

Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by mcdokwe(m): 1:06pm On Apr 27, 2015
Really?
Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by Nobody: 1:06pm On Apr 27, 2015
[size=18pt]I HATE NL BECOS TOO MANY SEX STARVED IDDIOTS ARE HERE TO FRUSTRATE LADIES undecided[/size]

21 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by dharay88: 1:07pm On Apr 27, 2015
olaxco2f:
6 Stvpid topics flood romance sections


romancelanders don't dare quote me!



angry angry angry

angry well, I just did...so?
Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by SpeedyConnect(m): 1:07pm On Apr 27, 2015
I sure prefer Nairaland to FB

9 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by jamex93(m): 1:07pm On Apr 27, 2015
1 trailer of origin for the op

2 Likes 1 Share

Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by Importguru(m): 1:07pm On Apr 27, 2015
good ooo but still counter thread is coming up.. Mods my reasons why fb is far better than NL must make FP as well and No Ban.. Loading...

OMG!!! Photo of Warri Township stadium after Heavy downpour - YOU GONNA LAFF grin grin cheesy cheesy
http://www.bwgist.com/2015/04/photo-of-warri-township-stadium-after.html
Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by millionaireman: 1:07pm On Apr 27, 2015
More funny people to read on NL than on FB

9 Likes

Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by CountDracula(m): 1:07pm On Apr 27, 2015
U learn things here... U chat on facebook, there's no competition

1 Like

Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by allanphash7(m): 1:07pm On Apr 27, 2015
SEUN JAZZ DEY WORK PASS ANYTHING JAWE






MY DAY IS ALWAYS INCOMPLETE IF I NO REACH HERE ONE DAY


CHAI




IT BE LIKE SAY SEUN DON JAZZ ME OOOO

5 Likes

Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by Nobody: 1:08pm On Apr 27, 2015
hm hm true
Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by Nobody: 1:08pm On Apr 27, 2015
Someone is famzing Seun.

2 Likes 1 Share

Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by IamDejman(m): 1:08pm On Apr 27, 2015
So true.

Facebook is overrated though. But it's still better than Nairaland

But overall, I'm proud Nairaland is from Nigeria. Thumbs up Seun Osewa

3 Likes 1 Share

Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by tolustx(m): 1:08pm On Apr 27, 2015
Number 7. U get to know EVERYTHING about the actress "Tonto Dikeh"

14 Likes

Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by kelvyn7(m): 1:08pm On Apr 27, 2015
Hmmmmn, Very informative with lattest gists

But I can't say its better dan fb, no way!
Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by eitsei(m): 1:08pm On Apr 27, 2015
Basildvalour:
Oh no! Nairaland doesn't connect you with long lost friends and the entire world

But I am happy and proud that I am here
u sure right abt dat
Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by omishooo(f): 1:08pm On Apr 27, 2015
We need chat room or group chat to mak nairaland more better dan FB

3 Likes

Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by ajahexcel(m): 1:08pm On Apr 27, 2015
good
Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by Nobody: 1:09pm On Apr 27, 2015
seriously, how do you get to work on NL
Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by femi4: 1:09pm On Apr 27, 2015
olaxco2f:
6 Stvpid topics flood romance sections


romancelanders don't dare quote me!



angry angry angry
Re: Opinion: 5 Reasons Why Nairaland Is Better Than Facebook For Nigerians by Nobody: 1:09pm On Apr 27, 2015
olaxco2f:
6 Stvpid topics flood romance sections


romancelanders don't dare quote me!



angry angry angry
what if i do?

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (Reply)

Youtube Monetization 2018: Account Must Have 4000 Watch Hours & 1000 Subscribers / Pre-Wedding Photos Of Blogger Juachi Promise Ochu / Who Else Have Noticed That Some Sites Don't Open On Chrome?

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2021 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 95
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.