Stats: 3,150,704 members, 7,809,676 topics. Date: Friday, 26 April 2024 at 12:55 PM

Excessive Dependence On Makeup - Fashion - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Fashion / Excessive Dependence On Makeup (21155 Views)

Free Online Training On Makeup Artistry And Skin Care - Dont Miss Out / Makeup Promo For Lagos Brides! Promo On Makeup And Gele Training As Well. / 13 Things Only Women Who Don’t Put On Makeup All The Time Understand (2) (3) (4)

Excessive Dependence On Makeup by nex(m): 12:29pm On Sep 09, 2015
While sipping Twining black tea, flavored with mango and strawberry this morning, I reflected on the growing dependence, of today’s woman on makeup. From contouring, to plastic surgery, fanatic exercise and eating regime et al. All this, to attain the perfect peak of “beauty” for varied reasons, which may or may not stem from, self-esteem conflicts and end in one word “MAN”.

Dwelling on this Achilles’ heel of females, I recalled the words of Havelock Ellis “The absence of flaw in beauty, is itself a flaw”. This quote sums up most of my feelings on the issue.
That chin, jawline, broad nose, big lips, overbite, thin browns or round face, you are trying to cover or restructure with contouring and other beauty tricks, may just be the most appealing thing about you that draws the eye. What you perceive as a flaw, is perfection to someone else.

My question is “Why settle for commonality, by looking like a thousand others, than uniqueness by looking like YOU?” Don’t get me wrong, you can be adventurous with makeup just to switch up your looks but over-dependence on makeup is a character flaw or weakness that runs deep. Moderation is key!

Today I leave you with the words of Reverend Sean Parker Dennison “The ability to see beauty is the beginning of moral sensibility”.

SOURCE: http://www.barbaric.com.ng/tea-musings-makeup-dependency/

28 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by TimothyNkenu: 11:29am On Sep 11, 2015
grin cheesy cheesy
Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by Dammyg2016: 11:29am On Sep 11, 2015
[size=25]ALWAYS VISIT WWW.CYB ERLOADED. COM FOR LATEST FREE BROWSING CODE[/size]
Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by tolexy007(m): 11:29am On Sep 11, 2015
angry Non of my biz, Dedicate this place for those lives lost in sep 11 terrorist attack, may their soul Rest in Peace cry..... pls let someone play me "Bye bye" by Mariah Carey feature Akon and lill wayne cry cry

Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by zeldaposh(f): 11:30am On Sep 11, 2015
beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder...
Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by uchwar1: 11:30am On Sep 11, 2015
Kk
Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by Emeskhalifa(m): 11:30am On Sep 11, 2015
smiley

Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by JOKLEVIZ(m): 11:30am On Sep 11, 2015
Make up today is synonymous to air

Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by rattlesnake(m): 11:30am On Sep 11, 2015
powerfulsettingz:
I was here
and I just left

Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by PlaybooyGANG(m): 11:31am On Sep 11, 2015
Even paint don cost for market![i][/i] sad shocked
Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by adroitish: 11:31am On Sep 11, 2015
I guess it's sometimes an issue of self-esteem... if you have something else to offer asides a fine face, so much time, attention and resources would not be invested into looking the way u think people want u to look. You would just look like u

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by jaybee3(m): 11:31am On Sep 11, 2015
Na so ooooo

Nothing dey happen
Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by Nobody: 11:31am On Sep 11, 2015
Great
Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by inevitableme(m): 11:32am On Sep 11, 2015
K
Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by ammyluv2002(f): 11:32am On Sep 11, 2015
PlaybooyGANG:
Even paint don cost for market![i][/i] sad shocked
Haba! E never reach like that now angry

Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by next1(m): 11:32am On Sep 11, 2015
Lord have mercy
Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by Berrypie(f): 11:32am On Sep 11, 2015
Makeup is not bad.
Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by trigar12(m): 11:32am On Sep 11, 2015
Girls be scamming guys since 18Bc ...
Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by x9ja1960: 11:33am On Sep 11, 2015
I know am not the only one who have noticed that excessive makeup...especially the one they call 'foundation' make young ladies look old! Why women have refused to see this or rather find the courage to refuse this thing is beyond me. For me, some makeups are for age enhancements and young ladies (worse on their wedding day), have no business coating their face the way they do! angry

15 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by Jarchi(m): 11:33am On Sep 11, 2015
Na who i go ask
Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by Jarchi(m): 11:33am On Sep 11, 2015
Na who i go ask
Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by tolexy007(m): 11:34am On Sep 11, 2015
powerfulsettingz:
I was here
even me i was here,
Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by AroOkigbo(m): 11:34am On Sep 11, 2015
You don't know what many women pass through just to make you appreciate them.

Do you think they are happy spending so much time, money, etc. on such an adventure?

Let's appreciate their effort.

12 Likes 1 Share

Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by kamez(m): 11:34am On Sep 11, 2015
I ve got no issues with make up, but when its too much, it becomes a turn off for me.

I once cancelled a date right at the venue when my gf appeared looking like a rainbow.

since that day she got to know that its either a moderate make up, or no make up at all..

but that's just me, I have no issues with those that use excessive make up cos its different strokes for different folks.

that heavy red lipstick really drives me crazy... it a no no for me

Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by steve308(m): 11:35am On Sep 11, 2015
the rate our Nigerian girls do make this days hmm abeg guys make una be careful when toasting ooo cos fake plenty

Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by paul288yahoo(m): 11:36am On Sep 11, 2015
end time tinz
Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by Caliph69: 11:36am On Sep 11, 2015
If you're not proud of what you have, next option is enhancement, or upgrade. Men are guilty too.
Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by rapfezy: 11:36am On Sep 11, 2015
hmmm
Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by sanandreas(m): 11:37am On Sep 11, 2015
It transforms simple
Re: Excessive Dependence On Makeup by Greatzeus(m): 11:37am On Sep 11, 2015
Blacks(both africans and black Americans) are mostly guilty of this, compare to asians or Europeans

Chioma Okoye Emerges Winner Of Miss Orumba Nigeria 2018, Gets Endorsement Deal / Look-A-Like Or Same Dresses....Who Rocked It Better? / Does Fade Milk Cream Good For A Black Person?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 18