₦airaland Forum

Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,209,556 members, 4,821,989 topics. Date: Tuesday, 19 March 2019 at 03:57 AM

Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) - TV/Movies - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / TV/Movies / Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) (18397 Views)

LionHeart: Ugezu J Ugezi Reacts To Reviews Of Genevieve Nnaji‘s Movie / Genevieve Nnaji's Movie "Lionheart" Sold For N150 In Traffic / Nigerians React As Genevieve Nnaji LIONHEART Shows On Netflix. Trends On Twitter (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (Reply) (Go Down)

Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by echepops(m): 10:39am On Dec 27, 2018
Netflix bought worldwide rights to the Nollywood movie, LionHeart by the Nollywood star, Genevieve Nnaji, just a day before its world premiere at the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF).



Yesterday, being the 22nd of December, 2018, I went to see this movie.

Some people call it a comedy movie, but I doubt that that was the intention. It wasn’t meant to be a comedy, but because of the natural flawlessness of the characters, because of the presence of one of the most comic characters in Nollywood, Nkem Owoh, there came laughter.



I recently saw a Nollywood movie (name withheld) and I thought it was funny, the dry kind of funny. The funny that makes you laugh but doesn’t cross your oesophagus, and makes you feel that your laughter doesn’t belong to you. And the movie leaves you immediately you leave the hall.



But Lionheart felt completely different. The laughter that came out of me was not dry, it flowed freely like the source of it, down to the shoulders, to the heart, and to the unsilent feet, boldly stamping the carpeted floor of the hall.



I was utterly drawn by the lustrous current of the indigenous languages used. The proverbs were everything. E-V-E-R-Y-T-H-I-N-G.



Onyeka Onwenu is an awesome actor. The way she spoke on a particular scene completely took my breath away. She’d said, ‘you’ve always been able to do whatever you put your mind to’ in such an alluring way to Adaeze (Genevieve).



Lionheart was like watching a real family video with cultural values. And I loved the fact that this family didn’t pressurize the girl into marriage or ignore her because of her gender. I loved that this family took their company and the workers as family, and doing anything that would jeopardize their future was unacceptable.



And I loved the most that while the family sat together for lunch or dinner, that they talked like real family, real Igbo family; that there was this exhibition of fear for a boy who gets into music, that there was the tender admonition and laughter and the love that was so real and true. It equally showed a mother who believed in the dreams of her son, and you have no doubt that mothers are like this.



This movie doesn’t leave you when you leave the hall. It stays with you. It nudges you and tickles when you are walking down the street lighted by the neon lights, when you’re in the car listening to Phyno’s songs. And you’d decide in all of these that you’d see the movie again, and maybe again and again.



This movie has not gotten the hype it deserves.



https://stephenechefu.blogspot.com/2018/12/movie-review-lionheart-film-by.html?m=0

27 Likes

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by Skyfornia(m): 10:46am On Dec 27, 2018
Wawu! I wonder when Ozone Cinemas Yaba will show it, I checked their site yesterday and no mention of Lionheart.

6 Likes 1 Share

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by wakes(m): 12:43pm On Dec 27, 2018
I like Genevieve sha.

4 Likes

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by Mac1807: 12:44pm On Dec 27, 2018
[quote author=wikiadamin post=74208431]
I see u no gt handiwork

4 Likes

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by techking: 12:44pm On Dec 27, 2018
smiley cool cool cool

1 Like

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by johntheguru(m): 12:44pm On Dec 27, 2018
Niceee
Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by KingLennon(m): 12:44pm On Dec 27, 2018
Genevieve the black lady with a Lion Heart. One of the best of our time....

21 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by dinocy(m): 12:45pm On Dec 27, 2018
Is this Genevieve still single because i am looking for a wife

She’s pretty and gifted with alot of brian actives

5 Likes

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by grtboy51(m): 12:45pm On Dec 27, 2018
OK,wat next

1 Like

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by IstandWithGod(f): 12:45pm On Dec 27, 2018
The daughter of Nnaji the palm wine tapper who slapped the buttocks of Obiageli to test if it would shake in order to determine her fecundity, is making us proud cool

17 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by IrepChrist: 12:46pm On Dec 27, 2018
Good Job Genny may the lord grant you more wisdom to put up such job that promote societal values...Weldon.


But.... I have a dream that our Christian Movies will be well promoted as the secular.

6 Likes 1 Share

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by deedeemob(m): 12:46pm On Dec 27, 2018
I guess it's a must watch for me even though I'm not a fan of nollywood! A few of their movies are eye catching tho

4 Likes

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by sukerefakere(m): 12:47pm On Dec 27, 2018
Horror is bae
So I'll pass

1 Like 1 Share

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by ruggedtimi(m): 12:47pm On Dec 27, 2018
the movie name withheld is “chief daddy”

16 Likes 1 Share

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by KingThreatzz: 12:47pm On Dec 27, 2018
King of Boys remains the only Nigerian movie to actually impress me that I had to give it a 7 on IMDB. Kemi Adetiba sabi abeg.

21 Likes

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by HarkymTheOracle(m): 12:47pm On Dec 27, 2018
Interesting... smiley
Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by Nobody: 12:47pm On Dec 27, 2018
Lovely heartfelt review, cant wait to see the movie...as my eastern ppl say "Igbo Kwenu" grin

2 Likes

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by slimthugchimee2(m): 12:48pm On Dec 27, 2018
[quote author=Mac1807 post=74208477][/quote]

Aswear, I just dey laugh grin
Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by admax(m): 12:49pm On Dec 27, 2018
Lol
Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by okwabayi(m): 12:51pm On Dec 27, 2018
Did Atiku Abubakar sponsor this write up?

2 Likes

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by theunnamed: 12:51pm On Dec 27, 2018
The write up is spectacular, nice work op



NL should have a thumbs up emoji or emoticon

3 Likes 1 Share

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by WetinUGain: 12:51pm On Dec 27, 2018
Watched "chief daddy"........ don't think I can watch it again and if I can't watch a movie more than twice,it is not a movie nor epic to me.......

9 Likes

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by Pavore9: 12:51pm On Dec 27, 2018
Nice review.....Ndi board, ndewonu! cheesy
Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by okwabayi(m): 12:52pm On Dec 27, 2018
ruggedtimi:
the movie name withheld is “chief daddy”
One could spot it from a mile away.
I haven’t watched it nor do I care to but it doesn’t make sense to pit both movies against each other.
Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by aadoiza: 12:53pm On Dec 27, 2018
sukerefakere:
Horror is bae
So I'll pass
Horror movies these days are wack.
Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by Bragalane: 12:53pm On Dec 27, 2018
Nonsense review or praise song even blank pathetic was not this caressed on it’s best review. The movies does leave when you leave the cinema he go de finger your brain all the way to your house and beyond. This review is a joke by a gay.

3 Likes

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by 752hub: 12:57pm On Dec 27, 2018
WetinUGain:
Watched "big daddy"........ don't think I can watch it again and if I can't watch a movie more than twice,it is not a movie nor epic to me.......

Chief daddy or big daddy....which one ?

2 Likes

(1) (2) (3) (Reply)

IrokoTV / Pictures From Omotola's Reality TV Launch Party...celebs Spotted / #bbnaija: Bambam Wins Head Of House

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (0) (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 65
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.