Stats: 3,165,946 members, 7,863,346 topics. Date: Monday, 17 June 2024 at 03:57 PM

Chris Christies Noxious Lies About Hillary Clinton And BBOG - Washingtonpost - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Chris Christies Noxious Lies About Hillary Clinton And BBOG - Washingtonpost (1157 Views)

‎IPOB: Don’t Believe The Lies About Me, Atiku Tells Nigerians (2) (3) (4)

Chris Christies Noxious Lies About Hillary Clinton And BBOG - Washingtonpost by seunmsg(m): 5:06pm On Jul 21, 2016
CLEVELAND — On Tuesday night in Cleveland, Chris Christie leveled serious charges against Hillary Clinton on her policy record in Syria, Libya, and Russia. But Christie really brought the wahala when he accused Clinton of having some sort of culpability for the 2014 kidnapping of nearly 300 schoolgirls by the Nigerian terrorist group Boko Haram.

In Nigeria, Hillary Clinton amazingly fought for two years to keep an Al-Qaeda affiliate off the terrorist watch list. What happened because of this reckless action by the candidate who is the self-proclaimed champion of women around the world? These terrorists abducted hundreds of innocent young girls two years ago.

These schoolgirls are still missing today.

What was the solution from the Obama/Clinton team? A hashtag campaign! Hillary Clinton, as an apologist for an Al-Qaeda affiliate in Nigeria resulting in the capture of innocent young women, guilty or not guilty?

Fact-check time: It is true that the State Department under Hillary Clinton did delay putting Boko Haram on the foreign terrorist organization (FTO) list for a variety of valid reasons. My Post colleague Glenn Kessler gave a great rundown of the complicated issue back in 2014, noting importantly that the Nigerian government was opposed to the designation. But there’s no evidence that a U.S. FTO designation could have prevented Boko Haram (which hasn’t proved to have a strong affiliation with al-Qaeda) from kidnapping the Chibok girls. Boko Haram was kidnapping women and girls before and after Chibok. When the United States finally designated Boko Haram as a terrorist group in 2013, that did not stop the group from gaining enough strength against the Nigerian military to capture a territory the size of Belgium in 2014, from using girls as suicide bombers or from slaughtering enough people in 2014 and 2015 to earn the top spot as deadliest terrorist group in the world.  To top it all off, Hillary Clinton had finished her term as Secretary of State when the school girls were kidnapped in April 2014 (John Kerry was in charge by then).

Nigerian activist Oby Ezekwesili, a former World Bank vice president for Africa who is credited with coining “Bring Back Our Girls” in 2014, is none too pleased with the New Jersey governor. In an emailed statement, Ezekwesili said Christie’s remarks were “a cheap aggrandizement of the tragedy of our abducted 219 schoolgirls still in terrorist captivity, 828 days later.”

Though the #BringBackOurGirls hashtag went viral globally in May 2014, tweeted by the likes of politicians and celebrities, the movement was first and foremost a Nigerian effort, not an American one. “That [Christie] egregiously attributed our #BringBackOurGirls hashtag to the Obamas is proof that he had never even followed nor had any empathetic connection to the tragedy nor bothered to know the facts of the local and global advocacy that it triggered,” Ezekwesili said. “If he had, he would have known that hashtag #BringBackOurGirls was and remains the rallying cry of Nigerian citizens.”

Ezekwesili continues to advocate for the Nigerian government to find the 219 girls who are still missing. President Muhammadu Buhari has promised that his government would be willing to negotiate for the girls’ release. The United States has said that it has spotted groups of the girls using local intelligence and drone visualization. But the Nigerian army has said that it fears that offensive attempts to free the girls could result in the girls being harmed.

“Is it not a shame that in the over two years of our advocacy for them, not once did the voice of Governor Christie echo empathy for the girls until yesterday when he decided to pawn them for political gain?” Ezekwesili said.

“I advise him to put himself in the place of the parents of the missing girls especially since he is also a father of two daughters. The least the Governor can do now is to quickly publicly apologize to the girls and their parents and cease dragging them into the United States political arena.”

https://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/post-partisan/wp/2016/07/21/chris-christies-noxious-lie-about-hillary-clinton-and-bringbackourgirls/
Re: Chris Christies Noxious Lies About Hillary Clinton And BBOG - Washingtonpost by junketer(m): 5:17pm On Jul 21, 2016
I got nothing to say on this.
Re: Chris Christies Noxious Lies About Hillary Clinton And BBOG - Washingtonpost by MadamExcellency: 5:18pm On Jul 21, 2016
Governor Christie is right. By their rhetoric we shall know them. Hillary connection with popular Arab donors made her and Obama to ignore the call to proscribe Bokoharam as a terrorist organization even when CAN President defended the call before US parliamentarians.

Re: Chris Christies Noxious Lies About Hillary Clinton And BBOG - Washingtonpost by seunmsg(m): 5:36pm On Jul 21, 2016
MadamExcellency:
Governor Christie is right. By their rhetoric we shall know them. Hillary connection with popular Arab donors made her and Obama to ignore the call to proscribe Bokoharam as a terrorist organization even when CAN President defended the call before US parliamentarians.

It is true that the State Department under Hillary Clinton did delay putting Boko Haram on the foreign terrorist organization (FTO) list for a variety of valid reasons. My Post colleague Glenn Kessler gave a great rundown of the complicated issue back in 2014, noting importantly that the Nigerian government was opposed to the designation.

I am sure you missed the above part where it was revealed that the Goodluck Jonathan government was opposed to the designation of boko haram as a FTO.

Re: Chris Christies Noxious Lies About Hillary Clinton And BBOG - Washingtonpost by MadamExcellency: 5:37pm On Jul 21, 2016
One senator wants to know if former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton deleted her emails regarding the very delayed designation of Boko Haram as a terrorist organization — and if a very well-heeled donor influenced that policy.

The query is not new for Sen. David Vitter (R-La.), but it’s now reflected in some additional disturbing lights: the admission by Clinton that she used personal email while the nation’s top diplomat and screened which ones to keep or discard, and the ascension of Boko Haram to an ISIS affiliate.

In June of last year, Vitter questioned why the State Department, under former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, “misled” Congress on the threat posed by Boko Haram.

He cited 2011 evidence on Boko Haram presented to the State Department by the National Counterterrorism Center, followed by a delay in the group’s terror designation until fall 2013.

“Recent evidence suggests Secretary Hillary Clinton and the State Department not only knew of the extent, but also deliberately attempted to obfuscate the issue in order to avoid having to make the designation of Boko Haram as a FTO, including downplaying the State Department’s own Country Reports on Terrorism (CRT),” Vitter wrote to Secretary of State John Kerry then.

“Inaccuracies within official documents make it clear that the State Department misled Congress and the American people. Evidence suggests that there was an internal decision by the Office of Coordinator for Counterterrorism to downplay official, legally required, intelligence data in order to purposefully avoid making the determination,” the senator continued.

Boko Haram, founded in 2002, began its campaign of attacks in earnest in 2009 but wasn’t put on the terror list until November 2013 — on the eve of Nigerian activists coming to Congress to testify about Boko Haram’s crimes and demand the terrorist designation. The State Department’s listing of Boko Haram and its offshoot, Ansaru, was so sudden the morning of the House subcommittee hearing that the submitted testimony of Emmanuel Ogebe, a Nigerian lawyer and human rights activist, still included a plea for the U.S. to finally add the Islamist groups to the list.

“We are concerned that it took them too long,” said Ogebe said, who put in his prepared remarks that “part of the State Department’s response has been to deny the religious motivation of a rabid jihadist group that has repeatedly declared its goal of overthrowing the state and establishing a radical Muslim theocracy; to downplay the repeated threats to America going back several years by claiming this is all ‘local’; presenting arguments rationalizing terrorism by psycho-analyzing the emotional disconnect between the central government and northern Muslims who fuel the terrorism.”
Even after a February 2012 promise by Boko Haram to assassinate the U.S. ambassador, the State Department kept the Nigerian terrorists off the list.

Vitter has suggested that Clinton’s deep donor ties to Gilbert Chagoury, a major Lebanese-Nigerian land developer who has given millions to Democratic campaigns, the Clinton library and Clinton Foundation global initiatives, could have accounted for some of Clinton’s reticence in the terror designation — a recognized terrorist group operating in the region, after all, makes more than a dent on local economies and investors get scared off.
When Chagoury was added to the no-fly list and pulled off a plane in 2010, it took just a few months to get a waiver and a written apology from the Department of Homeland Security — though he said afterwards that he didn’t approach the Clintons for help.

The Chagoury Group says it is “a leading Nigerian employer, with a workforce numbering tens of thousands of Nigerian and other African and international personnel,” boasting manufacturing, construction, industrial, hotels and hi-tech companies under its umbrella.

Yesterday, Vitter sent more correspondence to Kerry, asking that his department turn over “all additional files specifically relating to the designation of Boko Haram as a terrorist organization during former Secretary Clinton’s term and seek out any related files which may not have already been turned over by Secretary Clinton.”

“Given the drastic foothold Boko Haram was allowed to gain prior to being designated an FTO, the nexus between the Department’s decision against designating Boko Haram as an FTO and connections to outside groups should be brought forward. Associated records should have been preserved as evidence of the agency’s activities, decisions and procedures. These should be presented to the relevant committees and to the American public to be evaluated for corresponding misconduct,” Vitter wrote.

He stressed that while last year’s evidence of “inaccuracies within official documents” makes “clear that the State Department misled Congress and the American people,” additional evidence “demonstrates that multiple Department employees who were directly involved in the decision against designating Boko Haram as an FTO, including the Office Coordinator for Counterterrorism, have been Clinton Foundation employees.”
Vitter noted that while the Boko Haram designation was being stalled, President Clinton was participating in events with Chagoury, whose pockets are so deep he has a section named after him at the Louvre. Those included a February 2012 speaking engagement at the dedication ceremony for Chagoury’s new luxury housing project.

Long under the microscope for corruption, allegations he has denied, Chagoury settled a 2000 money laundering case in Geneva with a fine of a million Swiss francs and paying $66 million to the Nigerian government; that conviction has since been expunged from his record by the Swiss.

“We need to know if Mr. Chagoury had any influence in the decision not to designate Boko Haram an FTO, or had any other influence with Sec. Clinton’s foreign policy decisions,” Vitter wrote.
The senator, who is running for governor of Louisiana this year, reminded Kerry that he’s “long opposed the foreign donations to the Clinton Foundation as a conflict of interest for Secretary Clinton due to the nature of the job.”

“Former Secretary Clinton’s actions in conjunction to information I have previously presented to the Department where she circumvented and misled Congress should be closely examined,” Vitter wrote. “…Due to the highly unusual nature of the current circumstance, I am asking you to demonstrate the Department’s commitment to transparency and to provide all files related to their decision not to designate Boko Haram an FTO, and all communication with Mr. Chagoury or his affiliated businesses.”

“These actions, if true, run contrary to the trust placed in the Department, as a representative of the United States and constitutional government. It is imperative to fully disclose relevant information to the American public.”

Boko Haram killed more than 6,300 civilians in 2014 alone, and its rampages this year have included some 2,000 deaths in the Baga massacre alone. Most of the Chibok schoolgirls kidnapped 11 months ago, sparking the #BringBackOurGirls campaign, have not been found

http://www.newsgoogle.net/2015/03/could-boko-haram-be-hillary-clintons.html

Re: Chris Christies Noxious Lies About Hillary Clinton And BBOG - Washingtonpost by MadamExcellency: 5:43pm On Jul 21, 2016
seunmsg:

It is true that the State Department under Hillary Clinton did delay putting Boko Haram on the foreign terrorist organization (FTO) list for a variety of valid reasons. My Post colleague Glenn Kessler gave a great rundown of the complicated issue back in 2014, noting importantly that the Nigerian government was opposed to the designation.

I am sure you missed the above part where it was revealed that the Goodluck Jonathan government was opposed to the designation of boko haram as a FTO.

You got it all wrong because Jonathan proscribed Bokoharam as a terrorist organization even when APC vehemently opposed it at a time when frm President Clinton was insisting that poverty and unequal distribution of National resources was the root cause of Bokoharam.

Re: Chris Christies Noxious Lies About Hillary Clinton And BBOG - Washingtonpost by seunmsg(m): 5:57pm On Jul 21, 2016
MadamExcellency:

You got it all wrong because Jonathan proscribed Bokoharam as a terrorist organization even when APC vehemently opposed it at a time when frm President Clinton was insisting that poverty and unequal distribution of National resources was the root cause of Bokoharam.

Did Jonathan's government opposed the designation of boko haram as a FTO? Just answer with a simple yes or no and stop running round a circle.

It's so funny how you wailers find it very convenient to absolve Goodluck Jonathan of any blame in the kidnap of the chibok girls but are quick to support Chris Christie's attempt to heap the blame on Hillary.

Re: Chris Christies Noxious Lies About Hillary Clinton And BBOG - Washingtonpost by MadamExcellency: 6:53pm On Jul 21, 2016
seunmsg:

Did Jonathan's government opposed the designation of boko haram as a FTO? Just answer with a simple yes or no and stop running round a circle.

It's so funny how you wailers find it very convenient to absolve Goodluck Jonathan of any blame in the kidnap of the chibok girls but are quick to support Chris Christie's attempt to heap the blame on Hillary.

Before I answer you, which country did Jonathan stop from designating Bokoharam as Foreign Terrorist Organization?

Re: Chris Christies Noxious Lies About Hillary Clinton And BBOG - Washingtonpost by vedaxcool(m): 7:13pm On Jul 21, 2016
seunmsg:

Waiting for wailing zombies to respond to the above point.

Re: Chris Christies Noxious Lies About Hillary Clinton And BBOG - Washingtonpost by seunmsg(m): 7:14pm On Jul 21, 2016
MadamExcellency:

Before I answer you, which country did Jonathan stop from designating Bokoharam as Foreign Terrorist Organization?

Opposed, not stop. Hillary clinton was the former secretary of state of which country?
Re: Chris Christies Noxious Lies About Hillary Clinton And BBOG - Washingtonpost by MadamExcellency: 7:25pm On Jul 21, 2016
seunmsg:

Opposed, not stop. Hillary clinton was the former secretary of state of which country?

Jonathan didn't oppose US from designating Bokoharam a terrorist organization - Fact

Re: Chris Christies Noxious Lies About Hillary Clinton And BBOG - Washingtonpost by newbornmacho(m): 7:32pm On Jul 21, 2016
seunmsg:

did America ask the consent of Afghanistan before designating Taliban a terrorist group...? Or seek Pakistani support before fishing out Osama Bin Laden??
Re: Chris Christies Noxious Lies About Hillary Clinton And BBOG - Washingtonpost by Bethelwealthy(m): 7:38pm On Jul 21, 2016
Op! Your ignorance is of chronic level.

Do you know that virtually all the SUPPOSED terrorist leaders are directly or indirectly linked to the CIA??

Christie knows what you dont; the fact that America Uses Certain people to bring both economic and political problems to a nation or persons they dont want in power, thereby empowering people that will later get power-drunk, handy with american weapons and finances ...........

Let me ask you just one Question:
"do you truly belief americans did not know the whereabout of the chibok girls or their movements"?

dont be fooled.

Trump and the rest know what they are saying.......International politics is deeep, and dirty.
Re: Chris Christies Noxious Lies About Hillary Clinton And BBOG - Washingtonpost by MadamExcellency: 7:51pm On Jul 21, 2016
Even as far back as July, 2012 the cry was so loud and clear that Bokoharam should be designated as Foreign Terrorist Organization when their three leaders were declared were on international watch-list.

Designate Boko Haram Terrorist Group, Oritsejafor Told US Congress In 2012

Designate Boko Haram terrorist group, Oritsejafor tells US Congress
on july 12, 2012 at 12:55 am in news
Facebook Share Twitter Share

By UDUMA KALU

President of the Christian Association of Nigeria, CAN,  Pastor Ayo Oritsejafor yesterday called on the United States to declare the Islamist sect, Boko Haram as a terrorist group.

However, in the US, officials said violence will  come to an end if the Federal Government eradicates poor governance, addresses  security challenges, and end police and military abuses with impunity.

While making an appeal to the US Congress, Pastor Ayo Oritsejafor said decision to blacklist three Boko Haram leaders as terrorists was not enough.

Ayo Oritsejafor said the US move on June 21 was “the equivalent of designating (Osama) bin Laden a terrorist but failing to designate Al-Qaeda a terrorist organisation,” and the reluctance to brand Boko Haram as terrorists had emboldened the group, which is estimated to have killed more than 1,000 people since mid-2009 in attacks on Christian and government sites.

“By refusing to designate Boko Haram as a foreign terrorist organisation, the United States is sending a very clear message, not just to the Federal Government, but to the world that the murder of innocent Christians and Muslims who reject Islamism — and I make a clear distinction here between Islam and Islamism — are acceptable losses,” Oritsejafor said.

http://www.vanguardngr.com/2012/07/designate-boko-haram-terrorist-group-oritsejafor-tells-us-congress/

Re: Chris Christies Noxious Lies About Hillary Clinton And BBOG - Washingtonpost by seunmsg(m): 7:17am On Jul 22, 2016
MadamExcellency:

Jonathan didn't oppose US from designating Bokoharam a terrorist organization - Fact

"My Post colleague Glenn Kessler gave a great rundown of the complicated issue back in 2014, noting importantly that the Nigerian government was opposed to the designation"-Washington post.

You can continue to deny what is obvious, that's the way of you wailers but facts don't lie.

Designating boko haram as FTO or not is inconsequential as the blame for the kidnapping of those girls rest solely on the shoulders of Goodluck Jonathan. Was it Hillary that used Dasuki and other political cronies to steal over $2.1billion meant for fighting boko haram? Was Hillary responsible for Jonathan's disbelief and inaction for the first three weeks of the kidnap? Any attempt to shift the blame is complete hog wash and DOA. As president, he failed in his constitutional duties of protecting the welfare and security of those girls and Nigerians rightly booted him out of office for his failures.
Re: Chris Christies Noxious Lies About Hillary Clinton And BBOG - Washingtonpost by seunmsg(m): 7:27am On Jul 22, 2016
Bethelwealthy:
[s]Op! Your ignorance is of chronic level.
Do you know that virtually all the SUPPOSED terrorist leaders are directly or indirectly linked to the CIA??
Christie knows what you dont; the fact that America Uses Certain people to bring both economic and political problems to a nation or persons they dont want in power, thereby empowering people that will later get power-drunk, handy with american weapons and finances ...........
Let me ask you just one Question:
"do you truly belief americans did not know the whereabout of the chibok girls or their movements"?
dont be fooled.
Trump and the rest know what they are saying.......International politics is deeep, and[/s] dirty.

Trash! If you don't know that politicians can say anything to get elected, then your ignorance is actually more than chronic. Chris Christie has no history of advocating for the designation of boko haram as a FTO or campaigning for the release of the kidnapped chibok girls. He suddenly pops up on the RNC convention stage to stupidly blame the candidate of the opposing party for the kidnap and you want me to believe him because he knows more than me. For real? Believe Chris Christie and you can believe anything.
Re: Chris Christies Noxious Lies About Hillary Clinton And BBOG - Washingtonpost by MadamExcellency: 7:30am On Jul 22, 2016
seunmsg:

"My Post colleague Glenn Kessler gave a great rundown of the complicated issue back in 2014, noting importantly that the Nigerian government was opposed to the designation"-Washington post.

You can continue to deny what is obvious, that's the way of you wailers but facts don't lie.

Designating boko haram as FTO or not is inconsequential as the blame for the kidnapping of those girls rest solely on the shoulders of Goodluck Jonathan. Was it Hillary that used Dasuki and other political cronies to steal over $2.1billion meant for fighting boko haram? Was Hillary responsible for Jonathan's disbelief and inaction for the first three weeks of the kidnap? Any attempt to shift the blame is complete hog wash and DOA. As president, he failed in his constitutional duties of protecting the welfare and security of those girls and Nigerians rightly booted him out of office for his failures.

Tell your colleague that he is talking nonsense. Far back in July, 2012 when the three top Bokoharam leaders were blacklisted by the US Government. Speaking before the US Congress, CAN President and other Civil societies demanded and said "Designate Boko Haram a Foreign Terrorist Organization" While making an appeal to the US Congress, Pastor Ayo Oritsejafor said decision to blacklist three Boko Haram leaders as terrorists was not enough.

What was the American Government excuse and reason? They said poverty and unequal distribution of wealth were the key cause/ reasons for Bokoharam and beckoned on President Jonathan to address these root causes hence saying that Jonathan stopped America from designating Bokoharam a foreign terrorist organization from onset is a fat lie.

Re: Chris Christies Noxious Lies About Hillary Clinton And BBOG - Washingtonpost by olatunjithomas(m): 9:02am On Aug 03, 2016
seunmsg:

A very good morning to boss, I'm sorry to have disturbed you,but you have to help me now.

The Mr nairaland contest is on,as a matter of fact,today is going to be the semi finals and I need you to help me vote Falconey. I am writing you because I am trusting You.

the link to the voting thread is

https://www.nairaland.com/3265483/mr-nairaland-contest-2016-semi-final

voting starts 10am- 6pm

the voting format is "" I vote falconey Cc; NLjega"

Thanks so much Boss.

Pictorial Evidence That Oshiomole Did Not Marginalized Esan As Claimed By Anenih / Reno Omokri On APC / President Buhari Barrs Aisha Buhari From Granting Interviews

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 67