Stats: 3,152,802 members, 7,817,332 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 10:25 AM

Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - - Politics (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - (42378 Views)

Wike Travels To France To Meet Tinubu - / Wike Bans Meeting Of Igbo Group In Oyigbo, Rivers State / PDP To Buhari: Tender Your WAEC Certificate At The Tribunal- (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by Odingo1: 12:04am On Nov 02, 2020
stanluiz:
That is where I have problem with wike. That 24 hrs curfew is too bad. How will the people cope ? Wike like to overdo his own things.

He could have declare 9pm to 6am curfew just like others governors that witness violence in their state.
Yes, he just lack human sympathy. If Nigerians love theirselves as people that is sharing one country, every person should have voice out their concern. Is unfortunate that black people are mostly inhuman.

Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by gidgiddy: 12:05am On Nov 02, 2020
toolovely:
Wike is even confused. You said that IPOB members come in from neighbouring state, Abia, and you sent military to go and be torturing your people. So if the people that killed the soldiers and burnt police are not from Abia State, have they not gone back to where they came from?

Obigbo/Oyigbo is just a typical example of the cluelessness of the country called Nigeria. There is nothing that happened in Oyigbo that did not happen across the South of Nigeria during the ENDSARS protest. Almost every state in Nigeria experienced the burning of Police stations, destruction of property and loss of lives on both sides.

So why is it just Wike that is shouting terrorism, proscribing people, imposing long curfew and inviting military? Its all about politics

What happened in Oyigbo was a combination of a 3 way battle between Oyigbo residents, Northerners and the security forces. Add ENDSARS protest to that mix.

But the narrative of the idiot called Wike is that IPOB just got up one morning, with no provocation, started killing people and burning down Police stations and killing Police/Army

Someone is claiming that IPOB killed Police and Army, snatched their weapons. But the same person has not mentioned the name of the security forces killed, no picture of them, no details of how they were killed despite being armed, and no corroborating evidence that IPOB did this

Just a mere statement. What is that? It is terrible because if it is just mere statement is all is needed to criminalise a group or a person, send military to an area, kill people unnecessarily, then the Nigeria we see today and its democracy is nonsense

Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by oshionelecky: 12:08am On Nov 02, 2020
GavelSlam:

Scared of what?
I'm only educating you.
only learned people can educate others.
Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by HimName: 12:09am On Nov 02, 2020
See them calling Wike all sorts of derogatory names.

Their beloved Wike has suddenly becme an Hausa Afonja Fulani Moslem.

The bald-headed, faded-pink & bile-filled fraudster is somewhere enjoying his loot while his followers are presently being shelled in Oyigbo.

All he does is come online, spit some bile and recruit some more gullibles.

Boko Haram Shakarau and Nnamdi Kanu are best of friends.

Nne, biko ague with your stupidity.

Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by stanluiz(m): 12:13am On Nov 02, 2020
Wike should not hide under ipob to deal with oyigbo people. I know that he is the CSO of rivers state. He should flush out ipob members to that are disturbing his state and leave igbo people alone.

Igbo people in oyigbo in oyigbo are indigenous to rivers. He should remove the curfew immediately and compensate those things innocent civilian that are affected by Nigeria army and ipob saga.

He should not let it be seen as wike Vs igbo fight bacuse it affects and backfire him if he step down as a governor In 2023 or he want to contest for any national political position apart from senator. He should be remembered that he is from a least minority tribe.

I know that North and SW will never vote for him . And if he dare come to the South East for any campaign or whoseever we will shame and disgrace him. Wike should have this in the back of his mind.
Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by HimName: 12:16am On Nov 02, 2020
Kudejo:
Lol............where is Nnamdi kanu? Isn't he the leaders of IPOB, he should be suffering with them. Kanu is the same with Ojukwu, they will start a movement and convince Igbos to follow them then when the FG comes out for blood all of a sudden they are no where to be found.

KANU IS A FRAUD

A monumental one.

Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by stanluiz(m): 12:26am On Nov 02, 2020
As for nnmadi kanu. His cup go full one day. SE governors , ohaneze with DSS should do everything possible to silence nnamdi kanu.

If is too extradite him to Nigeria and lock him up is DSS cell forever with the help of British government or better still find a good and professional assassin to assassinate him in London.

Nnamdi kanu and ipob is a big menace to ndigbo and they should be eliminated before it becomes too late .

Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by Tranquill: 12:44am On Nov 02, 2020
oluwazoba25:
Please somebody to help us in obigbo, as am typing now we the youths especially the young boys,we are inside swamp now beside IMO river taking cover, army they are shooting anything on sight. embarassed

If what you just typed is true, are you not revealing your location? I know you are typing this sitting in one shop near Mgbidi.
Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by alphaNomega: 12:53am On Nov 02, 2020
Anytime I see crisis like this, I marvel at the effectiveness of divide-and-conquer. It is a war tactic that lasts for generations.

Ever since the Eastern region was divided into Rivers and Cross-Rivers state before the civil war, the natives of these areas have been at constant war with each other, even going as far as denying ever existing together.

The DSS has successfully disrupted the peaceful protests in Rivers state. You all could see how they moved thugs around to cause mayhem. Unfortunately, the people of Obigbo had no clean video coverage of their dastardly act.

Imagine what the story would have been in Abuja if this video was not captured... https://twitter.com/thesignalng/status/1319592038774571009?s=19

I'm sure Lai Mohammed would have said Boko Haram infiltrated Abuja, place 24 hrs curfew, and start slaughtering people using the Nigerian Army. They tried this in Lekki but were not successful.

Poor Obigbo residents
Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by IkwerrePikin: 12:59am On Nov 02, 2020
Unik3030:
Isn't it funny how nobody is talking about Nnamdi Kanu who ordered boys to destroy properties but blaming others

My brother it’s really funny

All you see them do is condemned the military for restoring peace but that should not exclude the fact that innocent people are also suffering from the present predicament there.

But what the govt is doing by deploying soldiers including tanks with the curfew on ground is to scare/deal with these IPOB miscreants to the point that the Igbos will never consider raising any flag or holding any meeting in not just Oyigbo but in the entire Rivers state.

I’m sorry for the indigenes there, but this is an eye opener for them to secure their communities and report any IPOB gatherings to prevent a repeat of what is going on now in their communities.

5 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by IkwerrePikin: 1:03am On Nov 02, 2020
gidgiddy:

Obigbo/Oyigbo is just a typical example of the cluelessness of the country called Nigeria. There is nothing that happened in Oyigbo that did not happen across the South of Nigeria during the ENDSARS protest. Almost every state in Nigeria experienced the burning of Police stations, destruction of property and loss of lives on both sides.

So why is it just Wike that is shouting terrorism, proscribing people, imposing long curfew and inviting military? Its all about politics

What happened in Oyigbo was a combination of a 3 way battle between Oyigbo residents, Northerners and the security forces. Add ENDSARS protest to that mix.

But the narrative of the idiot called Wike is that IPOB just got up one morning, with no provocation, started killing people and burning down Police stations and killing Police/Army

Someone is claiming that IPOB killed Police and Army, snatched their weapons. But the same person has not mentioned the name of the security forces killed, no picture of them, no details of how they were killed despite being armed, and no corroborating evidence that IPOB did this

Just a mere statement. What is that? It is terrible because if it is just mere statement is all is needed to criminalise a group or a person, send military to an area, kill people unnecessarily, then the Nigeria we see today and its democracy is nonsense

Where did they attack Hausa truck drivers and burning down of the goods coming from the North during the EndSars protest?

Where did they attack Hospital and place roadblocks in extorting money from individuals?

But all this happened in Oyigbo and stop calling it Obigbo there is nothing like that in Rivers state.

Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by Healthquest: 1:06am On Nov 02, 2020
hammerO:
WAS RIVERS STATE THE ONLY PLACE THE END SARS PROTEST OCCURED?

WAS THE END SARS PROTEST ONLY IN OBIIGBO IN THE WHOLE RIVERS STATE.

SECONDLY, NNAMDI KANU HAS A RIGHT TO FREEDOM OF SPEECH AND AS FAR AS WE CAN RECALL, HE DID NOT START THE END SARS PROTEST.

POLICE WERE KILLED AND PROPERTIES DESTROYED ACROSS NIGERIA, BUT IT WAS ONLY IN RIVERS THAT WIKE OR NWAIKE, CALLED ARMY TO REVENGE ON THE PEOPLE OF OBIIGBO AND BLAMING IPOB.

NWAIKE IS TAKING ADVANTAGE OF STATE GOVERNOR POSITION TO PERPETUATE CRIMES AGAINST HUMANITY IN OBIIGBO.

CRIMES THAT HE NWAIKE WILL SURELY BE HELD TO GIVE ACCOUNT AT A FUTURE DATE.

RIVERS STATE DOES NOT BELONG TO IKEWERE, AND IT IS NOT NWAIKE PLACE TO PUNISH OR DISCRIMINATE ANY OTHER PEOPLE OR CLAN IN RIVERS STATE.

OBIIGBO HAVE A RIGHT TO PROTEST AND NOT BE DISCRIMINATED AGAINST.

IT IS DISCRIMINATORY TO REMOVE CURFEW ALL OVER RIVERS STATE AND MAINTAIN IT IN OBIIGBO.

WIKE IS A DEAD MAN WALKING.
You killed six trained soldier brother? That's 6000 citizens in that community. Its unknowns secret , I bet you even buhari cannot stop Army from Revenge,its deep inside der badge. U see Trump and Putin joined together, let dem become oyigbo, Army will collect der debt and even add jara,know ds and know peace.

Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by IkwerrePikin: 1:22am On Nov 02, 2020
composure:
See what Nnamdi kanu has caused the people of Obigbo while he is very free in London.

Oga it’s Oyigbo not Obigbo what is wrong with you igbos?

You see how you invite hatred for your people?

How can you rename a local govt area oyigbo to obigbo?

What kind of expansion is that? Is South east not enough for you people?

When we call you people attach by force you will get pissed.

The people of Oyigbo have never called it Obigbo or written to the Rivers state house of assembly to change the name to Obigbo, it’s only you igbo migrants that keep calling it Obigbo, what kind of foolishness is that?

Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by afube: 2:06am On Nov 02, 2020
marsman:

Tell that to those in oyigbo presently in that shoe, when the military men decides to set an example, just forget, they will do it and nothing will happen.

na so ! we are all witnesses to how they have set an example with Boko haram, na yam.
Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by EndBuhariNow(m): 2:19am On Nov 02, 2020
And Boko Haram are busy ransacking North unchallenged.... Wike you think you will do all these and get away with it Power is transient one day u will go down and history will remember it for ur ugly sons
Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by Onlinesmart: 2:39am On Nov 02, 2020
Notasyouthink:
Cause be unto anyone that supports the slain of the innocent.
Curse be unto anyone that place bounty on the head of a sitting governor or those supporting the acts.

Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by Onlinesmart: 2:48am On Nov 02, 2020
gidgiddy:

Have you been leaving under the rocks not to know ipob have been proscribed as a terror group? There's no court anywhere that can condemn wike for his actions. You can't dare a sitting governor in his state and go scotfree. That shows you to use your brain before your mouth next time. You guys won't just learn to shut up and stop getting killed. Are you guys dumb or something? Only your tribe hate almost other Nigerians and you want a pat on the back for it? You're crazy if you don't know.

Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by rimijoshua(m): 3:18am On Nov 02, 2020
Healthquest:
You killed six trained soldier brother? That's 6000 citizens in that community. Its unknowns secret , I bet you even buhari cannot stop Army from Revenge,its deep inside der badge. U see Trump and Putin joined together, let dem become oyigbo, Army will collect der debt and even add jara,know ds and know peace.
You need to go back to school.
Get a civic education textbook.

Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by 2016v2017: 3:57am On Nov 02, 2020
Fahdiga:
I've said it several times that Wike is both Idi Amin and Buhari rolled into one. he is a deadly dictator, he is flexing all this muscle as a governor, imagine him being the president
Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by true2god: 4:36am On Nov 02, 2020
Policemen were killed, buses and houses burnt in Lagos and many other states in Nigeria and the perpetrators were tagged hoodlums and #EndSARS protesters. However the perpetrators were tagged IPOB members in River State in order to unleash mayhem on Igbo people, especially in Obigbo (heart of Igbo). This is what the Nigerian system has reduced Igboman to, a subhuman specie to be exterminated by armed coward Nigeria army.

Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by NaMeAboki: 4:37am On Nov 02, 2020
QuotaSystem:
Apparently, the weapon snatching ipob terrorists have a variety show of force scheduled for today to clear any doubts. I trust OyigboUpdate to deliver the highlights.

My concerns are with the innocent and I hope they aren't caught in the crossfire.

They have been desperately trying damage control by denying or suppressing any evidence; especially that of a viral audio recording of their Dilector Kanu clearly coordinating the attacks in Oyigbo and also elsewhere against selected targets in the SW including Tinubu's hotel and Lagos Gov. Sanwo Olu.

https://ooduarere.com/news-from-nigeria/breaking-news/audio-nnamdi-kanus-conversation/
https://mobile.facebook.com/watch/?v=799326440858668&_rdc=1&_rdr

5 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by Silverpurple: 4:54am On Nov 02, 2020
ello29:
The militarization of oyingbo and use of force is not the best way to solve civil issues rather they create more problems and fear to the citizenry.
How can the military gain intelligent report from the people? The military should find a better way to handle the issue instead of compounding the issue we can't afford to create another tension and terrorist war in the south.

How is killing 5 soldiers a civil issue? Oyigbo IPOB killed 5 soldiers, stole their gun and hilux.

According to the rules of engagement, the army is authorised to use violence. They know this...

Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by kunkelhanspeter(m): 4:54am On Nov 02, 2020

“The military aerial survey with Air force jets yesterday in Oyigbo sent jitters down their spines. I think they will be more scared tomorrow, (Saturday) because I learnt from military sources that there is going to be military show of force in Oyigbo,” said the source.

They are using Sharia Criminals code in the North
And using criminal code in the South one country two different law .
When ever they have little issue in the South they will go out very hard on South while in the North they will pampam them with care.
My parents live in oyigbo jet fighter been flying up and down as if they are fighting civil war again but such don’t happen in the North Boko Haram, Fulani herdsmen and bandits.
Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by GermanCarDealer(m): 4:57am On Nov 02, 2020
Odingo1:

Yes, he just lack human sympathy. If Nigerians love theirselves as people that is sharing one country, every person should have voice out their concern. Is unfortunate that black people are mostly inhuman.

Well said; it's so sad.
Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by GermanCarDealer(m): 5:00am On Nov 02, 2020
true2god:
Policemen were killed, buses and houses burnt in Lagos and many other states in Nigeria and the perpetrators were tagged hoodlums and #EndSARS protesters. However the perpetrators were tagged IPOB members in River State in order to unleash mayhem on Igbo people, especially in Obigbo (heart of Igbo). This is what the Nigerian system has reduced Igboman to, a subhuman specie to be exterminated by armed coward Nigeria army.

Nigerians are mostly inhuman & it's very sad.
Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by kunkelhanspeter(m): 5:01am On Nov 02, 2020
IkwerrePikin:

Oga it’s Oyigbo not Obigbo what is wrong with you igbos?

You see how you invite hatred for your people?

How can you rename a local govt area oyigbo to obigbo?

What kind of expansion is that? Is South east not enough for you people?

When we call you people attach by force you will get pissed.

The people of Oyigbo have never called it Obigbo or written to the Rivers state house of assembly to change the name to Obigbo, it’s only you igbo migrants that keep calling it Obigbo, what kind of foolishness is that?

What is the meaning of oyigbo?
Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by OBJlive: 5:17am On Nov 02, 2020
wike stop this genocide now. you cannot force people to denounce their identity.
Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by OBJlive: 5:29am On Nov 02, 2020
you can't realy kill the whole nationality of a people because you feel the locale they live in is yours.
You are not God that you should decide where their ancestoral home should be.
This is equally the reason some of this ethnic minorities are their own oppressors.
Tomorro now wike will pair up with Gov Tambuwal as VP and will be asking for Igbo votes
Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by Franking: 5:47am On Nov 02, 2020
omenka:
I sympathize with the innocent ones caught in the imbroglio between the millitary and Ipob.

That said, it is interesting seeing the quietude in the South East in the face of what is happening. So much so that one Gidgiddi who prides himself as an Igbo leader on the forum waved it aside saying FORGET WIKE.

It is now obvious Igbos react to the death of Igbos depending on who is responsible for the killing.

We saw it with Peter Obi when he killed tens of Igbos in Akwuzu, and now Wike.

They even seemed more concerned about the incident at Lekki than this in Rivers, with nearly all Lekki threads running into no less than 8 pages!!

We live in very interesting times.

This one has suddenly ressurected, wonders shall never end.
Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by TheRealestGuy(m): 6:00am On Nov 02, 2020
omenka:
I sympathize with the innocent ones caught in the imbroglio between the millitary and Ipob.

That said, it is interesting seeing the quietude in the South East in the face of what is happening. So much so that one Gidgiddi who prides himself as an Igbo leader on the forum waved it aside saying FORGET WIKE.

It is now obvious Igbos react to the death of Igbos depending on who is responsible for the killing.

We saw it with Peter Obi when he killed tens of Igbos in Akwuzu, and now Wike.

They even seemed more concerned about the incident at Lekki than this in Rivers, with nearly all Lekki threads running into no less than 8 pages!!

We live in very interesting times.

Let me make it clear to you.

You see, the average Igbo mam, while supporting Biafra will not support hoodlums going about harrassing people in the name of IPOB.

Also, there were shootings by police and military in places like Mushin and a few others but nobody took it up.

There is a reason why the Lekki massacre made international headlines.

If you cannot understand that reason then to Jesus be your glory.

Nobody in Igbo land supports criminals/hoodlums.

Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by tamdun: 6:13am On Nov 02, 2020
RedPhoenix:

Besides the issue with the journalist who almost got neat up by the army. Nairaland has deliberately turned it's ears deaf to Oyigbo. There's no doubt the forum is deliberately postured against concerns from a part of the nation. I'm sorry, it's glaring to see.. Its a sad reality..
Don't blame nairaland, nairaland will only put thread with credible source on front page, blame the likes of dj switch, paqare, phyno etc, they were very active during #endsars, where are they now?

Re: Military Operation In Oyigbo, Rivers State Leads To Humanitarian Crisis - by freshMallam1122: 6:20am On Nov 02, 2020
Wiseandtrue:

Buhari's regime is seriously against the Igbos all because of their stance against him

Wike is just a mere servant, the Federal Government is the mastermind behind the genocide going on in Obigbo!!!
Goan sit down...PDP an APC has brain washed you ...u no get brain again...have you not been hearing Wike threatening them ipob an ordering for shoot aside which one is buhari again..na buhari place 50million ransom for person head to be fish out...dose jubrill even kn say river State exist...why does politics eaten yr brain so deep all because of PDP..as if u don't listen to news...can't u Cal a spade a spade for once...u voted him...so just stop this ..

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply)

APC Fund Raiser For Buhari and Osibanjo Last Night (Photos) / 49 PDP Senators Declare Support For Buhari / Boko Haram Launches PR Campaign, Opens Twitter Account

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 66