₦airaland Forum

Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,075,946 members, 4,482,693 topics. Date: Friday, 21 September 2018 at 08:37 PM

We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission (16968 Views)

Buhari & Ojukwu Protesting Against Obasanjo's Govt (throwback Pic) / Olusegun Obasanjo Foundation 1-Year Anniversary In Pictures / Obasanjo Foundation Sacks Trustee Implicated In Money Laundering Deal (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (Reply) (Go Down)

We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by SEHHYTEX(m): 4:29am On May 16, 2015
The United Kingdom Charity Commission says it has received many complaints about the Olusegun Obasanjo Foundation in London concerning allegations of financial misconduct and conflicts of interest.

The UKCC’s spokesperson, Sarah Hitchings, told our correspondent in an email that the commission had also started a broad investigation into the matters because the foundation had violated its regulatory standards.

She said, “We have received complaints about this charity and issues including alleged conflicts of interest and alleged financial misconduct.

“We currently have an open case in relation to this charity and have been in contact with the trustees.

“We have recently become aware of further information about potential wrong-doing at the charity which is of regulatory concern to the commission and we are currently considering this new information. We cannot comment further while our case is live.”

Meanwhile, the commission refused to comment on any actions taken against the recently sacked London-based Chief Executive Officer of the foundation, Anne Welsh, on allegations of money laundering.

“We cannot give information about a charge on the chief executive officer – this would be a question for the Police,” Hitchings added.

The Chief of Staff to former President Obasanjo, Mr. Victor Durodola, had toldSaturday PUNCHthat Welsh was relieved of her duties due to allegations of money laundering activities.

“It is true and it is sad,” he said, while commenting on the sacking of the former chief executive.

SaharaReportershad earlier obtained a video footage, which showed that Welsh was allegedly involved in plotting a $4.9m (N980m) scheme to exploit the Ebola Virus Disease tragedy in West Africa through helping a group of “Lebanese businessmen,” who wished to donate money to the Obasanjo Foundation for some works in Sierra Leone.

The footage revealed that the group demanded that it would make a donation of $2m (N400m) to the foundation if it helped it launder the balance of $2.9m, which Welsh agreed to.

“I had to go through training, through president Obasanjo, political training for one year to become discreet,” she said in the video,” adding that, “Sometimes, we get dollars from people who give money to our foundation and they say they don’t want it to be known that they donated the money, but they want to have a letter on our letterhead and a letter from Obasanjo just to say ‘Thank you’ for your kind donations to the foundation for the work to support Ebola.’ That’s it. That is what we normally do.”

Welsh had also demanded from the group an interest of 30 per cent on the $2.9m.

“At least 30 per cent; think about the hard work I’m going to put into this, you will be so grateful to me,” she said.

The video evidence had also showed that the group agreed to give her the 30 per cent, which was $90,000 (N180m), and detailed how the money would be transferred via a Nigerian bank.
http://www.punchng.com/news/we-get-many-complaints-against-obasanjo-foundation-uk-commission/
Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by okooloyun1(m): 7:40am On May 16, 2015
There is nothing they will do to OBJ the man is a good dribbler than maradona he always cover his tracks. UK commission better find another thing to investigate.

5 Likes

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by GlorifiedTunde(m): 7:40am On May 16, 2015
It not a new story na undecided Abi no be the Welsh issue again?
Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by ShowYourCertificate: 7:41am On May 16, 2015
This confirms the fact that Obasanjo is a crook, a criminal. No wonder he was supporting BabaOneChance during the elections.

63 Likes 4 Shares

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by sosanova: 7:41am On May 16, 2015
l

1 Like

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by henryobinna(m): 7:42am On May 16, 2015

2 Likes 1 Share

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by Sweetguy25: 7:42am On May 16, 2015
Ezekwesili - Obasanjo is not corrupt

38 Likes 3 Shares

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by DahtzFestjayz: 7:42am On May 16, 2015

1 Like 1 Share

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by seedorfg(m): 7:43am On May 16, 2015
saint obj grin

8 Likes

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by loomer: 7:43am On May 16, 2015
Na today una know say the man and everyone around am corrupt?

Or una just de turn blind eyes.

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by okonelfg(m): 7:44am On May 16, 2015
Kai obasanjo na u sabi pass

1 Like

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by Benfaco: 7:44am On May 16, 2015
Just here to book space grin
Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by obailala(m): 7:45am On May 16, 2015
Sweetguy25:
Ezekwesili - Obasanjo is not corrupt
Show me where Oby said that.... Sometimes i just wonder the frequency the brains of some people function at

6 Likes 1 Share

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by osimataylor(m): 7:45am On May 16, 2015
Corruption revolves around Obj.There is always this issue of sincerity in all of obj dealings. The man is a an hypocrites and a sadist.

26 Likes

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by nationwide1(m): 7:45am On May 16, 2015
Nights are short, days are long; one day wrongs shall be ruled by rights.

Truth will surely rule over lies.

7 Likes

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by Otenestbestyaho(f): 7:45am On May 16, 2015
Put abasonjo in jail asap!

5 Likes

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by henrysilver(m): 7:46am On May 16, 2015
This is serious! Am happy this morning...

3 Likes

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by seedorfg(m): 7:46am On May 16, 2015
In GEJ voice 'stealing is not corruption

1 Like

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by emperorceaser(m): 7:46am On May 16, 2015
Ok
Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by Nobody: 7:47am On May 16, 2015
This is called empirical evidence. If babaonechance wants to probe, he must include Obj and his $16 billion power scam. Any selective probing of GEJ would be resisted by the great people of the lower Niger region

16 Likes 1 Share

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by emperorceaser(m): 7:47am On May 16, 2015
sosanova:
l
For iron
For ice
For illi

1 Like

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by chamboy(m): 7:48am On May 16, 2015
Korruption
Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by SirRoberto(m): 7:49am On May 16, 2015
No wonder GEJ sidelined him buh GMB accepted him.... I pity Buhari's govt wit d likes of Obj advicing him.. We are watching

12 Likes 1 Share

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by M4gunners: 7:49am On May 16, 2015
ShowYourCertificate:
This confirms the fact that Obasanjo is a crook, a criminal. No wonder he was supporting BabaOneChance during the elections.
Because he himself is afraid of going to jail.

2 Likes

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by coolhamid(m): 7:49am On May 16, 2015
Ok
Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by lincolnj88: 7:50am On May 16, 2015
the man who is giving buhari tips of how to lead

10 Likes 2 Shares

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by tupacshakur(m): 7:51am On May 16, 2015
Benfaco:
Just here to book space grin

You no know say you don old...abi?

1 Like

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by PassingShot(m): 7:51am On May 16, 2015
ShowYourCertificate:
This confirms the fact that Obasanjo is a crook, a criminal. No wonder he was supporting BabaOneChance during the elections.

No doubt OBJ is a crook. But is it the same reason he supported the El Clueless babanochance in 2011?

1 Like 1 Share

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by Husten: 7:51am On May 16, 2015
Obj father of corruption, spreading his tantacles in foreign land. Na wa Ooooo.

2 Likes

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by Nobody: 7:52am On May 16, 2015
“Sometimes, we get dollars from people who give money to our foundation and they say they don’t want it to be known that they donated the money, but they want to have a letter on our letterhead and a letter from Obasanjo just to say ‘Thank you’ for your kind donations to the foundation for the work to support Ebola.’ That’s it. That is what we normally do.”

The last sentence summarizes what the Obasanjo Foundation was set up to do. To launder funds illegally through backdoor channels. Obasanjo, a so-called saint that is critical of the government in power, accusing her of corruption is indeed "a saint". I believe in a sane country governed by the rule of law, this is just enough to put OBJ back in jail, the default habitat of illegal orangutans.

17 Likes 2 Shares

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by PehaKaso: 7:52am On May 16, 2015
Sweetguy25:
Ezekwesili - Obasanjo is not corrupt



Oby Ezekwesili served in OBJ's govt in different capacities. By trying 2 defend OBJ, she is equally defending herself.
Bunch of corrupt people.

8 Likes 1 Share

Re: We Get Many Complaints Against Obasanjo Foundation –UK Commission by Demdem(m): 7:53am On May 16, 2015
Many fools abound on this thread. How does this implicate obj?

3 Likes

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (Reply)

Nigerian Senate Embarks On Holiday / Chidi Lloyd's Plans To Flee Foiled By Police / President Dumps National Conference Report –source

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (0) (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2018 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 74
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.