Stats: 3,154,586 members, 7,823,528 topics. Date: Friday, 10 May 2024 at 11:25 AM

Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know - Phones (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Phones / Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know (42764 Views)

Urgent Apple Warning: Every iPhone User Should Check Settings Now! / 8 Things Every Smartphone User Should Consider When Getting A New Phone / 7 Dirty Google Secrets Every Internet User Should Know (2) (3) (4)

Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by kereman1: 9:11pm On Aug 03, 2018
EwuOjota:
BBTD:
Buhari back to Daura
Epic

Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by CeeteeBoii(m): 9:11pm On Aug 03, 2018
Tell these people BTW means "by the way" and not 'between'

Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by tolexy007(m): 9:12pm On Aug 03, 2018
Tfu
Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by BreezyRita(f): 9:12pm On Aug 03, 2018
Impulse80:

End of discussion.

I thought so too. But I've seen it used where "end of discussion" just doesn't fit. So I thought to ask.

Thanks anyway.

Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by esty27: 9:13pm On Aug 03, 2018
nonsense
Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by Ayemileto(m): 9:13pm On Aug 03, 2018
flexyrule:
What about BMC?

I kinda see that abbreviation here alot.

Buhari media crew grin

Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by pxjosh(m): 9:13pm On Aug 03, 2018
What does YIMU mean

Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by semyman: 9:14pm On Aug 03, 2018
EwuOjota:
BBTD:

Buhari back to Daura
Buhari kill you there

Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by JustCallMeTimmy(m): 9:14pm On Aug 03, 2018
flexyrule:
What about BMC?

Buhari MEDIA CREW grin grin
Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by EwuOjota: 9:14pm On Aug 03, 2018
semyman:
Buhari kill you there

And you too

Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by Tajbol4splend(m): 9:15pm On Aug 03, 2018
Those acronyms have made life easy for those who barely know correct spellings, they can write a novel with acronyms.

Meanwhile I'd love to say a big shout out to my parents, my siblings and my best friend, my love and kisses to all of you tonight wherever you are

Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by chicoMX(m): 9:16pm On Aug 03, 2018
BreezyRita:
There's one I dont know. Forgotten too.

Oh wait! EOD. What's it mean, op?

end of discussion.

na name of car too.

Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by Bjornson01(m): 9:16pm On Aug 03, 2018
SMH= shaking my head
SSMH= seriously shaking my head
LLNP= long life and prosperity
Good P. M= good evening
Good A. M= good morning
RSVP= rice and stew very plenty
FYI= for your information
THWR= that's how we Roll
LWKMD= laugh wan kill me die
smtcheeeeew= hissing

Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by ikorodureporta: 9:17pm On Aug 03, 2018
Nobody gree create post again
Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by blackgold2018(m): 9:20pm On Aug 03, 2018
What a fu*k does "TH" means?
Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by Mofpearl: 9:20pm On Aug 03, 2018
Interesting.
Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by nwanyiugbo122(f): 9:20pm On Aug 03, 2018
So many Nlders use here that I didn't know sef.
Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by Horduncee(m): 9:20pm On Aug 03, 2018
Gpu
Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by nabegibeg: 9:21pm On Aug 03, 2018
daewoorazer:
As against lol, lmao, ROTFL and the likes, social media is evolving with newly formed acronyms, the most popular are explained below:

MCM: Man Crush Monday

This is especially used by ladies to refer to the man with the most attractive features on their list, or perhaps celebrity or BF IRL (don’t worry, I’d tell you what IRL means later).

WCW: Woman Crush Wednesday

This is the alternate meaning of MCM, it’s just that it’s used on Wednesdays as against MCM used on Mondays.

TBH: To Be Honest

This is basically used to convince whomever you are conversing with. Like:

TBH, you are my WCW.

TBT: Throw-Back Thursdays

This is used on thursdays to dish out old memories most especially in pictures.

TT: Transformation Tuesday

This is an acronym for Tuesdays, to showcase workout goals, new haircut, whichever kind of transformation that comes to mind.

FBF: Flash-Back Friday

This is somewhat similar to TBT

LB: Like Back

This is mostly seen on pages of celebrities and it means to like back whatever they might have posted to their fans.

HMU: Hit Me Up

Literally means call/text me.

TIL: Today I Learned

IRL: In Real Life

Source:

https://naijacomet.com/2018/08/03/trending-social-media-acronyms-every-user-should-know/

These jargons are not required under an examination conditions
Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by JasonScoolari: 9:26pm On Aug 03, 2018
And of recent, G.O.A.T the one used by those drunk Ronaldo's fans.
Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by Maximus85(m): 9:26pm On Aug 03, 2018
seunO4:
BRB- be right back
TTYL- talk to you later
FYM- for your mind
IMO-in my own opinion
BTW- By the way
IKR- i know right
ITK - I too know
Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by Bjornson01(m): 9:26pm On Aug 03, 2018
Horduncee:
Gpu
Graphic Processing Unit
Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by etibaba(m): 9:27pm On Aug 03, 2018
CeeteeBoii:
Tell these people BTW means "by the way" and not 'between'
btw means between, but wen its capitalized it shows its an acronym for "By the way"

Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by okwabayi(m): 9:27pm On Aug 03, 2018
TFY: Thunder Fire You.
LWTMB: Laugh Wan Tear My Belle.
ISHYGDDT: I Seriously Hope You Guys Don’t Do That.
Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by Nobody: 9:27pm On Aug 03, 2018
BreezyRita:

end of discussion

Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by larrybabanla(m): 9:28pm On Aug 03, 2018
what is d meaning of op?

Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by asobo: 9:30pm On Aug 03, 2018
flexyrule:
What about BMC?
Buhari Media Campaign
Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by Dacronym(m): 9:33pm On Aug 03, 2018
Lol when ppl use this they are not actually laughing they are maybe smiling
But LMAO a lot of girls use it private Chats do they really laughing
Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by HeWrites(m): 9:33pm On Aug 03, 2018
BreezyRita:

End of Discussion
Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by okwabayi(m): 9:35pm On Aug 03, 2018
larrybabanla:
what is d meaning of op?
Original Poster. I don’t know why people always have a problem with this one. An alternate phrase is TS which means Thread Starter. I’ve seen some other synonyms for it depending on which forum you visit I but don’t know what those mean.

Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by Meekha(m): 9:41pm On Aug 03, 2018
What is the meaning of BMC?? i have been wanting to know it's meaning for long!
Re: Social Media Acronyms Every User Should Know by CeeteeBoii(m): 9:44pm On Aug 03, 2018
etibaba:
btw means between, but wen its capitalized it shows its an acronym for "By the way"

The other day, someone was like was like
"between,wizkid is a better vocalist than davido". i know he meant "by the way" and i corrected him.

LG Introduces LG16- The Cheapest Android Ever, Sells For N2000 / Tecno Camon 12 (N47,500) Vs Infinix S4 (N45,800) Speed Test Comparison(photos) / HUAWEI Y9 Prime 2019 Review— King Of Midrange? + Camera Samples