Stats: 3,151,191 members, 7,811,497 topics. Date: Sunday, 28 April 2024 at 01:07 PM

British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 (2674 Views)

Igbos In Lagos APC Replace Igbokwe With Idimogu For 2023 / 2019 Is Near, Focus On Defeating Atiku, While I Focus On Supporting Him, Obj / In Spite Of Difficulty, President Buhari Has Been Growing The Economy - Osinbajo (2) (3) (4)

British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by Nobody: 12:53pm On Jun 17, 2017
“Igbo Land is really quite a small portion of Nigeria… But it has been the most troublesome section of any.”- A British soldier briefing a London audience on the military difficulties faced by the British in their  wars against the Igbos in 1909.

This soldier made this statement 41 years before Nigeria’s independence because the Igbos refused to accept colonialism. In fact, largely because of the Igbos, the British did not fully enjoy colonialism in Nigeria, as this people wouldn’t just agree to become conquered colonial subjects.

When the British decided they would rule Nigeria through indirect rule, it is only in Igbo Land that the people refused, and by the time the Igbos began their protests, the British had to succumb to the will of the people.

When the British introduced crazy taxes on the Igbo, the Aba Women fought them in the Aba Women’s War of 1929, and the Brirish were forced to abandon the unfair taxes. Like Nelson Mandela, the Igbos are known for being ‘trouble makers because they often stand for their rights or for the rights of others.

Recall that The Igbos fought the British in a long and difficult war till 1919. Various high points of that war include the revolt in Udi, 1914; the Kwale rising in 1914; the battles in Oguta, Elele, Bende, Olagiri, Aba, Obete, Obala. Their was also the Ikwo war in 1918, the Aba Women’s War in 1929-to 1930. Recall the Ekumeku Movement that gave the British sleepless nights in Anioma.

This is probably why the British never really liked the Igbos: because of how long it took them to subjugate Ndigbo. And they never really succeeded in that because within a few years an Igbo youth named Nnamdi Azikiwe (Zik of Africa) was already fighting them in the media, calling for the British to handover Nigeria to Nigerians.

Needless to say, in 1960, the British, who wanted to avoid a fight, obeyed Zik’s call, and that of the other founding fathers of Nigeria.
http://www.igbodefender.com/2017/06/17/shocking-british-soldier-reacts-to-difficulty-of-defeating-the-igbos-in-1909/we

10 Likes 2 Shares

Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by Iamwrath: 12:55pm On Jun 17, 2017
Twisted History as always hehehehehe

Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by Iamwrath: 12:56pm On Jun 17, 2017
Insult me , chop ban soft
Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by temitope277(m): 12:59pm On Jun 17, 2017
1909? Pls where is the soldier

Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by CIOSYLVA(m): 1:02pm On Jun 17, 2017
Trend closed
Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by achi4u(m): 1:03pm On Jun 17, 2017
That just the truth.

Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by Kestolove(m): 1:04pm On Jun 17, 2017
if not for boko haram...d north is d best place u can stay in nigeria...cum,build ur house buy land nd d hausa will come nd congratulate u

Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by Nobody: 1:05pm On Jun 17, 2017
Iamwrath:
The Igbo 'troublesomeness' the colonialist soldier was alluding to is the same 'troublesomeness' they accused Nelson Mandela of. When somebody wants to stand for their rights they say he is being troublesome. They prefer you bow while they take your rights. for the Igbo man, you can never defeat his spirit of liberty. Never.

So, all you doing longthroat for Igbo properties and waiting for October 31st to take over Igbo property in the North, una never chi chumpting. No just try Ndigbo, because you can't face their protest. Igbos are masters of standing up for their rights.

22 Likes 3 Shares

Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by Alariwo2: 1:07pm On Jun 17, 2017
Who takes Liepob seriously these days..
A small percentage of people found in Nigeria no longer in touch with reality or truth grin

In case you don't know.. Igbos had the highest number of slaves traded in Badagry out of their love for money. They sold women and children to the whites for peanuts

Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by Nobody: 1:19pm On Jun 17, 2017
Alariwo2:

In case you don't know.. Igbos had the highest number of slaves traded in Badagry out of their love for money. They sold women and children to the whites for peanuts

We turn our misfortune into fortune. Today 85% of Afro Americans whose fashion and slang you like to copy like 50 Cent, P Diddy are of Igbo origin. Those Igbo 'slaves' you are laughing at dictate what clothes you wear and what languages you speak. Smell the coffee, Bro.

Besides, did you hear of Igbolanding, when Igbos resisted the slave traders and staged a protest that is still remembered in the United States today, 600 years later. The place where they staged that protest is called Igbo Landing because on that day it was acknowledged that Igbos Landed in America.

Racist Governor Wallace of Alabama said Igbos should not be helped by the US in the Nigerian Civil War because according to him, the Igbos were the ones that caused the American Civil War, which the pro slavery side lost.

Igbos like Zik helped build Nigeria, and you feel you can take our property on October 31st? It won't work. Go and build your own grin

20 Likes 2 Shares

Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by Ogalanyachieze: 2:06pm On Jun 17, 2017
And you think by igbodefender your automatic igbo abi? Anyway by thier threads you shall know them. Back to topic, in summary anybody wey no gree make una cheat am according to the white na stubborn person abi? Clap for urself
Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by Nobody: 2:09pm On Jun 17, 2017
Ogalanyachieze:
And you think by igbodefender your automatic igbo abi? Anyway by thier threads you shall know them. Back to topic, in summary anybody wey no gree make una cheat am according to the white na stubborn person abi? Clap for urself
The stubbornness here is Good stubbornness, the kind Nelson Mandela was also accused of.

8 Likes 2 Shares

Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by omarithmetics: 2:42pm On Jun 17, 2017
igbodefender:
In case you don't know.. Igbos had the highest number of slaves traded in Badagry out of their love for money. The sold women and children to the whites for peanuts We turn our misfortune into fortune. Today 85% of Afro Americans whose fashion and slang you like to copy like 50 Cent, P Diddy are of Igbo origin. Those Igbo 'slaves' you are laughing at dictate what clothes you wear and what languages you speak. Smell the coffee, Bro.

Besides, did you hear of Igbolanding, when Igbos resisted the slave traders and staged a protest that is still remembered in the United States today, 600 years later. The place where they staged that protest is called Igbo Landing because on that day it was acknowledged that Igbos Landed in America.

Racist Governor Wallace of Alabama said Igbos should not be helped by the US in the Nigerian Civil War because according to him, the Igbos were the ones that caused the American Civil War, which the pro slavery side lost.

Igbos like Zik helped build Nigeria, and you feel you can take our property on October 31st? It won't work. Go and build your own grin

Given another chance you'd still sell your bothers for peanuts. Why do you think most of you guys prefer the North and West..Humans prefer places where they won't lose their lives for peanuts. And yeah when sh!t hits the roof, when things get too hot..the cowards will bail out just like Ojukuwu did

Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by Nobody: 4:32pm On Jun 17, 2017
omarithmetics:

Given another chance you'd still sell your bothers for peanuts. Why do you think most of you guys prefer the North and West..Humans prefer places where they won't lose their lives for peanuts. And yeah when sh!t hits the roof, when things get too hot..the cowards will bail out just like Ojukuwu did
Now go into your room and cry secretly as you do everyday because you were not born Igbo. Pathetic.

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by golddust6000(m): 4:46pm On Jun 17, 2017
omarithmetics:

My guy their is nothing like slave trade. Americans use slave trade to make black in america to hate africans. You need to read books on dlave trade by african or asian authur not So called white writers.

Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by omarithmetics: 7:01pm On Jun 17, 2017
golddust6000:
My guy their is nothing like slave trade. Americans use slave trade to make black in america to hate africans. You need to read books on dlave trade by african or asian authur not So called white writers.
the closer in proximity you are with denial, the farther away you are from the truth
Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by omarithmetics: 7:03pm On Jun 17, 2017
igbodefender:
Now go into your room and cry secretly as you do everyday because you were not born Igbo. Pathetic.
you mean I wasn't born a DEVELOPER *sobs*
Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by Markfemi: 7:47pm On Jun 17, 2017
igbodefender:

We turn our misfortune into fortune. Today 85% of Afro Americans whose fashion and slang you like to copy like 50 Cent, P Diddy are of Igbo origin. Those Igbo 'slaves' you are laughing at dictate what clothes you wear and what languages you speak. Smell the coffee, Bro.

Loooooool fairy tale
Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by ShootToKill: 8:17pm On Jun 17, 2017
Iamwrath:

That's pure histroy right there unlike the yorubas who were begging the British to colonize them and save them from extinction occasioned by their kiriji wars where they killed themselves and traded their human parts.

Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by ShootToKill: 8:22pm On Jun 17, 2017
omarithmetics:

the closer in proximity you are with denial, the farther away you are from the truth

When intelligent people speak, you should sit in a corner of your brown hut and think about how you can fling the next nylon bag shiit into your neighbour's compound in Oshogbo. Do you have the talent for anything else?

7 Likes 2 Shares

Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by kingzizzy: 8:28pm On Jun 17, 2017
Its not today Igbos have been fighting for freedom

Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by Ojiofor: 9:24pm On Jun 17, 2017
omarithmetics:

Who sold Yoruba slaves in Cuba,Brasil,Sudan,Kano,Sokoto Togo,Saudi Arabia,Bini and even our own ANIOMA(the Olukumis aka oluku) in Delta state?
Who are the people behaeding Yorubas today in Yorubaland for rituals?

Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by omarithmetics: 9:33pm On Jun 17, 2017
ShootToKill:

When intelligent people speak, you should sit in a corner of your brown hut and think about how you can fling the next nylon bag shiit into your neighbour's compound in Oshogbo. Do you have the talent for anything else?

intelligent people ignore
Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by CHIJIOKE1314: 9:48pm On Jun 17, 2017
Ojiofor:

Who sold Yoruba slaves in Cuba,Brasil,Sudan,Kano,Sokoto Togo,Saudi Arabia,Bini and even our own ANIOMA(the Olukumis aka oluku) in Delta state?

That guy was begging for this evidence base reply and you gave it to him abundantly.. Thank you!

I hope he can now quietly go burry his head in the sand..

Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by omarithmetics: 9:51pm On Jun 17, 2017
Ojiofor:

It is estimated that a total of 1.4 million Igbo people were transported (via European ships) across the Atlantic in the era of Atlantic slave trade. The Igbo in the Atlantic slave trade became one of the main ethnic groups enslaved in the era lasting between the 16th and late 19th century. Located near indigenous Igbo territory, the Bight of Biafra (also known as the Bight of Bonny ), became the principal area in obtaining Igbo slaves. The Bights major slave trading ports were located in Bonny and
Calabar ; a large number of these slaves were Igbo. Slaves, KIDNAPPED by fellow igbos or BOUGHT from fellow Igbos, were taken to Europe and the Americas by European slave traders.
Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by Ojiofor: 10:01pm On Jun 17, 2017
omarithmetics:

It is estimated that a total of 1.4 million Igbo people were transported (via European ships) across the Atlantic in the era of Atlantic slave trade. The Igbo in the Atlantic slave trade became one of the main ethnic groups enslaved in the era lasting between the 16th and late 19th century. Located near indigenous Igbo territory, the Bight of Biafra (also known as the Bight of Bonny ), became the principal area in obtaining Igbo slaves. The Bights major slave trading ports were located in Bonny and
Calabar ; a large number of these slaves were Igbo. Slaves, KIDNAPPED by fellow igbos or BOUGHT from fellow Igbos, were taken to Europe and the Americas by European slave traders.

Answer my question,simple.

Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by lexxwiz(m): 10:05pm On Jun 17, 2017
Hmmm
Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by Nobody: 12:02pm On Mar 09, 2018
Bump!
Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by anibirelawal(m): 1:10pm On Mar 09, 2018
Its another one...
Re: British Soldier Complains Of Difficulty Defeating Igbos In 1909 by Nobody: 2:26pm On Mar 09, 2018
When some White colonialists visited a part of Igbo Land, they expected the Igbo elders to bow to them.

Guess what? The elders refused to bow, and told the shocked colonialists that the Igbos bow to no man.

Igbo Amaka.

States To Commence Building Of Cattle Colonies Next Week – FG / MFM Founder, Olukoya Releases Prophesies For 2019 / APC E- Warriors No Where To Be Found

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 53