₦airaland Forum

Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,299,318 members, 5,054,282 topics. Date: Wednesday, 24 July 2019 at 01:23 AM

I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model - Car Talk - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Car Talk / I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model (1668 Views)

I Need Advice On Honda Crosstour / 8 Cheap Cars To Get You Into Tuning In Naija / 2017 Honda CRV Is Here, What Do You Think About It? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply) (Go Down)

I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by calculation(m): 2:33pm On Dec 15, 2017
Good day my good people of Nairaland,

Am planning of get a new vehicle and presently my choice is Honda CRV 2004 upward but not up to 2007 due to EGO.
My concern now is will the vehicle serve me for long period of time and can most of its challenge be easily solve if am to buy automatic or manual though i prefer manual transmission. Pls if you will help review the vehicle, consider the vehicle will be use for long journey twice in a month.
Also i want to know if the issue K leg at the rear wheel can be solve as i observe that most honda SUV always have k leg ie bending outward when loaded with little load at rear

Thanks for your contribution on my issue
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by nurey(m): 3:50pm On Dec 15, 2017
go and buy it, very reliable CUV, as for the K-leg, i think its a manufacturer built in, its not the only one that tends to show such, the hyundai IX35 and ford eco sport too does so. Every other thing is good when you buy a solid one not a lemon
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by calculation(m): 4:07pm On Dec 15, 2017
nurey:
go and buy it, very reliable CUV, as for the K-leg, i think its a manufacturer built in, its not the only one that tends to show such, the hyundai IX35 and ford eco sport too does so. Every other thing is good when you buy a solid one not a lemon
Thanks you sir and I need more contributions
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by HenryWilliams(m): 6:13pm On Dec 15, 2017
calculation:

Thanks you sir and I need more contributions

Solid vehicle.. Dependable.. I'm presently using a 03 model..

No 1. Pay attention to shaft... That's the weakest point.. You will probably change a couple during your ownership.

No 2. Rear struts are not too strong. So don't go loading stuff in the boot.. Tends to wear out quicker and gives that negative camber so typical..

Apart from that.. It's a regular dependable Honda.. It will serve u well.
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by captainking(m): 7:27am On Dec 16, 2017
nurey:
go and buy it, very reliable CUV, as for the K-leg, i think its a manufacturer built in, its not the only one that tends to show such, the hyundai IX35 and ford eco sport too does so. Every other thing is good when you buy a solid one not a lemon
Yesterday.. I discussed this kleg issue with a colleague who claimed to know a lot about cars ..he said the kleg issue is a sort of technology input in the car to give the car balance at high speeds.. Using ford and Honda crv and Benz as an example.. Therefore..i think it's the manufacturers that made it so.. Just saying boss
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by nurey(m): 7:49am On Dec 16, 2017
captainking:

Yesterday.. I discussed this kleg issue with a colleague who claimed to know a lot about cars ..he said the kleg issue is a sort of technology input in the car to give the car balance at high speeds.. Using ford and Honda crv and Benz as an example.. Therefore..i think it's the manufacturers that made it so.. Just saying boss

Not only those, I have also seen the 1999 to 2006 Ford explorer with same also the BMW X5. But I have never seen such on a Toyota product before, I think the first generation pilot too and it's odyssey sister also experience such phenomenon when they are loaded at the back.

It was discussed here as manufacturer built in for stability and such but I can't remember the thread

1 Like

Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by captainking(m): 9:07am On Dec 16, 2017
nurey:


Not only those, I have also seen the 1999 to 2006 Ford explorer with same also the BMW X5. But I have never seen such on a Toyota product before, I think the first generation pilot too and it's odyssey sister also experience such phenomenon when they are loaded at the back.

It was discussed here as manufacturer built in for stability and such but I can't remember the thread
i agree with you 200% boss.. German machines are just naturally powerful and designed to accommodate high speeds and load.. I also heard that newer Japan cars have that feature too.... A friend said he has seen a Camry 2008 with that feature.. Don't know how true that is..
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by bravolad(m): 11:53am On Dec 16, 2017
calculation:
Good day my good people of Nairaland,

Am planning of get a new vehicle and presently my choice is Honda CRV 2004 upward but not up to 2007 due to EGO.
My concern now is will the vehicle serve me for long period of time and can most of its challenge be easily solve if am to buy automatic or manual though i prefer manual transmission. Pls if you will help review the vehicle, consider the vehicle will be use for long journey twice in a month.
Also i want to know if the issue K leg at the rear wheel can be solve as i observe that most honda SUV always have k leg ie bending outward when loaded with little load at rear

Thanks for your contribution on my issue

I think the Honda CRV is reliable & with the right maintenance culture, you will have less issues to deal with. Ensure you don’t buy an abused CUV, hence engage a competent mechanic to carry out a PPI for you & get a vin report for peace of mind. You vehicle is as good as you keep it.

Concerning the k-leg issue you talked about, it’s actually a faulty rear shocks & sometimes faulty hubs that cause that. It’s not part of the design of any of the vehicles mentioned. Rather a careless and poor maintenance habit of the owners. Usually, a bent shock Leaves a vehicle with such a shape. While attempting to purchase a car, will you honestly buy one with that shape in place? These things stem from poor maintenance habit of owners & incompetent mechanics who assume that the car is designed that way.

Why is it that these cars are used in their pristine conditions in Europe, America & Asia but as soon as they get into Nigeria they loose these qualities? Some people don’t even wash their cars let alone buying the right spare parts for their cars & they are quick to blame manufacturers for the woes they put the cars.

@OP, buy the vehicle but pay close attention to its needs & it will serve you.

1 Like

Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by johnabraham: 1:53pm On Dec 16, 2017
calculation:
Good day my good people of Nairaland,

Am planning of get a new vehicle and presently my choice is Honda CRV 2004 upward but not up to 2007 due to EGO.
My concern now is will the vehicle serve me for long period of time and can most of its challenge be easily solve if am to buy automatic or manual though i prefer manual transmission. Pls if you will help review the vehicle, consider the vehicle will be use for long journey twice in a month.
Also i want to know if the issue K leg at the rear wheel can be solve as i observe that most honda SUV always have k leg ie bending outward when loaded with little load at rear

Thanks for your contribution on my issue

2003-2005 CRV is rugged and good for daily city as well as highway driving. I used it for 2 years. Bought as toks. My only issue was the hard front suspension which i believe that i did not got proper OEM parts.
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by computerglobal(m): 1:56pm On Dec 16, 2017
Diagnose and Run a history check on your Car To Know Internal Problems
Call/Sms/Whatsapp (Vin/chassis) to +234 - 806 -036 - 5068
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by calculation(m): 5:01pm On Dec 16, 2017
HenryWilliams:


Solid vehicle.. Dependable.. I'm presently using a 03 model..

No 1. Pay attention to shaft... That's the weakest point.. You will probably change a couple during your ownership.

No 2. Rear struts are not too strong. So don't go loading stuff in the boot.. Tends to wear out quicker and gives that negative camber so typical..

Apart from that.. It's a regular dependable Honda.. It will serve u well.

Thanks for those info, and if my assumption is right that your own CRV is automatic transmission, can you share your experience it durability and maintenance since you bought the model?
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by calculation(m): 5:08pm On Dec 16, 2017
johnabraham:


2003-2005 CRV is rugged and good for daily city as well as highway driving. I used it for 2 years. Bought as toks. My only issue was the hard front suspension which i believe that i did not got proper OEM parts.
This is good for me from experienced user. Thanks. Pls can you elaborate on the issue of hard front suspension? Is it that easily get problem or damage?
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by calculation(m): 5:27pm On Dec 16, 2017
bravolad:


I think the Honda CRV is reliable & with the right maintenance culture, you will have less issues to deal with. Ensure you don’t buy an abused CUV, hence engage a competent mechanic to carry out a PPI for you & get a vin report for peace of mind. You vehicle is as good as you keep it.

Concerning the k-leg issue you talked about, it’s actually a faulty rear shocks & sometimes faulty hubs that cause that. It’s not part of the design of any of the vehicles mentioned. Rather a careless and poor maintenance habit of the owners. Usually, a bent shock Leaves a vehicle with such a shape. While attempting to purchase a car, will you honestly buy one with that shape in place? These things stem from poor maintenance habit of owners & incompetent mechanics who assume that the car is designed that way.

Why is it that these cars are used in their pristine conditions in Europe, America & Asia but as soon as they get into Nigeria they loose these qualities? Some people don’t even wash their cars let alone buying the right spare parts for their cars & they are quick to blame manufacturers for the woes they put the cars.

@OP, buy the vehicle but pay close attention to its needs & it will serve you.

I appreaciate for those point bolded and already noted. Thanks.
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by calculation(m): 5:29pm On Dec 16, 2017
computerglobal:
Diagnose and Run a history check on your Car To Know Internal Problems
Call/Sms/Whatsapp (Vin/chassis) to +234 - 806 -036 - 5068
I will get across through contact when am good to go
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by johnabraham: 6:09pm On Dec 16, 2017
calculation:

This is good for me from experienced user. Thanks. Pls can you elaborate on the issue of hard front suspension? Is it that easily get problem or damage?

the suspension is not easily damageable. infact its very rugged. as i said that i did not got correct parts installed in mine which means my auto technician that time was not competent. its a vehicle worth going for if 2003-2005 is your choice. all the best
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by HenryWilliams(m): 7:19pm On Dec 16, 2017
calculation:


Thanks for those info, and if my assumption is right that your own CRV is automatic transmission, can you share your experience it durability and maintenance since you bought the model?

Maintenance is affordable.. Parts are comparatively inexpensive compared to other Honda models.
Durability is 100%. A vehicle that will get you there, everytime.
It's a good buy if it's toks or well used.. You will hate the car if it's a lemon.
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by calculation(m): 11:08pm On Dec 16, 2017
HenryWilliams:


Maintenance is affordable.. Parts are comparatively inexpensive compared to other Honda models.
Durability is 100%. A vehicle that will get you there, everytime.
It's a good buy if it's toks or well used.. You will hate the car if it's a lemon.
Thanks for piece of info sir,
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by calculation(m): 11:11pm On Dec 16, 2017
johnabraham:


the suspension is not easily damageable. infact its very rugged. as i said that i did not got correct parts installed in mine which means my auto technician that time was not competent. its a vehicle worth going for if 2003-2005 is your choice. all the best
I really appreciate ur generous info on issue. Thanks
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by MRLANNISTER(m): 2:34am On Dec 18, 2017
calculation:
Good day my good people of Nairaland,

Am planning of get a new vehicle and presently my choice is Honda CRV 2004 upward but not up to 2007 due to EGO.
My concern now is will the vehicle serve me for long period of time and can most of its challenge be easily solve if am to buy automatic or manual though i prefer manual transmission. Pls if you will help review the vehicle, consider the vehicle will be use for long journey twice in a month.
Also i want to know if the issue K leg at the rear wheel can be solve as i observe that most honda SUV always have k leg ie bending outward when loaded with little load at rear

Thanks for your contribution on my issue

Oga, go and buy it. My wife used it for 4 yrs without any issues. I only upgraded her to 09 this year. She been no wan drop the moto. That ride is over reliable.
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by Lovetinz(m): 6:55am On Dec 19, 2017
I drive one (04),
Use good fluids.
Mind your air conditioner usage, don't turn it off and on erratically.
Once in a while, get a torchlight and inspect your suspension parts yourself.
Use the original tyre sizes, I sometiime see smaller, cheaper Tyre sizes mounted.
Drive gently. It's more economical and comfortable.
Don't buy manual, first and second are low -lots of gear changing.
Overall: it's a good car.
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by calculation(m): 10:09pm On Dec 19, 2017
Lovetinz:
I drive one (04),
Use good fluids.
Mind your air conditioner usage, don't turn it off and on erratically.
Once in a while, get a torchlight and inspect your suspension parts yourself.
Use the original tyre sizes, I sometiime see smaller, cheaper Tyre sizes mounted.
Drive gently. It's more economical and comfortable.
Don't buy manual, first and second are low -lots of gear changing.
Overall: it's a good car.
Please can you expanciate on bolded statement. Also why did go against manual? Need explanation sir
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by Believe33: 11:19pm On Dec 19, 2017
I need price list for the following cars in Nigeria especially in Lagos and PH

Toyota Camry 2007,2011 and 2013. Toyota Corolla 2007, 2009, 2013. Toyota Highlander 2001-2004. Lexus RX 330 and 350. Sienna CE 2005, 2008. USA spec, lagos clearance.
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by Believe33: 11:20pm On Dec 19, 2017
I need price list for the following cars in Nigeria especially in Lagos and PH

Toyota Camry 2007,2011 and 2013. Toyota Corolla 2007, 2009, 2013. Toyota Highlander 2001-2004. Lexus RX 330 2001 to 2006 and RX 350 2007. Sienna CE 2005, 2008. USA spec, lagos clearance.
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by Lovetinz(m): 3:17am On Dec 20, 2017
calculation:

Don't buy manual, first and second are low -lots of gear changing.

Please can you expanciate on bolded statement. Also why did go against manual? Need explanation sir
If gear1 will take YOU up to 30km/hr
And gear1 will take ME to 20km/hr

My car is low-geared compared to yours, I will need to change gears more often than you to cover the same distance, or to achieve a given speed.
In an automatic the car handles the gear shifts,
in a manual, you do more leg and handwork
This can be bothering in city traffic.
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by calculation(m): 2:32pm On Dec 20, 2017
Lovetinz:

If gear1 will take YOU up to 30km/hr
And gear1 will take ME to 20km/hr

My car is low-geared compared to yours, I will need to change gears more often than you to cover the same distance, or to achieve a given speed.
In an automatic the car handles the gear shifts,
in a manual, you do more leg and handwork
This can be bothering in city traffic.
Thanks sir, msg copy
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by calculation(m): 6:29pm On Dec 30, 2018
Vehicle already acquired and performance on is just too good for manual transmission.

Thanks for those that contribute for this review.
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by aquila3: 7:07pm On Dec 30, 2018
calculation:
Vehicle already acquired and performance on is just too good for manual transmission.

Thanks for those that contribute for this review.
pls where and how much did you buy it (which model).thanks
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by calculation(m): 1:27am On Dec 31, 2018
aquila3:
pls where and how much did you buy it (which model).thanks

Purchased in Lagos with just a year used by a nursing mother who decided to sell because of wish to use auto version. All info on the said crv were all true because of dealing with direct owner based on documents shown. price is high because something good don't come cheap but less than toks price by far. Also model is EX trim
Re: I Need Review From Experienced User In Naija On Honda CRV 2003 - 2005 Model by aquila3: 12:36am On Jan 01
calculation:


Purchased in Lagos with just a year used by a nursing mother who decided to sell because of wish to use auto version. All info on the said crv were all true because of dealing with direct owner based on documents shown. price is high because something good don't come cheap but less than toks price by far. Also model is EX trim
Alright sir

(1) (Reply)

How Can I Stop A Smoking Engine From Smoking Any Fluid? / You Can't Beat It.nissan Altima With Strong Camry Engine For Sale. / My 2003 Camry Automatic Gear Problem

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (0) (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 151
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.