Stats: 3,150,904 members, 7,810,481 topics. Date: Saturday, 27 April 2024 at 09:49 AM

NEED Advice On Changing ATF For 2006 Rav 4 - Car Talk - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Car Talk / NEED Advice On Changing ATF For 2006 Rav 4 (1601 Views)

Mechanic For 2006 Toyota Prius-Hybrid / Red Flip Switch In 2006 RAV 4 / Original Honda Dw1 Atf For 2000 Honda Accord (2) (3) (4)

NEED Advice On Changing ATF For 2006 Rav 4 by mili3kid(m): 11:48am On Nov 04, 2015
PLS I JUST GOT A NIGERIAN USED 2006 Toyota RAV4 Base I4 2WD - 2.4L. I CHECKED THE ENGINE OIL AND ATF AND REALISED THEY WERE BOTH VERY BLACK. SEARCHING ONLINE I REALISE IT NEEDS TO BE CHANGED. HOWEVER I HAVE A PROBLEM WITH DECIDING HOW TO GO ABOUT CHANGING THE ATF (NOT ON MY OWN O, NA FOR MECHANIC PLACE) AS I DONT KNOW ANY COMPETENT MECHANIC HERE IN ILORIN YET, THAT I CAN TRUST. SO I'M ASKING FOR ADVICE HOW SHOULD I GO ABOUT IT PLS? WHAT SHOUD I LOOK OUT FOR? SO I DONT GET SOLD WITH THE "AH! OGA THIS ONE TOO GOOD O!" CRAP... I KNOW THE ENGINE OIL GRADE RECOMMENDED IS 5W-2O. HELP A BROTHER OUT PLSSSSS!!!!!
Re: NEED Advice On Changing ATF For 2006 Rav 4 by dannydevito(m): 8:23pm On Nov 04, 2015
Check out for elizade shop do some enquiries.... most likely u should be using toyota type 4 transmission fluid....pricy but ur best bet. Call gazzuz for more.....cheers
Re: NEED Advice On Changing ATF For 2006 Rav 4 by mayor2013: 8:32pm On Nov 04, 2015
mili3kid:
PLS I JUST GOT A NIGERIAN USED 2006 Toyota RAV4 Base I4 2WD - 2.4L. I CHECKED THE ENGINE OIL AND ATF AND REALISED THEY WERE BOTH VERY BLACK. SEARCHING ONLINE I REALISE IT NEEDS TO BE CHANGED. HOWEVER I HAVE A PROBLEM WITH DECIDING HOW TO GO ABOUT CHANGING THE ATF (NOT ON MY OWN O, NA FOR MECHANIC PLACE) AS I DONT KNOW ANY COMPETENT MECHANIC HERE IN ILORIN YET, THAT I CAN TRUST. SO I'M ASKING FOR ADVICE HOW SHOULD I GO ABOUT IT PLS? WHAT SHOUD I LOOK OUT FOR? SO I DONT GET SOLD WITH THE "AH! OGA THIS ONE TOO GOOD O!" CRAP... I KNOW THE ENGINE OIL GRADE RECOMMENDED IS 5W-2O. HELP A BROTHER OUT PLSSSSS!!!!!

What is the mileage on this ride ?Toyota type IV is the recommended transmission oil. But having the transmission service history would be beneficial before changing your fluid.note that the filter as well needa to be cleaned up. If it looks burnt. A complete change is necessary If you need to get the recommended transmission oil call 08156087872 or 08165520837. Bb pin is 7BEIC522
Re: NEED Advice On Changing ATF For 2006 Rav 4 by mili3kid(m): 9:54pm On Nov 04, 2015
dannydevito:
Check out for elizade shop do some enquiries.... most likely u should be using toyota type 4 transmission fluid....pricy but ur best bet. Call gazzuz for more.....cheers
tnx alot boss rly appreciate d input
Re: NEED Advice On Changing ATF For 2006 Rav 4 by mili3kid(m): 9:56pm On Nov 04, 2015
mayor2013:

What is the mileage on this ride ?Toyota type IV is the recommended transmission oil. But having the transmission service history would be beneficial before changing your fluid.note that the filter as well needa to be cleaned up. If it looks burnt. A complete change is necessary If you need to get the recommended transmission oil call 08156087872 or 08165520837. Bb pin is 7BEIC522
currently mileage is 97k sir. unfortunatelyI dnt av d transmission service history. tried adding ur pin but bbm say e no dey available. help recheck and sir I am very grateful for d input. now @least I av an idea.
Re: NEED Advice On Changing ATF For 2006 Rav 4 by mayor2013: 10:16pm On Nov 04, 2015
mili3kid:

currently mileage is 97k sir. unfortunatelyI dnt av d transmission service history. tried adding ur pin but bbm say e no dey available. help recheck and sir I am very grateful for d input. now @least I av an idea.

97k still fair if it hasn't been fine tuned. Bb pin is 7BE1C522
Re: NEED Advice On Changing ATF For 2006 Rav 4 by mili3kid(m): 10:58pm On Nov 04, 2015
mayor2013:

97k still fair if it hasn't been fine tuned. Bb pin is 7BE1C522
I strongly biliv d mileage has not been fine tuned (i might b wrong). because I checked d car history and nothing jumps out odd.but checking d ATF oil....baba e don black pata pata. n U kno say normally na like reddish colour like dt... so was thinking I shld do a clean change with d engine oil during servicing b4 I start to Use it fully... make my mind dey well @rest...U get. just my thot sha... (invite sent)
Re: NEED Advice On Changing ATF For 2006 Rav 4 by mayor2013: 11:57pm On Nov 04, 2015
mili3kid:
I strongly biliv d mileage has not been fine tuned (i might b wrong). because I checked d car history and nothing jumps out odd.but checking d ATF oil....baba e don black pata pata. n U kno say normally na like reddish colour like dt... so was thinking I shld do a clean change with d engine oil during servicing b4 I start to Use it fully... make my mind dey well @rest...U get. just my thot sha... (invite sent)

Am sure the filter inside must have a burnt mark due to the condition of oil. If it does pls replace the filter
Re: NEED Advice On Changing ATF For 2006 Rav 4 by mili3kid(m): 2:23pm On Nov 05, 2015
mayor2013:

Am sure the filter inside must have a burnt mark due to the condition of oil. If it does pls replace the filter
alryt boss... tnx a whole lot.
Re: NEED Advice On Changing ATF For 2006 Rav 4 by femicousim: 3:49pm On Nov 05, 2015
for all you care it might be WS and not T-IV , pull out your transmission dipstick, the recommended ATF is usually engraved on the stick, mind you, a dexron III is equivalent to toyota T-IV, and dexron VI is equivalent to toyota WS
Re: NEED Advice On Changing ATF For 2006 Rav 4 by mili3kid(m): 7:12pm On Nov 05, 2015
femicousim:
for all you care it might be WS and not T-IV , pull out your transmission dipstick, the recommended ATF is usually engraved on the stick, mind you, a dexron III is equivalent to toyota T-IV, and dexron VI is equivalent to toyota WS
wow! more info. tnx alot boss. ur info lead me tp check d dip stick and "ws" was engraved on it....wc means I shld get dextron VI i biliv...
Re: NEED Advice On Changing ATF For 2006 Rav 4 by mayor2013: 8:16pm On Nov 05, 2015
mili3kid:

wow! more info. tnx alot boss. ur info lead me tp check d dip stick and "ws" was engraved on it....wc means I shld get dextron VI i biliv...

If yours says use toyota WS . Pls use toyota WS (world standard) fluid
Re: NEED Advice On Changing ATF For 2006 Rav 4 by mili3kid(m): 8:22pm On Nov 05, 2015
mayor2013:

If yours says use toyota WS . Pls use toyota WS (world standard) fluid
well checking online i definitely think dts d best option. i'll go with the toyota ws fluid den... thanx @all...
Re: NEED Advice On Changing ATF For 2006 Rav 4 by femicousim: 9:49pm On Nov 05, 2015
mili3kid:
well checking online i definitely think dts d best option. i'll go with the toyota ws fluid den... thanx @all...

i'm a staunch advocate of keeping to OEM specification, however if i'm convinced that an after-market meets the specification, i go ahead, two reasons why i sometimes avoid OEM products
1-sometimes it's over-priced
2-might be buying an imitation/fake

trust me, on most dexron VI cans/bottles, you will find "meets and exceeds the toyota WS requirements", i've used rymco's atexio VI( dexron 6), coastal dexron VI, wolfhead dexron VI etc, in the stead of toyota WS, for transmission repair and/or service, no negative feedback yet
Re: NEED Advice On Changing ATF For 2006 Rav 4 by mili3kid(m): 8:37am On Nov 06, 2015
femicousim:

i'm a staunch advocate of keeping to OEM specification, however if i'm convinced that an after-market meets the specification, i go ahead, two reasons why i sometimes avoid OEM products
1-sometimes it's over-priced
2-might be buying an imitation/fake

trust me, on most dexron VI cans/bottles, you will find "meets and exceeds the toyota WS requirements", i've used rymco's atexio VI( dexron 6), coastal dexron VI, wolfhead dexron VI etc, in the stead of toyota WS, for transmission repair and/or service, no negative feedback yet
hmmmm... kinda confused. Bt @least its better to buy original dextron dts compatible than buying "original fake" of Toyota WS...
Re: NEED Advice On Changing ATF For 2006 Rav 4 by femicousim: 9:24am On Nov 06, 2015
mili3kid:

hmmmm... kinda confused. Bt @least its better to buy original dextron dts compatible than buying "original fake" of Toyota WS...

most definitely
Re: NEED Advice On Changing ATF For 2006 Rav 4 by femicousim: 10:09am On Nov 06, 2015
mili3kid:

in other news ........
bear in mind,that OEMs are not into lubricant production neither do they run blending plants, hence they approach independent lube plants, give them their specification, the lube plants blend and brand the oil as OEM oil, armed with the formula, they(lube guys) go on to produce theirs, matching OEM specs and of course sometimes cheaper

BUT, by all means use OEM's oil, especially if you can get the original, @ least, it gives you rest of mind

Re: NEED Advice On Changing ATF For 2006 Rav 4 by mili3kid(m): 12:44pm On Nov 06, 2015
femicousim:

in other news ........
bear in mind,that OEMs are not into lubricant production neither do they run blending plants, hence they approach independent lube plants, give them their specification, the lube plants blend and brand the oil as OEM oil, armed with the formula, they(lube guys) go on to produce theirs, matching OEM specs and of course sometimes cheaper

BUT, by all means use OEM's oil, especially if you can get the original, @ least, it gives you rest of mind
bros abeg U get junior sister? i want to marry her...looolz m grateful for dt bro. getting clearer now. my priority now will b to get original OEM but if I dnt i'll look out for original alternatives for d WS...

9 Fuel Saving Tips / P0014 Error On My Corolla 2011 / Let Us Get You Any Car Parts You Cant Find In Nigeria And Beyond.

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 42