Stats: 3,152,744 members, 7,817,054 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 01:23 AM

Amazing Facts You Don't Know About Your Body - Health - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Health / Amazing Facts You Don't Know About Your Body (609 Views)

Depression Will Kill You, If You Don't Know This About Your Life! / Skin Bleaching: 6 Facts You Must Know Before You Start!!! / 5 Obvious Signals Your Body Needs Help (2) (3) (4)

Amazing Facts You Don't Know About Your Body by latinoKingdom(m): 12:17pm On Apr 13, 2016
1. The cracking sound made by knuckles, necks, backs, and other joints when they’re cracked is the sound of bubbles popping in the joints’ fluid. Is it harmful? Not terribly. But cracking a joint too often can hurt the cords, called ligaments, that surround the joint

2. Sweat doesn’t smell bad. A stinky “body odour” is caused when the skin bacteria feed on sweat. Their waste products are what smell bad

3. Just one drop of blood contains about 10,000 while blood cells and 250,000 platelets

4. You’re used to seeing bugs in your garden, but how about on your plate? Nutritious, edible insects including grasshoppers, beetles, wasps, worms, cicadas, and caterpillars are paced with vitamins and minerals and are eaten by people around the globe! Visiting China or Thailand? Stop for a deep-fried cicada on a stick! Next stop the Netherlands? Grab a grasshopper spring roll or burger (with meal Worms)

5. Eye colour Heterochromia is a condition in which people have different colour eyes. It’s rare in humans (actor Kiefer Sutherland has heterochromia), but common in dogs

6. The Brain is a very wrinkly organ! If you spread it out, your brain would be about the size of a pillowcase. By the time you are six years old, your brain is already 90 percent of the size it will be when you are an adult

7.The liver has an amazing ability to grow back if part of it is removed due to injury, disease, or surgery. It will even grow to be just the right size for the body it’s in.

8. Like dead skin cells, your hair and nails are made of keratin. Keratin forms tough body parts in other animals, too. It’s found in wool, fur, feathers, claws, beaks, hooves, horns, porcupine quills, and turtle shells

9. About 10,000 human cells can fit on the head of a pin

10. Your salivary glands produce two to six cups of (0.5-1.5 litres) of saliva a day. Six cups of saliva would come close to filling a big, two-litre (67.6) ounce soda bottle!

Copied from http://gistplanet./amazing-facts-you-dont-know-about-your-b.xhtml

lalasticlala help us
Re: Amazing Facts You Don't Know About Your Body by ify2nyce(f): 12:18pm On Apr 13, 2016
wetin concern no4 with the body
Re: Amazing Facts You Don't Know About Your Body by latinoKingdom(m): 12:20pm On Apr 13, 2016
Re: Amazing Facts You Don't Know About Your Body by talktonase(m): 12:33pm On Apr 13, 2016
ify2nyce:
wetin concern no4 with the body
ahh tire oh....who e epp?

Fibroid Symptoms / Must Read: Why It Is Important To Urinate After Sex / Wife Gives Her Husband Her Kidney, Asks For Prayers As She Goes Into Surgery

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 14