₦airaland Forum

Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,276,153 members, 4,987,944 topics. Date: Tuesday, 18 June 2019 at 05:53 PM

Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) - TV/Movies (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / TV/Movies / Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) (19018 Views)

LionHeart: Ugezu J Ugezi Reacts To Reviews Of Genevieve Nnaji‘s Movie / Genevieve Nnaji's Movie "Lionheart" Sold For N150 In Traffic / Nigerians React As Genevieve Nnaji LIONHEART Shows On Netflix. Trends On Twitter (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by harry41: 8:06pm On Dec 27, 2018
I just watched the movie in a full hall and it was worth it and more. The actors, picture quality, the lessons to be learnt and the jokes were memorable and I will watch it over and over again. It is pure class. Kudos to Genevieve and all our nollywood veterans that featured.

6 Likes

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by Stake2odds: 8:20pm On Dec 27, 2018
Worst cinema movie I've seen this year, that movie should be sold only in alaba, how can you make such film without sub title? If you're not Ibo, please don't waste your money, I had to start interpreting to my friends, worse movie ever.

1 Like

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by harry41: 8:28pm On Dec 27, 2018
I watched the movie and it had subtitles. Moreover, the movie was majorly in English except I believe family scenes. The movie was great in my opinion and I don’t think you should discourage people just like that.

Stake2odds:
Worst cinema movie I've seen this year, that movie should be sold only in alaba, how can you make such film without sub title? If you're not Ibo, please don't waste your money, I had to start interpreting to my friends, worse movie ever.

4 Likes

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by nijabazaar: 8:53pm On Dec 27, 2018
aadoiza:

Horror movies these days are wack.

Is a lie.

Try hereditary and see if u can remain the same.

What of the Autopsy of Jane Doe. My friend, just humour me with this one and see if you can still say this comment

1 Like

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by KingThreatzz: 8:57pm On Dec 27, 2018
Youngsage:


Lol exactly.

@the bolded, that's my main reason of giving it such a high rating. The fact that she broke away from the status quo, taking the bar much higher and sort of made people who otherwise wouldn't have any reason to do nollywood at the cinemas, have a rethink is worthy of applause.
I myself noticed a few errors in the movie as well, mostly editing/continuity errors which were overlooked but still, a great movie it is.

Seconded

1 Like

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by preshdiva(f): 8:59pm On Dec 27, 2018
I relish this movie. I love that Genevieve assembled the Classics in this thrilling watch. I love love Osuofia's role as he played a good role to everyone's relief. Pete Edochie is a timeless actor, Onyeka Onwenu is undoubtedly meant for the screen, and Kanayo, the villian that he is, played his role. And Genevieve, oh, I loved her gowns and oh she didn't dissapoint. Very good movie!

6 Likes

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by Stake2odds: 11:34pm On Dec 27, 2018
harry41:
I watched the movie and it had subtitles. Moreover, the movie was majorly in English except I believe family scenes. The movie was great in my opinion and I don’t think you should discourage people just like that.


Hopefully it has been corrected, the one I saw didn't have any subtitle
Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by Afam4eva(m): 7:18am On Dec 28, 2018
KingThreatzz:
King of Boys remains the only Nigerian movie to actually impress me that I had to give it a 7 on IMDB. Kemi Adetiba sabi abeg.
I dey tell you. That movie was well thought out.

2 Likes

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by aadoiza: 7:19am On Dec 28, 2018
nijabazaar:


Is a lie.

Try hereditary and see if u can remain the same.

What of the Autopsy of Jane Doe. My friend, just humour me with this one and see if you can still say this comment
Autopsy of Jane doe? Yeah. About the best I've seen in the genre in a while.

1 Like

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by KingThreatzz: 8:07am On Dec 28, 2018
Afam4eva:

I dey tell you. That movie was well thought out.

Yes boss
Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by ObiBlessed(m): 6:37pm On Dec 30, 2018
echepops:
Netflix bought worldwide rights to the Nollywood movie, LionHeart by the Nollywood star, Genevieve Nnaji, just a day before its world premiere at the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF).



Yesterday, being the 22nd of December, 2018, I went to see this movie.

Some people call it a comedy movie, but I doubt that that was the intention. It wasn’t meant to be a comedy, but because of the natural flawlessness of the characters, because of the presence of one of the most comic characters in Nollywood, Nkem Owoh, there came laughter.



I recently saw a Nollywood movie (name withheld) and I thought it was funny, the dry kind of funny. The funny that makes you laugh but doesn’t cross your oesophagus, and makes you feel that your laughter doesn’t belong to you. And the movie leaves you immediately you leave the hall.



But Lionheart felt completely different. The laughter that came out of me was not dry, it flowed freely like the source of it, down to the shoulders, to the heart, and to the unsilent feet, boldly stamping the carpeted floor of the hall.



I was utterly drawn by the lustrous current of the indigenous languages used. The proverbs were everything. E-V-E-R-Y-T-H-I-N-G.



Onyeka Onwenu is an awesome actor. The way she spoke on a particular scene completely took my breath away. She’d said, ‘you’ve always been able to do whatever you put your mind to’ in such an alluring way to Adaeze (Genevieve).



Lionheart was like watching a real family video with cultural values. And I loved the fact that this family didn’t pressurize the girl into marriage or ignore her because of her gender. I loved that this family took their company and the workers as family, and doing anything that would jeopardize their future was unacceptable.



And I loved the most that while the family sat together for lunch or dinner, that they talked like real family, real Igbo family; that there was this exhibition of fear for a boy who gets into music, that there was the tender admonition and laughter and the love that was so real and true. It equally showed a mother who believed in the dreams of her son, and you have no doubt that mothers are like this.



This movie doesn’t leave you when you leave the hall. It stays with you. It nudges you and tickles when you are walking down the street lighted by the neon lights, when you’re in the car listening to Phyno’s songs. And you’d decide in all of these that you’d see the movie again, and maybe again and again.



This movie has not gotten the hype it deserves.



https://stephenechefu.blogspot.com/2018/12/movie-review-lionheart-film-by.html?m=0


Wants to download this movie, but can't find any site to download it!!
Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by KingThreatzz: 5:40am On Dec 31, 2018
ObiBlessed:

Wants to download this movie, but can't find any site to download it!!

You wont find Nollywood cinematic movies online that easily. Wait till its available online
Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by ObiBlessed(m): 12:26pm On Dec 31, 2018
KingThreatzz:


You wont find Nollywood cinematic movies online that easily. Wait till its available online
Thanks dear..
Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by abulude: 11:50pm On Jan 27
The movie is overrated and over hyped! While the movie parade lots of movie stars with wonderful picture quality, the story line is however predictable and unspectacular.

To be fair, the movie it's that bad but I don't think I would love to watch it again.

I would rate it 5/10.
Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by YellowSimba: 10:52am On Jan 29
_________________________________________________________




https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DXwb9ZvYPZ0
Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by BenzEne1(m): 1:44pm On Jan 29
nijabazaar:


Is a lie.

Try hereditary and see if u can remain the same.

What of the Autopsy of Jane Doe. My friend, just humour me with this one and see if you can still say this comment

Autopsy of Jane Doe was a good movie.
Unfriended dark web wasn't bad also. And for holiday horror it was Halloween 2018.

Anyway, Genevieve try sha. It's not up to a 9 but she try. I had issues with is it Paul or Peter's acting. Also the scene where Nkem Owoh convinced Hamza not to fall for a scam was plain fake. Maybe a 6 for her effort and a lot of good acting from the veterans.

1 Like

Re: Movie Review: LIONHEART (Genevieve Nnaji‘s Film) by Preshy93: 5:05pm On Jan 29
Lol. All join�

(1) (2) (3) (Reply)

Throwback: Your Favorite Bollywood Songs (Videos/Photos) / Stephen Hillenburg Dies At 57 (He Created Spongebob) / Deadpool Full Movie Download Free HD

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (0) (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 70
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.