Stats: 3,154,499 members, 7,823,167 topics. Date: Friday, 10 May 2024 at 05:32 AM

It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo (19958 Views)

"You Don't Have Shame" - Nigerians Slams PDP Spokesman For Defending Gov. Wike / Five Top Politicians That Will Spend Christmas In Jail(photos) / What a shame - Nigerians reacts at Buhari after participating in the TheCandidat (2) (3) (4)

It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by NewsAfriq: 4:46pm On Dec 25, 2017
Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo has admitted that it is a shame Christmas celebration in Nigeria has so far been characterised by discomfort caused by the lingering fuel scarcity.

His Senior Special Assistant on Media and Publicity, Mr. Laolu Akande, in a statement on Monday morning quoted the Vice President as speaking during the interactions he had with some people keeping vigil at two filling stations in Lagos.

Osinbajo was said to have made surprise appearances at Oando Filling Station in Lekki and Hayden Petrol Station, Victoria Island.

“It’s such a shame that Christmas has been, to some extent, with this sort of discomfort.

“This is deeply regretted, and l know that, despite the resilience and strength of people in Lagos and the Nigerian people, we would see ourselves through this and will enjoy our Christmas and have a great new year,” he was quoted as telling those who were on queue to buy the scarce commodity.

He said the Federal Government was moving as quickly as it could to solve the fuel crisis and reduce the difficulties Nigerians were facing as a result.

He added, “We are trying to move as quickly as we can. Obviously, people have gone through a lot of pain and anguish in the past few days, and that is deeply regretted.

“We are trying to do what we can to move as quickly as possible and there is certainly enough products to be able to solve the problem.

“We will be able to solve the problem; the short period of scarcity is quite a bit of burden, but we know that so long as products are enough and the trucks coming out and feeding the stations, this will be over very soon.

“I am going around with the Honourable Minister of State for Petroleum Resources here in Lagos to ensure that first, the trucks are being loaded from all the depots, and also looking at the filling stations to see that things are moving on very well.

“The GMD of the NNPC is also working in Abuja to see that things are moving quickly and we are moving around the country. So we expect that it will be resolved very quickly.”

Osinbajo later took to his social media accounts to announce that he witnessed firsthand the discomfort Nigerians have been experiencing during his visits to the filling stations.

He assured Nigerians that the government is working hard to end their pains as soon as possible.

He added that President Muhammadu Buhari had mandated all those concerns to bring an end to the situation.

Osinbajo wrote, “Christmas is a time of cheer, joy, and hope for the coming New Year. Many people would love to be around their families, but regrettably, cannot because of the inadequacies in the fuel supply in different parts of the nation.

“This is something that President Buhari is deeply concerned about, mandating all relevant persons to bring an end to the fuel queues.

“I witnessed first-hand the discomfort that many of us have to contend with. We sympathise with you and we are working assiduously to eliminate this pain in the shortest possible time.

“We regret this inconvenience while assuring you that all hands are on deck to return things to normalcy.

“I do hope that you still find time to reflect on the miracle of Christmas to lift your spirit and that of your family. God bless you and God bless our great nation.”

https://www.google.com.ng/amp/punchng.com/its-a-shame-nigerians-are-celebrating-christmas-in-discomfort-osinbajo/amp/

Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by okosodo: 4:55pm On Dec 25, 2017
It's a pity that in the midst of all these hullabaloo, the vice-president of a country is talking like these. You people can see where tribalism and bigotry have taken us to

27 Likes

Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by hotspec(m): 4:58pm On Dec 25, 2017

Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by Paperwhite(m): 5:06pm On Dec 25, 2017
It's rather a shame that the APC-led government is using propaganda to shore up a useless image of Buhari when Nigerians are groaning under a widespread unprecedented hardship inflicted on them as a result of their super-cluelessness. angry angry

71 Likes 4 Shares

Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by PointZerom: 5:11pm On Dec 25, 2017
More shameful that an ancestral spirit is the President of Nigeria.

56 Likes 2 Shares

Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by MicheyJ1: 5:13pm On Dec 25, 2017
All your children traveled to London to celebrate Christmas, so trust me you don't understand our discomfort at all.

93 Likes 6 Shares

Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by MrHistorian: 5:22pm On Dec 25, 2017
Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by Lescalier: 5:22pm On Dec 25, 2017
Big shame.

I hope in 2019 Nigeria will vote Change.

Le keep changing, untill we see the real change.

Atiku 2019

Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by Uyiii: 5:22pm On Dec 25, 2017
I loss respect for this short man the day he said graduates should ignore their certificates, yes it's true 9ja is a certificate less dungeon, but those words shouldn't be spewed out by a so called professor in government.
You know why I like 9ja, we've been punished from time immemorial with a government who knows how to play the victim card, like they're very excellent in it.
I read his whole statement and could only highlight the stupidity and backwardness romancing his speech. is it by going to filling stations to speak stupid English that's gonna remedy the nebulous lives the common masses have been going through?

It's very unfortunate they're gonna win again, even if they don't, see who they're gonna be replaced with, Atiku.
I see youths gallivanting around composing hymns for atiku and I say mehn, 9ja is gone, every man for himself in this country, 9ja is gone.
It's unfortunate I am a nigerian, I am not proud of my country.

27 Likes 3 Shares

Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by MrsNwaAmaikpe(f): 5:22pm On Dec 25, 2017
Mere commissioner Osunbade should go and sit down.

By 2019, he will be sent back to Redeem to continue collecting tithes while his accomplice will be sent back to his cows in Duara

26 Likes 1 Share

Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by anibi9674: 5:23pm On Dec 25, 2017
it is a big shame to think that the solution to this discomfort is the president softer side we don't know about.

Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by ejerukeuzezi(m): 5:23pm On Dec 25, 2017
it's alright
Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by geostrata(m): 5:24pm On Dec 25, 2017
why not blame PDP

Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by kelvyn7: 5:24pm On Dec 25, 2017
Hmmmmmn...

This picture speaks volumes... cry

Good old days...We might never see petrol at that price again cry

23 Likes 2 Shares

Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by SAMBARRY: 5:24pm On Dec 25, 2017
Smh

Osibanjo enough of the grammar.we're sick of it.just do something about it

8 Likes 2 Shares

Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by gurunlocker: 5:24pm On Dec 25, 2017
It's almost over, we will endure till 2019 and send you back to church while dullarpho goes to daura...

Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by stevenosa(m): 5:24pm On Dec 25, 2017
They should all go and hide their faces, all of them.
Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by NaijaMutant(f): 5:24pm On Dec 25, 2017
It seems Osinbajo is trying hard to exonerate himself from the failure of buhari.

Osinbajo is a joint failure by association.

We don't care anymore if he's our pastor
Our pastor that cannot give us fuel, shey that one na pastor?

Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by morereb10: 5:24pm On Dec 25, 2017
stop identifying with our predicament

do something about it

thats why you are the vice president

Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by kings09(m): 5:24pm On Dec 25, 2017
But ur wicked n insensitive femi adesina never saw it dat way...afterall life must go on. And i agree, life must go on to ensure we vote out ur useless govt.

I just de imagine wat d likes of femi adesina will do wen dis useless govt is finally booted out.

Oloshi media spokesman

Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by SirLakes: 5:25pm On Dec 25, 2017
We'll blame GEJ grin
Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by lilfreezy: 5:25pm On Dec 25, 2017
short man devil angry

Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by Rockafellar(m): 5:25pm On Dec 25, 2017
it's a BIG SHAME!! Untold hardship
Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by Chrisrare: 5:25pm On Dec 25, 2017
Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by anuoluwapo884(m): 5:25pm On Dec 25, 2017
Courtesy of you and your OLODO boss blame it on GEJ angry
Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by benpedro(m): 5:25pm On Dec 25, 2017
Its a shame we'll send you and Buhari back to oshogbo and Daura respectively!
Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by donbrowser(m): 5:26pm On Dec 25, 2017
Hmmmm
Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by NothingDoMe: 5:26pm On Dec 25, 2017

Always trying to mend Buhari's mess up.
Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by Ikmontana1: 5:26pm On Dec 25, 2017
stupid leaders

Re: It’s A Shame Nigerians Are Celebrating Christmas In Discomfort – Osinbajo by Uyi168: 5:26pm On Dec 25, 2017
at this critical stage of our nationhood,one thing we cnt afford to do is lie and deceive ourselves,we must,irrespective of our political affiliation join hands together to send buhari back to daura come 2019...his administration has failed!

HURIWA Tells Imo Traditional Rulers To Resign / Hon. Ben Nwankwo Recognized As Honorary Citizen Of Awka Ancient Kingdom / Lesson From Governor Umahi's Visit To Abia By Philip Nweze