Stats: 3,162,740 members, 7,851,546 topics. Date: Wednesday, 05 June 2024 at 10:15 PM

10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... (7748 Views)

Debt Status Of 36 States In Nigeria Revealed / Governance: The 3 Most Unlucky States In Nigeria / Poverty Rate Of The 36 States In Nigeria By United Nation Poverty Index (2) (3) (4)

Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by naturalman: 6:30pm On Jun 17, 2017
Hopeful20100:

In terms of cities in Nigeria, Enugu city is my number one best city. However as a state, in terms of development of all major towns, I wouldn't put it in top 10. Who knows Nnsuka? All people know is Enugu city. It's more like Rivers with only Port Harcourt.

Rivers has omoku, bori,abonima,bonny,Oyibo,elements,buguma etc...tell me the LGA that is not developed in Rivers state aside ahoada west and gokana

Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by SGANIVA(m): 6:32pm On Jun 17, 2017
anambra remains no. 2 after Lagos , enugu deserves top 10 , enugu is not all about enugu city , ninth mile is in udi which host many industries , nnsuka is as develop as some state capital .notable mention is awgu and agbani which holds most states institutions in the state .enugu is more urbanized than abia , imo and akwa ibom, anambra and ogun should be no 2 and 3 respectively .I have been to most of this places

Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by Klinee: 6:57pm On Jun 17, 2017
naturalman:

Aside the places I mentioned...ahoada west and gokana LGA..were again is rural...try and travel...
Rivers State have a very big land mass of which majority of it are underdeveloped rural villages, but Anambra has a very small land mass of which majority are urbanised and semi urbanised villages that is more than ahoada and gokana.
Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by Abagworo(m): 7:40pm On Jun 17, 2017
Lagos>Anambra>Imo>AkwaIbom>Rivers are the most urbanised States in that order but the State with most cities is Lagos, Rivers and Osun. My judgement is based on personal driving experience, google earth and other studies.
Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by Oxtonguy: 7:41pm On Jun 17, 2017
raker300:
Anambra is light years ahead
Your photos gat me grinning grin grin grin grin
Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by mandarin: 7:43pm On Jun 17, 2017
Lets correct some notion of urbanization here, just as @op said, areas with urban population.ok
As someone who has transversed many states, I will say the op has a shallow idea of Nigeria. Let me just add these for the sake of education;
Owo town is in Ondo state and that state by Nigeria standard has Akure, Ondo, Ikare, Oka, and Okitipupa as cities though moderately.
Most northern states have at least two large cities but Kaduna has at least three to include Zaria,and Kafanchan. Niger state has Bida, Suleja alongside Minna.
Also, by the op's standard then the overflow from Abuja will give Nasarawa like three cities.
When urbanization is defined around cityscape and economy, then Ibadan, with such a large urban area will give Oyo state a better rating than 34 states beside Lagos and FCT because Ogbomoso, Shaki, Iseyin, and Oyo township are also urban areas.
The overflow from Lagos place Ogun state well with Sagamu, Abeokuta, Ijebu Ode, Ijebu Igbo and even Ikenne.
It will be wrong to call some urban settlements rural because you didn't grade those cities to classes and, you didn't give us measurable qualities to distinguish them.

Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by Oxtonguy: 7:52pm On Jun 17, 2017
mandarin:
Lets correct some notion of urbanization here, just as @op said, areas with urban population.ok
As someone who has transversed many states, I will say the op has a shallow idea of Nigeria. Let me just add these for the sake of education;
Owo town is in Ondo state and that state by Nigeria standard has Akure, Ondo, Ikare, Oka, and Okitipupa as cities though moderately.
Most northern states have at least two large cities but Kaduna has at least three to include Zaria,and Kafanchan. Niger state has Bida, Suleja alongside Minna.
Also, by the op's standard then the overflow from Abuja will give Nasarawa like three cities.
When urbanization is defined around cityscape and economy, then Ibadan, with such a large urban area will give Oyo state a better rating than 34 states beside Lagos and FCT because Ogbomoso, Shaki, Iseyin, and Oyo township are also urban areas.
The overflow from Lagos place Ogun state well with Sagamu, Abeokuta, Ijebu Ode, Ijebu Igbo and even Ikenne.
It will be wrong to call some urban settlements rural because you didn't grade those cities to classes and, you didn't give us measurable qualities to distinguish them.
Op is just been short sighted

Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by naturalman: 7:57pm On Jun 17, 2017
mandarin:

most of the places you are calling town in North and ondo state are just rural settlement...they live closely together ...
How many banks are located in those places..how many industries, eateries and other amenties are in those area

Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by Oxtonguy: 8:07pm On Jun 17, 2017
naturalman:

most of the places you are calling town in North and ondo state are just rural settlement...they live closely together ...
How many banks are located in those places..how many industries, eateries and other amenties are in those area
So Ikare below is a rural settlement cheesy be sure of what you are saying

Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by naturalman: 8:20pm On Jun 17, 2017
Oxtonguy:

Y do you like arguing unnecessarily..... showing one or two building and a road makes a place urbanized

Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by naturalman: 8:22pm On Jun 17, 2017
Oxtonguy:

Brother.... this list was carefully sorted out.....ondo still fit into the position of no 15 when compared to other state.

Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by naturalman: 8:25pm On Jun 17, 2017
Oxtonguy:

How many banks, eateries,club house,hotels are in ikare....you will notice that most residents of those places are predominantly farmers

Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by Yyeske(m): 8:38pm On Jun 17, 2017
Whoever posted this must be high, Rivers over Anambra with just that PH?
Next story bikonu, OP has never visited Anambra obviously

Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by raker300: 10:02pm On Jun 17, 2017
Abagworo:
Lagos>Anambra>Imo>AkwaIbom>Rivers are the most urbanised States in that order but the State with most cities is Lagos, Rivers and Osun. My judgement is based on personal driving experience, google earth and other studies.
why akwa ibom?
Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by IloveMoney: 10:05pm On Jun 17, 2017
Outside lagos,i don't know any state more urbanized than River state, delta state and all the south eastern states except ebonyi. if you are traveling from Onitsha to owerri, you wouldn't even know when you have entered Imo state, same from Owerri to Ptown, or Owerri to Mbaise or Owerri to Orlu or Owerri to Oguta, same as Owerri to Aba or Aba to Portharcourt or Aba to Umuahia, same as it is also in Anambra state.

Everywhere in the East look the same. Their developments are even.
Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by raker300: 10:05pm On Jun 17, 2017
Oxtonguy:
Your photos gat me grinning grin grin grin grin
you talk too much
Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by Duru1(m): 10:10pm On Jun 17, 2017
naturalman:
This is the list of the 10 most urbanized states in nigeria....in order of hierarchy...

(1)LAGOS STATE.........This is generally known to be the most urbanized state in Nigeria...All the local govt in Lagos state are all urbanized...lagos also have the highest number of commercial banks and industries in Nigeria...

(2)RIVERS STATE......Some person may want to argue this....but it is nothing but the truth....Due to the diverse ethnic group in rivers state, everybody tend to dominate its territory... making most local govt urbanised except ahoada west and gokana....it is the second most urbanized state in Nigeria and also took the 3rd position in the concentration of commercial banks and industries mostly oil industries..

(3)ANAMBRA STATE........This state is said to have the highest number of industrious indigenes....it is the 3rd most urbanized state in Nigeria...the state is developed due to the industrious nature of the indegienes...most LGA are urbanized except Anambra west and some part of the Anambra east,orumba south excluding umunze and ufuma....This state took the 4th position in the concentration of commercial banks and indigenous industries after Lagos,abuja and rivers.....

(4)ABUJA.....This is the centre of unity and is the 4th most urbanized state in Nigeria.... aside areas that harbours the federal parastatics ..other region are said to be rural and abandoned...This state has the 2nd highest number of commercial banks....

(5)IMO STATE.......Some persons do not actually know much about this state.....But it is in the best statues to occupy the 5th position....Due to the geographical position of IMO state ,it is the only state in the whole of nigeria minus Lagos that do not have a dense and extreme rural area...every community is a neighbouring town to a south south or south east state, which are always economically bouyant...The state is in the middle of south south and south east....their is no hitherto land or region in this state..

(6)OGUN STATE.....This state is arguably taking the sixth position... Due to its proximity to Lagos...the overflow of the Lagos population lives in ogun state...aside Abeokuta, places like mowe,otta,sagamu are highly urbanized...but most LGA are rural....and it has the highest number of industries in Nigeria, but mostly owned by foreigners......

(7) OYO STATE.....This is the 7th most urbanized state in Nigeria.... it is unarguably having the largest city in west Africa.....but most part of the city are still rural in nature as a result of infrastructural deficit and absence of basic amenities.... places like Ibadan and ogbomosho are large and occupy most LGA in the state...but most of the LGA are still rural...

(coolDELTA STATE....This state is occupying the 8th position....it has a lot of urbanized areas occupying more than one local govt area.....places like asaba, warri, efurum etc are highly urbanized...

(9)ABIA STATE......so many people will be surprise to see this state occupying the 9th position....but it is the truth...Aside Aba and umuahia....other region and LGA are either a university town just like uturu....but even at that most lectures in ABSU are living in okigwe town, which is in IMO state....but the state still harbours a large number of commercial banks mostly in Aba....

(10)AKWAIBOM STATE......This state is occupying the 10th position just slightly ahead of KANO STATE, which is highly populated but not urbanized, aside Sabon gari, some part of kurna asabe...other regions and LGA are rural...Akwaibom state have urbanized places like eket, ikotepene, uyo ikot abasi.....

I have traveled to most state in Nigeria... and I can comfortably attest to the truth nature of this list....

BuT any counter opinion is allowed and will be considered with reasonably prove and argument.

Do you know what urbanization means? How many cities are in River State? I do not mean villages dissected by truck A road?

Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by Duru1(m): 10:13pm On Jun 17, 2017
naturalman:

Travel and see because travelling is part of education....just in 2017....I have spent a whooping sum of #700k traveling around nigeria

Yet you could not discern city from a glorified village.
Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by naturalman: 10:37pm On Jun 17, 2017
Duru1:

Do you know what urbanization means? How many cities are in River State? I do not mean villages dissected by truck A road?

Guy, rivers state is more urbanized than Anambra....places like Oyibo,omoku,buguma,bonny,bori etc are highly urbanized... try and visit

Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by Benchuko1(m): 11:01pm On Jun 17, 2017
BGIE Response:

Igbo residing in Northern Nigeria should, as a matter of urgency, relocate to any other part of the world, including Biafraland.

Igbo property and businesses located in Northern Nigeria, if (still) and where insurable, should be covered by commercial insurance. It is recommended that business arrangements, where possible, be put in place to mitigate total loss. Huge losses are anticipated. Accurate property and business inventory and documentation are to be kept in a safe and secure place.

Biafrans will respect and support the choice of Northerners living in Biafraland to stay in Biafraland. All Property / business ownership rights will be respected and treated according to international law and standards.

The foregoing applies to any region of Nigeria where the Igbo and other Biafrans and their properties are so threatened.

Next Steps:
Universal commitment to and support of the Self Determination efforts of Biafrans and pro-Biafra activism

Universal commitment to and activation of an effective, swift Referendum process and timetable leading to regaining of Biafraís Sovereign Independence.

Full support and total respect of the Self Determination Rights and related activities of all nations and ethnicities residing in Nigeria.

Call on the UN to stand by its Self Determination Resolution and support non-violent acts and processes in the actualization thereof.

Rationale:
We take any threats from Northern Nigeria seriously, because history and facts show that all that is needed is an excuse for Northerners to engage in pogrom, ethnic cleansing and genocide against Igbo and Biafrans. Earlier bloody events through the 40ís and 50ís are on record. The 1966 pogroms, the prelude to the Biafra War, were a gruesome show for the world to see. More blood-letting occurred in pre-Boko Haram reign just recently, tied in with Buhariís electoral losses and even win.

The reassurances of the safety and security of the Igbo by scared local Igbo leaders in the North are misplaced: in the past, such reassurances have not resulted in the safety or security of Igbo people and their properties in Northern Nigeria.

The statements and body language of OHANEZE and some Igbo elite, including Igbo governors, are those of frightened persons suffering from the Stockholm Syndrome and largely looking after their own cliqueís interest and comfort; we expect them to continue to talk about ìrestructuringî one Nigeria, which they and the rest of Nigeria already know is impossible.

There is no reason to count on any organ of the Nigerian government to protect or guarantee the security and safety of the Igbo anywhere in Nigeria at all, but most especially, in Northern Nigeria. Facts, history and experience prove that at best the Nigerian government acts as an enabler and facilitator in the destruction and elimination of Igbo and Biafra and their dispossession. (Remember Fulani Herdsmen marauders). The reality though is that the Nigerian government is actively, directly involved in killing, maiming and destruction of the Igbo and Biafra and their culture and property. (Remember the Biafra War, MASSOB and IPOB).

The UN has provided the Self Determination Resolution instrument. It is a good instrument which can be deployed for a non-violent process in its fulfilment. The UN must stand by it. We are applying this instrument.

Referendum is a known international sociopolitical procedure of conflict resolution consistent with Self Determination; this we shall apply here and now. The UN can and should support Referendum in Nigeria.

Emmanuel Enekwechi, PhD
PM, BGIE.
Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by Outofsync(m): 4:56pm On Jun 18, 2017
Clearly you folks haven't been to Kaduna...
Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by naturalman: 2:00am On Aug 10, 2017
Following
Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by guru03(m): 2:57am On Aug 10, 2017
naturalman:
The above list can closely be followed by .....

(11)ENUGU STATE.....the ever increasing population growth of the coal city is running into more LGA around Enugu north and south LGA....places like Awgwu,nith mile, orji river,emene etc are becoming urbanized... and do to the current infrastructural upgrade of Nzukka...the town is capturing more LGA due to the economic activities....

(12)OSUN STATE.....This state is also Urbanized considering places like ile ife, Ilesha, owo and Oshogbo....aside Oshogbo most of this places are urbanized but rural in nature...places like Ilesha and owo..

(13)EDO STATE.....okada and Benin are highly urbanized areas and are very large capturing many LGA.

(14)KADUNA STATE

(15)ONDO STATE

(16)BAYELSA STATE

(17)PLATEAU STATE

(18) CROSS RIVER STATE

(19)BENUE STATE STATE

(20)EBONY STATE

(21)EKITI STATE

(22)BORNO STATE

(21) KWARA STATE

(22) KOGI STATE

You need to go back and do your home work well, the fact that you have traveled within the country does not mean you should come and post this thrash. this your report is null and void.
Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by Armaggedon: 9:02am On Aug 10, 2017
naturalman:

Guy, rivers state is more urbanized than Anambra....places like Oyibo,omoku,buguma,bonny,bori etc are highly urbanized... try and visit
you truly don't know what urbanization means. urbanization in Anambra is going to 70% while in Rivers most areas are still not urbanized. Aside Onitsha , Awka and Nnewi there are areas like Ekwulobia Ihiala etc that are urban areas

Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by naturalman: 3:43pm On Aug 10, 2017
guru03:
[color=#990000][/color]

You need to go back and do your home work well, the fact that you have traveled within the country does not mean you should come and post this thrash. this your report is null and void.

If you don't have anytin meaningful to contribute.... keep quiet and move on
Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by Terrorsquad101: 3:57pm On Aug 10, 2017
Abagworo:
. Osun sugbukwa gi there. anumanu dika gi

agadi ekwe nka

Cc:Lasgidiowner
Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by Nobody: 5:14pm On Aug 10, 2017
Klinee:
Guy no matter how big portharcourt is you can never compare Rivers State and Anambra State. portharcourt is not up to 3% of Rivers land mass even if it is up to 5%, the rest 95% of land mass still contain many typical urbanised village which is not like that in Anambra.

All the Anambra towns(Onitsha,Awka,Nnewi) put together are not even up to 1/3 the size of Port Harcourt City.
Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by Nobody: 5:17pm On Aug 10, 2017
Armaggedon:
you truly don't know what urbanization means. urbanization in Anambra is going to 70% while in Rivers most areas are still not urbanized. Aside Onitsha , Awka and Nnewi there are areas like Ekwulobia Ihiala etc that are urban areas

It's obvious the only place ibos know in Rivers is Port Harcourt.
Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by LasGidiOwner: 5:21pm On Aug 10, 2017
Port Harcourt is at least 85% slum and ghettos. It is only 15% of PH that is considerable. Do you classify slums and ghettos as part of your so called PHC? So I wonder where you got your (1/3 size). I have pictures of your PHC in case you need them. Of what use is a big slum/ghetto? cool

Ekinematics:

All the Anambra towns(Onitsha,Awka,Nnewi) put together are not even up to 1/3 the size of Port Harcourt City.

Re: 10 Most Urbanized States In Nigeria.... by Markfemi: 5:22pm On Aug 10, 2017
Oxtonguy:
That's facts not trash

See The NTA That Lai Mohammed Wanted To Refurbish With $500m Loan / INEC May Not Make NIN Compulsory For Voter Registration / FG Creates Mines Marshal Drawn From Nigeria Security And Civil Defence Corps

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 78