Stats: 3,153,238 members, 7,818,797 topics. Date: Monday, 06 May 2024 at 04:10 AM

Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) (31494 Views)

Wike Bestows The Highest Award On Adams Oshiomhole (Video, Pictures) / Zambia Honours Obasanjo With Highest Award / House Of Representatives Receives Niger Delta Ministry 2020 Budget (2) (3) (4)

Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by theTranslator: 6:33pm On Mar 16, 2021
PRESIDENT BUHARI RECEIVES HIGHEST NIGER REPUBLIC AWARD, CONGRATULATES OUTGOING PRESIDENT MAHAMADOU ISSOUFOU ON MO IBRAHIM PRIZE

President Muhammadu Buhari Tuesday in Abuja congratulated outgoing President of Niger Republic, Mahamadou Issoufou, for successful completion of his second tenure, and wining the prestigious 2020 Mo Ibrahim prize for Achievement in African Leadership, describing him as a worthy African leader.

President Buhari, who was awarded the highest national award of Niger Republic, Grand Croix Des Ordre National Du Niger, by President Issoufou, felicitated with the outgoing leader for upholding the tenets of democracy, improving the economy of his country and consolidating the good relations that existed between both countries.

“Mr. President, let me start by congratulating you on the successful completion of your second term as President of our sister country, the Republic of Niger. I also congratulate the good people of Niger for the successful conduct of a free, fair and credible election.

“The achievements during your tenure as President have been widely acclaimed including through your recent award of the Mo Ibrahim Prize. You have earned the respect and affection of your people at home and your brethren across the border in Nigeria,’’ he said.

President Buhari said his first visit after swearing-in in 2015 was to Niger Republic, noting that the choice of a neighbouring country underscored the value and quality of relations between both countries.

“Nigeria-Niger relations are based on a long common border and shared cultural and historical roots. Relations between the two countries have, over the years, been very cordial and fraternal. There is a spirit of good neighbourliness between us.

“Nigeria's borders with Niger have always been largely peaceful. There have been no serious border conflicts between the two countries.

“Each country has based its diplomatic relations upon non-interference in the internal affairs of the other. It is therefore gratifying to state that Niger has remained one of the most trusted and reliable neighbours of Nigeria,’’ the President added.

President Buhari said the cultural similarity between both countries, which include common languages such as Hausa, Kanuri and Fulfude and a common border of one thousand five hundred (1500) kilometres, further strengthened good relations, adding that Nigeria and Niger “refused to be divided and alienated by the artificial borders imposed by the former colonial powers.’’

He said the emergence of President Issoufou in 2011 marked a watershed in the relationship between the two countries as the frontier of cooperation expanded and mutual trust further strengthened, while congratulating the President-elect, Mohamed Bazoum, for winning the elections.

President Buhari urged the President-elect of Niger to build on the achievements of his predecessor in office.

“Many landmark projects were initiated and successfully executed, among which was the successful border re-demarcation exercise without any incident. The socio-economic partnership resulted in the ground-breaking ceremony of a railway project from the North West of Nigeria to Maradi in Niger, which is in furtherance of regional and continental integration, joint venture and inter-state trade.

“The military cooperation that has availed the Nigerian Intelligence community information on the activities of terrorists is additional evidence of this solidarity. It was against this backdrop that Niger agreed to become part of the multinational effort to tackle insurgents' activities across the borders of Nigeria, Niger, Cameroon and Chad Republics.

“As you know, this culminated in the establishment of the Multi-National Joint Task Force under the auspices of the Lake Chad Basin Commission, with Sector 4 based in Diffa, Republic of Niger,’’ he said.

President Buhari also said some of Nigeria’s prestigious military institutions like Armed Forces Command and Staff College, Jaji and National War College, Abuja, and the Police Academy in Gwoza and Kano have provided training for the security officers of the neigbouring country.

In his remarks, President Issoufou thanked President Buhari and all Nigerians for the support he received as leader of his country for ten years, particularly during his time as Chairman of ECOWAS, describing Nigeria as a “second home’’.

The Nigerien President said the highest national award of his country was bestowed on President Buhari because of his “fraternity, vigour, patriotism and determination to move Africa forward, starting from the West Coast.’’

The Minister of Foreign Affairs, Geoffrey Onyeama, said the Nigerien President distinguished himself in leadership at both national and regional levels, leaving a legacy of avoiding the trap of altering the constitution to prolong his stay in office.

Onyeama said the Mo Ibrahim award was most deserved.

Femi Adesina
Special Adviser to the President
(Media & Publicity)
March 16, 2021

Source: https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=2513667305595063&id=1452287068399764

Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by theTranslator: 6:33pm On Mar 16, 2021
My guy dey trace his roots cheesy
No place like home grin
Blood is really thicker than water

256 Likes 9 Shares

Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by VictorUSA(m): 6:36pm On Mar 16, 2021
Useless leaders awarding and praising each other.

43 Likes

Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by Jdaughter(f): 6:36pm On Mar 16, 2021
His brothers

20 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by warripekin(m): 6:38pm On Mar 16, 2021
it came so late. na im brothers. Na them them.

21 Likes

Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by Henrydonland(m): 6:42pm On Mar 16, 2021
I am tired of hearing a media aide speaking for Buhari,can't he speak for himself.

No wonder they said he died since 2017.

67 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by SarkinYarki: 6:44pm On Mar 16, 2021
He has done well for his home country

25 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by Mabizeka: 6:44pm On Mar 16, 2021
Jubril Al Sudani

Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by optionalY09: 6:47pm On Mar 16, 2021
old picture since after the election. people didn’t ask why he never said anything to Okonjo and why Okonjo never mentioned his name? why does he look fresh and young? why does his neck vain look like that of a 30year old boy? why does Okonjo body Language seems she wanted to run away in his presence, why he didn’t address the press when he met Okonjo, why does Okonjo only address him as “Mr President without mentioning his name?

Why is this award important now? Why’s this award without videos, knowing that Buhari loves to show off his achievements.

what are they bidding?

21 Likes

Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by Tolexander: 6:53pm On Mar 16, 2021
Buhari Na Niger Prime Minister now

Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by Olobofife(m): 6:55pm On Mar 16, 2021
The animal is originally from Niger Republic. No news here.

69 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by Starcrest1: 7:01pm On Mar 16, 2021
He's their citizen naa so why not?

Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by Theta1: 7:01pm On Mar 16, 2021
Mumu multiply by 2

Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by Wealthyone: 7:01pm On Mar 16, 2021
It is no news that Bihari is a Nigerien. He is originally from a village in Niger that borders Katsina state. His family members migrated on foot after he was born. Why do you think he allows free trade and smuggling to and from Niger?

24 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by tillaman(m): 7:01pm On Mar 16, 2021
Can’t wait for this imposter to leave our country alone we never had it this rough even during Jonathan Regime

15 Likes

Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by BigDawsNet: 7:02pm On Mar 16, 2021
Imagine say overnight

Niger Republic jst turn Canada

You go comot Nigeria? grin

Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by Uniquisite: 7:02pm On Mar 16, 2021
wink wink

All they do is snap picture and add some concept..
Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by Okortor: 7:02pm On Mar 16, 2021
OGA presido, Wetin de occur for 9ja na?

Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by heendrix(m): 7:02pm On Mar 16, 2021
ok
Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by prince2pac(m): 7:02pm On Mar 16, 2021
another farm thread.... this time the vegetable at the head of affairs got a manure award from his Fulani brothers..

more agricultural thread guys

Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by MANNABBQGRILLS: 7:02pm On Mar 16, 2021
God bless our darling Daddy President Muhammadu Buhari and his amiable Vice president Prof Yemi Osinbajo for all they are doing to move our country forward from the 16 years of failure, looting, chaos and violence.

God bless Nigeria.

6 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by MANNABBQGRILLS: 7:02pm On Mar 16, 2021
#BeLikeDemMANNA

Nobody can deny that there are very serious challenges in the country, particularly in the areas of security, the economy, and standard of living generally. But that is not all there is to Nigeria of today, and those challenges are being addressed very robustly. That hymn says “behind a frowning providence, He hides a smiling face. His purposes will ripen fast, unfolding every hour.” We will surely see an end to the challenges, if we all work together, and eschew hate speeches.

Why then do some people choose to see and amplify only negative things? Why do they choose to remain willfully blind and deaf to positive things? And surrounded and confronted by salutary developments, they keep repeating; what has the Buhari administration achieved? Show us.

You tell them that just some weeks ago, the Lagos-Ibadan rail project, with brand new coaches began commercial operation, a project that has been neglected since 1960
That is happening in a country where we were told we couldn’t afford new coaches when our oil was selling at over 100 dollars per barrel. Now, at about 40 dollars per barrel, we are launching new coaches. Instead of giving credit to a prudent government, they just say;  i hate trains.

Okay, if you hate trains, what of brand new airports in Abuja, Port Harcourt, Kano, Enugu, and others in the works? There was a time we were said to parade the worst airports in the world. But not any longer. Buhari reversed it in his four years. What do they say about that? They look up, look down, scratch their heads, and say; i hate airports. i’ve never even boarded a plane in my life, and i don’t want to board. Will i ever enter a plane if i’d been killed by bandits?

Okay. You hate airports and planes. What of bridges being built over rivers in different parts of the country, most especially the Second River Niger Bridge, which the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) built with mouth for 16 years. You tell them that the bridge is almost 60% done, and should be completed in the first quarter of 2022. There’s also the Loko-Oweto Bridge, linking Benue and Nasarawa States. It was started by a previous administration, but almost completed now. Like a cornered rat, their eyes dart furtively from corner to corner, seeking a hole to enter. Finding none, they tell you deadpan: i hate bridges.

You then take them to Yenagoa, in Bayelsa State. Just some weeks ago, the skyline of South-south and South-East was transformed, as President Buhari commissioned the tallest Federal Government structure in the region, the 17-story Nigerian Content Tower, Headquarters of Nigerian Content Development and Monitoring Board (NCDMB).
The architectural masterpiece occupies an area equivalent to four football fields, 

But they say Buhari hasn’t achieved anything. You show them the 17-story building, and as they gaze skyward, their caps and headgear fall off. You pick the cap and headgear, dust and hand them back. And you ask, brothers and sisters, how now? Rather than admit defeat, they pull the caps and headgear over their eyes, and grumbled: We hate skyscrapers. They make us dizzy.

At that point, you pity them.
You realize that they need prayers.
They hate everything good.
They hate anything uplifting.
They hate development.
They hate their country.
They even hate themselves.

Addendum :
We made our comment without quoting any of the negative and pessimistic comments before or after ours, cos everyone is free to air their opinion,
And you have a right to vent as a citizen,
No one can ever tell you not to do that.
And you can never tell those who believe in Nigeria to stop their beliefs also.
Issa free world.
So if you don't wanna be unfortunate this beautiful week, don't quote our positive and patriotic comments to spill ya usual rubbish and negativity.
You can do all that under your personal post without quoting this post.
Children of frustrations kindly take note!
An advice from the elders.

Truth is not bitter, just that people are bitter to the truth.
Nigeria will succeed,
We will surely get to the country of our dreams.
God bless Nigeria.

We Rise!

Divinalss:
. You got only four likes that’s because this platform is dominated by children of hate. They only want to see negative news. Tuah!
Lol cheesy
Not really about being dominated by them bro.
They are very few, but you will be shocked to see just 5 people with over 3000 monikers between them alone!
We know one that has 1954 monikers alone!!!
And that is not an exaggeration at all.
And you see them creating nuisance everywhere on the forum, posting porn, canceling posts, threatening members (especially females) scamming etc.....

But it is always good to know we still have reasonable and sensible members like you here.
With people like you, the future of our country is secured.

5 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by Emu4life(m): 7:03pm On Mar 16, 2021
Good one Jubril el-Sudani. Let the OKOROS come and wail as usualcheesy
Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by fatymore(f): 7:03pm On Mar 16, 2021
Well deserved.

What are we brothers for cool

Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by lagusboyyy(m): 7:03pm On Mar 16, 2021
Buhari really loves Niger republic. Its so obvious in his words and actions.

Maybe, they should just be Nigeria's 37th state, and be receiving oil allocation.

Next!

Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by Jeromejnr(m): 7:03pm On Mar 16, 2021
Congratulations Mr. President.
Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by obi4eze(m): 7:03pm On Mar 16, 2021

Congratulations are in order to Mohammed Yusuf Abubakar
Re: Buhari Receives Niger Republic’s Highest Award (Pictures) by NaijaMutant(f): 7:03pm On Mar 16, 2021
He is truly an illustrious son and well deserving.

It is not easy for a Nigerien to be a president both in Nigeria and Niger

Soldiers Humiliate Civilians At Fatgbems Filling Station,Mile 2,Lagos(Photos) / Osinbajo, Ajimobi, El-Rufai And Aregbesola Laugh So Hard At Launch Of Free Meal / Ope Sowore To Buhari: 'My Children And I Want My Husband Back Home'

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 51