Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,425,239 members, 5,443,584 topics. Date: Wednesday, 26 February 2020 at 08:01 PM

Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? - Music/Radio - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Music/Radio / Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? (40539 Views)

Download: Starboy Ft. Wizkid – Soundman EP (zip File) / DOWNLOAD ALBUM: Wizkid - Soundman EP Vol. 1 Ft. Starboy / Download Full Album: Soundman Vol. 1 EP By Wizkid (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (Reply) (Go Down)

Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by Synord: 1:27pm On Dec 06, 2019
6th of December 2019, Ayodeji Balogun aka Wizkidayo , aka Starboy, aka Machala , aka Sound man after recording a smash hit with Beyonce earlier in the year decided to pull a Beyonce on music listeners across the world by dropping his seven track Extended play entitled entitled " Sound man " .

Machala as he is fondly called decided to drop a surprise EP to wet the appetite of Wizkid FC and music listeners in anticipation of his highly awaited " Made in Lagos" album . After the release of Joro and ghetto love which were received with mixed reactions, Ayo decides to test the waters by dropping this project under the Starboy imprint and as we analyse this body of work, we will see whether indeed Baba bolu proved his Calibre and repute as Africa's biggest contemporary music export .


Producers - Blaqjerzee, London, KelP
Featured Artistes - Chronixx, Djtunez, Blaqjerzee, KelP, London
Label - Starboy

1) Jam featuring Chronixx

On Jam featuring Jamaican artiste, Chronixx, Wizkid gives us an opening reminiscent of his stellar efforts on Sounds from the other side .. Wizkid sings about Jamming the love of his life and begging her to come into his life .The highlight of the track is Chronixx who brings his A game on this track and spices it up with his patois vibes . The trumpet gives this jam , an Afrobeat feel and Wizkid lyrics which is a deviation from what he has been serving us for a while makes listeners hopeful for more . A perfect intro.

2) Blow ft Blaqjerzee

Something about Blow gives a vibe of "low", a song by Larry Gaaga featuring Wizkid which is also produced by the same producer , Blaq Jerzee . Wizkid tells the ladies to blow the trumpet and Jo fun Alhaji. Everything on this track screams Low. A decent track at most .


3) Cover me ft Djtunez

Kel P vibes showed his mastery of Afro beats production on Cover Me featuring Starboy resident disc jockey, Dj Tunez . Wizkid is having fun with the beat , reminiscient of his efforts on the Phantom produced " Master Groove " and Sarz produced " Ghetto youth ", Wizkid focuses more on the vibe and flow rather than lyrical artistry.
. This is Afro beats and Wizkid successfully delivered on this particular track ..One for the shrine .


4) Mine ft KelP

Perphaps the best track on the EP , the song offers the same vibe Wizkid delivered on the dokta frabz produced " Joy " . Wizkid showed his lyrical capacity , vocals and lovely flow on this one .. Laid back with a meaningful message and excellent production from KelP , Mine comes off as an instant classic and hit song .. Wizkid will do well to shoot a video of this song if he doesn't decide to go STFOS with the videos .

5) Electric ft London
London , Producer of Rema's Bad commando shows he is fast becoming a force to reckon with in terms of music production. The tracks so far shows Wizkid attempting to bring us back to those STFOS vibes .

" Say she bust everyday , she day make man craze "..

This sexual vibe which Baba bolu has termed electric vibe is one for the couples and clubs .. A serious whining song for the ladies and a serious stimulant for the production of babies .
A potential hit in the Carribean market too alongside Jam featuring Chronixx.

6) Ease your mind ft KelP

My Personal Favourite ..Kel P once again proves himself a magician . Wizkid goes motivational on this one urging his listeners to take life easy and ease their mind like Mr Eazi eases his mind whenever he is with temi otedola. As usual , the production from KelP is top notch and his input is once again felt on this Afro beats reggae themed project . Wizkid also shows he is fast becoming comfortable with the Afro beats genre , a serious deviation from the pop , Afro pop and rnb vibes which dominated his early days .. a 9/10 for me

7) Thankful ft Blaqjerzee

Okay .. This is the Lamba .. This sounds like the Manya vibe Wizkid gave us with Mutay . A December beer parlour and pepper soup joints Gbedu. Blaqjerzee delivered and Wizkid delivered too.. with a touch of prayer and street slangs , the song is destined to control the streets in a few weeks . The production feels good.

Final Verdict

Wizkid is having fun and catching cruise .. Perphaps following criticisms that trailed his last two offerings , Joro and Ghetto love , Wizkid decides to take us to his STFOS days and show us he is still capable of delivering lyrics and beautifully crafted vibes. The project feels like STFOS part 2 .

Wizkid is experimenting and showing us his versatility as he switches between reggae, Afrobeat , Rnb and some Familiar Carribean vibes .Wizkid is playing safe and little surprise he drops the project under the Starboy imprint.
One thing we can't take away is that Wizkid is good and delivers when he wants to .He is also listening to the reviews and critics ..

He wants to know what to give us in his Made in Lagos album hence the release of this project and also to prove a point to critics who are hell bent on questioning his lyrical capacity and dominance in the Afrobeats genre .This project shows that we might never actually Get our pop influenced Wizkid again as he is heavily influneced by afrobeats on the project. Some of the beats sound too similar but Wizkid manages to give a different flavour to each track .

The production ( beats , mixing and mastering ) is top notch but I think the inclusion of Sarz who have been amazing .Wizkid might also need to consider giving us more of the pop tracks we are familiar with as he seemed to have neglected that completely for Afrobeats .

Considering the recent projects and the excellent pen game therein from acts like Peruzzi , Davido, BurnaBoy and fireboydml, Wizkid might need to improve on his pen game if he is hoping to give us something extraordinary and up to the " New " standard on his album even if that will involve getting some writers .

Overall , SoundMan is for the listeners to enjoy while sipping palmwine , on the beach or laid back somewhere chilling with family and loved ones .Nothing serious , just vibes and cruise as we await Made in Lagos .

Rating - 8/10

Written by Iamsynord
He goes by the Twitter handle @iamsynord

26 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by Kingblingz(m): 1:45pm On Dec 06, 2019
If na music.. Leave am for Wiz! SoundMan on Replay

93 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by Synord: 1:54pm On Dec 06, 2019
Cc lalasticlala

1 Like

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by Bluuer40: 8:39pm On Dec 06, 2019
Baba in the house

10 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by momodub: 8:39pm On Dec 06, 2019
Nice one

2 Likes

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by emeijeh(m): 8:39pm On Dec 06, 2019
The production ( beats , mixing and mastering ) is top notch but I think the inclusion of Sarz who have been amazing

Op, come and explain this paragraph. It looks like an incomplete "copy and paste" to me.

53 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by Nobody: 8:39pm On Dec 06, 2019
Wiz

-----------

Amazing hook-up for the night at https://911tat.com

1 Like

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by GeneralPula: 8:40pm On Dec 06, 2019
I like him for sure but I hardly listen to his song! Just don’t know why!!

50 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by uzohrome(m): 8:40pm On Dec 06, 2019
wizkid we know.... nothing to add.

11 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by light099(m): 8:40pm On Dec 06, 2019
Wizkid can as from now on shove his tracks down his throat. We now have a new and better wizkid in Rema who sings with his nose, which makes him sound like the autotune version of Wizkid.


Rekhina or do you think otherwise?

24 Likes 1 Share

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by WalkerMichael(m): 8:40pm On Dec 06, 2019
Paid review post i guess..

I listened to the EP this morning and wasn't really impressed.

I miss OLD WIZKID....

This is the REAL WIZZY

118 Likes 8 Shares

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by Lekison(m): 8:40pm On Dec 06, 2019
clear road for Eleniyan

13 Likes

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by Devops: 8:40pm On Dec 06, 2019
Trash undecided

7 Likes 1 Share

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by kaziblake(f): 8:40pm On Dec 06, 2019
But Joro is so cool..Who hates joro music is deaf..

44 Likes

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by talkeverytime: 8:41pm On Dec 06, 2019
Okay o

1 Like

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by gustav25: 8:41pm On Dec 06, 2019
No noise , Man dropped an EP

7 Likes

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by dayveed1(m): 8:41pm On Dec 06, 2019
Leave it for the man.

5 Likes

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by gustav25: 8:41pm On Dec 06, 2019
kaziblake:
But Joro is so cool..Who hates joro music is deaf..
Joro is spiritual something

16 Likes

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by Bidemiblog01(f): 8:42pm On Dec 06, 2019
Jam

Meanwhile download the full song here

*[Download full Album] Soundman Vol. 1 EP by Wizkid*

https://bidemiblog.com/2019/12/ent-news/download-full-track-soundman-vol-1-ep-by-wizkid/

���


Soundman volume 1 EP by Starboy Ft. Wizkid Tracklist;

1. Starboy – Jam (feat. Wizkid & Chronixx)

https://bidemiblog.com/2019/12/music/new-music-jam-by-wizkid-ft-chronixx/

2. Starboy – Blow (feat. Blaq Jerzee & Wizkid)

https://bidemiblog.com/2019/12/ent-news/new-music-blow-by-wizkid-ft-blaq-jerzee/


3. Starboy – Cover Me (feat. Wizkid & DJ Tunez)

https://bidemiblog.com/2019/12/ent-news/new-music-cover-me-by-wizkid-ft-dj-tunez/

4. Starboy – Mine (feat. Wizkid & Kel-P)

https://bidemiblog.com/2019/12/ent-news/mine-by-wizkid-ft-kel-p/


5. Starboy – Electric (feat. Wizkid & London)

https://bidemiblog.com/2019/12/ent-news/download-full-track-soundman-vol-1-ep-by-wizkid/

6. Starboy – Ease Your Mind (feat. Wizkid & Kel-P)


https://bidemiblog.com/2019/12/ent-news/new-music-ease-your-mind-by-wizkid-ft-kel-p/

7. Starboy – Thankful (feat. Wizkid & Blaq Jerzee)

https://bidemiblog.com/2019/12/ent-news/new-music-thankful-by-wizkid-feat-blaq-jerzee/


*More updates @ bidemiblog.com*

12 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by TLION: 8:42pm On Dec 06, 2019
My own best naija musician

4 Likes 1 Share

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by okewumi: 8:42pm On Dec 06, 2019
Watching EXPERIENCE live

13 Likes 1 Share

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by badmrkt(m): 8:43pm On Dec 06, 2019
kaziblake:
But Joro is so cool..Who hates joro music is deaf..
it's trash. I ain't deaf just allergic to trashy songs....

34 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by IdioticNLmods: 8:43pm On Dec 06, 2019
Someone gimme link make i download am abeg
Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by omokoginimi: 8:44pm On Dec 06, 2019
People can hype anything sha. No wonder we have Buhari as president

Hian!

64 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by Bidemiblog01(f): 8:44pm On Dec 06, 2019
IdioticNLmods:
Someone gimme link make i download am abeg

Click on my profile to download or better still check up � to download
Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by josielewa(m): 8:44pm On Dec 06, 2019
Good music, but his music isn't as catchy as before...

2 Likes

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by sassiemyk: 8:44pm On Dec 06, 2019
Wiz might be popular but his musical prowess is questionable. Sky B too was popular back in the days. Artists like Tekno, Davido, Burna Boy that churns out good musics should be talked about.

24 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by josielewa(m): 8:46pm On Dec 06, 2019
omokoginimi:
People can hype anything sha. No wonder we have Buhari as president

Hian!
This guys are influencers.. Bro go to twitter and see hyping.....

17 Likes 1 Share

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by MrBONE2(m): 8:46pm On Dec 06, 2019
emeijeh:
The production ( beats , mixing and mastering ) is top notch but I think the inclusion of Sarz who have been amazing

Op, come and explain this paragraph. It looks like an incomplete "copy and paste" to me.
grin

4 Likes

Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by Loinern(m): 8:47pm On Dec 06, 2019
dayveed1:
Leave it for the man.
Re: Review Of Wizkid's Soundman EP: The Wizkid We Know? by NwsBoy: 8:47pm On Dec 06, 2019
grin grin

19 Likes 6 Shares

(1) (2) (3) (4) (Reply)

Nigerian Songs You Can't Understand How They Became Hit Songs / How Do Musicians Make Money In This Era Of The Internet And Free Downloads? / Download MP3 : Major Lazer Ft. Kizz Daniel & Kranium – Loyal

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2020 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 461
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.