Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,694,444 members, 6,350,518 topics. Date: Tuesday, 22 June 2021 at 07:53 AM

Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension (10971 Views)

Retirement Hell: Why Many Nigerian Pensioners Are Denied Access To Their Pension / Imo State Pensioners Protest On The Streets Over Non-Payment Of Pension / Benue Pensioners Protest Non-Payment Of Pensions With Coffin By Ortom (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (Reply) (Go Down)

Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by soloenzo(m): 2:19pm On Nov 04, 2019
Nigeria retirees under a platform known as the Nigerian Union of Pensioners(NUP) are protesting and demanding that the government reviews their minimum pensions. They matched and took the protest to

National Salaries, Incomes and Wages Commission’s office in Abuja.

This agitation emanates barely two months after the Federal government and organized labour reach an agreement on the new minimum wage of from grade level 1-5 and grade level 6 from #30,000 and the consequential adjustment agreement of grade level 7-17.

Speaking, the President of the Union, Pa Abel Afolabi made it clear that

the vast majority of pensioners depend on the token they receive for survival. And also decried that after the Federal Government and Organized labour had agreed upon the New Minimum wage and consequential adjustment, that no one has been able to bring forward before the government about the pay or minimum pension for the retirees.

He lamented that a “vast majority of pensioners in this country earn below N10,000. It is people in this category that are agitating on what is happening to us.

Responding, Chairman of National Salaries, Incomes and Wages Commission’s, Mr Ekpo Nta said that the President Buhari government is already working on it and that at the last Federal Executive Council, the matter was discussed.

The Chairman in his words said, “Everybody is aware during negotiation on the minimum wage and its consequential adjustment that there must be corresponding increase for pensioners and we shouldn’t wait for agitation again before we do that,” Nta assured the protesting pensioners.

https://ngg.ng/2019/11/04/nigeria-pensioners-protest-demands-review-of-minimum-pension/

1 Like

Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by idesylvester(m): 2:30pm On Nov 04, 2019
Like they say, "place every government officials on minimum wages and see how things will change"
Greedy country

6 Likes

Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by pmdyudybf: 2:38pm On Nov 04, 2019
sad bad government

1 Like 1 Share

Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by LANDLORD72: 2:38pm On Nov 04, 2019
Again
Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by Brandstudio01: 2:38pm On Nov 04, 2019
shocked
The Presidency will Listen to then. By the way they Campaigned Tirelessly for Mr President during the general election. Nevertheless, Nigerian Politicians are unpredictable

Anyway, l will Build a Professional Logo for your Product or Company For 2k Only. Offer valid today only. See my info below to Chat me up.
Pay on Delivery

1 Like

Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by YINKS89(m): 2:39pm On Nov 04, 2019
you never see the previous one collect you dey find increment

2 Likes

Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by GodIsWicked: 2:39pm On Nov 04, 2019
I think say na prisoners

4 Likes

Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by ednut1(m): 2:40pm On Nov 04, 2019
If you don't loot during service hunger will kill u during retirement. So many today in civil service on 50 to 100k salary. Lord help them in future o

9 Likes 1 Share

Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by nfhrujyfhrk: 2:40pm On Nov 04, 2019
see old people

stressing their self

1 Like 2 Shares

Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by DrNueLpureHoney: 2:40pm On Nov 04, 2019
Dx country matter big pass zuma rock undecided


Call or whatsapp 0"8"0"9215"195"9 if you need any Brand New or American used ( iPhone or Samsung ) phones or any Laptop.... You can also check my profile for other amazing offers
Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by LANDLORD72: 2:40pm On Nov 04, 2019
idokfigny:
prisoners no dey carry last o
Oga check your spelling because of ftc you type Rubbish

1 Like

Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by Sirnuel: 2:41pm On Nov 04, 2019
What is good for the goose is also good for the gander

1 Like

Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by akaahs(m): 2:41pm On Nov 04, 2019
na woow ooo
Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by ITbomb(m): 2:41pm On Nov 04, 2019
Hmm, strike won't even have effect

Only a nation with conscience that can see their cry but Nigeria had lost its conscience

1 Like

Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by Nickisindigo(m): 2:42pm On Nov 04, 2019
have seen people collecting 5k as monthly pension

2 Likes

Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by Aku2078: 2:42pm On Nov 04, 2019
As a corp member,I thought we will be paid 30k in October, only for me to see another 19,800...when will the implementation and arrears be paid jor

I hope they pay all before Christmas o

4 Likes

Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by prezee1(m): 2:43pm On Nov 04, 2019
make dem strike now

2 Likes

Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by sirusX(m): 2:44pm On Nov 04, 2019
Aku2078:
As a corp member,I thought we will be paid 30k in October, only for me to see another 19,800...when will the implementation and arrears be paid jor

I hope they pay all before Christmas o

Na long thing oh ...cz there are those still serving are still hoping
& the Naija I know will take advantage of those who have left the system cz no one would fight for you all after POP

2 Likes

Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by sammyj: 2:45pm On Nov 04, 2019
shocked shocked shocked grin grin grin grin
Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by 1kbusiness: 2:45pm On Nov 04, 2019
G
Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by Dozie32(m): 2:46pm On Nov 04, 2019
And stupid and useless EFCC are here looking a go ahead other to probe hushpoppy and others. While their idiots and thieves that they should go and probe. Idiots like our politicians ..i regret being a Nigerian.

1 Like

Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by windhunter(m): 2:47pm On Nov 04, 2019
I wonder how the aged ones who are not working and also not on a pension manage to survive.

1 Like

Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by heckymaicon(m): 2:50pm On Nov 04, 2019
Oga rotten bbq seller what's your useless daddy opinion on this issue?



Since it's crystal clear you are the Chief Zombie Association of Nairaland Resident Zombies - ANRZ.
Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by Angelfrost(m): 2:51pm On Nov 04, 2019
I remember the movie line in Con Air by Garland Greene (played by Steve Buscemi):..

"What if I told you insane was working fifty hours a week in some office for fifty years at the end of which they tell you to piss off; ending up in some retirement village hoping to die before suffering the indignity of trying to make it to the toilet on time?"

Words every hardworking young person should take to heart... It's well with Nigeria, and her civil service.
Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by Siberia01(m): 2:51pm On Nov 04, 2019
k
Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by mrgreen4real(m): 2:52pm On Nov 04, 2019
Why always Nigeria

An increase for one means an increase for all.

1 Like 1 Share

Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by efighter: 2:52pm On Nov 04, 2019
soloenzo:


Responding, Chairman of National Salaries, Incomes and Wages Commission’s, Mr Ekpo Nta said that the President Buhari government is already working on it and that at the last Federal Executive Council, the matter was discussed.

The Chairman in his words said, “Everybody is aware during negotiation on the minimum wage and its consequential adjustment that there must be corresponding increase for pensioners and we shouldn’t wait for agitation again before we do that,” Nta assured the protesting pensioners.

https://ngg.ng/2019/11/04/nigeria-pensioners-protest-demands-review-of-minimum-pension/

The Messiah is already working on it. God bless Nigeria.
Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by Goldencheese(m): 2:53pm On Nov 04, 2019
Govt should try and help pensioners, too.
Re: Nigerian Pensioners Protest, Demand Review Of Minimum Pension by yaki84: 2:58pm On Nov 04, 2019
Dozie32:
And stupid and useless EFCC are here looking a go ahead other to probe hushpoppy and others. While their idiots and thieves that they should go and probe. Idiots like our politicians ..i regret being a Nigerian.
So what is bad in probing hushpuppi?
Do u know on 31st Oct 2019 my mums acctwas cleaned entirely by those yahoo boys.
A pensioner plus widow with children who went to school but aint employed...
If u r part of hushpuppi God will punish u till ur tenth generation.

3 Likes 1 Share

(1) (2) (Reply)

Appeal court upholds Gabriel Suswam's Election / 7 Most Commonly Used Words In January 2012 In Naija / ​Governor Ugwuanyi Visits Bigard Memorial Seminary, Enugu

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2021 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 73
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.