₦airaland Forum

Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,186,585 members, 4,767,847 topics. Date: Monday, 18 February 2019 at 10:17 PM

What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? - Literature - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Literature / What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? (5948 Views)

Read A Book Today!!! / Use A Book Title To Wish Two People A Merry Christmas / Importance Of Editing And Reviewing A Manuscript (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply) (Go Down)

What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by NManonymous(m): 10:35pm On Nov 10, 2017
what is the difference between reviewing a book and summarizing a book?
Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by iluvpomo(m): 6:11am On Nov 14, 2017
Reviewing a book = making a qualitative assessment of the book (was the book 'a good read', 'informative' or 'too voluminous' etc)
Summarizing a book = condensing the book or in essence giving a brief narrative of what you have read/understood from the book.

Wow FTC on NL FP .... this Sunday, I no sleep for Church for the first time this year and so I knew I was going to receive a big blessing! Please mod, how do I collect my tin of peak milk?

22 Likes 2 Shares

Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by sonnie10: 6:11am On Nov 14, 2017
The first is your opinion (veiws- reviewing) about the contents of the book while the later is a short, concise version of the main ideas or topics of the book.

4 Likes 1 Share

Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by iHart(m): 6:12am On Nov 14, 2017
To review a book is to check if it contains what it is suppose to contain. That is to check if the content is right. To summarize a book is to give an abstract of the book which explains the content in a shortened form.
Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by Notion(m): 6:14am On Nov 14, 2017
there is a difference....am coming

1 Like

Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by Ourown(m): 6:14am On Nov 14, 2017
Reviewing as in reading and leaving your opinion about what you read with critics.


Summarizing as in reading and reproducing what you read in small and coincince format


I Stand to be corrected!

5 Likes

Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by Ourown(m): 6:15am On Nov 14, 2017
cool

1 Like

Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by Jemerson: 6:15am On Nov 14, 2017
Wait
Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by Coldfeets: 6:16am On Nov 14, 2017
The difference is the taste.

And the taste is the difference. wink

1 Like

Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by eezeribe(m): 6:16am On Nov 14, 2017
This kind of thread should not be making front page.... When citizens from other countries see it,I wonder what they would think of the average Nigerian youth or our educational system...
It's really a shame if the op actually doesn't know the difference between a book review and summary.

1 Like

Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by Offpoint: 6:17am On Nov 14, 2017
Reviewing a book is when you seat down and review the epistle you wrote. while summarizing is when you realize there are lazy people like me how can read that far... so, you have no choice than to summarize it to show you're not biased to
your readers/audience.

op if you're not satisfy with my explanation.. I dey my house you can come and do the needful. Good morning Nigeria/Biafrans
Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by baski92(m): 6:18am On Nov 14, 2017
Just more like you dey watch film OR you dey see film

Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by LegendaryArnold(m): 6:18am On Nov 14, 2017
Review is to analyze and criticize a book, giving your honest opinion while referencing the book. On the other hand, summarizing is simply to give a synopsis of the book. "What the book is about"
Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by donneco(m): 6:19am On Nov 14, 2017
They are the same, but mean different things.

Don't quote me.
Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by onimcee1(m): 6:24am On Nov 14, 2017
To review a book is to criticize or appreciate the book or to to both while summarizing a book is condensing the book into a concise and brief version, talking about the central messages.
Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by Slayer2: 6:25am On Nov 14, 2017
Even a child knows the difference. Mtchw. Useless question.

1 Like

Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by iluvpomo(m): 6:27am On Nov 14, 2017
Slayer2:
Even a child knows the difference. Mtchw. Useless question.
What an irony, this is what you have as your signature:
If you cannot help, don't ridicule. It's better to be silent than flay people on public for little attention

5 Likes 1 Share

Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by Slayer2: 6:31am On Nov 14, 2017
iluvpomo:
What an irony, this is what you have as your signature:
If you cannot help, don't ridicule. It's better to be silent than flay people on public for little attention


But the question get as e be na. Who doesn't know the difference between review and summarize.?

If you don't review a book, how then can you summarize it?

Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by Anijay1212(m): 6:33am On Nov 14, 2017
This op sef,see as you take style carry your gst term paper come dey disturb us. Till i write my own finish nobody been hear am,abeg park well mbok.
Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by cooldipo(m): 6:52am On Nov 14, 2017
Summary=waec wink
Review=postgraduate grin
Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by RapportNaija(m): 6:55am On Nov 14, 2017
It's good to read! FTC already has the definite definition of your question.

Read the BEST HEALTH BLOG IN AFRICA
Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by fixedhollies(m): 6:57am On Nov 14, 2017
Summarise is from the word summary. You make it small. Written in your own words. Reviewing a book is a greater task, you read, criticise the authors idea I.e his lapses and fallacies and present your own view.

Ur personal ideas are welcome in reviewing a book. They are not needed in summary.

2 Likes

Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by Hiccups: 7:05am On Nov 14, 2017
shocked
Review is a combination of two words (re & view), meaning you view again. In the case of published paper or article, this implies critical assessment of it.

On the other hand, Summary is about highlighting the key points of the paper without necessarily being critical. However, summary can also be critical
Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by xangerar: 7:07am On Nov 14, 2017
eezeribe:
This kind of thread should not be making front page.... When citizens from other countries see it,I wonder what they would think of the average Nigerian youth or our educational system...
It's really a shame if the op actually doesn't know the difference between a book review and summary.

I do not think it is a shame really. Better he asked than that he remained ignorant.

Everyone must not know everything at the same time. Even the ones who know may need to know again otherwise know more.

He may also had wanted to get different opinions on it as you can see none of those above explained it the same way.
Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by Jarus(m): 7:08am On Nov 14, 2017
Review: summarize and add your opinion of the book

Summarize: no need for your opinion

1 Like 1 Share

Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by Unionised(m): 7:11am On Nov 14, 2017
NManonymous:
what is the difference between reviewing a book and summarizing a book?

Review - Breakdown the book and give your opinion.

Summarize - Give a short explanation of what the book is trying to communicate.

Get it?
Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by sholla20(m): 7:27am On Nov 14, 2017
iluvpomo:
Reviewing a book = making a qualitative assessment of the book (was the book 'a good read', 'informative' or 'too voluminous' etc)
Summarizing a book = condensing the book or in essence giving a brief narrative of what you have read/understood from the book.

Wow FTC on NL FP .... this Sunday, I no sleep for Church for the first time this year and so I knew I was going to receive a big blessing! Please mod, how do I collect my tin of peak milk?
u need a medal for this, just exactly what i was gonna write.

1 Like

Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by SmellingAnus(m): 7:38am On Nov 14, 2017
Everyone above me on this thread that wrote about the differences actually got it right... It's easy to talk about the differences but when it has to do with its application , you find it much more difficult... I have reviewed and also summarized many books ... You may summarize a book very well but it may not be up to the standard of the lecturer that will want to mark it so you end up getting below average, you may even review a book very well, and a lecturer may feel that it wasn't properly done meanwhile to another lecturer, you have done more than enough... I also believe that when marking, some lecturers have their own views of what it means to review or summarize so they mark your scripts according to their expectations...

In summary.... OP, if you are still confused about the differences, then go with the simple explanation done by jarus... You can summarize it chapter by chapter depending on the minimum number of pages you were asked to have or you can also make it look like an abstract... The whole idea about summary is bringing out the main ideas of the book... (i.e what the book is all about or the most important pieces of information about the book... )
Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by delexy123: 7:44am On Nov 14, 2017
eezeribe:
This kind of thread should not be making front page.... When citizens from other countries see it,I wonder what they would think of the average Nigerian youth or our educational system...
It's really a shame if the op actually doesn't know the difference between a book review and summary.
I find your comment quite funny. pls, when has acquisition of knowledge result to poor educational system? Do the West have monopoly of knowledge? Skim through Reddit or Quora and you will find a lot of 'dumb' whites. This shows you are the type that with gulp down every idea from the West without applying critical thinking just because they are white and at any given opportunity trample on Nigeria values just to get a pat on the back from your beloved mental slave driver, the white man.
I advise you hold your low self-esteem to yourself instead of infecting others with it...

1 Like

Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by luvlymabel: 9:22am On Nov 14, 2017
Notion:
there is a difference....am coming
still waiting for you shaa
Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by Investnow2017: 9:42am On Nov 14, 2017
Ourown:
Reviewing as in reading and leaving your opinion about what you read with critics.


Summarizing as in reading and reproducing what you read in small and coincince concise format


I Stand to be corrected!
Re: What Is The Difference Between Reviewing A Book And Summarizing A Book? by MightyFortress: 12:53pm On Nov 20, 2017
Cool

(1) (Reply)

Tale Of A House Boy / {#speech #poem #kavita} Hindi Diwas Speech, Hindi Diwas Poem, Hindi Diwas Kavita / SOLUTION TO ALL THE 2012 NIGERIAN ESSAY COMPETITIONS

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (0) (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 103
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.