Stats: 3,193,952 members, 7,952,832 topics. Date: Thursday, 19 September 2024 at 04:52 AM

Nairaland Official Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba Dictionary - Culture (42) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / Nairaland Official Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba Dictionary (519948 Views)

We Need To See More Hausa And Fulani Girls Representing Nigeria And In Nollywood / Traditional/ Native Hausa And Fulani Names? / How Did The Populations Of The Igbo, Hausa, And Yoruba Come To Be So Large? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (39) (40) (41) (42) (43) (44) (45) ... (52) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Nairaland Official Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba Dictionary by kalvoken(m): 11:45am On Aug 05, 2018
Delightful8:
What does Egovin (Igbo) means in English
egovin is not an Igbo word.

just that there men often use it to praise their women

Re: Nairaland Official Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba Dictionary by kalvoken(m): 11:50am On Aug 05, 2018
ezinaulo:

I'll give it a try!

Igbo:
LOVE: ihụnanya/ifụnanya
PEACE: udo
JOY: ọñụ
BEAUTY: mma

ezigbo Nwafor Igbo ñuru ara nne ya. oñu Juru mu obi ka m n'agu mkpuru OKWU idere, maka n' ichefughi akara ha ma ncha

Re: Nairaland Official Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba Dictionary by kalvoken(m): 12:08pm On Aug 05, 2018
what are these called in Hausa, Igbo and Yoruba?

Window(that if a building)

table

bulb

lantern

handbag

fan

speaker(musical instrument)

rake

my fellow Igbo, help me change these to English

ónú mpíò

mpíò

ánwúrú ókū

òkù

átámá
Re: Nairaland Official Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba Dictionary by Delightful8(f): 9:24am On Aug 06, 2018
kalvoken:

egovin is not an Igbo word.

just that there men often use it to praise their women
OK, thanks. I thought my neighbour was insulting me. She uses that word anytime she sees me and it dos annoy me.
Re: Nairaland Official Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba Dictionary by tolase220(m): 4:25pm On Aug 06, 2018
What is "I am hungry?" in Ibo. Someone..pls!
Re: Nairaland Official Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba Dictionary by ezinaulo(f): 12:36pm On Aug 08, 2018
tolase220:
What is "I am hungry?" in Ibo. Someone..pls!

I am hungry in Igbo:

Agụụ na-agụ m.
Re: Nairaland Official Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba Dictionary by wagamama(m): 5:47am On Aug 14, 2018
What does Ugojaraigbonma or Ugo jara igbo nma mean?
Re: Nairaland Official Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba Dictionary by joyfullyjoyous(f): 5:20pm On Aug 21, 2018
Philanthropist means Olowo ti n fowo saanu

Re: Nairaland Official Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba Dictionary by Smartvid(m): 6:42am On Aug 25, 2018
HOLAYINCA:

Philanthropist - Ololufe awon eyan

Extremist - Mai wahala  grin

Ifunaya
  undecided but i think it should be something Love
Extremist - Mai wahala grin
Re: Nairaland Official Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba Dictionary by eba5678: 5:48pm On Sep 21, 2018
What would the Igbo surname 'Ozobia' translate to?
Re: Nairaland Official Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba Dictionary by Elhuxaifa(m): 12:33pm On Sep 23, 2018
When ?
-Hausa: yaushe

yuroba ?
Igbo ?
Some one help
Re: Nairaland Official Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba Dictionary by ezinaulo(f): 12:04am On Sep 25, 2018
Igbo

mgbe ole -"when"

Elhuxaifa:
When ?

-Hausa: yaushe

yuroba ?

Igbo ?

Some one help
Re: Nairaland Official Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba Dictionary by Elhuxaifa(m): 2:15pm On Sep 26, 2018
Who can help please

fool:

hausa: wawa
yuroba ?

Igbo ?
Re: Nairaland Official Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba Dictionary by Fezzbonn(m): 2:06pm On Oct 17, 2018

Re: Nairaland Official Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba Dictionary by SHAMONEYXL(m): 1:36pm On Nov 04, 2018
DQ94:
There was a report about a pastor who released a

sextape involving him and a lover... It was on Front Page, even.

Well... Here goes: https://www.xvideos.com/video40711727/nigerian_pastor_funking_his_mistress

Why not open your own thread instead of derailing
Re: Nairaland Official Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba Dictionary by thinkafricanet: 9:35pm On Jan 01, 2019
Elhuxaifa:
Who can help please

fool:

hausa: wawa

yuroba ?

Igbo ?

Yoruba have few words for fool

Olori buruku - someone with an idiotic mind
Olodo - someone with a zero IQ / academic potential
Aditi - dumb / fool
Oponu - someone too stupid to produce coherent thoughts 247
Ode - fool
Olosi - a person that gets everything wrong and devotes their life and time to unimportant and stupid things; it’s like calling a person devoted to foolishness.

The above insults can be countered very easily by responding that the ancestor of the person doing the insulting is any one of the above types of fool.

Eg Baba baba re li olori buruku
Re: Nairaland Official Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba Dictionary by euphratess(m): 1:21pm On Jan 08, 2019
abeg how do u say; "you say make you come?" in yoruba and hausa. igbo= isii ka ibia (isii as in 'easy', ka as in 'car', ibia as in 2face name id-"ibia",
Re: Nairaland Official Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba Dictionary by malakaimoscondo: 8:13pm On Feb 02, 2019
smile4kenn:
Igbo - Obodo Liberia Yoruba - Ile Liberia Hausa - undecided
kasan liberia in hausa

(1) (2) (3) ... (39) (40) (41) (42) (43) (44) (45) ... (52) (Reply)

Lists Of Yoruba Names And Their English Meaning. / ..

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 14