Stats: 3,150,778 members, 7,810,026 topics. Date: Friday, 26 April 2024 at 06:52 PM

50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba - Celebrities (13) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Celebrities / 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba (101751 Views)

3 Busty Ex Bbnaija Stars That Are Confidently Fashionable / Obituary Of 4 Nollywood Stars That Will Be Buried In March And April (Photos) / 6 Bbnaija Stars That Got Married After The Show (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) ... (24) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by trutharena: 12:08am On Jul 20, 2020
good
Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by bigfather(m): 12:08am On Jul 20, 2020
Nice one @op !

Good job �
Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by Anambra1stS0n: 12:12am On Jul 20, 2020
Chike C. Nwoffiah is an actor, theater director, and filmmaker, and arts consultant.

Nwoffiah has served on several regional and national grant review panels including the National Endowment for the Arts, Pennsylvania Council on the Arts, Sacramento Arts Commission, San Francisco Arts Commission, Arts Council Silicon Valley, Walter and Elise Haas Fund and the Center for Cultural Innovation. His latest project is a feature-length narrative film, Sabar, based on the African dance movement in the United States.

He was listed as one of the "Top Ten Most Influential African Americans

1 Share

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by Johnandv: 12:14am On Jul 20, 2020
post=91889975:

73 Igbo celebrates in just US

1, Forest Whitaker
2, Ashely Maduekwe
3, TD Jakes
4, Nnamdi Asomugha
5, Uzo Aduba
6, Tini Tempah
7, Carolina Chikezie
8, Nonso Anozie
9, Tracy Ifeachor
10, Nwando Achebe
11,Emmanuel Acho
12, Sam Acho
13, Uzo Aduba
14, Nnamdi Asomugha
15, Chukwu octuplets
16, Ike Diogu
17, Megalyn Echikunwoke
I8, IK Enemkpali
19, Okwui Enwezor
20. Emmanuel Chukwudi Eze
21,Fat Tony (rapper)
22. Godfrey (comedian)
23, Havoc (musician)
24, Germain Ifedi
25, Chioma Igwe
26, Uzodinma Iweala
27, Bobby Iwuchukwu
28, Brian Iwuh
29, Jesse Iwuji
30, Jidenna
31, Julie Iromuanya
32, Obi Melifonwu
33, Cristian Morton
34, Nnamdi Moweta
35, Chinedum Ndukwe
36, Ikechuku Ndukwe
37Anthony Njokuani
38, Ogonna Nnamani
39 David Nwaba
40, Uzoma Nwachukwu
41, Ike Nwamu
42, Uche Nwaneri
43. Amarachi Nwosu
44, Mendi & Keith Obadike
45Leslye Obiora
46. Cyril Obiozor
47, Chris Ogbonnaya
48, Cedric Ogbuehi
49, Chiney Ogwumike
50, Nneka Ogwumike
51, KC Ohaebosim
52, Alex Okafor
53, Emeka Okafor
54, Jahlil Okafor
55, Joe Okafor
56. Chike Okeafor
57, Nnedi Okorafor
58, Bennett Okotcha
59, Amobi Okoye
60, Bennet Omalu
61, Holmes Onwukaife
62, Tochi Onyebuchi
63, Oguchi Onyewu
64, Brian Orakpo
65, Yvonne Orji
66, Kelechi Osemele
67, Cheta Ozougwu
68, Sonny Digital
69, Chioma Ubogagu
70, Valerian Ume-Ezeoke
71, Michael Uzowuru
72, Tyler, the creator
73, John Amaechi

Wow is this guy Igbo? This is greater than all yorubas put together

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by trutharena: 12:16am On Jul 20, 2020
Johnandv:

Wow is this guy Igbo? This is greater than all yorubas put together

He is not Igbo.

Check his profile on wiki. Both his parent are African American!

Forest Steven Whitaker was born on July 15, 1961, in Longview, Texas, the son of Laura Francis (née Smith), a special education teacher who put herself through college and earned two master's degrees while raising her children, and Forest E. Whitaker Jr., an insurance salesman.

The person that included his name is just a liar. He also included Daniel Lebern Glover as Igbo too LOL!

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by trutharena: 12:16am On Jul 20, 2020
Cool
Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by trutharena: 12:17am On Jul 20, 2020
Nice
Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by Anambra1stS0n: 12:17am On Jul 20, 2020
Carmen Elizabeth Ejogo is an English television and film actress and singer.

She is best known for her roles in such films as The Avengers (1998), Love's Labour's Lost (2000), What's the Worst That Could Happen? (2001), Boycott (2001), Away We Go (2009), Sparkle (2012), Alex Cross (2012), The Purge: Anarchy (2014), Selma (2014), Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2016), It Comes at Night (2017), Alien: Covenant (2017), and Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald (2018).
Ejogo also starred in the NBC crime drama series Kidnapped (2006–2007), the ABC thriller series Zero Hour (2013), the Starz anthology drama series The Girlfriend Experience (2017), the HBO anthology crime series True Detective (2019), and the Netflix limited series Self Made (2020).

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by Johnandv: 12:17am On Jul 20, 2020
LegendHero:

This is Chamillionaire with one Grammy Award.

His real name is Hakeem Seriki.

This is the official Website to that:
https://www.grammy.com/grammys/artists/chamillionaire

Thief.
Chamilionaire is Edo not Yoruba. Get your facts right and stop lying because we are not interested in catching you. grin

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by trutharena: 12:22am On Jul 20, 2020
Johnandv:

Thief.
Chamilionaire is Edo not Yoruba. Get your facts right and stop lying because we are not interested in catching you. grin

Liar!

His dad is from Oyo state you thief!

After his parents, a Muslim father from Oyo State, Nigeria and a Christian mother from the United States, separated in his early teenage years, Chamillionaire settled into a notoriously dangerous inner-city neighborhood in North Houston called Acres Homes, which he elaborated upon during an interview with Houston's 104.9 KPTY on October 3.

11 Likes 3 Shares

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by Johnandv: 12:22am On Jul 20, 2020
post=91894231:
Carmen Elizabeth Ejogo is an English television and film actress and singer.

She is best known for her roles in such films as The Avengers (1998), Love's Labour's Lost (2000), What's the Worst That Could Happen? (2001), Boycott (2001), Away We Go (2009), Sparkle (2012), Alex Cross (2012), The Purge: Anarchy (2014), Selma (2014), Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2016), It Comes at Night (2017), Alien: Covenant (2017), and Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald (2018).
Ejogo also starred in the NBC crime drama series Kidnapped (2006–2007), the ABC thriller series Zero Hour (2013), the Starz anthology drama series The Girlfriend Experience (2017), the HBO anthology crime series True Detective (2019), and the Netflix limited series Self Made (2020).

Don't mind yorubas they think we are their mates. Imagine only you giving it go them hot, what if other Igbos gather here to unleash the Igbo stars they know.. Imagine how the whole Yoruba race from their Oba down gathered here to taunt Igbos grin, it shows their level of fear and insecurity towards the greatness of the Igbo race. If we start sports and athletics they'd disappear. It's not my Anthony Joshua and Israel Adesanya grin

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by Anambra1stS0n: 12:24am On Jul 20, 2020
Cyril Ikechukwu Nri is a Nigerian British actor, writer and director who is best known for playing Superintendent Adam Okaro in the police TV series The Bill.

Mind you most of these guys were not included in my list

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by forgiveness: 12:24am On Jul 20, 2020
LegendHero:

He is the most valuable basketball player out of Africa.

No. Abdul Jaabar is....
Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by trutharena: 12:24am On Jul 20, 2020
Johnandv:

Don't mind yorubas they think we are their mates. Imagine only you giving it go them hot, what if other Igbos gather here to unleash the Igbo stars they know.. Imagine how the whole Yoruba race from their Oba down gathered here to taunt Igbos grin, it shows their level of fear and insecurity towards the greatness of the Igbo race.

LOL!

Yoruba are unveiling people in the Grammy state with over 8 A-List artist with 20 Grammy while your village boy is listing artists that can't even lace Wizkid and Davido's shoe lace lol!

You guys should be contesting with the minority tribes and not the superior Yorubas!

13 Likes

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by Johnandv: 12:27am On Jul 20, 2020
koolaid87:
No wonder everybody migrates to LAGOS for talent showcasing.

Omoluabi are the best when it comes to entertainment.

Cos Lagos is a place for talent showcasing and not a Yoruba Land.

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by Abagworo(m): 12:27am On Jul 20, 2020
After all said and done the current best hiphop album in Grammy belongs to an Igbo descendant Tyler Okonma. I've gone through the comments and seen the target of the thread which is to compare Yoruba with Igbo which I always find interesting and encouraging because we've never taken up arms against each other but compete in positivity. I've always believed a country comprising only Igbo and Yoruba will be the best even without oil.

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by Johnandv: 12:31am On Jul 20, 2020
Ritchiee:

You are funny.Igbos are Yorubas little siblings.No bad blood.

It seems your late mother did not teach you how to respect elders before she passed. Igbos that became everything you think you are before you.. President, military head, senate President.. Etc all before you. Igbos that went to war with all tribes in Nigeria including you for 3 solid years is now your little siblings.. Wonders shall never end on this Nairaland. You can never be greater than Igbos no matter how hard you try to launder your image on social media, we own you..

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by Anambra1stS0n: 12:31am On Jul 20, 2020
Uzoamaka Nwanneka, Uzo Aduba is an American actress. She is known for her role as Suzanne "Crazy Eyes" Warren on the Netflix original series Orange Is the New Black (2013–2019), for which she won an Emmy Award for Outstanding Guest Actress in a Comedy Series in 2014, an Emmy Award for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series in 2015, and two Screen Actors Guild Awards for Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Comedy Series in 2014 and 2015.She is one of only two actors to win an Emmy Award in both the comedy and drama categories for the same role, the other being Ed Asner for the character Lou Grant

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by Trutharenas: 12:32am On Jul 20, 2020
Michael Babalola

2009 Stick with Me
2005 The Best Man
2005 Little Things
2004 Flamingo Blues
2004 Enduring Love
2003 Second Generation

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by Trutharenas: 12:32am On Jul 20, 2020
Adetomiwa Edun.

I love this guy in Merlin. He played the role of a Knight.

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by 9gerian: 12:33am On Jul 20, 2020
The only reason that there has been calm is because there is no substance enough with which to match or counter the feats stated in these thread.

It is an open secret that Yorubas never bothered about what Igbos were upto for long, but Igbos on the other hand seize every opportunity to denigrate and work against the interest of Yorubas as a rule.

So over time Yorubas are learning to fight back, and hard, especially as Igbos have shown repeatedly that they will always be against Yorubas.

I mean Igbo celebrities and elites even allege “Yoruba rigging” anytime Yorubas get awards or acclaims whether locally or internationally. Yorubas must have been rigging globally since ancestry judging by these many Grammy awards.

You may wish to pretend but the veil is off and more Yorubas are being sensitized daily by posts from Igbos.

If in doubt, go ahead and check how much energy Igbos expend on SW issues and politicians like Tinubu, Osinbajo etc (not that Yorubas even support those ones completely) who are presumed to be pro SW and juxtapose that against Yorubas bothering about SE issues and politicians. That would be like 98% Igbo attacks to 2% Yoruba attacks if any.

The easiest way for an Igbo person to rally support of his people is to denigrate the Yorubas extensively; boom he becomes the spokesperson of his people (e.g Kanu, Achebe etc).

But for a Yoruba to rally support of his people, he has to demonstrate an understanding and appreciation of the problems and equally balance his arguments laying the shortcomings of each party appropriately; only then will he be taken seriously and not without caution.

Please research all that has been stated here, and counter with facts. Shalom!

Antivirus92:
see how peaceful this thread is,,

nobody is here shouting "chestbeating"

nobody cared about bringing igbo celebrities to compare with these ones

nobody cared about calling the female celebrities on the list ashawos

nobody is painfully laughing

#just yorubas celebrating themselves in peace,,,

if it was igbos now,,,,ur guess is as good as mine

9 Likes 2 Shares

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by jayaim: 12:33am On Jul 20, 2020
Sade my crush. Tunde so talented
Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by WealthyMay(f): 12:33am On Jul 20, 2020
GBOKASINCHA:
they forgot to add NAS as they usually do grin..., how can a classic Yoruba diaspora thread be without NAS...make I help them NASIRU OLUFEMI ABIOLA from osun state..

E pain am cry grin grin

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by Johnandv: 12:35am On Jul 20, 2020
trutharena:

LOL!

Yoruba are unveiling people in the Grammy state with over 8 A-List artist with 20 Grammy while your village boy is listing artists that can't even lace Wizkid and Davido's shoe lace lol!

You guys should be contesting with the minority tribes and not the superior Yorubas!
Shut up your chest beating mouth, na una beat chest pass but will point fingers at Igbos, talk of chameleons..

Your Davido and wizkid are of Nigerian category and they cant even wash Psquare's cars. Tell me which Yoruba musician in Nigeria that was glorified as Psquare??, and Flavour.
Be careful grin

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by nothingspoil70: 12:35am On Jul 20, 2020
Yorubas. Who Jah blessed no man curse

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by Johnandv: 12:37am On Jul 20, 2020
trutharena:

Liar!

His dad is from Oyo state you thief!

After his parents, a Muslim father from Oyo State, Nigeria and a Christian mother from the United States, separated in his early teenage years, Chamillionaire settled into a notoriously dangerous inner-city neighborhood in North Houston called Acres Homes, which he elaborated upon during an interview with Houston's 104.9 KPTY on October 3.

That's fake you thief.

Chamillionaire is from Edo state.
Maybe the father lived in Oyo once. Stop lying Afonja
Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by Trutharenas: 12:38am On Jul 20, 2020
Johnandv:

Shut up your chest beating mouth, na una beat chest pass but will point fingers at Igbos, talk of chameleons..

Your Davido and wizkid are of Nigerian category and they cant even wash Psquare's cars. Tell me which Yoruba musician in Nigeria that was glorified as Psquare??, and Flavour.
Be careful grin

Who the bleep is Psquare when you are talking about Wizkid and Davido? How many international award have Psquare gotten?

Hahahah comedian. Who the bleep is Flavor and what is his ranking in Nigerian Music Industry?

Are you trying to contest it that Yoruba outperform any Nigerian tribe in the music Industry?

8 Likes 2 Shares

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by Trutharenas: 12:39am On Jul 20, 2020
Johnandv:

That's fake you thief.

Chamillionaire is from Edo state.
Maybe the father lived in Oyo once. Stop lying Afonja

Thied so his father is named Seriki? From Edo State?

You deserve to be nailed to the cross for this blatant lie.

His dad is Yoruba with name Seriki from Oyo state!

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by Trutharenas: 12:39am On Jul 20, 2020
ddd
Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by Anambra1stS0n: 12:41am On Jul 20, 2020
jagorinho:

Tb Joshua alone accounted for 60℅ of foreign tourists in the country in 2018.

Tb joshua Emmanuel TV is the most viewed christian channel on you tube.

The Zimbabwean parliament once debated to emulate Joshua in terms of tourism development in Zimbabwe

After his highly successful crusades in the Americas, from Colombia , Peru, mexico etc
the former mayor of baraquilla ( Colombia fourth largest city ) came to give Joshua the keys to the city after his crusade changed the fortune of the city tremendously.
....... The mere fact that yorubas do not shout does not give a group that started wearing clothes less than two centuries ago the audacity to look yorubas in the face in terms of achievement.
On YouTube most viewed, when you minus number 5, tell me which tribe is leading from 1 to 7 grin grin

Igbos still dominate on YouTube

Cc LegendHero

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by Johnandv: 12:42am On Jul 20, 2020
trutharena:

He is not Igbo.

Check his profile on wiki. Both his parent are African American!

Forest Steven Whitaker was born on July 15, 1961, in Longview, Texas, the son of Laura Francis (née Smith), a special education teacher who put herself through college and earned two master's degrees while raising her children, and Forest E. Whitaker Jr., an insurance salesman.

The person that included his name is just a liar. He also included Daniel Lebern Glover as Igbo too LOL!

So because they have English names with their parents too they are not Igbo?? So what do you have to say about TD Jakes?? He's not Igbo too I guess. When will you people stop measuring up with Igbos on everything. Our greatness comes to us naturally while you have to struggle for everything with so much noise and cheap hype.

One was even showing a street named after a Yoruba in USA hehehehehe.. Chai sorry for una sha. Little thing can shack you people. grin

Re: 50 Hollywood/European Stars That Were Yoruba by Johnandv: 12:44am On Jul 20, 2020
post=91894546:

On YouTube most viewed, when you minus number 5, tell me which tribe is leading from 1 to 7 grin grin

Igbos still dominate on YouTube

Cc LegendHero

Even the defunct Psqaure still slaps Davido and Wizkid subscribers on YouTube chai grin. Wizkid own is the worst, with all his noisy FC on twitter and all his hype he can't find any headway outside Africa. grin

(1) (2) (3) ... (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) ... (24) (Reply)

Godwin Olusoji Akindele's Burial: Funke Akindele Absent At Father's Funeral / DOWNLOAD MOVIE: The Wedding Party 2 (destination Dubai) / Gospel Artist, Osinachi Nwachukwu Is Dead

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 60